1005.9lbs fish was caught today in Tobago

speedmelter

Re: 1005.9lbs fish was caught today in Tobago

Postby speedmelter » May 13th, 2013, 7:50 pm

cant really blame the guys for catching this fish. no one forced it to take the bait. i went fishing more than ten times and never caught a fish ever. the odds are always with the fishes. im sure alot of patience and luck went into the process of catching the fish. besides most of you guys wouldn't have even known such a large fish exist within our waters. im sure there are larger monsters down there. thankfully not many are even capable of catching these fishes

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 13th, 2013, 8:22 pm

wow that is big!!!!

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 13th, 2013, 8:25 pm

~Vēġó~ wrote:wow that is big!!!!

That's what she said

Postby noshownogo » May 13th, 2013, 8:42 pm

Had one 1/4 this weight pull on me in a harness and break a line and almost my arm. Can't imagine 1000lbs

knorgriff

Postby knorgriff » May 13th, 2013, 8:56 pm

Rallyfignis wrote:
Yodins wrote:
nemisis wrote:
pioneer wrote:poor thing

Bunch ah white guys who could afford to buy fishin gears and a boat deserve 350k and a benz? a, just for arguments sake, 100 year old fish hadda be slaughtered for "sport". seems fair. If only that fish coulda talk eh

Yea, he would probably say "Hush yuh stupid hippy kant, I ole no a$$ and wanted tuh dead"

Ahahahahaha

Sent from my iPhone using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby sharkman121 » May 13th, 2013, 9:11 pm

shogun wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:still amazed at the marlins top speed of 80kph... damn

Too late eh. You already picked your online persona/username.....no "marlinman121" fuh yuh!

Ah cud pm ah mod n arks him to change it :|

Sent from my GT-I9100 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby meccalli » May 14th, 2013, 8:20 am

noshownogo wrote:Had one 1/4 this weight pull on me in a harness and break a line and almost my arm. Can't imagine 1000lbs

LOL, somebody didn't set their drag right. Record marlin in the 700lb class have been caught on 6lb test mono. Not to mention 2lb test records.

Postby Razkal » May 14th, 2013, 11:46 am

i hope the blissfully unaware and ignorant are aware that the billfishing circuit globally is the single largest contributor of scientific data regarding these marlin and all billfish. without the effort of informed and dedicated anglers, we would know very little about these giants.

keep in mind, as rallyfignis and bezman said, these fishes that are kept are usually distributed to charities and great effort to not waste anything is made.
rules and regulations for catching these fishes in tournament are very strict and dictate all gear used must inflict minimal damage and ensure each potential hook up can be safely released.

now talk about the millions of pounds of underweight, juvenile, and downright inedible fish sold at markets everyday and caught by recreational fishermen day in, day out under our archaic Fisheries laws..poor tarpon and snappers.

on topic, great job Predator, i guess michael and peter gonna real coast to make small missions now :lol:

Bezman

Postby Bezman » May 14th, 2013, 12:05 pm

lolz, i was waiting for the "bunch of white boys" comments yes...

ADONI

Postby ADONI » May 14th, 2013, 2:58 pm

The youth make news on Yahoo yes!

Yodins

Postby Yodins » May 14th, 2013, 6:55 pm

nemisis wrote:
Rallyfignis wrote:
dread_2002 wrote:
Yodins wrote:
nemisis wrote:
pioneer wrote:poor thing

Bunch ah white guys who could afford to buy fishin gears and a boat deserve 350k and a benz? a, just for arguments sake, 100 year old fish hadda be slaughtered for "sport". seems fair. If only that fish coulda talk eh

hmm so
i guess white ppl should not be allowed to fish.
we should ONLY ALLOW non whites.

I agree!!!
FORK THE HONKEYSSSSS!!!!!
:grin::grin::grin:

colah doh matter. I just fine they shoulda organise with some scientists or something to implant a tracking device in it or something. Even just catch it, take a few pics and let it go just to mire its beauty. #HuggATree

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » May 14th, 2013, 7:10 pm

noshownogo wrote:Had one 1/4 this weight pull on me in a harness and break a line and almost my arm. Can't imagine 1000lbs

One of the guys broke his wrist fighting the fish......

Postby meccalli » May 14th, 2013, 8:24 pm

hoverauto wrote:

For it to be a record, only one person can fight a fish, nobody can even touch the rod, unless he landed the fish with a broken wrist?

Postby Trini Hookah » May 14th, 2013, 8:30 pm

Bizzare wrote:They coulda take a better pic

You wouldnt believe i was thinking this same thing eh :lol:

Ray Laks

Postby Ray Laks » May 14th, 2013, 11:09 pm

Jeezus Raza, these people ketch meh bait!

Postby SMc » May 15th, 2013, 4:00 am

geodude wrote:I know its unlikely but I can't help imagine the scene as it would play out. if a few small time fisher men in a pirogue hook a monster like that.

The Old Man and The Sea..Hemingway

try it.

Postby sMASH » May 15th, 2013, 6:54 am

seriously, men using lines to catch these fish every year is no big scenes... even if a thousand men do this every year is no scenes.

what does impact the fishes are the trawlers. trawling catches every thing wanted and unwanted. it destroys the sea beds, damages the under sea habitats for the lower on the food chain.

catching a few big fish is no problem if u don't interfere with them as they grow up, as there would always be one to take their place. but when destroy them in the beginning of the food chain, then u destroy every thing.

if we have to beat up, we should join the kublalsingh bandwagon, and beat up about the chemical run offs from agriculture, the chemicals by way of wastes or releases from the industry and manufacturing sites, the development of the the gulf of paria, and the encroachment on mangroves

Postby meccalli » May 15th, 2013, 7:14 am

Catching a few big fish is not the issue, is the thousands of small ones that will never spawn.

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » May 15th, 2013, 7:41 am

meccalli wrote:
hoverauto wrote:

For it to be a record, only one person can fight a fish, nobody can even touch the rod, unless he landed the fish with a broken wrist?

He was handling the leader and it double wrapped around his wrist apparently...

Very lucky to still be around...

Yodins

Postby Yodins » May 15th, 2013, 7:44 am

Soo many young fish who eh even bull yet :(

Postby meccalli » May 15th, 2013, 9:17 am

[/quote]He was handling the leader and it double wrapped around his wrist apparently...

Very lucky to still be around...[/quote]

ahh damn, leadering a fish that large always has some risk, particularly billfish I guess.

turbo tercel

Postby turbo tercel » May 15th, 2013, 12:53 pm

Most of you guys have no idea what your talking about. We have very strict rules about conservation. We are fishermen and we love the ocean and everything about it. I am proud to be a part of history. Thanks to everyone who supported us. This fish is going to put Trinidad & Tobago on the fishing world map like you can't believe. Tobago tourism especially will benefit greatly from this with minimal or no impact on the ocean life. The real problem as someone said before is the trawlers and long liners who have no respect or rules on the ocean and are killing the billfish population with no care. We released 3 other billfish in this tournament and they were all under 100lbs and will have the opportunity to grow and populate the ocean. Big up to the Predator crew, my boys for life.

The marlin was cleaned on shore and half of it fed the entire charlotteville community and the other half was given to a Tobago charity.

Thanks again for all the support

Postby sliderz1 » May 15th, 2013, 1:02 pm

you got some more pictures man?

Postby Razkal » May 15th, 2013, 6:00 pm

Ray Laks wrote:Jeezus Raza, these people ketch meh bait!

you reminded me of a friend who no longer around with that one dread! :lol:

Postby shogun » May 16th, 2013, 12:08 am

Good work turbo tercel.

geodude

Postby geodude » May 16th, 2013, 12:49 am

turbo tercel wrote:Most of you guys have no idea what your talking about. We have very strict rules about conservation. We are fishermen and we love the ocean and everything about it. I am proud to be a part of history. Thanks to everyone who supported us. This fish is going to put Trinidad & Tobago on the fishing world map like you can't believe. Tobago tourism especially will benefit greatly from this with minimal or no impact on the ocean life. The real problem as someone said before is the trawlers and long liners who have no respect or rules on the ocean and are killing the billfish population with no care. We released 3 other billfish in this tournament and they were all under 100lbs and will have the opportunity to grow and populate the ocean. Big up to the Predator crew, my boys for life.

The marlin was cleaned on shore and half of it fed the entire charlotteville community and the other half was given to a Tobago charity.

still think its very sad that such a majestic creature was killed.

Postby sMASH » May 16th, 2013, 5:15 am

carnivore have to carn, dan

Postby shogun » May 16th, 2013, 5:34 am

sharkman121 wrote:
shogun wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:still amazed at the marlins top speed of 80kph... damn

Too late eh. You already picked your online persona/username.....no "marlinman121" fuh yuh!

Ah cud pm ah mod n arks him to change it :|

Sent from my GT-I9100 using TriniTuner mobile app

Now seein' this :lol:

jmccomie

Postby jmccomie » May 16th, 2013, 11:22 am

- Rovin's car audio - wrote:
tr1ad wrote:meh, if was me i would put it back.... it live so long already

was waiting for somebody else to say it b4 i say it & get loud up ... :oops: ..... :mrgreen:

yea and just let thousands of dollars just swim away ent

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » May 16th, 2013, 2:16 pm

turbo tercel wrote:Most of you guys have no idea what your talking about. We have very strict rules about conservation. We are fishermen and we love the ocean and everything about it. I am proud to be a part of history. Thanks to everyone who supported us. This fish is going to put Trinidad & Tobago on the fishing world map like you can't believe. Tobago tourism especially will benefit greatly from this with minimal or no impact on the ocean life. The real problem as someone said before is the trawlers and long liners who have no respect or rules on the ocean and are killing the billfish population with no care. We released 3 other billfish in this tournament and they were all under 100lbs and will have the opportunity to grow and populate the ocean. Big up to the Predator crew, my boys for life.

Well said and well done, congrats to the Predator crew!

Another thing y'all have to remember is that a fish this old is not only no longer fertile and cannot reproduce, but also eats about 1/3 its weight in fish a day, so who raping the ocean now?