Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 5th, 2013, 2:51 pm

http://iphone.audiko.net/ you can also get them from here

eitech

Postby eitech » January 5th, 2013, 3:24 pm

GTcruzer wrote:If you have a song you want to use (not a music file downloaded from iTunes)
Load the track in your iTunes library
Make an acc version of the file
Copy the acc version to the desktop (or wherever)
Change the file extension from .m4a to .m4r
Load file back into iTunes
Transfer to iPhone. It'll be in your ringtones section

& you don't need to reduce the length of the track. None of my ringtones are less than 40s & the track plays out for as long as the phone rings or goes to voicemail.

Interesting. Tried and it never went beyond 40s. Maybe i missed something.

Postby Kenjo » January 5th, 2013, 3:31 pm

eitech wrote:
GTcruzer wrote:If you have a song you want to use (not a music file downloaded from iTunes)

& you don't need to reduce the length of the track. None of my ringtones are less than 40s & the track plays out for as long as the phone rings or goes to voicemail.

that is probably using jailbreaking but otherwise in the later updates going beyond 40 seconds can't be done at this time at least with the iphone 5

GTcruzer

Postby GTcruzer » January 5th, 2013, 3:45 pm

Idk. Done it for my past 3G, a friend's 4 & my 4S
The 4 not jailbroken though but she on iOS5.x (idk why so doesn't upgrade it)

eitech

Postby eitech » January 5th, 2013, 4:00 pm

Kenjo wrote:
eitech wrote:

that is probably using jailbreaking but otherwise in the later updates going beyond 40 seconds can't be done at this time at least with the iphone 5

Ceen. Was jus reading again and it could be done via jailbreak.

Postby M_2NR » January 5th, 2013, 6:56 pm

Yea u can.
If you are jailbroken, u can copy it to /Library/Ringtones
http://modblog101.wordpress.com/2010/05 ... ou-iphone/
ringtones have to be the _MOST_ annoying things to do on an iPhone.
You can also change alerts for whatsapp also by using iFunbox etc. and going into the app folder and replacing the Tri tone ringtone etc.
http://lifehacker.com/5912464/how-to-cu ... k-required

eitech

Postby eitech » January 5th, 2013, 6:58 pm

Well mine not jb so i would live with it so.

Postby M_2NR » January 5th, 2013, 7:16 pm

Ohh! Well you can use the same method except you'd drag/drop that .m4r file into itunes and sync with the iPhone. make sure you sync ringtones before or else if you didn't you'd have to resync all your music etc. yes iOS is a PITA with this.

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 5th, 2013, 7:24 pm

check the link i posted....there are ringtones...just download and open and itunes would add them automatically

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 5th, 2013, 8:05 pm

Ent is 20s before voicemail kick in? Using songs as ringtones should be outlawed. Just cuz of people who like to let it ring at maximum volume like if I care about their taste in music.

eitech

Postby eitech » January 5th, 2013, 8:27 pm

Strauss wrote:Ent is 20s before voicemail kick in? Using songs as ringtones should be outlawed. Just cuz of people who like to let it ring at maximum volume like if I care about their taste in music.

Lol. Here we go again.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 5th, 2013, 8:58 pm

^^^ Not Apple-related. But gosh damn... them is irritate me. Worse for Carnival time

Postby pioneer » January 5th, 2013, 10:30 pm

I pretty happy with stock ringtones...very annoying to hear some stupid soca song blasting with the person refusing to answer just so that people can know...they have a soca ringtone.

Cid

Postby Cid » January 7th, 2013, 2:33 pm

Anyone knows where to get a nano sim for the ip5...tstt haz none

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » January 7th, 2013, 3:34 pm

Cid wrote:Anyone knows where to get a nano sim for the ip5...tstt haz none

Check me or anyone else nearby , some of us cutting it for free

Postby M_2NR » January 7th, 2013, 8:03 pm

Boy oh boy, I had an s2 to use for a few days, close to a week... I don't think i can survive on android... I literally missed my iPhone. Yes, i admit, google and samsung did do somethings really good, I hope Apple copies some of the features, eg. File access, sharing, ease in access of downloaded files etc. Something that i wish existed was that back function where you'd go right back to the last app you were doing vs opening the switcher, I still have to use a jb tweak for that... (sadly i lost my jb now also). I think for the average person though, I'd still suggest an iPhone but android is survivable.

/rant

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 7th, 2013, 8:17 pm

Haha

I have the same problem using android.

Postby pete » January 7th, 2013, 8:43 pm

What did you miss?

I could think of many things I would miss if I switched the other way.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 7th, 2013, 8:51 pm

Biggest thing I missed was the home button and simplicity of iOS.

On the s3 and galaxy tab I couldn't adjust away from my ipad to adapt and carry out simply tasks like fb or make a call.

Postby pete » January 7th, 2013, 8:58 pm

But the s3 has a home button..

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 7th, 2013, 9:02 pm

I didn't think I had to be specific and point out the tab doesn't.

Postby S_2NR » January 7th, 2013, 9:10 pm

M_2NR wrote:Boy oh boy, I had an s2 to use for a few days, close to a week... I don't think i can survive on android... I literally missed my iPhone. Yes, i admit, google and samsung did do somethings really good, I hope Apple copies some of the features, eg. File access, sharing, ease in access of downloaded files etc. Something that i wish existed was that back function where you'd go right back to the last app you were doing vs opening the switcher, I still have to use a jb tweak for that... (sadly i lost my jb now also). I think for the average person though, I'd still suggest an iPhone but android is survivable.

/rant

Not even a week and u write it off. :cry:

Postby M_2NR » January 7th, 2013, 10:01 pm

S_2NR wrote:
M_2NR wrote:Boy oh boy, I had an s2 to use for a few days, close to a week... I don't think i can survive on android... I literally missed my iPhone. Yes, i admit, google and samsung did do somethings really good, I hope Apple copies some of the features, eg. File access, sharing, ease in access of downloaded files etc. Something that i wish existed was that back function where you'd go right back to the last app you were doing vs opening the switcher, I still have to use a jb tweak for that... (sadly i lost my jb now also). I think for the average person though, I'd still suggest an iPhone but android is survivable.

/rant

Not even a week and u write it off. :cry:

i think i made it sound really bad.

Postby Kenjo » January 7th, 2013, 10:38 pm

any of you guys used facetime much over EDGE?the quality actually isnt that bad!

eitech

Postby eitech » January 7th, 2013, 11:46 pm

Kenjo wrote:any of you guys used facetime much over EDGE?the quality actually isnt that bad!

You actually get tru using EDGE? Wifi or 3g works fine for me

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » January 8th, 2013, 1:42 am

eitech wrote:
Kenjo wrote:any of you guys used facetime much over EDGE?the quality actually isnt that bad!

Postby Kenjo » January 8th, 2013, 5:18 am

iDynamic wrote:
eitech wrote:

yes got through over EDGE last night because when i havent gotten time to activate 4G yet,one of my friends happened to call me and i was shocked to see their facetime appearing,it even worked in a moving car,the data use rate was about 10kb/second i think but i have to verify that!

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 8th, 2013, 9:25 am

Anyone else having problems with text short cuts on their iPhone?

I keep having to reboot to use them

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 8th, 2013, 10:55 am

src1983 wrote:Anyone else having problems with text short cuts on their iPhone?

I keep having to reboot to use them

When last you sync your phone to iTunes?
Do it to help kick your device.

Also do a hard reboot.
Hold power then home down same time until phone restarts and you see the Apple logo.