uwi eng

john5231

uwi eng

Postby john5231 » September 6th, 2014, 12:55 pm

hi can anyone tell me if pre engineering is good and if it is hard..how are the teachers like and the problems they faced while doing it?

Re: uwi eng

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 6th, 2014, 3:18 pm

WTF is pre-engineering? That's not Advanced Levels?

Sanjstar

Postby Sanjstar » September 6th, 2014, 4:33 pm

I think you need to maintain a B+ average to get through to engineering. Good thing is that you can repeat courses in summer. You just have to work hard.

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » September 6th, 2014, 7:30 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:WTF is pre-engineering? That's not Advanced Levels?

you have to learn to say 'CAPE' instead of 'Advanced Levels'. otherwise people will think that you're a grandpa

http://www.open.uwi.edu/trinidad_tobago/pre-engineering

Who is this programme for?

This programme caters for would be Engineering students who possess CAPE Units 1 & 11 but who have failed to make the entry requirements as outlined by the Faculty of Engineering.

Students attaining a G.P.A. of 3.5 will be accepted into the Faculty of Engineering.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 6th, 2014, 7:40 pm

How long A levels stop in Trinidad now btw???

Teachers told me that you wrote at the end of the 2 years and plenty students never took it seriously as CAPE because of that...

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » September 6th, 2014, 7:49 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:How long A levels stop in Trinidad now btw???

Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examinations (CAPE) examinations are taken by students who have completed their secondary education and wish to continue their studies. Students who wish to sit for the CAPE usually possess CSEC or an equivalent certification. The CAPE is equivalent to the British Advanced Levels (A-levels), they are both voluntary qualifications that are intended for university entrance. Since it was introduced in 1998, the number of subjects offered at CAPE has increased.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caribbean_Examinations_Council

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Teachers told me that you wrote at the end of the 2 years and plenty students never took it seriously as CAPE because of that...

and i've heard a teacher say that she preferred teaching with an A'level syllabus as the third term of the first year in CAPE is essentially lost to exams. with A'levels the teachers apparently had more time to complete the syllabus

Postby Mark! » September 6th, 2014, 9:20 pm

Trinihooka issa lecturer in that department. Check him

Postby Trini Hookah » September 6th, 2014, 10:39 pm

Hi i am Dr. Hookah i lecture with the pre engineering programme, what seems to be your concerns son?

Sanjstar

Postby Sanjstar » September 7th, 2014, 8:16 am

You will also be exempted from a few year 1 engineering courses if you do make it....and i aint doubt that 3.5 GPA....good luck op

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 7th, 2014, 8:54 am

Ronaldo95163 wrote:How long A levels stop in Trinidad now btw???

Teachers told me that you wrote at the end of the 2 years and plenty students never took it seriously as CAPE because of that...

Stopped in 2006 iirc, GCE As was no walk in the park like CAPE, you had to condense everything you learned after 2 years for the exam, CAPE children have it easy now, don't know why some does even see the need to cheat.

Postby rspann » September 7th, 2014, 9:05 am

The thing is that, if cape too hard to pass and gain entry into Engineering, why do an easier course and then go there to fight up with the course work ? Eng. ins no bed of roses.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 7th, 2014, 9:15 am

And you can add uwi's new grading scheme to the mix

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 7th, 2014, 9:27 am

Plus ollyur never had Comm and Caribbean to do @ Form 6 :cry:

Postby Trini Hookah » September 7th, 2014, 9:57 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:And you can add uwi's new grading scheme to the mix

Eng safe until 2015/2016

They got an extra yr of the old scheme

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 7th, 2014, 10:42 am

Trini Hookah wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:And you can add uwi's new grading scheme to the mix

Eng safe until 2015/2016

They got an extra yr of the old scheme

Opee screwed for sure den

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 7th, 2014, 2:22 pm

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=591929

op i have year 1 books for engineering inbox me

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 7th, 2014, 2:45 pm

Care to inform about this new grading scheme???

Corn Bird

Postby Corn Bird » September 7th, 2014, 3:17 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Care to inform about this new grading scheme???

.. an adjustment in the percentage bands associated with letter grades will bring The UWI in line with international best practice. This will mean that the former passing mark of 40% will be re-set at 50%. The upper and lower bands of each grade will also move, so that, for example, the band from A- to A+ will have a percentage range from 75% to 100%. The new scheme includes three failing bands, two of which have assigned Quality Points: F1 (49-45%), QP of 1.70; F2 (40-44%), QP of 1.30; F3 (0-39%), QP of 0.00.

http://sta.uwi.edu/news/releases/release.asp?id=1261

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 7th, 2014, 5:37 pm

Just posting this up a little bit off topic but be useful to this thread.

You can get into UTT to do Engineering most likely if you have been rejected by UWI. However it should be noted the drop out for Engineering there is extremely high. So when you do get in with lower grades you have to study incredibly hard in very short space of time.

So all in all its usually best to get good grades in A levels or a NETD from UTT which UWI also accepts as entry to do their Engineering degrees.

All the Engineering degrees at UTT is also recognized by the UK bodies that UWI also uses. Except Computer Engineering but it will be by December this year from IET UK.

I know UWI is considered gold standard however if you think that you would like to enter year 1 of the Engineering then you may want to consider UTT as an option as opposed to UWI pre engineering which takes longer. UTT also has an excellent computer engineering degree which has a specialization in telecommunications engineering designed in co operation with TSTT and Digicel to ensure local employment of graduates.

Hope that helps

Postby RBphoto » September 8th, 2014, 3:19 pm

UTT>UWI. But really, ask yourself, "Do I really want to be an Engineer?" Also "Will the Engineering profession fulfill my financial and Self actualization needs?"

It is not for everyone. If you have an artistic of vocational side, explore that as well and don't be burdened with expectations of your teachers and your family. Do what you want to do, explore your options and find happiness. Too many people follow dreams of others and only hear faint echos of their dreams in the Autumn of their existence.

Postby Trini Hookah » September 8th, 2014, 5:03 pm

Op learn a trade or sell doubles yes

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 8th, 2014, 6:46 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:Op learn a trade or sell doubles yes

you for one shouldn't talk failing courses like wow and playing big man on tuner ^^^^ at least d man trying Dan one day he coukd be ya boss

Postby K74T » September 8th, 2014, 7:45 pm

Project-JDM wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:Op learn a trade or sell doubles yes

you for one shouldn't talk failing courses like wow and playing big man on tuner ^^^^ at least d man trying Dan one day he coukd be ya boss

In for vramps vs sti7 again :drama:

Postby Trini Hookah » September 8th, 2014, 10:14 pm

Sigh man hormones act up again.

I just give my opinion on 2 profitable things. Always bout me failing blah blah blah, change yuh record nah hoss it forever sticking.

Postby black start » September 8th, 2014, 11:01 pm

*penis in hand*

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 8th, 2014, 11:12 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:Sigh man hormones act up again.

I just give my opinion on 2 profitable things. Always bout me failing blah blah blah, change yuh record nah hoss it forever sticking.

yea dan like u finally pass maths 1 :lol:

Postby Trini Hookah » September 8th, 2014, 11:13 pm

Just trying to finish up dan, yunno how it is.

Postby black start » September 8th, 2014, 11:16 pm

That maths 1 is a tricky forker though :lol:

Postby RBphoto » September 9th, 2014, 6:58 am

black start wrote:*penis in hand*

Need help?

rabiesebola

Postby rabiesebola » September 9th, 2014, 7:24 am

if u hada do pre engineering dat means u aint good in maths...doh beat up...go costaatt and do nursing