The Religion Discussion

Re: The Religion Discussion

Postby Habit7 » May 1st, 2013, 3:12 pm

The "chance" there means life. Hebrews 9:27 And inasmuch as it is appointed for men to die once and after this comes judgment,

Repentance is not a work, if God has begun his regenerative work within you to make you respond to the Gospel you will repent (turn from your sins) and put your trust in Jesus (for the forgiveness). In the end, God is the one that grants repentance:
Acts 11:18 When they heard this, they quieted down and glorified God, saying, “Well then, God has granted to the Gentiles also the repentance that leads to life.”
2 Timothy 2:25 with gentleness correcting those who are in opposition, if perhaps God may grant them repentance leading to the knowledge of the truth,

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » May 1st, 2013, 3:34 pm

i believe u are misusing the words 'grant them repentance'.

do u believe everyone will be saved? regardless of whether they accept or deny God and his word?

uve used the classic 'out of context method to uphold ur arguement. but by ur rationale.. Hell is going to be empty come judgement day. everyone is already saved.

i would think that 'granting repentance' has a different meaning than the one u posit. that it means the Lord will accept your repentance and 're-grant' u access to eden. that we are cast out of eden and must conquer the double edged sword to get back to innocence and truth. like a child we must be to enter heaven.

i am loosely quoting.. i dont consult the bible in these discussions by the way. it is all or mostly all from memory.

either way.. we definitely have some sort of work we must do.

man cannot access the kingdom of heaven by works alone

it is easier for a camel to pass thru the eye of a needle than for a rich man to enter the kingdom of heaven.

these things all suggest a test, a goal and the bible tells u how the test is graded and how to pass. u cannot deny we are here in a test. that we have been assigned a mission. how can i rock back and say 'jesus died for me i am saved amen"

?????? u really think that would work? how then do u access the kingdom of heaven? can u tell me how u do it? if we are all saved.. then we can all go right now. not so?

what is wrong with the rich man? cant he get into heaven on christ's death? why does the bible suggest they give up all their worldly possessions and seek God? what kind of madman would do such a thing? trade all material wealth for a fantastic promise...

ur train of thought leads u to a life without purpose and even thoughts of hopelessness. it is depressing. all the wicked ppl who didnt even try.. all going to heaven? doesnt sound like much to strive for in terms of morality. the ramifications are endlessly chaotic.

what if the devil has somehow tricked u into a life of inaction. believing there is no greater reward to be achieved. stagnating ur own growth.

Postby Habit7 » May 1st, 2013, 5:54 pm

I haven't responded to much of your posts much. They tend to be too hard to follow for me, personally. But you seem to enjoy what you are doing and I am sure you like to see your ideas transmitted unto the screen. Continue to think deeply and challenge your ideas as you challenge others.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » May 1st, 2013, 6:03 pm

Kasey wrote:yea the Gita.

That's like Harry potter right? With flying, talking monkey gods, elephant head dudes, women with 8 arms, ten headed men. Hinduism really is a joke.

Sent from my LG-P880 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby MG Man » May 1st, 2013, 6:19 pm

All it's missing is a wandering hippie with a thing for hookers

Postby Habit7 » May 1st, 2013, 6:28 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:That's like Harry potter right? With flying, talking monkey gods, elephant head dudes, women with 8 arms, ten headed men. Hinduism really is a joke.

It is one thing to debate it is another to insult, please temper you comments.

2 Tim 2:24-26 The Lord’s bond-servant must not be quarrelsome, but be kind to all, able to teach, patient when wronged, with gentleness correcting those who are in opposition, if perhaps God may grant them repentance leading to the knowledge of the truth, and they may come to their senses and escape from the snare of the devil, having been held captive by him to do his will.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » May 1st, 2013, 6:52 pm

Habit7 wrote:I haven't responded to much of your posts much. They tend to be too hard to follow for me, personally. But you seem to enjoy what you are doing and I am sure you like to see your ideas transmitted unto the screen. Continue to think deeply and challenge your ideas as you challenge others.

yes its very much a thinking excercise. u'll get it dont worry. as long as u do just as u advised me to. what i enjoy is having my own understanding challenged. so that any flaws may be discovered and rectified. im not trying to pull u down. but the thinking excercise gets the ball rolling on how u can decifer truth. by annihilating contradiction in ur perception of truth. even new information should not contradict previous perceptions. thats how ull know u got it right.

marlener

Postby marlener » May 1st, 2013, 6:53 pm

If we had work to do to be saved,then it we wouldn`t be saved by grace,the reason that we do certain things is because we are saved not to be saved.It like a coconut tree bearing coconut.It does not do it to become a coconut tree but because it is. The bible states that it is EASIER for a rich man to ent heaven not impossible.It also says that the love of money is the root of all evil.If the rich can keep the first commandment then the is the first step.Mg care to share your Flying Pasta Monster beliefs??

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » May 1st, 2013, 7:21 pm

indeed it is not impossible for a rich man to enter the kingdom of heaven.

but on the topic of being saved. why are we instructed to repent? and why must God grant us repentance? doesnt that sound like we still have to do something? we have direct commands from Jesus to 'seek ye the kingdom of heaven'.

have we found it and i missed it in the news?

marlener

Postby marlener » May 1st, 2013, 7:31 pm

Well it is in the meaning of the word.Repentance is the turning away from sin.Sinful humans cannot enter in the presence of God.God knows the heart and if we are sincere then he will out of love of us in accordance with his word. Repentance is not work,even the feelings and promptings that let us know we have gone astray is the spirit`s working.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » May 1st, 2013, 8:01 pm

ok then, so we dont have to seek the kingdom of heaven? or do anything else except accept christ as our saviour.. meaning all the ppl of other religions are going to hell on judgement day?

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » May 1st, 2013, 8:05 pm

let's also ask if ur addressing the right person when u say 'i accept jesus as my lord and saviour'. but let's take into consideration that back then ppl did not speak english. they spoke hebrew. there is no letter ' j ' in the hebrew language.

this is the foundation of why the jews reject jesus as a fallible diety. the man may have lived.. but his name wasnt jesus.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » May 1st, 2013, 8:24 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:

That's like Harry potter right? With flying, talking monkey gods, elephant head dudes, women with 8 arms, ten headed men. Hinduism really is a joke.

quoted for reference.

marlener

Postby marlener » May 1st, 2013, 8:52 pm

@turbotusty I am not responsibile for entry into heaven and can`t tell a person`s spiritual condition when their life closes so I can say. You would also have to look at what seeking the kingdom of God entails.You think that is the reason that the Jews reject Christ? Lol.Please please tell me that you are joking. Based on what you have said before your study of the bible would have given you the reasons.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » May 1st, 2013, 9:47 pm

Kasey wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:

quoted for reference.

I lie?

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » May 1st, 2013, 10:15 pm

no not the main reason. but according to their beliefs jesus is a false diety. and they are the jews? but the entire premise still comes back to what happens to everyone else at judgement day? all those religions. those that dont believe in jesus? all going to burn? only christians will be saved?

that's just like the muslims saying only allah and only islam is the chosen faith. as all faiths. something is wrong there.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » May 1st, 2013, 10:25 pm

Last edited by nareshseep on May 1st, 2013, 10:30 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » May 1st, 2013, 10:28 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:
Kasey wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:

quoted for reference.

I lie?

Yes u lie, Hinduism is not a joke.

Sent from ah laptop using mih fingers

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » May 1st, 2013, 10:31 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 1st, 2013, 10:41 pm

turbotusty wrote:it's just smarter to look at the whole picture before u make a judgement.
did you need to read the entire Qur'an, Torah or Gita before you claim the Bible is right?

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » May 1st, 2013, 10:43 pm

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » May 1st, 2013, 10:46 pm

nareshseep wrote:

Is osho u put up there for them zealots to understand lol. Ohh that can't be hinduism, remember what metalgear posted is in the Gita, the book I am sure he read.

Sent from my Liberty using TriniTuner mobile app

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » May 1st, 2013, 11:19 pm

turbotusty wrote:it's just smarter to look at the whole picture before u make a judgement.
did you need to read the entire Qur'an, Torah or Gita before you claim the Bible is right?

i have read the gita tho i cant remember if i read the entire thing. but i did go thru it. ive consulted all the books. and have studied large portions of each including ancient religious studies of various ancient cultures.

but the thing is.. i entertain both the religious/spiritual as well as the scientific/logical. i am well abreast of scientific affairs. i dont reject it as others reject spirituality as a farce whilst biding wholly and soley in science.

yes i even believe in forging a unity between science and religion. which is already in the process of becoming a reality.

and yes i had to study all of them to get the whole picture. tho im not claiming only the bible is right. im claiming all of them are. in fact. i found the eastern asian teachings to be the easiest to understand and most beneficial. but i could not understand them and their relation without first studying the bible and the other ancient teachings.

Postby bluefete » May 2nd, 2013, 7:13 am

metalgear2095 wrote:

Ezekiel 1:

5 Also out of the midst thereof came the likeness of four living creatures. And this was their appearance; they had the likeness of a man.

6 And every one had four faces, and every one had four wings.

7 And their feet were straight feet; and the sole of their feet was like the sole of a calf's foot: and they sparkled like the colour of burnished brass.

8 And they had the hands of a man under their wings on their four sides; and they four had their faces and their wings.

9 Their wings were joined one to another; they turned not when they went; they went every one straight forward.

10 As for the likeness of their faces, they four had the face of a man, and the face of a lion, on the right side: and they four had the face of an ox on the left side; they four also had the face of an eagle.

11 Thus were their faces: and their wings were stretched upward; two wings of every one were joined one to another, and two covered their bodies.

12 And they went every one straight forward: whither the spirit was to go, they went; and they turned not when they went.

13 As for the likeness of the living creatures, their appearance was like burning coals of fire, and like the appearance of lamps: it went up and down among the living creatures; and the fire was bright, and out of the fire went forth lightning.

Revelation 4:

6 And before the throne there was a sea of glass like unto crystal: and in the midst of the throne, and round about the throne, were four beasts full of eyes before and behind.

7 And the first beast was like a lion, and the second beast like a calf, and the third beast had a face as a man, and the fourth beast was like a flying eagle.

8 And the four beasts had each of them six wings about him; and they were full of eyes within: and they rest not day and night, saying, Holy, holy, holy, Lord God Almighty, which was, and is, and is to come.

9 And when those beasts give glory and honour and thanks to him that sat on the throne, who liveth for ever and ever,

10 The four and twenty elders fall down before him that sat on the throne, and worship him that liveth for ever and ever, and cast their crowns before the throne, saying,

11 Thou art worthy, O Lord, to receive glory and honour and power: for thou hast created all things, and for thy pleasure they are and were created.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 2nd, 2013, 8:36 am

metalgear2095 wrote:

Ignorance is no joke though. And your chock filled with it.
Hinduism is based not on the Ramayana which is what most Trinidadians associate the religion with. Those ten headed men and monkey gods you refer to are from that book.

Hinduism is based on the Vedas which consists of four books which I am sure you have never read. To a lesser extent it is also heavily based on the Gita, also not the story book you may be expecting.
Last edited by Dizzy28 on May 2nd, 2013, 8:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » May 2nd, 2013, 8:37 am

bluefete wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:

Ezekiel 1:

5 Also out of the midst thereof came the likeness of four living creatures. And this was their appearance; they had the likeness of a man.

6 And every one had four faces, and every one had four wings.

7 And their feet were straight feet; and the sole of their feet was like the sole of a calf's foot: and they sparkled like the colour of burnished brass.

8 And they had the hands of a man under their wings on their four sides; and they four had their faces and their wings.

9 Their wings were joined one to another; they turned not when they went; they went every one straight forward.

10 As for the likeness of their faces, they four had the face of a man, and the face of a lion, on the right side: and they four had the face of an ox on the left side; they four also had the face of an eagle.

11 Thus were their faces: and their wings were stretched upward; two wings of every one were joined one to another, and two covered their bodies.

12 And they went every one straight forward: whither the spirit was to go, they went; and they turned not when they went.

13 As for the likeness of the living creatures, their appearance was like burning coals of fire, and like the appearance of lamps: it went up and down among the living creatures; and the fire was bright, and out of the fire went forth lightning.

Revelation 4:

6 And before the throne there was a sea of glass like unto crystal: and in the midst of the throne, and round about the throne, were four beasts full of eyes before and behind.

7 And the first beast was like a lion, and the second beast like a calf, and the third beast had a face as a man, and the fourth beast was like a flying eagle.

8 And the four beasts had each of them six wings about him; and they were full of eyes within: and they rest not day and night, saying, Holy, holy, holy, Lord God Almighty, which was, and is, and is to come.

9 And when those beasts give glory and honour and thanks to him that sat on the throne, who liveth for ever and ever,

10 The four and twenty elders fall down before him that sat on the throne, and worship him that liveth for ever and ever, and cast their crowns before the throne, saying,

11 Thou art worthy, O Lord, to receive glory and honour and power: for thou hast created all things, and for thy pleasure they are and were created.

Dreams/ visions

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » May 2nd, 2013, 8:42 am

metalgear2095 wrote:

Ignorance is no joke though. And your chock filled with it.
Hinduism is based not on the Ramayana which is what most Trinidadians associate the religion with. Those ten headed men and monkey gods you refer to are from that book.

Hinduism is based on the Vedas which consists of four books which I am sure you have never read. To a lesser extent it is also heavily based on the Gita, also not the story book you may be expecting.

So y'all don't worship Ganesh, lakshmi, hanuman?

Last edited by metalgear2095 on May 2nd, 2013, 8:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » May 2nd, 2013, 8:45 am

turbotusty wrote:

i have read the gita tho i cant remember if i read the entire thing. but i did go thru it. ive consulted all the books. and have studied large portions of each including ancient religious studies of various ancient cultures.

but the thing is.. i entertain both the religious/spiritual as well as the scientific/logical. i am well abreast of scientific affairs. i dont reject it as others reject spirituality as a farce whilst biding wholly and soley in science.

yes i even believe in forging a unity between science and religion. which is already in the process of becoming a reality.

and yes i had to study all of them to get the whole picture. tho im not claiming only the bible is right. im claiming all of them are. in fact. i found the eastern asian teachings to be the easiest to understand and most beneficial. but i could not understand them and their relation without first studying the bible and the other ancient teachings.

So after you studied these religions your best conclusion is that they all right?

Postby Dizzy28 » May 2nd, 2013, 8:50 am

^ By ya'll you referring to Hindus right? I have stated before within this thread I believe in a oneness/singularity of God. This one god doesn't care that you call him Jesus, Yahweh, Krishna, Allah, Flying Spaghetti monster. But he is dissapointed when you take his any of his names and wage hate, ignorance, fear and wars all in the name of who is right. But just as with any of the established religions thats an opinion though. (My opinion)

Unlike some of the fanatics in here I willing to accept I may be wrong, but I may also be right.

Postby Habit7 » May 2nd, 2013, 9:14 am

Dizzy28 wrote:^ By ya'll you referring to Hindus right? I have stated before within this thread I believe in a oneness/singularity of God. This one god doesn't care that you call him Jesus, Yahweh, Krishna, Allah, Flying Spaghetti monster. But he is dissapointed when you take his any of his names and wage hate, ignorance, fear and wars all in the name of who is right. But just as with any of the established religions thats an opinion though. (My opinion)

What you are saying sounds very ecumenical and inclusive and is uttered by many in society. But if you are to call "God" by any name, attached to that name would be the requisite teaching that goes along with it. So when you have the God of the Bible saying He is the only way, the Allah of the Quran saying the same, Sikhs, Mormon, etc. while Hindus technically say the monotheists are wrong, their gods are apart of our polytheism. The fact is most religions are mutual exclusive. To say that there is one all embracing god who doesnt regard names would be creating your own god and religion, while passively saying all who dont believe like you, are wrong.