pioneer wrote:who really cares?
pioneer wrote:It good, they continue to disregard everyone else in society.
And let's not even talk about what they do on the highways.
They need to get their act together.
Unlimited Motorsports wrote:To all the loyal supporters of local Motorsport and by extension Drifting this is an official response.
The event was postponed due to a miscommunication between two parties involved. So the decision was made to postpone until the matter was resolved. Rest assured Drift events will be executed very soon as a new energy has been put into the Sport to take it to the next level.
All the ticket holders have thus far been able to get a full refund of their tickets. All rumors as to the history of my involvement to the Sport have been very far from the truth.
History
Back in 2010 I Andre Rochford approached DWO with an idea to promote a five hour Drift event. After DWO's consideration they agreed. The event was successfully executed at the Larry Gomes Stadium for a fee of $5,000.00. I then approached DWO again to promote another Drift event at Pier 2. They also agreed to do the event and now charging me $35,000.00 four months after the first event. In total they received $23,000.00 in advance and the event was executed. Again another successful Drift event executed. After the event was audited, we were in the Red of over $70,000.00. I explained to DWO the event was not financially successful but the main objective was achieved, the awareness and a platform for Drivers to showcase their skill.
I became demotivated because here I am trying to help build a Motorsport and I have to pay top dollar for these guys to showcase themselves. After 2 years had passed and nobody took the initiative to promote another event to reassure the Motorsport world Drifting still existed.
I then attended Drag & Wine where much to my delight Drifting was part of the event. I waited until 5:30 that day to now see these guys who spend hundreds of thousands of dollars on their Car get 30 minutes to Drift at Drag & Wine.
I then approached Dirty Projects and 4 other Clubs who were fed up of the exploitation from Rawl Mahabir. If you all didn't know these Drifters now had to pay Auto Sport to be part of the event and they were forced to reach the venue for 9am for an event that was carded to start at 5:30 pm.
All the active Clubs were excited to know that after all this time I was still interested to push the sport. Since then I have organised 10 practice sessions with various clubs, Beach Limes for the Clubs to bond, Meetings for the Clubs to come together to form an association for the betterment of the Sport.
Rawl you have exploited Drifters for too long and they have all took a stance to boy cut your events. So the more you try to down someone who is making an effort to give the Sport the respect it deserves, the deeper you dig a hole for yourself.
I have no time to talk about you anymore because everybody will soon do the research ask Drifters and see all that I have just stated above is correct. So to all the haters hate on.....
WHAT HAVE YOU DONE FOR DRIFTING THUS FAR
janfar wrote:These guys want to be paid to drift???
I thought 'everyone' paid to participate in D&W...
X2 wrote:You had to pay drifters because you were putting on an entertainment event... the drifters that may have 'performed' are akin to paying a band to perform at a party.
Drag and Wind is a RACING event where drifters have an opportunity to hone their skill and technique in front of a crowd... whilst drifting may have entertainment value and requires skill....
...Drifting is not a sport.
SR wrote:Yuh never wonder why his last event was 3 years ago.......and poof he dissapears or why after over 5 years he still cant pay a bill but spins a set of lies to defend his position in not paying the bill while at the same time telling me he will pay the bill and he sorry and come to the show and he will pay the bill from monies collected at the gate
Tsuchiya wrote:On behalf of the DWO members that took part at the pier 2 event and in response to Mr. Rochford's statement; an agreement was made for the 2 days at pier 2, which in fact was a Drift Show.....the money agreed upon was actually to supply the competing cars with tyres. What is puzzling though is the claim made by Mr. Rochford that Andy at Racetrac wheels doubled the tyre cost.
Here is an insight; as it stands, I am a drifter that took part on both days. I used my own tyres for day 1. And on day 2, I in fact used the brand new pair of tyres that Andre Rochford supposedly supplied via racetrac wheels, which the entire life was subsequently used up that same night and I drove home on a spare set I brought along. Nothing more....
If anyone wants details of the 2010 meeting, we have the entire discussion recorded for minutes purposes.