Wedding Reception Info/ Costs etc.

mango_chow

Wedding Reception Info/ Costs etc.

Postby mango_chow » September 5th, 2014, 4:28 pm

Hi Everyone,

This is a request from those of you who have gotten married within the last year or those of you who have had a family member who has gotten married recently.

It can be very overwhelming to plan a wedding and fulfill all the requirement required for a wedding reception.

If you don't mind sharing, could you please give some reviews as well as costs incurred for a particular venue, photography, decorations and catering services including the number of people catered for? Advantages/Disadvantages? Recommended vendors? This would help in acquiring a specific idea of the realistic prices for having a reception that includes a particular number of people.

Also if you had a planner, how much did having a planner cost and was it worth it?

I hope that this would be helpful to those who are considering having a wedding reception.

Thanks in advance.

Re: Wedding Reception Info/ Costs etc.

Postby goalpost » September 5th, 2014, 4:51 pm

try CrewsInn. Had my wedding there, venue cost was 5000 but food and drinks has to come from there. Their food was excellent and the place was nice. Only problem is if it rains way too heavily on the day.

I looked a Pier 1 but the cost was a bit too exorbitant.

Another one I tried was Hilton Hotel which was a lovely venue but we eventually settle for Crews Inn.

Cater for a lot of random costs. Most money was spend on decorating and food and drinks.

What's your budget if you don't mind me asking

mango_chow

Postby mango_chow » September 5th, 2014, 6:42 pm

40 grand.

If you don't mind, what about photography? Any vendors you can recommend.

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 5th, 2014, 7:50 pm

how many people u catering for?
bride and groom attire outside of that 40k?
40k is a simple wedding now.

Postby X_Factor » September 5th, 2014, 7:51 pm

whats your location?
recently went to a reception in Arima new gov't and i understand the rental is quite cheap, but no a/c
spacious hall, stage, parking, washrooms

mango_chow

Postby mango_chow » September 5th, 2014, 8:27 pm

Yes attire is out of it. Looking for venue, food and decor.

Postby pugboy » September 5th, 2014, 8:34 pm

you need to know how many people approx. and food also
food can be a huge cost
vegetarian curry might be cheapest

mango_chow

Postby mango_chow » September 5th, 2014, 8:56 pm

Postby pugboy » September 5th, 2014, 9:04 pm

220 is certainly not a small wedding

that is $181 per head total....

think food, type of booze per head etc

Postby Rainman » September 5th, 2014, 9:42 pm

Postby javishm » September 5th, 2014, 10:05 pm

That's a very difficult budget to work with
Last edited by javishm on September 6th, 2014, 10:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby janfar » September 5th, 2014, 11:20 pm

My 100 person wedding cost about 90k. Unless u plan to feed people cheezees then u need to reduce your guests or increase your budget.

Tips: get a bar on consignment... You can return what you didn't use. My bar ended up costing 5k.

Do your cooking yourself if you can... Caterers will dig out your eye.

Try to get a venue that doesn't come with food. They usually jack up the price per plate and there won't be seconds.

Postby S_2NR » September 6th, 2014, 12:11 am

RIP

Postby javishm » September 6th, 2014, 12:18 am

yea boi locations that you have to take decor/food etc from them is a killer

Postby Chimera » September 6th, 2014, 6:04 am

a great location is Genspec auditorium

i think it was 15k for rental, can hold 300+ people and you get chairs/tables with the rental

basic tables and chairs but you can simply rent the chair covers from a wedding decorator

had my wedding there earlier this year

http://www.genspecauditorium.com/

what kind of wedding you having tho?

convert to a hindu brisk brisk, you will save on meat/alcohol costs.

Postby janfar » September 6th, 2014, 6:48 am

Pah... convert to Jehovah's Witness and you can save on everything.

Postby goalpost » September 6th, 2014, 8:00 am

40K for 220 ppl...that's gonna be rough. Mine was 110 ppl and that was about 90k.

Postby sharkman121 » September 6th, 2014, 8:17 am

Mine was at Magdelena Grand. Once the guests fill 10 rooms you get the venue free. Try an cut down the number of guests. I had about 85 ppl and cost about 50 grand.

Postby pugboy » September 6th, 2014, 10:13 am

forget bartenders
put bucket of ice on table and 2liter soft drinks

Postby rollingstock » September 7th, 2014, 10:21 am

Dan have a small reception with very close relatives then fly to Sandals, Jamaica.

Fcuk everyone. You want to wine and dine a bunch of fcukers who will only bad talk and criticize your wedding behind your back.

Do it simple and save some money towards acquiring property or paying someone to kill your wife when she start to fcuk around and you don't wanna give up half your stuff.

Moorg Life

Postby Moorg Life » September 7th, 2014, 10:27 am

All this cannot be for a KFC friar

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 7th, 2014, 10:30 am

rollingstock wrote:Dan have a small reception with very close relatives then fly to Sandals, Jamaica.

Fcuk everyone. You want to wine and dine a bunch of fcukers who will only bad talk and criticize your wedding behind your back.

Do it simple and save some money towards acquiring property or paying someone to kill your wife when she start to fcuk around and you don't wanna give up half your stuff.

Truer words have never been spoken

Postby Chimera » September 7th, 2014, 10:54 am

rollingstock wrote:Fcuk everyone. You want to wine and dine a bunch of fcukers who will only bad talk and criticize your wedding behind your back.

THIS IS SO freaking muddac**t TRUE

i wish i could uninvite atleast 100 people who had come my wedding

but this muddac**t "is family, yuh hadda invite them" muddac**t BS.

hyperdude

Postby hyperdude » September 7th, 2014, 12:55 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
rollingstock wrote:Fcuk everyone. You want to wine and dine a bunch of fcukers who will only bad talk and criticize your wedding behind your back.

lol...

Postby S_2NR » September 7th, 2014, 3:27 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:

didnt know u get married. well lawd :lol:

why do men get married in this day and age though?
why buy the cow when you can drink the milk for free?

trinihub

Postby trinihub » September 7th, 2014, 4:37 pm

rollingstock wrote:Dan have a small reception with very close relatives then fly to Sandals, Jamaica.

Listen to this dude bro.......this man cud b a preacher

Good nature

Postby Good nature » September 7th, 2014, 5:32 pm

trinihub wrote:

Listen to this dude bro.......this man cud b a preacher

dont need surveillance equipment if you not in a common law relation. It takes common sense for lasting relations not that filth advice

Postby Trini Hookah » September 7th, 2014, 5:58 pm

Wat

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 7th, 2014, 6:39 pm

Good nature...yuh is ah kinda kunnt awah

Moorg Life

Postby Moorg Life » September 7th, 2014, 7:39 pm

^ i woulda be your friend since natio doesnt, but you sound like you might get too cerious