New SEA syllabus...requires students to do an indian dance

tourniquet

Re: New SEA syllabus...requires students to do an indian dan

Postby tourniquet » January 29th, 2013, 5:18 pm

these "ah hear....anybody else hear" posts, are always enlightening.......

moti

Postby moti » January 29th, 2013, 9:01 pm

ta tiki ta tiki ta tay

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 29th, 2013, 9:04 pm

Is not an Indian dance.....Its more like they from trini so they hadda know how to wine.....

its trini culture.....

moti

Postby moti » January 29th, 2013, 9:05 pm

simple, just teach the girls them how to bubble and we good

Postby X_Factor » January 29th, 2013, 9:08 pm

didnt hear ne specifics about indian dance

mind if i ask u what standard this reflects and what year it will be tested on
because afaik standard 5 2013, just creative writing component changed
standard 4, the creative writing component and there is no more national test as well
standard 3, agri science

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » January 29th, 2013, 10:41 pm

JoeBama wrote:are they gonna teach African dance what about Chinese....?? it must be equal across the board...

there is no need to bring intelligence into this tread...... please get out

Postby rfari » January 29th, 2013, 11:04 pm

They should introduce home ec and home cleaning for girls as well

Postby BrotherHood » January 29th, 2013, 11:35 pm

whyteliver wrote:
JoeBama wrote:are they gonna teach African dance what about Chinese....?? it must be equal across the board...

Postby zoom rader » January 30th, 2013, 3:47 am

It is better they learn any form of classical dance rather that learning to put down work and looking for a handout.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » January 30th, 2013, 5:02 am

Dancing?
That's a waste of freaking time regardless of what ever culture they're trying to invoke on the children.
Most gay and embarrassing :|...especially for the males.
What utter dotishness is this :|

Sky wrote:Make dem dance and change fackin lightbulb!!!
Mix up de fackin country some more.
Anyone of one race not liking their kids take part in another race's culture is racist!
No excuses. I don't care, you're racist. I not taklin about religion eh, thas a whole different story.
Maybe in 20 years we'll have more well behaved citizens who don't care about race.
That goes both ways eh.
I thought the majority of the racist cnuts were over 50 and on their way out. Was ready to say good riddance. That whole fiasco in Tobago show other wise.

If you was in a child's position...you wudna feel shame?

Postby Ted_v2 » January 30th, 2013, 5:41 am

funny.

But if you gotta do it then you gotta do et

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » January 30th, 2013, 7:48 am

this is Exactly what parents last year were partially protesting about,

No longer will SEA be just about academics,
SEA will look to encompass, Cultural input,Physical Education input as well as MUsical Input.
Its very unfair, many children and adults are NOT good at sports and do not have a good EAR for music, many of them do not wish to learn craft and Art and are just NOT interested.
So now the question is

If the Continuous Asserssment system is to be used, what happens when it counts as 40% towards the final grade at SEA,
What haoppens when you have an Academically Brilliant child who has no interest in sports, culture and music who aces the exam but gets poor grades for the former subjects, as apposed to a child that is somewhat just average or below average but excells at sport, culture and music?
Do you award the first choice to the student who got lower marks overall but is by far More Academic, or do you promote the child who got higher marks but may not excell at a first choice school due to his talent being physical abilities?

First choice schools should focus on Academics and the criteria for entry should be based on ACADEMICS ONLY, forget the physical , musical and cultural capabilities of the child.
If we wanted our children to excell at music or become world class athletes we would send to specific facilities....

netsket

Postby netsket » January 30th, 2013, 7:54 am

whyteliver wrote:

you fit in very well I must say

netsket

Postby netsket » January 30th, 2013, 8:01 am

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:this is Exactly what parents last year were partially protesting about,

No longer will SEA be just about academics,
SEA will look to encompass, Cultural input,Physical Education input as well as MUsical Input.
Its very unfair, many children and adults are NOT good at sports and do not have a good EAR for music, many of them do not wish to learn craft and Art and are just NOT interested.
So now the question is

If the Continuous Asserssment system is to be used, what happens when it counts as 40% towards the final grade at SEA,
What haoppens when you have an Academically Brilliant child who has no interest in sports, culture and music who aces the exam but gets poor grades for the former subjects, as apposed to a child that is somewhat just average or below average but excells at sport, culture and music?
Do you award the first choice to the student who got lower marks overall but is by far More Academic, or do you promote the child who got higher marks but may not excell at a first choice school due to his talent being physical abilities?

First choice schools should focus on Academics and the criteria for entry should be based on ACADEMICS ONLY, forget the physical , musical and cultural capabilities of the child.
If we wanted our children to excell at music or become world class athletes we would send to specific facilities....

some kids not good at academics...what should they do leave them behind? do bad in school and doom to failure? let them learn other things which they may like or be good at. For example I would think art and craft and drama would make a child well rounded and give them something other to do than play video games. It will also develop "taste" in doing things as they mature. Das why we feel to kick some workmen for not doing a good job or putting something up bend or "ugly" they lack taste and pride in doing what they do (I just making an assumption of how the arts can encourage quality work eh). Anyway at the end of the day they going to do art and craft and music STILL when they go to the first choice schools.

Postby AllTrac » January 30th, 2013, 9:12 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:if all the gangsters in laventille were forced to do indian dances as children, the country would be a much safer please.

you cyar decide to play gangsta and wha fight for turf when men have videos of you lote-laying around a tree as a child.

hahahahah :lol: :lol:

moti

Postby moti » January 30th, 2013, 9:27 am

dancing at least should always remain as optional

me em no i jus can't dance im just saying

bluestarz9

Postby bluestarz9 » January 30th, 2013, 9:35 am

stick to the books for assesment.
leave out all that dancing foolishness

kaylex

Postby kaylex » January 30th, 2013, 12:06 pm

Patman wrote:Its the Continuous Assessment Component, CAC ........ its based around VAPA

I happen to know a moderator.. I support this program a 100% ..
Our culture dying.. learn to dance.. baila baila

Postby Habit7 » January 30th, 2013, 12:14 pm

I too support it. But those who are supporting it should also note that popularizing a cultural artform could also corrupt it. It wont be hard to incorporate a "wine and bend over" into classical Indian dance. Then we would end up with another boycott.

Postby S_2NR » January 30th, 2013, 2:39 pm

bluestarz9 wrote:stick to the books for assesment.
leave out all that dancing foolishness

This.

And why does the dance have to be Indian? Why Indian dance alone? Is it that this Indian lead party trying to force their culture down people's throats?

Leave the Indian dancing and hindi for the Hindu schools (Lakshmi girls et al). My child wouldnt need that. Exposure is one thing but having to learn and be assessed is another thing completely

Postby BrotherHood » January 30th, 2013, 2:52 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Dancing?
That's a waste of freaking time regardless of what ever culture they're trying to invoke on the children.

Anyone of one race not liking their kids take part in another race's culture is racist!
No excuses. I don't care, you're racist. I not taklin about religion eh, thas a whole different story.
Maybe in 20 years we'll have more well behaved citizens who don't care about race.
That goes both ways eh.
I thought the majority of the racist cnuts were over 50 and on their way out. Was ready to say good riddance. That whole fiasco in Tobago show other wise.

Buh if this was introduced like 3 years ago you woulda have to dance :lol:

Postby Ronaldo95163 » January 30th, 2013, 3:34 pm

Good one :lol:

But I eh so young fadda :P

Postby BrotherHood » January 30th, 2013, 3:48 pm

Yodins musbe hada dance den :rofl:

Postby Ronaldo95163 » January 30th, 2013, 3:56 pm

Nah he safe too :lol:

like selassie briefcase

Wa bout you bigman.
Leh we just say this happened 35 years ago when you was in primary school...you woulda dance?

Postby Sky » January 30th, 2013, 3:59 pm

BrotherHood wrote:
Ronaldo95163 wrote:Dancing?

That goes both ways eh.

Buh if this was introduced like 3 years ago you woulda have to dance :lol:

LOL

btw, shame infront of who?
That actually takes away the shame cuz all allyuh in it together :lol:

Postby BrotherHood » January 30th, 2013, 4:06 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Nah he safe too :lol:

like selassie briefcase

Wa bout you bigman.
Leh we just say this happened 35 years ago when you was in primary school...you woulda dance?

:lol: :lol: how old u feel i is bai.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » January 30th, 2013, 4:17 pm

^:lol:
I just messin with ya :lol:

@Sky
I'd feel shame for myself dan

Postby BrotherHood » January 31st, 2013, 10:03 am

Ronaldo95163 wrote:^:lol:
I just messin with ya :lol:

@Sky
I'd feel shame for myself dan

buh you and Yodins doh dance together?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » January 31st, 2013, 6:44 pm

badman doh dance :|