AdamB wrote:And concerning the Dead Sea Scrolls, what makes it authentic? Why don't they publish it side to side with corresponding bible books? Of course they couldn't because 2000 yrs of "corrections", lies, changes, deletions and additions....the outcome will be astounding.
actually the great scroll of Isaiah is pretty much identical to the current Book of Isaiah as it appears in the Bible today.AdamB wrote:And concerning the Dead Sea Scrolls, what makes it authentic? Why don't they publish it side to side with corresponding bible books? Of course they couldn't because 2000 yrs of "corrections", lies, changes, deletions and additions....the outcome will be astounding.
what makes the quoted statement NOT the truth? Wikipedia is crowd sourced, a major method of unbiased research. Yes there are errors in Wikipedia, but then show the errors of the quoted material - don't paint it with a broad brush.Habit7 wrote:What is with you guys and quoting from Wikipedia like if it is Internet's bastion of truth?
well that was my question, how is one considered inspired and the other uninspired?Habit7 wrote:Duane there are inspired biblical texts and there are uninspired extra biblical texts both during the time of the OT and NT. Not every book with a guy's name in the title makes it qualify for it to be canonised.
Adam B this argument is perfect only in ignorance, in the ancient world Jewish reckoning of time was not like how we reckon time in this modern age ,back then any part of the day was considered a day but I willAdamB wrote:Merlener,
Back to the "sign of Jonah". If Jesus died on Friday evening, spent 3 days and 3 nights IN THE HEART OF THE EARTH...how come he "was resurrected" on Sunday instead of Monday? That's at least 1 night short if you count the parts of the days on Friday and Monday as 1 each.
Habit7 wrote:Saying "scholars say..." without reference, crowd source or not, doesn't make one's claim fully informed. Furthermore as I have shown to AdamB when he quoted from Wikipedia a statement in a book I happened to have with exact author, edition and page, I was able to verify in my text that the quote exists nowhere in the text but only on the internet as different sites quoted Wikipedia.
Primarily, the works of Jewish prophets is what is consider inspired, non prophets like priests and religious teachers constitute uninspired.
megadoc1 wrote:Adam B this argument is perfect only in ignorance, in the ancient world Jewish reckoning of time was not like how we reckon time in this modern age ,back then any part of the day was considered a day but I willAdamB wrote:Merlener,
Back to the "sign of Jonah". If Jesus died on Friday evening, spent 3 days and 3 nights IN THE HEART OF THE EARTH...how come he "was resurrected" on Sunday instead of Monday? That's at least 1 night short if you count the parts of the days on Friday and Monday as 1 each.
leave you to research the rest or continue making a fool of yourself no wait let me give you something practical to butcher
Luk 13:32 And he said unto them, Go and say to that fox, Behold, I cast out demons and perform cures to-day and to-morrow, and the third day I am perfected.
Luk 13:33 Nevertheless I must go on my way to-day and to-morrow and the day following: for it cannot be that a prophet perish out of Jerusalem.
Habit7 wrote:I love how you gloss over the highlighting of the errors of your claims over the Book of Isaiah and its unchanged script. Furthermore, that you ignore the fact the 700 years prior Isaiah prophesies the birth, life and death of Jesus in vivid detail along with the His role as intercessor, a role that the man Muhammad attempts to claim.
You repeatedly make false claims and cite dubious references and when corrected you refuse to acknowledge and go on accusing the Bible of being corrupted and altered (again with no proof). I wonder if it is even possible to reason with you, because you don't use truth as a basis of belief.
AdamB wrote:I was hoping that one of you guys would say what time on Friday he was supposed "killed" and what time on Sunday he was supposed "resurrected".
The quote said 3 days and 3 nights, that's kinda clear but anyway you guys say 3 GODS = 1 GOD, so 3 DAYS + 3 NIGHTS = 2 DAYS + 2 (OR 3) NIGHTS should be perfectly acceptable to you.
It was also quoted from the mouth of Jesus that "just as Jonah was in the belly of the fish/whale", he would be "IN THE HEART OF THE EARTH". Now since "that was ancient times", you would say that ON THE CROSS = BEING "BURIED" IN THE HEART OF THE EARTH. Of course, that's logical to you because it helps to justify your NEED to have a MAN-GOD die for you to be saved.
You say jesus died, I want to know clearly: DID JONAH DIE IN THE BELLY OF THE FISH AND WAS RESURRECTED?
Also, could you also advise that "in ancient times", how long did it take for a person to die on the cross? (since the point of crucifixion was to have a long painful death, and Jesus was a young man of good health so he would have lasted the longest I presume.)
AdamB wrote:Duane pointed out that comparing the Dead Sea Scrolls found that everything else was different except Isaiah.
d spike wrote:Red Fraction wrote:18 Woe unto them that draw iniquity with cords of vanity, and sin as it were with a cart rope:
19 That say, Let him make speed, and hasten his work, that we may see it: and let the counsel of the Holy One of Israel draw nigh and come, that we may know it!
20 Woe unto them that call evil good, and good evil; that put darkness for light, and light for darkness; that put bitter for sweet, and sweet for bitter!
21 Woe unto them that are wise in their own eyes, and prudent in their own sight!
22 Woe unto them that are mighty to drink wine, and men of strength to mingle strong drink:
23 Which justify the wicked for reward, and take away the righteousness of the righteous from him!
Dspike can you with unbiased thinking explain the above please. I'd like to know what are your thoughts?
I note you use the KJV. When it comes to scholastic studying of scripture, I'm afraid this version with its archaic idiom and improper translations doesn't cut it at all. Anyone who swears by this version alone deserves whatever AdamB tells them regarding "tampered scripture"...
The Book of Isaiah is actually produced by at least three fellows, as the writing style changes, and the writing spans from the eighth century BC right into the sixth century BC.These verses are written by the "original" Isaiah, also called "Proto-Isaiah". They serve as part of his reference to the danger posed by the late eighth century expansion of Assyria into the Kingdom of Judah. They are part of his prophesy of judgment against God's people, which implies that their covenant with God cannot protect them when they have broken it by idolatry and other sins.
These six verses are from chapter five and are aimed at the sinful folk who have willingly loaded themselves with the burden of their transgressions. These folk challenge God brazenly, almost taunting Him to stick to His covenant and zap the enemy... all the while perverting moral standards and practicing injustice and bribery. They think they are wise enough to handle any situation and reject a humble dependence on God (a clear shot at Ahaz) and clearly spend a lot of time boasting about their strength while liming at bars - though their only strength seems to be lifting glasses.
You need to look at the historical setting:
Assyria was the super-power at the time, and Judah had just refused to join Israel and Syria in a revolt against Assyria. These two countries then threatened invasion of Judah. Isaiah advised Judah's king, Ahaz, to seek God's protection, but Ahaz asked the Assyrians for protection instead, thus making Judah an Assyrian vassal. (Assyria later thrashed and trashed Israel.) Isaiah didn't approve of this belittling of his country, and proceeded to foretell the results of the error of kowtowing to goyim Assyrians.
Red Fraction wrote:When I read it "Isaiah" 5 these words remind me of the world we are living in right now. But this was in isreals time. So why does it bear striking accracy to now.?
Simply because of the human condition - "All men have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God", to quote Paul. Because of our love to err, we fall, repeatedly. Due to this, the errors of the past often repeat themselves. (Take this thread as an example. Do you know why it is so bloody long? Because people keep saying the same old things, bringing up the same old arguments over and over and over... and to just look back at what went before is so simple it is laughable. Some of us just quote ourselves ad nauseum to deal with the monotony of it all. ) History is full of Ahazes and Isaiahs... and to consider these ancient writings (whose focus is quite clear) as a specific modern prophecy is yet another foolish error that is oft repeated...Red Fraction wrote:Dspike take a look at this taken from Daniel "I am quoting from the good book because it is relevant"
22 Until the Ancient of days came, and judgment was given to the saints of the most High; and the time came that the saints possessed the kingdom.
23 Thus he said, The fourth beast shall be the fourth kingdom upon earth, which shall be diverse from all kingdoms, and shall devour the whole earth, and shall tread it down, and break it in pieces.
Do you know who is the ancient of days?
And do you know which is the fourth kingdom being spoken about in this text?
the bible says Friday 3pmAdamB wrote:megadoc1 wrote:Adam B this argument is perfect only in ignorance, in the ancient world Jewish reckoning of time was not like how we reckon time in this modern age ,back then any part of the day was considered a day but I willAdamB wrote:Merlener,
leave you to research the rest or continue making a fool of yourself no wait let me give you something practical to butcher
Luk 13:32 And he said unto them, Go and say to that fox, Behold, I cast out demons and perform cures to-day and to-morrow, and the third day I am perfected.
Luk 13:33 Nevertheless I must go on my way to-day and to-morrow and the day following: for it cannot be that a prophet perish out of Jerusalem.
I was hoping that one of you guys would say what time on Friday he was supposed "killed" and what time on Sunday he was supposed "resurrected".
yuh see why yuh should study what others believe before you offer your objections? let me give yuh more headache on the first day of the week (sunday) after Jesus' grave was found empty, two guys on the way to Emmaus was telling Jesus that Today(that same day his tomb was found empty) is the Third Day since he (Jesus) was crucified so go read it and tell me if yuh still want to argue their way of reckoning luke 24:13-27AdamB wrote:The quote said 3 days and 3 nights, that's kinda clear but anyway you guys say 3 GODS = 1 GOD, so 3 DAYS + 3 NIGHTS = 2 DAYS + 2 (OR 3) NIGHTS should be perfectly acceptable to you.
great so here is where you went wrong, where underlined, I used the term "ancient time" regarding reckoning of time back then compared to now and nothing else ! please do not try to stretch that! second, you are 'forgetting' that Jesus' heart was also pierced on the crossAdamB wrote:It was also quoted from the mouth of Jesus that "just as Jonah was in the belly of the fish/whale", he would be "IN THE HEART OF THE EARTH". Now since "that was ancient times", you would say that ON THE CROSS = BEING "BURIED" IN THE HEART OF THE EARTH. Of course, that's logical to you because it helps to justify your NEED to have a MAN-GOD die for you to be saved.
Jesus died on the cross not in the earth so your comparison is a bit offAdamB wrote:You say jesus died, I want to know clearly: DID JONAH DIE IN THE BELLY OF THE FISH AND WAS RESURRECTED?
AdamB wrote:Also, could you also advise that "in ancient times", how long did it take for a person to die on the cross? (since the point of crucifixion was to have a long painful death, and Jesus was a young man of good health so he would have lasted the longest I presume.)
habit7, it has always been this way with adam b as soon as you address his claims, he just jumps onto another one without even responding to or defending his first,Habit7 wrote:I love how you gloss over the highlighting of the errors of your claims over the Book of Isaiah and its unchanged script. Furthermore, that you ignore the fact the 700 years prior Isaiah prophesies the birth, life and death of Jesus in vivid detail along with the His role as intercessor, a role that the man Muhammad attempts to claim.
You repeatedly make false claims and cite dubious references and when corrected you refuse to acknowledge and go on accusing the Bible of being corrupted and altered (again with no proof). I wonder if it is even possible to reason with you, because you don't use truth as a basis of belief.
AdamB wrote:Not filth, just engrossed in misguided until the true message of ALMIGHTY SETTLES IN THE HEART OF THE ONES WHO ARE SINCERE.
nareshseep wrote:
Sacchetto Boutique wrote:@ kasey, knowledge is power..seek knowledge from the cradle to the grave...
it wont change my perspective but i am curious as to how that works within their beliefs.
hahaha!Sacchetto Boutique wrote:@ kasey, knowledge is power..seek knowledge from the cradle to the grave...
it wont change my perspective but i am curious as to how that works within their beliefs.
TonyM wrote:hahaha!Sacchetto Boutique wrote:@ kasey, knowledge is power..seek knowledge from the cradle to the grave...
What you said there is "seek knowledge from the cradle to the grave...but it wont change my perspective[/b]
That is hypocrisy, ignorant behavior and closed mindedness all rolled into one.
What you are saying is that even if you hear the truth you will stick with your pre-conceived beliefs
Sacchetto Boutique wrote:Habit7, can you explain the Christ died for your sins thing? I dont understand how it works. Can a christian commit a sin and all will be ok bc Christ died for his/ her sins?
Kasey wrote:They need religion i.e. a promise of reward/punishment, to keep them in check.