Michelin tire recall

DevilZ

Michelin tire recall

Postby DevilZ » January 2nd, 2014, 1:53 pm

The Ministry of Trade has issued an advisory of a nationwide recall of Michelin tires. The Michelin Panama Corp has informed the Consumer Affairs Division of the Ministry of Trade, Industry and Investment that through its quality verification system they have found the existence of a possible manufacturing defect in bunch of 24 tires to be marketed among Trinidad and Tobago.

According to the release, the tires could suddenly experience tread loss and or rapid air loss. Consumers should check for tires with the reference number: CAI 23299 MICHELIN brand. The tires were manufactured in Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada during the period January 2010 - June 2012.

A preventative measure, a free tire replacement is being offered to final users that have purchased such tires at any Michelin Service Station in Trinidad and Tobago to have their tires replaced, at no cost, inclusive mounting and balancing; no matter how worn out they might be. Michelin assures that to date there has been no record of any accident as a result of the above mentioned tires.

MEDIA RELEASE

PUBLIC SERVICE ANNOUNCEMENT:
Michelin Panama Corp offers free-tire replacement

January 02, 2014:- The Michelin Panama Corp has informed the Consumer Affairs Division of the Ministry of Trade, Industry and Investment that through its quality verification system they have found the existence of a possible manufacturing defect in a lot of 24 tires to be marketed among Trinidad and Tobago final users with reference number CAI 23299 MICHELIN brand. Such tires were manufactured in Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada during the period January 2010 - June 2012.

Due to the possibility that such tires could experience tread loss and/or rapid air loss, Michelin has embarked on a free tire replacement program for final users that have purchased such tires. Michelin customers are urged to visit any Michelin Service Station in Trinidad and Tobago to have their tires replaced, at no cost, inclusive mounting and balancing; no matter how worn out they might be.

Customers are assured that this free-tire replacement program is a safety preventative measure as to date there has been no record of any accident due to users of the above mentioned tires.

Customers who may require further information can contact the Consumer Affairs Division toll free hot line at 800-4CPS (4277).

Re: Michelin tire recall

Postby 0001 » January 2nd, 2014, 2:18 pm

which tire is being recalled? all michellin tires or a specific tire? i called the Consumer Affairs Division and the woman said she will call me back with more information because they now saw it as well lol.

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 2nd, 2014, 2:19 pm

Excellent on Michelin's part.

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 2nd, 2014, 6:10 pm

Sufferers dont use Michelin. I good.

Postby equipped2ripp » January 2nd, 2014, 6:18 pm

Not affected, my Michelins are made in France :cool:

Postby Team Loco » January 2nd, 2014, 6:24 pm

Well finally his makes sense. Back in 2010 I had 4 michelins on my pick up. After eight mths they started to crack. I went to bureau of standards and consumer affairs. They did nothing. Had to dispose asap and bought dunlops

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » January 2nd, 2014, 10:54 pm

My Vigo I buyless than two months ago came with michelin......hmmm wonders what to do

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » January 2nd, 2014, 10:55 pm

My Vigo I buyless than two months ago came with michelin......hmmm wonders what to do

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 3rd, 2014, 6:24 am

wickedbreed wrote:My Vigo I buyless than two months ago came with michelin......hmmm wonders what to do

:| How about following the instructions given in the recall notification? Check the reference number for the defective tyres.

Postby Rainman » January 3rd, 2014, 6:39 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
wickedbreed wrote:My Vigo I buyless than two months ago came with michelin......hmmm wonders what to do

:| How about following the instructions given in the recall notification? Check the reference number for the defective tyres.

Point of the post was to let us know that he buy a Vigo dan.

Postby Chimera » January 3rd, 2014, 6:55 am

Rainman wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:

Point of the post was to let us know that he buy a Vigo dan.

less than two months ago dan

#straightupballing
#luxuryvehicle
#vigo

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » January 3rd, 2014, 8:22 am

I dont care about vanity hoss...I know what its like to have nothing, I know how hard and cruel life can be, so dont take my post of me wondering if it affects me as any sign of being vain. The fact that vanity was the only thing that you got from my statement shows your lack of intelligence. And we wonder why we as a country cannot move forward. Had i said i have a set on my b14 im sure your comments would have been different...

Postby wagonrunner » January 3rd, 2014, 9:10 am

If you read all of OP's post you won't have had any reason to make your first comment.
whose intelligence is really lacking?

Postby tr1ad » January 3rd, 2014, 9:13 am

since when spaceship need tyres?

Postby Rainman » January 3rd, 2014, 9:21 am

wickedbreed wrote:I dont care about vanity hoss...I know what its like to have nothing, I know how hard and cruel life can be, so dont take my post of me wondering if it affects me as any sign of being vain. The fact that vanity was the only thing that you got from my statement shows your lack of intelligence. And we wonder why we as a country cannot move forward. Had i said i have a set on my b14 im sure your comments would have been different...

Hold on while I get the world's smallest violin.

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » January 3rd, 2014, 9:27 am

lol @ the violin...das usually my line... Nah i didnt read out the entire post @ wagonrunner...now i see. My apologies fellas for seeming like a vain muffler bearing on you post op...

Postby Les Bain » January 3rd, 2014, 9:35 am

wickedbreed wrote:I dont care about vanity hoss...I know what its like to have nothing, I know how hard and cruel life can be, so dont take my post of me wondering if it affects me as any sign of being vain. The fact that vanity was the only thing that you got from my statement shows your lack of intelligence. And we wonder why we as a country cannot move forward. Had i said i have a set on my b14 im sure your comments would have been different...

People fraid b14 men. Better you had one.

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » January 3rd, 2014, 10:42 am

I do have one...

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » January 3rd, 2014, 10:45 am

wagonrunner wrote:If you read all of OP's post you won't have had any reason to make your first comment.
whose intelligence is really lacking?

BODOW!!

Postby rollingstock » January 3rd, 2014, 11:28 am

Nexens on a 14 is more baller than a Vigo. jussayin

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » January 3rd, 2014, 12:57 pm

Triangle tires on my 14 hoss...nexen 18 tires is sheit

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » January 3rd, 2014, 1:01 pm

wow..this thread tun up rather quickly

#vigobeatout

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » January 3rd, 2014, 3:48 pm

so did anyone on chuna have to go and change dey tires?

Postby wagonrunner » January 3rd, 2014, 4:42 pm

wickedbreed wrote:so did anyone on chuna have to go and change dey tires?

yeah. :(
on two vehicles.

they weren't michelins though. but tires were worn to just about the treadware indicator, and today was as good a day as any to get it done.

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » January 3rd, 2014, 7:36 pm

I had to change mine two weeks ago in my 14...frickin ting get them bubble on the wall, and yesterday with all the michelin talk about my cousin tell me the back tire in my rav4 smooth so I hada change that one soon. Real pain yes esp so soon after Christmas.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » January 4th, 2014, 10:41 pm

There he goes again.. :lol:

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » January 4th, 2014, 11:39 pm

Seriously dude...das not what the ched about, or are you suffering from some sort of inferiority Complex that everything someone says you assume that they are showing off. If I was in wouldn't be bawling abt spending $ round the Christmas season. Jeez I don't even....sigh time to get off this ched for me yes

Postby cinco » January 4th, 2014, 11:52 pm

Rainman wrote:

Hold on while I get the world's smallest violin.

1388893895782.jpg

Lemme help u out from Ripleys

jus kewl

Postby jus kewl » January 5th, 2014, 8:16 am

I tired calling this number many times...no answer.
Can the tyres only be replaced if you bought them at a Michelin service centre like Quickservice? ...I bought mine online :(

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 10th, 2014, 4:35 pm