The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 17th, 2013, 7:27 pm

Stephon. wrote:Well the Galaxy S line, I thought it would be obvious seeing that most of the 44 phones are irrelevant. Still me tho because the S sales are increasing while the 5 sales are decreasing:
sorry I didnt realise we were drilling down into the statistics to oblivion. I guess that would make the Motorola Startac the best selling phone on a Tuesday in May 1995.

Stephon. wrote:Several research houses have claimed that iPhone 5 sales are a lot smaller portion of total iPhone sales than iPhone 4S was a year ago. In early December, Consumer Intelligence Research Partners revealed a break-down that was extremely downbeat. According to CIRP, only 9% of iPhone 5 sales came from the 64GB bracket in October 2012. This would be down sharply from the 23% share that the 64GB version of iPhone 4S had of the 4S sales in October 2011.
Perhaps because alot of Apple users now use iCloud and do not depend as much on local storage anymore. iCloud is a cloud based storage system from Apple that was launched on October 12, 2011. As of July 2012, the service has more than 150 million users.

Stephon. wrote:Interestingly, CIRP viewed the iPhone 5 as taking a 68% slice of overall iPhone sales during October 2012. This is far below the 90% share the iPhone 4S claimed of total Apple phone volume a year before. So according to CIRP, the market share of the latest iPhone has dropped sharply, while the share of the 64GB model within the iPhone 5 model portfolio has collapsed.
see above. Add to that, the market is wildly more competitive now.

Stephon. wrote:Ever since CIRP announced its report more than a month ago, this narrative has taken root. Other research reports began claiming that iPhone 5 share of total iPhone sales could be as low as 50%. As investor confidence has cratered, ASP expectations have probably dived far below the published sell side consensus. With Apple’s share price dropping below $490 on Monday, markets may now be prepared for a $15 or sharper iPhone ASP decline when Apple finally reports.
sounds sensational, just like that skewed WSJ article you posted last week that was eventually debunked.

We'll see

Postby Stephon. » January 17th, 2013, 7:34 pm

Next week Wednesday for you!

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 17th, 2013, 7:43 pm

There have been an influx of reports in the last few weeks claiming Apple’s iPhone business is in turmoil. Tavis McCourt of Raymond James compiled a chart of the cumulative sales of the iPhone 4, iPhone 4S, and iPhone 5, and compared it against sales of Galaxy S and Galaxy Note smartphones. The analyst found that Apple’s (AAPL) flagship smartphones are doing just fine and have outsold Samsung (005930) 219 million to 131 million over the past two and a half years.

Although undoubtedly Samsung’s Galaxy lineup has been tremendously successful, given the sudden negative sentiment related to iPhone, we thought it would be interesting to compare Galaxy sales vs. iPhone sales over the last two and a half years,” he said in a research note, according to CNET.

McCourt believes that Apple has extended its lead over Samsung in the last 12 months, although he notes that the company has begun to see more momentum with the release of the Galaxy S III.

Earlier this week, Samsung announced that sales of the Galaxy S series surpassed 100 million units, 40 million of which were Galaxy S III handsets. The company also previously confirmed that sales of its Galaxy Note smartphone topped 10 million units and Galaxy Note II sales surpassed 5 million units.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 17th, 2013, 7:46 pm

Like I said, even if the stats are bad for Apple on Wednesday, they are still selling a crapload of phones and even their worst day is better than most other manufacturers best month.

At the end of the day Apple does not just sell a phone - they have a robust eco-system.
iOS (iphone, ipod, ipad), AppleTV, AppStore, iTunes, Mac, iCloud and more

No other hardware manufacturer has that. Microsoft has a great competitor with WP8 and Windows 8, xbox and Google has a great thing with Google Play but they lack the cohesion that Apple has built.

Postby Stephon. » January 17th, 2013, 7:49 pm

you could have made up that article and photoshopped that picture yourself. BYE

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 17th, 2013, 8:05 pm

What an ass

Postby Stephon. » January 17th, 2013, 8:07 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:What an ass

Who are you?

Postby nervewrecker » January 17th, 2013, 8:10 pm

Steffy bite off more than he can chew this time.

Leave the apple men alone and go back to the Android thread plz.

eitech

Postby eitech » January 17th, 2013, 8:56 pm

Wait nah, ah next mooks come in here to bash apple. Geez

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 17th, 2013, 11:38 pm

I don't see windows 8 as any kind of competitor,

Had one in work and sent it bac for windows 7 :(

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 18th, 2013, 11:10 pm

thinking about getting an Apple TV. a new version is due sometime soon right?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 18th, 2013, 11:33 pm

The first standalone appleTV came out in 2008, then the 2nd gen came out in 2010, then the 3rd gen came out in March 2012 with A5 processor and 1080p

it is hardly likely that Apple will release a new Apple TV any time soon

at US$99 its pretty pointless waiting to see what they release in 2014 or 2015.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 18th, 2013, 11:36 pm

hmmm cool. u ever got any problems with AirPlay Duane?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 18th, 2013, 11:53 pm

^ no problems - works perfectly

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 19th, 2013, 1:24 am

nice. just bought one off Amazon 8-)

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 19th, 2013, 11:21 am

I love AirPlay.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 19th, 2013, 11:37 am

once u get deep in the Apple ecosystem it really hard to use anything else but Apple devices yes

Postby M_2NR » January 19th, 2013, 12:45 pm

Swisha wrote:once u get deep in the Apple ecosystem it really hard to use anything else but Apple devices yes

ent!
padna of mine got an appletv and i want to steal it already.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » January 19th, 2013, 12:47 pm

M_2NR wrote:
Swisha wrote:once u get deep in the Apple ecosystem it really hard to use anything else but Apple devices yes

ent!

I have coming this week

For cheap

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 19th, 2013, 12:51 pm

Swisha wrote:nice. just bought one off Amazon 8-)
it doesnt come with an HDMI cable so you might one to get one on Amazon one time

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 19th, 2013, 12:57 pm

Swisha wrote:nice. just bought one off Amazon 8-)
it doesnt come with an HDMI cable so you might one to get one on Amazon one time

currently using the WD TV Live media player so got the hdmi cable already. i just ready to pelt it way and replace it with the Apple TV :lol:

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » January 19th, 2013, 1:15 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:What an ass

He's one on the new vehicles prices thread as well :lol:

Concerning the Apple TV.. Considering getting one myself but two questions.. What's the minimum broadband connection I require for it to work seamlessly?
And when streaming from my MBP, does it depend on the Internet connection speed too or does it stream independently from the Internet. Just between MBP and Apple TV..
I'm asking this because that's how windows media center works with my Xbox.. And because internet in point fortin is extremely limited and slow I'm unable to stream HD content from laptop properly.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 19th, 2013, 1:39 pm

^ the appleTV works well with a 5MB connection with FLOW, though a 15 or 25 would be perfect - you'd just have to wait for videos to load or buffer before they start playing. Remember alot of the content is HD video so you will need the bandwidth for movies, netflix and trailers.

AirPlay is over your local network ONLY so streaming from your MBP or iPhone or iPad to the TV does not even require an internet connection, only a local wireless network.

I think streaming from the MBP requires Mountain Lion

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » January 19th, 2013, 2:04 pm

Excellent. That's exactly what I need. Thanks! :mrgreen:

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » January 19th, 2013, 9:27 pm

so anybody around st augustine have an extra lightning cable to lend for a day? left mine down south and need to have a fully charged phone for 16hr call at work tmr :(

Postby M_2NR » January 19th, 2013, 9:59 pm

RapToR wrote:
M_2NR wrote:

ent!

I have coming this week

For cheap

lol i just stole it. Man had it in plastic still. gonna set it up now.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 19th, 2013, 10:24 pm

Wish I could use an Apple TV without having to buy a new tv ( my tv has no hdmi in)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 19th, 2013, 10:55 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Wish I could use an Apple TV without having to buy a new tv ( my tv has no hdmi in)
just buy a HDMI to Composite audio/video converter

http://www.amazon.com/Etekcity-Composit ... 008FO7PQA/

Postby M_2NR » January 19th, 2013, 11:24 pm

Already set up and updating (came with 5.0.2).

It's honestly really cool! I however _hate_ the fact that in order to play my music, besides the iPhone, I need the pc to be on and with iTunes opened. :| no UPnP? :(
Oh well.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 20th, 2013, 12:40 am

Is Apple - they going to ensure all content passes through iTunes. Upnp is too open for pirated content. Not like that really stops anyone.

You will have to use your phone or your PC until iTunes comes out on appletv - if ever. OR you can just use iCloud and Music Match. It will mirror all your music in the cloud, so the appletv can play it without iTunes and a PC.

Also you could jailbreak the appletv to allow it to stream content from a network hard drive.