Abraham2nd wrote:skylinechild wrote:Abraham2nd wrote:it recycles.. but i think i know what i gotta do...
im gonna get foam spray n foam the engine bay holes where wirees are..and get those foam coat to go around the ac pipes
I'd recommend against doing the can of foam thing.
this actually is meant to seal drywall and it expands / contracts -
there are two types - one for interior and the other exterior.
if I read you correctly you want to seal up the firewall where the engine wires and such pass thru.??
if so I'd recommend not. reason is if you need to get back to those wires...to do troubleshooting / engine swap....you gonna be in a tight spot.
some holes where nothing passes thru you can use it - if u need to use those holes you can drill out the foam
other holes where the electrical wires pass thru , use silicone sealer instead...![]()
do not use( the foam) on the lines that go from the engine room to inside the car.
if you do this and you want to service the lines guess what - it cant be removed - you'd end up damaging the lines and buying / making new lines.
2nd option is better - when installing a house air conditioner they wrap the copper tubing in the foam jacket and use tie straps to secure it to the copper tubing.
older air condition systems - ones that uses R12 has this on the lines.
our b12 had it.
caution be sure you insulate the correct lines - high pressure / low pressure .
not ALL the lines need to get the foam jacket insulation on it.
consult a qualified Ac technician
forgot to mention smokey GTi said it - ensure your ac is set to recirculate.
but also the HVAC unit itself may not be sealing off properly - ie the blender doors....
the blender doors are little flaps that open / close when you select fresh air vs recirculating air.
to check the blender doors the entire dash will need to be removed from the car.
as well as the cowl outside by the windshield wipers....
hey that may be my problem...i forgot to say this...he put me in car and said see if i smelll any sweet ting...he went by wiper and dem n spray perfumes and i get the sent...he say it pulling in outside air... :O
konartis wrote:i had this issue a really long time with a b13 A/c, got scammed by these AC men just changing everything and not doing anything, they dont know their work and its always a trial and error with them...i ended up by a mechanic who knew a little abit about AC and he changed out the compressor with a almera one and re-gased the system with the new gas, the condensor infront the car, i sprayed with purple blaster and cleaned it out, the AC began working really well, but i accepted the fact that the ac would not work like others, on hot days, i open the widows and let the air out then start the ac, helps also to have a good tint.
skylinechild wrote:Abraham2nd wrote:skylinechild wrote:Abraham2nd wrote:it recycles.. but i think i know what i gotta do...
im gonna get foam spray n foam the engine bay holes where wirees are..and get those foam coat to go around the ac pipes
I'd recommend against doing the can of foam thing.
this actually is meant to seal drywall and it expands / contracts -
there are two types - one for interior and the other exterior.
if I read you correctly you want to seal up the firewall where the engine wires and such pass thru.??
if so I'd recommend not. reason is if you need to get back to those wires...to do troubleshooting / engine swap....you gonna be in a tight spot.
some holes where nothing passes thru you can use it - if u need to use those holes you can drill out the foam
other holes where the electrical wires pass thru , use silicone sealer instead...![]()
do not use( the foam) on the lines that go from the engine room to inside the car.
if you do this and you want to service the lines guess what - it cant be removed - you'd end up damaging the lines and buying / making new lines.
2nd option is better - when installing a house air conditioner they wrap the copper tubing in the foam jacket and use tie straps to secure it to the copper tubing.
older air condition systems - ones that uses R12 has this on the lines.
our b12 had it.
caution be sure you insulate the correct lines - high pressure / low pressure .
not ALL the lines need to get the foam jacket insulation on it.
consult a qualified Ac technician
forgot to mention smokey GTi said it - ensure your ac is set to recirculate.
but also the HVAC unit itself may not be sealing off properly - ie the blender doors....
the blender doors are little flaps that open / close when you select fresh air vs recirculating air.
to check the blender doors the entire dash will need to be removed from the car.
as well as the cowl outside by the windshield wipers....
hey that may be my problem...i forgot to say this...he put me in car and said see if i smelll any sweet ting...he went by wiper and dem n spray perfumes and i get the sent...he say it pulling in outside air... :O
so your found your problem...the entire HVAC system needs to come out...to check the blender doors assembly -but the entire dash needs to come out first...steering column only has to drop down
and also the cowl - only the wiper needs to come out from the outside.
there two types of assemblies- manual and automatic.
manual ones are ones with a lever you slide from the recirculating to fresh air.- usually found on cheaper models. the lever is attached to a cable and the other end is attached to the blender door flap
automatic ones are found on the same car but the high end models..these simply carry a button for recirculating vs fresh air a motor simply pulls (or pushes) the cable to operate the blender doors or the motor may be mounted directly onto the outside body of the HVAC unit with little gears or levers attached to it and also to the different doors.
these may also have a temp sensor built into the dash and a digital display...
you set the Ac temp to 24 degrees....it senses the temp inside the cabin a wayy above 24 degrees....blower motor cones on full blast to cool inside the car quickly...
once it reaches the 24 degrees it trips off the compressor and monitors the temp inside the cabin via the temp sensor on the dash. if it climbs to say 26 degrees...it automatically trips on the compressor and blows cold air in slowly until it comes back to 24...then shuts off again
any Ac tech who tells you that you dont need the fresh air option...and just wants to condemn the blender door assembly to make it recirculate air.....run from that place one time.
Abraham2nd wrote:
Hey. well idk but theres a slide for circulate air and recycle..its stuck on recycle.. it WONT let me slide it..it may reach 1/4 way and pull back like something is jaming it..
btw...can i do this myself? im really tired of spending money and not doing it right ;(
Abraham2nd wrote:hmm...okay skyline ur being so helpful to memines is da manual one on top btw..
and its the hvac that pulling outside air?? is that u mean?? so i just need to seal the spaces it have? im gonna search up on this now .
I love u skyline
edit: hey bbuddy..isnt that to blend hot air in car? i doh want no hot ones lol..is there a way to take have no heater at all?? summin like this..but without buying it ;p i doh wah no hot ting
skylinechild wrote:konartis wrote:i had this issue a really long time with a b13 A/c, got scammed by these AC men just changing everything and not doing anything, they dont know their work and its always a trial and error with them...i ended up by a mechanic who knew a little abit about AC and he changed out the compressor with a almera one and re-gased the system with the new gas, the condensor infront the car, i sprayed with purple blaster and cleaned it out, the AC began working really well, but i accepted the fact that the ac would not work like others, on hot days, i open the widows and let the air out then start the ac, helps also to have a good tint.
i hope you changed out the condenser as well...
R12 uses a serpentine condenser...
R134 uses a cross flow condenser.
konartis wrote:skylinechild wrote:i hope you changed out the condenser as well...
R12 uses a serpentine condenser...
R134 uses a cross flow condenser.
it wasnt changed, that was some years ago, but what i did helped alot
skylinechild wrote:OP this is what the HVAC unit looks like
another tuner scrapped one out of his car.
look at the bottom right hand side of the pic you'll see two bronze pipes - this goes to the heater core.
then a little to the left you'll see a small rectangular connector with a piece of firm wire connecting to to the lever.
when you slide to hot it opens up a small PCV valve and lets engine coolant run thru the core and the blower motor blows out the hot air thru the vents.
this is NOT to be confused with the fresh air blender door which is at the top - the two rectangles you see with the sponges missing
Abraham2nd wrote:skylinechild wrote:OP this is what the HVAC unit looks like
another tuner scrapped one out of his car.
look at the bottom right hand side of the pic you'll see two bronze pipes - this goes to the heater core.
then a little to the left you'll see a small rectangular connector with a piece of firm wire connecting to to the lever.
when you slide to hot it opens up a small PCV valve and lets engine coolant run thru the core and the blower motor blows out the hot air thru the vents.
this is NOT to be confused with the fresh air blender door which is at the top - the two rectangles you see with the sponges missing
okay, one question is it sitting upright? so the two rectangular holes w/ sponge missing is top rite?
Abraham2nd wrote:Next month im gonna paint my car (myself) lolim gonna scrap EVERY single ting and paint it...even dash ...(got some tear on top thats y.ima try fiberglass and paint it back.) so when its out... ill see if i can get that hvac unit out and seal everything i can lol (hope i dont seal the cold air one xD) but yeah..ima do that next month so. BUT THANK YOU!!! this looked like my problem all da time
EDIT: *dumb question alert* hey one more thing... should i block those two holes? idk if one is the recycling air passive lOL...see i block those two and i get no more breeze? xD
Abraham2nd wrote:*another dumb respond alert* why shouldnt i seal it? cuz i dont want no fresh air crap i want full ac :O
X_Factor wrote:i realize that most of the time, once you mess with an A/C system it never works the same!
X_Factor wrote:I am also seeing a new trend where they do not even wanna vacuum the lines
they just put gas and tell the customer to start and rev the vehicle