Fuel Subsidy/Gas Price Issues

ingalook

Re: Fuel Subsidy/Gas Price Issues

Postby ingalook » July 24th, 2013, 1:59 pm

We are forgetting that the Water taxis are filled to capacity every single morning... Yet this government reduced the number of sailings and don't seem to think the Water taxi is a good idea... Even if the basic geography of our country its almost as if God wanted us to use the water taxis

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » July 24th, 2013, 2:21 pm

^ With $40 million loss in revenue annually, might be easier to pay people to stay home, know it sounds silly. Water taxi seems like a good idea but not economical.

Postby redmanjp » July 24th, 2013, 3:22 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
janfar wrote:Bring fuel prices to global standards. Remove monopoly on the market for supplying for fuel.

Thats what needs to be done. Then and only then ppl will understand what it means to own a car.

If diesel goes from $1.50 to $7 per litre in the space of a day what do you think will happen? This is an open question to anyone not just you by the way. Add super to the mix from $2.70 to $5.45 per litre and ask what the repercussions would be (apart from people "learning" the true cost to own a vehicle)

there will be mass protests in every street if this happens- raise diesel & the price of EVERYTHING goes up!!

Postby janfar » July 24th, 2013, 3:29 pm

Raise anything and the price of everything goes up... thats the nature of trinidad because we as a ppl dont know how to stand up for whats right.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 24th, 2013, 8:25 pm

shaneelal wrote:^ With $40 million loss in revenue annually, might be easier to pay people to stay home, know it sounds silly. Water taxi seems like a good idea but not economical.

Every piece of infrastructure cost money, maintenance, policing etc.

But - that cost is on the high side, which most likely means we doing something wrong, it can still work with some tweaking... but I sense some people don't want it to work

Abandoning a form of public transportation before giving it a fair shake is the wrong way to go... nearly every older person I know does cuss/quarrel and get on when I asked them why the Train was stopped

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 24th, 2013, 8:27 pm

http://www.guardian.co.tt/business-guar ... dy-removed

T&T at risk if fuel subsidy is removed
Published:
Thursday, January 19, 2012
Gary Aboud

The fuel subsidy was originally intended for all our citizens to derive some little benefit from our petroleum windfall, especially in the area of gasoline and cooking gas, and not for a chosen few to defraud our nation.The gas subsidy is good and is intended to encourage industry and a better quality of life for the citizens of our country. Unfortunately, corruption of the subsidy has become a drain on our treasury and is threatening our citizens, who will be forced to pay the full price penalty of Government incompetence. The fuel corruption can be remedied if simple steps are followed. This non-governmental organisation has in previous correspondences outlined simple ABC steps that will stop the corruption, create transparency and save possibly billions lost through the official and slippery fingers of corruption.The fraud is occurring when the subsidised fuel is exported to unauthorised users or other countries, and to those who are operating in the energy sector. T&T, unlike Nigeria, does not have any neighbouring countries accessible by land, so if the fuel is to be sold elsewhere, it must be transported either by air or by sea. It is widely reported and known that several oceanic vessels (including shrimp trawlers) are now in the business of transporting fuel, which is sold to them in unlimited, unrecorded quantities by the pump (at the subsidised price).

There are many unanswered questions, and almost no transparency:
1) Are some public officials benefiting from this corruption?
2) Of the total value of the subsidy, how much of it is consumed in natural gas, and if this is merely a small percentage, then why is the Government preparing to increase the price of the natural gas?
3) How much of the subsidy does gasoline consume, and do marine vessels use gasoline?
4) Is there any potential market for the export of gasoline, especially when marine ports do not sell quantities of gasoline?
5) Is it not true that as much as 50 per cent of the subsidy goes to diesel sold at the waterfront?
6) If there is civil service and stakeholder corruption in the sale of diesel, then why should users of gasoline and natural gas be forced to face the consequences?
7) Is it not wiser that Government move to stop the corruption by implementing simple ABC steps?
8) Years and years have passed since this fraud on our people was discovered, so why has no visible action been taken?

We the public have a right to know.
There are many informed and concerned citizens who have a lot to contribute. We suggest that reform start at the level of dealing with the unauthorised sale of diesel and then gradual removal of the subsidy can occur with the monies saved being placed in a Development Fund for projects to improve health and education with legislation to ensure that no monies from the saved subsidy can be used by any future Government for any other purpose.
Without any further delay, Fishermen and Friends of the Sea urges our Government to hold a single venue public consultation so that informed stakeholders can discuss freely and contribute to this very critical developmental issue.

Gary Aboud
Corporate secretary
Fishermen and Friends of the Sea

Postby A172 » July 24th, 2013, 8:27 pm

duane this corner aint big enough for the both of us eh fadda

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 24th, 2013, 8:28 pm

lol... I like point 8

Postby Redman » July 24th, 2013, 8:55 pm

shaneelal wrote:^ With $40 million loss in revenue annually, might be easier to pay people to stay home, know it sounds silly. Water taxi seems like a good idea but not economical.

We should look at the suitability of the craft selected and why they were selected.
I suggest that the procurement, and implementation of the WT was corrupt and poorly executed.
This from people involved in the process

We should re look and do a proper feasibility study that looks at the size,frequency and routes that make sense when combined with the right type of vessels

The Gulf of Paria offers straight line access from Point Fortin to Sando and To POS/Chag.
Its free no maintenance and infinitely scalable.

I would look at hovercraft-easy to maintain( diesel or aircraft turbines)we have existing expertise,fast and easy to land -just reclaim a couple acres of land,and suitable to Gulf of Paria conditions.
Flexible and scalable.

http://www.griffonhovercraftusa.com/bro ... ercial.pdf

The Rapid Rail IMHO is a massive expense and a 15 yr lead time,is fixed in place and costly to maintain.

Successive govts have demonstrated their INABILITY to manage a project like this so it will be a free for all.

I say decentralize,offer tax incentives for companies to leave POS,encourage telecomutting,flexi time,car pooling,-improve the public transport and THEN see if we need a solution like this.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 24th, 2013, 9:05 pm

I suggest Redman for Minister of Transport!

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 24th, 2013, 9:09 pm

I see like ah man watch Top-Gear this week :)

I'm sure one of the things affecting the profitability of the current water taxis is that they are only allowed to travel at 60% or so of their max speed, because they wake they create causes property and ecological damage.

Wouldn't be the case with a hovercraft... just need a good "pilot"

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » August 25th, 2013, 12:30 am

Lovely article above. The government has done it again. Gotta see the bigger picture here.

Postby nervewrecker » August 25th, 2013, 1:05 am

ingalook wrote:I suggest Redman for Minister of Transport!

I suggest he for minister of something yes.

Never seen him make a stupid post yet.

Postby pioneer » August 25th, 2013, 1:49 am

re: decentralization

HA!

Try telling them donkey ears public servants that nah?

They does bawl dem from de area and "wukkin tong" dey whole life and dey eh goin outside ah tong tuh wukk...

This country and the public service will go nowhere until these close-minded donkeys have retired, died and gone to another life/realm/existance.

We can't say retire because they come back for more pie on contract upon retirement, with even more of their ignorance and close-mindedness.

Postby De Dragon » August 25th, 2013, 1:51 am

ingalook wrote:I suggest Redman for Minister of Transport!

I suggest he for minister of something yes.

Never seen him make a stupid post yet.

Then he wouldn't last a day in Gov't :lol:

Postby Monk BANzai » August 25th, 2013, 1:55 am

Redman wrote:

We should look at the suitability of the craft selected and why they were selected.
I suggest that the procurement, and implementation of the WT was corrupt and poorly executed.

We should re look and do a proper feasibility study that looks at the size,frequency and routes that make sense when combined with the right type of vessels

The Gulf of Paria offers straight line access from Point Fortin to Sando and To POS/Chag.

I would look at hovercraft-easy to maintain( diesel or aircraft turbines)we have existing expertise,fast and easy to land -just reclaim a couple acres of land,and suitable to Gulf of Paria conditions.
Flexible and scalable.

The Rapid Rail IMHO is a massive expense and a 15 yr lead time,is fixed in place and costly to maintain.

Successive govts have demonstrated their INABILITY to manage a project like this so it will be a free for all.

I say decentralize,offer tax incentives for companies to leave POS,encourage telecomutting,flexi time,car pooling,-improve the public transport and THEN see if we need a solution like this.

dan you talking things that John Humphrey been preaching back in his days (John Humphrey formally served as Minister of Housing and Settlements and the Minister of Integrated Planning and Development of Trinidad and Tobago. He was also responsible for the Urban Development Corporation of Trinidad and Tobago Ltd.}....

Did they listen then? you'd expect them to now?

Postby De Dragon » August 25th, 2013, 2:03 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
Redman wrote:

Flexible and scalable.

dan you talking things that John Humphrey been preaching back in his days (John Humphrey formally served as Minister of Housing and Settlements and the Minister of Integrated Planning and Development of Trinidad and Tobago. He was also responsible for the Urban Development Corporation of Trinidad and Tobago Ltd.}....

Did they listen then? you'd expect them to now?

Chupid trini have this ting about 'wukkin tong' like iz some kinda pips :lol:

Postby Monk BANzai » August 25th, 2013, 2:06 am

^^^ lol...and spends 4 plus hours each day going to and from "tong" to live the "pipz" life...

Postby De Dragon » August 25th, 2013, 2:15 am

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:^^^ lol...and spends 4 plus hours each day going to and from "tong" to live the "pipz" life...

And I'm sure that PSA or some muffler bearing go try tuh get compensation for any decentralization.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » September 11th, 2013, 1:46 am

Notice that the Minister mentioned nothing about how that massive $1.75 increase in the price of Premium last year reduced the fuel subsidy... if it didn't have any effect, why did they do it? To cause people financial hardship? To make people mash-up dey engine?

We need answers tuners...

Postby Morpheus » September 11th, 2013, 3:11 am

ingalook wrote:Notice that the Minister mentioned nothing about how that massive $1.75 increase in the price of Premium last year reduced the fuel subsidy... if it didn't have any effect, why did they do it? To cause people financial hardship? To make people mash-up dey engine?

We need answers tuners...

Them full of sheit.......

"Only the Audis and BMWs affected......"

I guess that 95+ on my lil Mitsubishi gas lid is a typo?

We absorbed the $3 to $4 hike some years ago. But $4 to $5.75??? From $160 to fill up to $270. That will leave a mark.........on my wallet. Nah man :roll:

And if only a smaller percentage of the motoring population use premium, how would removing/reducing the subsidy help in any significant way? [/rant]

Time to buy a lil ride that taking Super yes :cry:

src1983

Postby src1983 » September 11th, 2013, 6:18 am

I gonna get a cng swift lol.....

Postby pete » September 11th, 2013, 6:59 am

Where you going to put the tank? Sure can't fit in the trunk :(

Postby nemisis » September 11th, 2013, 7:12 am

^^^on the roof, with 3 fins to make it aerodynamic :lol:

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » September 11th, 2013, 7:14 am

As long as they dont increase diesel i honestly dont care

Postby nemisis » September 11th, 2013, 7:30 am

Raise diesel for all vehicles under 2 tons. It's the men with luxury diesel suv crying foul

tdavies

Postby tdavies » September 11th, 2013, 7:44 am

Buy a b14.......

Postby Morpheus » September 11th, 2013, 7:45 am

Raise prices more evenly. Why premium alone must absorb that big hit?

Postby nemisis » September 11th, 2013, 7:50 am

Morpheus wrote:Raise prices more evenly. Why premium alone must absorb that big hit?
no one cares about premium, some men boast at the pumps their cars run it and on the forums there is the my car takes X amount to fill feel sorry for me. Sell off and go diesel. Captiva is 380 and you getting financing normal normal

Postby pete » September 11th, 2013, 7:54 am

Knowing my luck, as I buy a diesel vehicle they'll raise the price so for the benefit of everyone else, I'll stick to Super.

I only spend about $300/month in fuel anyway, most that'd drop down to is $200 with diesel.