Tuner Cooking Thread.

Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby pugboy » March 8th, 2013, 4:05 pm

Bloom's in diego martin has whole frozen fillets and may also have smaller fillet packs already skinned.
http://www.bloomsimports.com/

Oleander

Postby Oleander » March 8th, 2013, 4:55 pm

Haven't done much cooking lately. Crappy food or anything I get my hands on... but there is always room for dessert.

This is something I get my younger cousins engaged with in the kitchen. I measure out the ingredients and make them some butter cream and let them go crazy with flavours.
I helped them with the ones above..

Basic Vanilla Cupcakes

Ingredients
3 large eggs
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 3/4 cups all purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup milk
6 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Directions
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
Mix the flour, baking powder and salt together in a small bowl and set aside.
In a large bowl, beat the eggs with the sugar until they’re a pale yellow. Add the flour mixture and beat until smooth.
Measure the milk into a large glass measuring cup, and put it in a microwave for 2 minutes. Add the scalded milk to the batter in a slow stream, beating until well combined. In the same measuring cup, melt the butter in the microwave. Add the melted butter to the batter along with the vanilla. Beat until well combined.
Line your baking tin with cupcake liners and fill each 3/4 of the way.
Bake the cupcakes until the tops are golden and the cupcakes spring back to the touch, about 15 to 20 minutes. Remove from the oven and let cool.
http://thesweetfeteadventures.tumblr.com/

Sacchetto Boutique

Postby Sacchetto Boutique » March 8th, 2013, 8:35 pm

nice!

Sacchetto Boutique

Postby Sacchetto Boutique » March 8th, 2013, 8:37 pm

playerskrew wrote:where sells dolphin?

Mahi mahi is sold at Premier Seafoods in national fisheries compound, sealots

Postby meccalli » March 9th, 2013, 12:36 am

Go by the chaguaramas fish stall and take a number for one of the fishermen and have em call you when they pick up a mahi, best way to get the freshest fish, its a good tasting fish but 1 hour after catching it naturally smells bad so i'm not too much into it unless i absolutely know its fresh. Some stuff. Bok Choi and Beef based dishes.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 9th, 2013, 10:39 am

skipped cooking last week as it was my birthday...
Planning to make something italian tonight, maybe with chicken

Postby SR » March 9th, 2013, 4:09 pm

just made a batch of this

http://www.ehow.com/how_5117844_make-ca ... -soup.html

tastes exactly like carrabbas didnt use any chicken stock so its good for vegetarians added some mushroom pieces and italian seasoning

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 9th, 2013, 9:24 pm

Misson Accomplished: Chicken Cacciatore

Postby shogun » March 9th, 2013, 9:38 pm

meccalli wrote:Image

8-)

VexXx Dogg wrote:Misson Accomplished: Chicken Cacciatore

Dude. I hate yew.

Belated Happy Birthday, by the way bro.

Postby pugboy » March 9th, 2013, 10:04 pm

Carrabas has excellent food, I liked the marsala stuff there.

pork belly for tomorrow
20130309_213746.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » March 9th, 2013, 10:32 pm

yumm!!

Postby meccalli » March 10th, 2013, 12:13 am

pugboy wrote:pork belly for tomorrow

Pugboy, where do you get pork belly from? butcher? Been looking for slab bacon locally for some time now but reg pork belly ought to do nicely for the time being.
Anywho, went in the gulf the other day and picked up some fresh lane snapper.

Simple no scale method for small fish.Thought i'd do a video after i saw pandora post about fileting fish.

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » March 10th, 2013, 11:28 am

Weekend Bush Cook.
image.jpg

Postby pugboy » March 10th, 2013, 12:50 pm

I got it by Bloom's, might be a little more expensive as it is imported but you get a nice slab
as most of the local supermarkets don't sell good pieces.

I have been told Truvalu Trincity has a butcher there you can ask who will organize it for you and the price is a little cheaper.

Postby meccalli » March 10th, 2013, 1:56 pm

pugboy wrote:I got it by Bloom's, might be a little more expensive as it is imported but you get a nice slab
as most of the local supermarkets don't sell good pieces.

I have been told Truvalu Trincity has a butcher there you can ask who will organize it for you and the price is a little cheaper.

Thanks!

Postby pugboy » March 10th, 2013, 2:07 pm

came out pretty good I say, haven't made this in years.
Didn't even have to do any broiler tricks to get the skin fully cripsy.
DSC_7976.jpg
DSC_7975.jpg

Postby meccalli » March 10th, 2013, 2:10 pm

That's the stuff. (Y)

Postby dougla_boy » March 11th, 2013, 8:06 am

gonna make a meal today....will let u know wtf i made.....wit pics!

allyuh inspire me dey yes

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » March 11th, 2013, 9:25 am

My Aubergine Soup.. made this last weekend in class.
This semester we're cooking a la carte for the campus restaurant.. Hilltop Restaurant.
$100 and you get a 5 course meal.

I made fettuccine from scratch, also did some ravioli.

Postby SR » March 11th, 2013, 9:28 am

aye what class...

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » March 11th, 2013, 9:29 am

At home..

Spinach & Mushroom Pene tossed in Garlic & Butter Sauce.. Pan Seared Chicken Breast
Cooked this for lunch the next day..

Dished out some for lunch..

Postby dougla_boy » March 11th, 2013, 9:34 am

Pandy, dat at home recipe, share please.

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » March 11th, 2013, 9:37 am

SR wrote:aye what class...

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:hmmmmmm.......thanks for that info! i wanted to be a chef also, but that little part of not knowing if i hadda eat everything, turned me off. but, i may consider it again some day. thanks for the info!

Look into the Associate's Degree in Culinary Management that T.T.H.T.I. is offering.
Now the school itself has some issues, and accreditation could be a bit honky depending on how you look at it, but the school opens doors for a lot of other avenues. For example, internships at hotels and restaurants locally, regionally and worldwide.

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:ramps, i eh go lie to u nah, but i read what u said there with an image of u snapping ur fingers and wringing up yuh neck

pandy, wat ur days like? i guessing the course is about 2 yrs long or so? is it a difficult course?

2 1/2 years part time..
Each Semester my schedule is Mon - Thurs 5pm - 8pm (general education courses) and Sat OR Sun from 7am - 4pm for labs (kitchen time).. This all takes place in Chaguaramas..

It is very tough, for many reasons.. it's not a go stand up in a kitchen and learn to cook kind of course.. They are preparing you to be able to run a kitchen according to the French Brigade system and also preparing you to run the Front of a Restaurant.

It's time consuming, you have no family life if you work during the day and do it part time like I do.
Your weekends are basically one WHOLE day in a kitchen, sometimes we don't get to leave at 4pm, depends on your topic for the day and your fellow students.

But.. if you're driven and goal oriented.. then maintaining a high GPA and having great ethics in the lab will be your reward.

http://www.hospitalitytnt.com/

http://www.hospitalitytnt.com/course.asp?course_id=1

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » March 11th, 2013, 9:50 am

dougla_boy wrote:Pandy, dat at home recipe, share please.

Picked this up in the freezer section of Tru Valu, Love spinach, but hate the $27 price of the fresh spinach. This only cost $18 and is more value for money as you get more spinach. And that's always an issue for spinach, as it has an almost negative yield.

Some of these babies here..

And the Pene pasta boiled till al dente.
In a heavy bottom sauce pan, you're going to get it screaming hot, add a good amount of butter and some chopped onions and garlic and pepper flakes. Keep these moving in the pot till the onions are almost translucent. add the spinach (that has been blanched and drained) and mushrooms.
Keep them moving in the pot till the mushrooms are tender. Then you add the pene and keep tossing.
The high heat is lots better for this type of cooking, but you have to keep the ingredients moving so they don't stick or burn. The last thing you do is taste for salt and black pepper. You can add heavy cream to this, before you add the pene, and reduce it slightly, if you want a creamy consistency.

The chicken is just my blend of ground seasoning and italian seasoning, salt and black pepper, pan seared again in butter. One thing with chicken breast, is it cooks very fast, so don't leave it on the heat too long. At least 5 minutes each side, and make sure to add some weight to the top of the meat so it cooks evenly.

This is sort of what I do when cooking chicken breast.. works everytime.
Once done, let it rest before you slice it.

Postby Trini Hookah » March 11th, 2013, 10:26 am

Pandy where you source your heavy cream? Xtra foods?

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » March 11th, 2013, 10:37 am

Malabar Farms has the elle and vire brand.

You can see it here on the top self 4 cartons down from your right.
This is from their FB page.

Tru valu has the Philladelphia brand.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » March 11th, 2013, 11:16 am

Niagara Falls just sprang forth in my mouth

wow... that is gonna be cooked this week

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » March 11th, 2013, 11:18 am

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:At home..

Spinach & Mushroom Pene tossed in Garlic & Butter Sauce.. Pan Seared Chicken Breast
Cooked this for lunch the next day..

Dished out some for lunch..

sooooo u guys have me craving pasta at 11am..

thanks eh... thanks!

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » March 11th, 2013, 11:43 am

ROFL..
Sowwie lolly!!

Sacchetto Boutique

Postby Sacchetto Boutique » March 11th, 2013, 11:51 am

Love pasta and anything with mushrooms! will try this over the weekend!