WTK: Pros + Cons of turboing a B14 Engine

Nismo2510

WTK: Pros + Cons of turboing a B14 Engine

Postby Nismo2510 » September 5th, 2013, 8:55 pm

Contemplating on putting a turbo on my B14 (GA15)..the car is daily driven
would it be reliable?...not looking for much gains, maybe about 5-7lbs of boost max
basically just get that nice bov sound , could it be done on stock internals...?
could it break the engine?..is it advisable to do so or not?..

note:
im not going for a ghetto install..
clean nice install..everything done right..because it makes no sense spending money twice...
if it can be done right the first time do it that way..

sonygoup

Re: WTK: Pros + Cons of turboing a B14 Engine

Postby sonygoup » September 5th, 2013, 9:04 pm

Lol i like what i said in the note section really make sense! I learn a new motto :grin:

Nismo2510

Postby Nismo2510 » September 5th, 2013, 9:08 pm

lol learn my lesson with them thing...if anyone has a b14 turbo engine i want some advice..

kerron01

Postby kerron01 » September 5th, 2013, 9:33 pm

It has been done many times. Good luck. I have a really mean turbo manifold for ga15/16 qg15/16/18
Might sell it if I get the price I looking for other wise I'll keep it snd find use for it in the future. Btw its brand new.

Nismo2510

Postby Nismo2510 » September 5th, 2013, 11:06 pm

dont mind buying the parts i have most of it already
ijust want to know if it makes sense..cuz im not looking for a setta of whp for racing
just for small gains and a nice hks sequential sneeze.
cuz im driving everyday..

Postby turbosingh » September 6th, 2013, 6:45 am

Well if it just the BOV sound you want to hear then go right ahead make sure yuh have a piggy back to support you.The engine can safely handle 8psi.BTW who doing the install?

kerron01

Postby kerron01 » September 6th, 2013, 11:01 am

Makes plenty sence to me just remember to upgrade ur stopping power.

ruff neck chicken

Postby ruff neck chicken » September 6th, 2013, 11:28 am

as long as you know not to expect a great deal of hp increase and it is more for fun, by all means go ahead.i did a b14 i owned a few years ago.everyone told me not to because the money that i would spend could have easily been used in a sr20 conversion and be faster.lets just say i proved them wrong 8-)

Nismo2510

Postby Nismo2510 » September 6th, 2013, 1:26 pm

turbosingh wrote:Well if it just the BOV sound you want to hear then go right ahead make sure yuh have a piggy back to support you.The engine can safely handle 8psi.BTW who doing the install?

Not sure who is going about doing the install as yet.,
but it has a guy on my side in Hermitage
that only fixes and deal up in modified engines, so im not sure if ill go by him.
My parts are going be here in February so i want to know what im doing first
I want to do it, is just the everyday driving im worried about if it would mess up my engine
its a B14 n/a in a B12, but i was told as how the throttlebody is build up right some crap with the MAF sensor and such, it does be kinda difficult to boost it not sure as I'm not fully technical with the turbo business ,
I'm not going for hp gains to race men down a stretch,or to burn gas going down the road as is daily driven, just want to hear a nice *HKS sequential* as the gears change, and just to pretty up the bay with some chrome piping, as my car isn't really built for all the speed, because of its stanced nature , negvative camber and fitment of the tyres, I built it to be low and stanced (stretched tyres etc)
I've read threads about how people said their engine heads crack, and all kinda thing blow..
thats what im really scared about so im finding out...i really dont want to invest my money into a set of engine problems..other wise i would just run a fancy cold air intake to get some chrome piping..and pretty up the bay a little.. as the engine works flawless as is..

some more details and advice would be nice...would it be worthwhile to go the turbo route?..
thanks for the help

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 6th, 2013, 6:42 pm

I say go ahead with it with the purpose of improving fuel efficiency rather than speed (seeing that its a daily car)

Pros : nice sound, saving money/fuel/environment
cons : cyar race nobody to compare genital size

Nismo2510

Postby Nismo2510 » September 7th, 2013, 3:19 am

lolllll..kicks oui i will see how it goes

Postby Ted_v2 » September 7th, 2013, 9:42 am

So basically all you need is some bigger injectors and a ga16 trottle body. A turbo manifold. Oil lines and a tuner with a management. Intercooler and all that fun stuff
I say go ahead with the project. But me personally I'd sell the engine and tranny and upgrade to a sr20de.

Postby nervewrecker » September 7th, 2013, 11:24 am

Nismo2510

Postby Nismo2510 » September 7th, 2013, 1:56 pm

it have any intake that is a direct bolt up that would work..like ga16 ?

Jerron_speed

Postby Jerron_speed » September 8th, 2013, 7:47 pm

Nice thread bro...keeping updates..would love to do this project aswell :)

Nismo2510

Postby Nismo2510 » September 8th, 2013, 7:54 pm

im in the process..just need to get a ga16 block...for the intake..
not surre if it have a direct bolt on for an intake from any of the sr engine ...
ga16block
harness
computer
management

Postby Ted_v2 » September 8th, 2013, 9:10 pm

Sr20 intake. Make a plate Dan

Nismo2510

Postby Nismo2510 » September 8th, 2013, 10:57 pm

pm the info nah bro..the sr intaake would work?

Nismo2510

Postby Nismo2510 » September 23rd, 2013, 12:38 am

any more advice peeps?..turboing stock..i really dont want to blow the engine...

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » September 23rd, 2013, 1:15 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:So basically all you need is some bigger injectors and a ga16 trottle body. A turbo manifold. Oil lines and a tuner with a management. Intercooler and all that fun stuff
I say go ahead with the project. But me personally I'd sell the engine and tranny and upgrade to a sr20de.

:drinking:

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » September 23rd, 2013, 1:17 pm

turbosingh wrote:Well if it just the BOV sound you want to hear then go right ahead make sure yuh have a piggy back to support you.The engine can safely handle 8psi.BTW who doing the install?

bro yuh threading on thin ice.... msg me when u get time!

navin123

Postby navin123 » September 23rd, 2013, 11:07 pm

if its the BOV sound you want to hear just record a cd with the sounds hahaha,just kidding good luck with the build

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » September 24th, 2013, 12:10 am

Nismo2510 wrote:

Not sure who is going about doing the install as yet.,
but it has a guy on my side in Hermitage
that only fixes and deal up in modified engines, so im not sure if ill go by him.

Guy from Hermitage? Is it Ritchie?

Nismo2510

Postby Nismo2510 » September 24th, 2013, 12:23 pm

nah ah fella name Nazim

camden king

Postby camden king » October 26th, 2013, 12:14 am

kerron I am interested in your turbo manifold for the ja 15 engine, can you pm me or give me a contact number ?

Postby Ted_v2 » October 26th, 2013, 3:07 pm

Build one bra. It's stupid simple.