RED BAND Maxi Taxi Short Drops = $5.00

cornfused

Re: RED BAND Maxi Taxi Short Drops = $5.00

Postby cornfused » March 26th, 2013, 12:38 pm

That short drop thing has been so since back in the hey days for maxis. Nothing has been done and it has been left to fester and is now a great concern for the traveling public.

If I need to take a maxi sometimes once in a year . I would wait for a big one or an older Maxi , often they don't do the short nonsense. After reading that Mirror article I was a bit confused by that logic and it made no sense . How can a raise in the Short drop fare curb the short drop syndrome , it seems more likely to encourage it .

Also for Mr. Phillip to be calling on the Ministry of Works to intervene , as President of the Route 2, if they are so concerned can they propose any solution to stop the short drop ?

Postby Ted_v2 » March 26th, 2013, 12:43 pm

Yodins wrote:
pioneer wrote:wey yodins?

I gettin my licence in May and goin for Heavy T as soon as 2 yrs pass. then as 21 hit is Taxi badge time 8-) :fist:

I will find out though. Where Bizarre though?

Postby Rooki3 » March 26th, 2013, 3:14 pm

:lol: hahhaha

Postby BrotherHood » March 26th, 2013, 3:42 pm

pioneer wrote:Flatten the beetham and make a bigger and better transport hub.

TRAE wrote:yuh have my vote pios^^^^

Postby teems1 » March 26th, 2013, 3:58 pm

BrotherHood wrote:

I agree. If they do away with the Beetham like pios says, the residents will move elsewhere. Better to keep them all localized in one area.

A foot with severe gangrene > entire body covered with smallpox...

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » March 26th, 2013, 4:37 pm

This is why we need a rail system to transport large amounts of passengers. Up to me I would implement the rail and gradually phase out maxi taxis. They are no longer a safe reliable means of transportation.

:evilbat:

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » March 26th, 2013, 4:43 pm

Habit7 wrote:but ent allyuh vote out rapid rails?

Yuh eh ha tuh rub it een.........

:evilbat:

Postby nemisis » March 26th, 2013, 5:04 pm

All this call for rails after the tuner collective decided it wasn't needed

Yodins

Postby Yodins » March 26th, 2013, 7:44 pm

pioneer wrote:waaait nah...you have plenty brothers?

where you heard that now?

Postby pioneer » March 26th, 2013, 9:42 pm

nah u songin like somebody I de know

Postby SmokeyGTi » March 26th, 2013, 11:41 pm

de phoq......just the other day i was paying $4 to travel from chaguans to curepe in a taxi...$3 in maxi...

$5 / $6 for short drop now?
bwdmc...

ShaqThom

Postby ShaqThom » March 27th, 2013, 3:32 pm

Rooki3 wrote:we need rapid rails

Beetham would make an excellent location

Time to pm Venezuela President and ask to borrow the F16's

He dead!! :lol:

Postby pioneer » March 27th, 2013, 9:51 pm

teems1 wrote:
BrotherHood wrote:

I agree. If they do away with the Beetham like pios says, the residents will move elsewhere. Better to keep them all localized in one area.

A foot with severe gangrene > entire body covered with smallpox...

The words "flatten the beetham" makes you believe they should be relocated then destroyed?

Mr_Carz

Postby Mr_Carz » March 28th, 2013, 9:10 am

allyuh complaining bout $5.00 (50p) try payin $70 (£7) minimum a day in travel expenses & yes i do have car which a park up @ the train station which, believe it or not; is cheaper than driving straight to work =/

Postby nemisis » March 28th, 2013, 9:29 am

Mr_Carz wrote:allyuh complaining bout $5.00 (50p) try payin $70 (£7) minimum a day in travel expenses & yes i do have car which a park up @ the train station which, believe it or not; is cheaper than driving straight to work =/

their pay reflects their higher costs of living ours doesn't...we aernt even paid a fraction of our worth but billed as if it is us we working for not TTd, so i fail too see the link in your comparison

Mr_Carz

Postby Mr_Carz » March 28th, 2013, 9:34 am

nemisis wrote:
Mr_Carz wrote:allyuh complaining bout $5.00 (50p) try payin $70 (£7) minimum a day in travel expenses & yes i do have car which a park up @ the train station which, believe it or not; is cheaper than driving straight to work =/

their pay reflects their higher costs of living ours doesn't...we aernt even paid a fraction of our worth but billed as if it is us we working for not TTd, so i fail too see the link in your comparison

You fail to see my comparison? rly? :| ... okay then let me try a more simple approach
$5 short drop (basically a one way fare) T&T
$35 (£3.50) 'short drop' or One way ($70 or £7.00 return) London
whats hard to see there? im comparing the coss of travel

Postby pete » March 28th, 2013, 9:37 am

You work for TT?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 28th, 2013, 9:41 am

Is it really logical to compare London rates with PBR rates? What is the distance travelled and time taken to reach where you going in London compared to say Arima to Mausica, I'm sure its longer

src1983

Postby src1983 » March 28th, 2013, 9:43 am

Mr_Carz wrote:
nemisis wrote:

You fail to see my comparison? rly? :| ... okay then let me try a more simple approach

U are comparing working for pounds and working in Trinidad.

That is wrong.....

What u need to compare is

What 1000ttd could buy in Trinidad vs a £1000 could buy in the UK

Postby Bizzare » March 28th, 2013, 10:16 am

among other factors, cost of living within a society determines whether a travelling fare is relatively cheap or expensive. You cannot make that comparison.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » March 28th, 2013, 10:30 am

src1983 wrote:
Mr_Carz wrote:
nemisis wrote:

U are comparing working for pounds and working in Trinidad.

That is wrong.....

What u need to compare is

What 1000ttd could buy in Trinidad vs a £1000 could buy in the UK

Quite right SRC, that simple comparison given by Zcarz cannot be used . There are many factors that determine market rates of travel in any economy . Fuel costs , maintenance costs , taxes road / vehicle or other wise and others on the supply side , on the demand side is the costs competing services , availability of competing services , avg expenditure per patron on transport etc . Your comparison does not state and of these factors . Also what percentage of a workers budget does transport absorb per month in the UK and there are obviously better standards of service .

Postby Sky » March 28th, 2013, 4:14 pm

What the big deal is with those clowns shorting?
If you jump in a maxi and he say town, then town it is.
If he play he stoppin Curepe, your money stayin yours.
Just bluff him out because that's false advertising of a service, you can get his plate, you can report him yada yada.
The money aint worth the trouble to him. The most you get is a two cuss and you still have your $$ to finish reach town.
Maxi men in too much of a hurry to stop and hurt people. Yuh safe.

Postby nemisis » March 28th, 2013, 4:25 pm

Sky wrote:What the big deal is with those clowns shorting?
Just bluff him out because that's false advertising of a service, you can get his plate, you can report him yada yada.
The money aint worth the trouble to him. The most you get is a two cuss and you still have your $$ to finish reach town.

few years ago a dude get stabbed for shorting the maxi man $1

Yodins

Postby Yodins » March 28th, 2013, 8:02 pm

what ya'll forget to include is that in trinidad the transportation vehicle is a $800K bus, not a multimillion dollar train.

Postby pioneer » March 28th, 2013, 8:16 pm

Sky wrote:What the big deal is with those clowns shorting?

dai all, but chinis quicker protest over people who run infront ah movin car than standing up for their fiscal rights.

Postby pete » March 28th, 2013, 8:37 pm

When people get into maxis don't they say how far they're going/ask how far the maxi man is going?

If he says POS then I'm taking that to be a verbal contract, if he stops short I'm not paying.

Postby Bizzare » March 28th, 2013, 8:45 pm

Maxi drivers don't say POS/Arima and then stop short. They tell you they are going short upon entering. So there is no deception/false advertising there. However, I'm not sure, but I think it's illegal for a maxi to stop short whether they told the passengers or not.

Yodins

Postby Yodins » March 28th, 2013, 8:50 pm

Bizzare wrote:Maxi drivers don't say POS/Arima and then stop short. They tell you they are going short upon entering. So there is no deception/false advertising there. However, I'm not sure, but I think it's illegal for a maxi to stop short whether they told the passengers or not.

that is true. If you look closely on the bus route there are designated Maxi stops where maxis are allowed to pick-up/drop-off passengers.