Dead under d walkover

Re: Dead under d walkover

Postby Country_Bookie » November 30th, 2013, 10:35 pm

Family of deceased should pay for any repairs to vehicle.

Postby DVSTT » November 30th, 2013, 10:36 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:couldn't resist :lol:

Postby javishm » December 1st, 2013, 2:00 am

really over a hat?? ppl not serious

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » December 1st, 2013, 3:52 am

Sad news to hear. But people do cross over time to time. Seen it happen alot. They always bypass the walkover. Spending a little extra time and energy, could have given him more time to live. What really possess people to take such a chance? Now his/her family is in sorrow, a driver and maybe other drivers and passengers passing by are traumatized. This should be a wake up call for anyone who crosses the nation's highways. Seriously.

Postby Morpheus » December 1st, 2013, 4:44 am

1) Police Xtrail parked diagonally across the right west bound lane directly under the Megastore walkover. Dunno if another person "try ah ting"

Passed them at 4:15am

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 1st, 2013, 6:13 am

Pedestrian killed trying to get hat
Story Created: Nov 30, 2013 at 10:51 PM ECT
Story Updated: Nov 30, 2013 at 11:20 PM ECT
A SANTA CRUZ man was killed instantly yesterday morning when he was struck by a car while attempting to cross the Churchill-Roosevelt Highway.
The death of 52-year-old Jeffrey Darbeau, of La Canoa Road, Santa Cruz, has taken the country’s road fatality figure for the year so far to 135, according to an Express count.
It was around 6 a.m. that Darbeau was on his way to work at Rotoplastics Ltd, Don Miguel Road, Extension in El Socorro, when he was struck by a black station wagon heading west, reported police.
Officers said Darbeau had already made his way across the highway but his hat was blown from his head onto the roadway. When he attempted to retrieve the hat was when he was struck, said officers.
The driver of the vehicle sustained minor injuries and was taken to the Eric Williams Medical Sciences Complex (EWMSC) in Mt Hope where he was treated.
Officers of the Barataria Police Station visited the scene and are continuing investigations.
—Rickie Ramdass

Postby DVSTT » December 1st, 2013, 7:50 am

Country_Bookie wrote:Family of deceased should pay for any repairs to vehicle.

YES! I hope the driver does not get in too much hot water for this.

Postby sMASH » December 1st, 2013, 7:59 am

Inconsiderate Selfishness
Aka talknah mentality

TriP

Postby TriP » December 1st, 2013, 8:07 am

da hat had sentimental values for he tuh run back for it..!!

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 1st, 2013, 8:21 am

dumbarse......

Postby Hook » December 1st, 2013, 8:23 am

A life is a life eh, and d man had loved ones, so R.I.P.

Now I going and spoil this with a "but".

But how anyone with two brain cells to rub together could get bounced down SO CLOSE to a walkover? And yuh seeing the shadow of the walkover in d pictures too! Natural selection is joke!

We take too many risks on the road. Drivers and pedestrians alike. Too many times, I see drivers about to miss their turn, but instead of proceeding to the next intersection to make a u-turn, they dash across three lanes to filter out. Now I hadda deal wit some kyant darting in front of me in 3tonnes of iron with indicators on like if that supposed to form a protective forcefield around them.

Somehow, the risk of accidental death for a 3-second manoeuvre is much more appealing than the two minutes it'll take to do it safely.
Same way a 6 second dash across six lanes seems better than a 2 minute walk above the roadway.Always a shortcut.
Is always a "bess drive" until yuh hit something. It musbe a "bess cross" until yuh get hit.

The law should be amended to exclude the driver from any legal responsibility and the victim or their family should pay for the vehicle repairs if anyone is killed or injured within 100m of a walkover. The double pain might convince people not to take the risk.

TriP

Postby TriP » December 1st, 2013, 8:59 am

hatman.jpg

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 1st, 2013, 9:28 am

Hook, I believe that such logical thought/intelligence is lacking in many....maybe an evolutionary flaw or an imbalance due to improper pre/antenatal nourishment? I dunno....

Postby Bizzare » December 1st, 2013, 9:50 am

Hook wrote: their family should pay for the vehicle repairs if anyone is killed or injured within 100m of a walkover.

What does that idiot's family members have to do with this??? So if I have a stupid ADULT brother who gets knock down under a walkover, I must pay for his stupid act? Was his family members controlling his legs?? He's an adult. How exactly would that prevent stupid people from doing stupid things :? :? ..... makes little sense.

Postby Hook » December 1st, 2013, 10:01 am

Bizz. Check something.

Seatbelt laws. Driver liable for fine if passenger under 18yrs not using seatbelt. Right?

Smoking laws. Bar/shop owner liable for fine if person is caught in violation on their premises. Right?

In both cases, the pressure isn't just on the person culpable, but on others to be sort of their "brother's keeper". And it's been effective thus far, so it works. If they aren't going to listen to the law, maybe they'll listen to a loved one.

Postby Bizzare » December 1st, 2013, 10:16 am

A driver can refuse to carry a passenger until he/she agrees to wear a seatbelt. This is why the law works. The driver has authority therefore he/she can be held partly responsible. Don't wanna wear a seatbelt.... then I can put you out.

A Bar/Shop owner can ask someone to leave their premises if he/she does not comply with the law. Again, this works because the owner has authority to do so. If the patron refuses to leave the premises, that's reason to call the police.

Even if a relative is present on the scene, he/she still does not have any authority in the situation, how can they be held responsible? makes sense?

Postby desifemlove » December 1st, 2013, 10:21 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:Hook, I believe that such logical thought/intelligence is lacking in many....maybe an evolutionary flaw or an imbalance due to improper pre/antenatal nourishment? I dunno....

logic is subjective. to them it "logical" to cut time and cross the highway on foot lol..

I would say ban all pedestrians from highways, or build footpaths for people living near them and fences to stop people from crossing in the vicinity. This doh happen in other countries with high speed roads, so it's also education that needed too.

Postby Hook » December 1st, 2013, 10:27 am

It doesn't apply directly to the situation. If death isn't enough to deter them, how about the added financial and emotional stress of repairing the instrument of your demise?

Postby desifemlove » December 1st, 2013, 10:33 am

Also have a highway patrol unit, not police per se or a branch of the police, but who can monitor the roads to cut out ALL stupidness (bad drives, pedestrians, etc.) they could even have precept powers.

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » December 1st, 2013, 3:49 pm

What I want to know, what the car insurance company would do? Would they pay out?

If not, can I take legal against the family for damage to my vehicle? It was negligence on the part of your family member who is now deceased

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 1st, 2013, 4:19 pm

pioneer wrote:Da good for dem

I know a woman who refuses to use a walk over. She does say da is for "different kinda people" and how da is a white people thing. She say she does do it rasta man style and just walk across and she wa see who bad enough to bounce she down.

Postby maj. tom » December 1st, 2013, 4:27 pm

like this?

dem brake pads 8-)

X-Axis

Postby X-Axis » December 1st, 2013, 10:23 pm

Smart animals
1385951015133.jpg

Postby Morpheus » December 1st, 2013, 11:19 pm

^^:lol::lol::lol:

Darn right!

Postby desifemlove » December 2nd, 2013, 9:53 am

pablo_tt wrote:What I want to know, what the car insurance company would do? Would they pay out?

If not, can I take legal against the family for damage to my vehicle? It was negligence on the part of your family member who is now deceased

he was a grown man. he responsible for himself.

src1983

Postby src1983 » December 2nd, 2013, 10:15 am

Bizzare wrote:

Hook wrote: their family should pay for the vehicle repairs if anyone is killed or injured within 100m of a walkover.

What does that idiot's family members have to do with this??? So if I have a stupid ADULT brother who gets knock down under a walkover, I must pay for his stupid act? Was his family members controlling his legs?? He's an adult. How exactly would that prevent stupid people from doing stupid things :? :? ..... makes little sense.

Maybe they can take it from his NIS, insurance or old age benefits

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » December 2nd, 2013, 11:44 am

Hook wrote:A life is a life eh, and d man had loved ones, so R.I.P.

Now I going and spoil this with a "but".

But how anyone with two brain cells to rub together could get bounced down SO CLOSE to a walkover? And yuh seeing the shadow of the walkover in d pictures too! Natural selection is joke!

We take too many risks on the road. Drivers and pedestrians alike. Too many times, I see drivers about to miss their turn, but instead of proceeding to the next intersection to make a u-turn, they dash across three lanes to filter out. Now I hadda deal wit some kyant darting in front of me in 3tonnes of iron with indicators on like if that supposed to form a protective forcefield around them.

Somehow, the risk of accidental death for a 3-second manoeuvre is much more appealing than the two minutes it'll take to do it safely.
Same way a 6 second dash across six lanes seems better than a 2 minute walk above the roadway.Always a shortcut.
Is always a "bess drive" until yuh hit something. It musbe a "bess cross" until yuh get hit.

The law should be amended to exclude the driver from any legal responsibility and the victim or their family should pay for the vehicle repairs if anyone is killed or injured within 100m of a walkover. The double pain might convince people not to take the risk.

The law should be amended to exclude the driver from any legal responsibility and the victim or their family should pay for the vehicle repairs if anyone is killed or injured within 100m of a walkover.

someone said the visor on the cap said" if you can read this then youre too close"

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » December 2nd, 2013, 12:21 pm

Agreed.

Ten or twenty years ago, there weren't many walkovers on the highways.
Now we have walkovers at many locations throughout our highways.

Laws need to be changed to suit the circumstances.

Postby pete » December 2nd, 2013, 1:37 pm

Arrive alive should maybe do a banner facing the pavement, maybe stuck to the concrete barriers, along the lines of "X number of people have DIED crossing here, don't be freaking lazy and make it X+1, use the walkover" with that same image of the dead person covered down.

Thing is, it's not just the $ for damaging your car. I know someone who knocked down and killed someone crossing the highway and it SERIOUSLY causes stress years down the road. Not only legally but emotionally as well.

Postby sharkman121 » December 2nd, 2013, 1:49 pm

maj. tom wrote:like this?

dem brake pads 8-)

WOW!! i doubt she made it to the next side of the highway alive