Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » June 22nd, 2005, 12:19 pm

seanf3000,

^^ Yuh read meh mind dey pal!

AND

sleepertercel,

Wha make you feel you could run Picasso with he super duper wingroad :?

:twisted: (Ah could ride shotgun??)

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 22nd, 2005, 12:27 pm

Wha make you feel you could run Picasso with he super duper wingroad

(Ah could ride shotgun??)

ahahah yuh make meh laught I eh have ah super duper wingroad I got the blessing from the turtle power gods.

I am playing the arse with meh Qg is like haveing a go cart and messing with the engine just to see what will happen, so I acting the fool with it to see what this slow poke set up can do if we carry it to the limit( detonation) after I am done I have a QG18 to put in or a VVl will take its place once I sell the QG18 so when allyuh sayin dis boy is ah arse I have somthing to replace it already. I just wating till somthing goes teribly wrong so I will have to have to havto change it

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » June 22nd, 2005, 12:39 pm

Picasso wrote:
Whappan....u vex cause no one suggest a WINGROAD!!!!!!!!!!

the wingroad was my option noticed I never advised that he bought a wingroad. if I was to advised a vehicle for anyone to buy I will say a Honda Civic, Nissan Primera, Almera, Mitshbish lancer and a Mazda 323 wagon.

Leh me tell yuh why i didnt recommend these.

The Primera is not a mid-sized sedan in this market. Maybe the states, but not Trinidad. So I left that out. Tho if you look at it. A P11 gonna be around the same price as a zze121.

The mitsubishi lancers before the current model (CS) fail miserably at crash tests.

The Almera has recieved some bad reviews recently. Esp with fuel consumption and performance. This i've heard from Almera owners.

I forgot about the 323 wagon tho. That was one of my choices as well.

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » June 22nd, 2005, 12:45 pm

You've obviously done quite a bit of homework seanf3000. I'm impressed 8)

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » June 22nd, 2005, 12:51 pm

Picasso wrote:

I am playing the arse with meh Qg is like haveing a go cart and messing with the engine just to see what will happen, so I acting the fool with it to see what this slow poke set up can do if we carry it to the limit( detonation) after I am done I have a QG18 to put in or a VVl will take its place once I sell the QG18 so when allyuh sayin dis boy is ah arse I have somthing to replace it already

Calm down hoss......How fast you really intending to drive? I hope yuh save all that for the track and not on the street eh. :?

sleepertercel

Postby sleepertercel » June 22nd, 2005, 1:19 pm

Corollaman wrote:sleepertercel,

Wha make you feel you could run Picasso with he super duper wingroad :?

:twisted: (Ah could ride shotgun??)

I nevah say ah cud run anybody eh i juss asked if he wanted to.

Shotgun?...in my shitty ass tercel? :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » June 22nd, 2005, 1:35 pm

I forgot about the 323 wagon tho. That was one of my choices as well.

they givin rell transmission problems Sean, a cool 5 grand to replace it :shock:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 22nd, 2005, 1:49 pm

All hale the Bug eyed car !!! :cry: this world is definitely gone to the bugs :|

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » June 22nd, 2005, 2:07 pm

nah the bug eyed one was the older model like what tte has

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » June 22nd, 2005, 2:49 pm

Nah jim.....he doh like the current nze/zze front headlight cluster. Thaz what he mean. I kinda like it with the smoked JDM front cluster.

Is a good thing i eh buy the sport20 then eh........parts woulda kill meh!!!!

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 22nd, 2005, 3:27 pm

Is a good thing i eh buy the sport20 then eh........parts woulda kill meh!!!!

I like the sport 20 real bad that is a nice car but, are you thinking of a BPT for it :twisted:

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » June 22nd, 2005, 3:55 pm

Well it comes with the fs-ze. Wasn't looking at swapping in a BP-T.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » June 23rd, 2005, 11:53 am

I am thinking of buying a new ride but I would like some opinions,

If you had to choose a mid sized sedan or a station wagon based on the following criteria, what would you choose? Auto or manual, it doesn't matter. Neither does the brand.

1. Safety
2. Ride quality and general comfort
3. Resale value after 3-4 years
4. Ease of maintenance ie cost and availability of parts
5. Fuel Economy
6. Cost

As much as i hate to admit it, speed is not an issue. As long as it could go 120km/h i happy. And the cost of maintaining something exotic is out of the question.

1. Safety.....the Corolla has a 4 star safety rating on NCAP
2. Ride quality and comfort.....Corolla suspension, build and ride is damned near closing in on LEXUS quality!!!
3. Resale value......Hardly anthing beats the resale value of a corolla in Trinidad
4. Ease of Maintenance.....TTTL will provide any part for a Corolla....no matter what model or where you buy it. Bamboo kinda scarce on those parts right now, but as numbers of roro corollas build they'll start to stock them
5.Fuel Economy......I have a 1.8L engine...and i pulling down 550km from a 50L tank of gas regularly. Imagine what the 1.5 doing!!!!!
6. Cost....Thats the only area he gonna lose out on, because the corollas on the expensive end of the Foreign used market right now.

agreed 100%

Imagine what the 1.5 doing!!!!!

i have the a local 1.5 1nz-fe and i get 650~675 with Ac on all the time and even with a small 1.5 engine the car is quite zippy. I've gotten it up to 200 with little effort and the only thing that i have on the car that is not stock is plugs i changed the stock one out to denso iradium. These make a big diff in this motor before i could get up to 180 but that was kinda it but making 200 now is no problem. In this segment of the mraket you cant get anything that is as comfy as a rolla its real quiet inside and the ride real smoth u hear slight engine noise during hard acceleration but thats about it. The stering is really soft cause it uses electronic sterring assist ie the power stering system is not hydraulic but instead it uses an electric actuator this also means u have no sterring fluid to check/full. u no or very very little road vibration from the stering this is also very nice @ high speeds, the stering is also speed sensitive giving you even more control over the vehicle. And new models 2004 and up dont have those bug eyed lights the lights have been redisgned so its things, but if u go roro u could just get the eye lids for it. The car is very spacious and has a very luxurious looking interior. Oh and not to mention the sedans come standard with 4 wheel disc brakes....this is optional on the wagon but belive me that thing has real stoping power and the ones with ABS also has Electronic brake distribution which adds even more control to the vehicle. and many would agree a corolla has 1 of the highest resale values in trinidad. I dont think any other vehicle in this segment has the amout/kind if fetures that the rolla has, ive had mine a yr now and i have absolutly nooooo complains i love it.

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » June 23rd, 2005, 10:29 pm

Well, it's settled then.

A roro corolla should be coming on stream sometime soon 8)

Thanks for all the advice fellas, it was appreciated!

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » June 23rd, 2005, 10:34 pm

I was just doing some searching and I saw some corollas listed as 1.6.

Is this right, or is it a typo?

maximus

Postby maximus » June 23rd, 2005, 10:53 pm

my sister has a wagon 1.5l vvt with 16 inch rims, car looks good. the ride was'nt as good as i was expecting from a Toyota. The acceleration i personally thought was kinda slow, but then again my car have a sr20. I know for a fact these cars have some dread top end. The brakes does stop the car like right now, stop on a dime and give 9 cents change kinda brakes, abs dics front/drums rear. The 4 wheel dics should be even better.
The fuel consumption according to my bro in law in a little high, i don't have any figures to tell u exactly. She has the car about 7 - 8mths now, no problems and she uses this car for work so it doin some good mileage.

maximus

Postby maximus » June 23rd, 2005, 10:56 pm

also if u need any parts u can order it by toyota done here(If it's roro). I would definetly buy one if i was lookin for a car. A 1.8L maybe

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » June 24th, 2005, 8:37 am

!.6 litre came in the Singapore models. So that correct.

1.5 would be the JDM models.

No real differences between them cept you could probably get some leather interior in the Singapore model. Oh yes, the Singapore 1.6s come with rear disc, where as with the JDM corollas, its could be rear drum or rear disc.

Another lil trick......Corolla models that came off the line between August 2000 and October 2001 tend to have some more hp than the models after. Has something to do with ECU and emissions limiting. Just thought you'd like to know.

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » June 24th, 2005, 9:02 am

So then, what is the engine code for the 1.6 models? Are parts interchangeable too viz, water pump, belts, etc?

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » June 24th, 2005, 9:27 am

I think the 1.6 is a 3ZZ_FE. Not to sure about interchangeability of the parts between the 1nz, 1zz and 3zz. We could make a check a doubles lime if xoutlaw of mitsucrazy come with their 1nz. I would like to believe that the 1nz and 2nz have alot of similar components.

Still TTTL can get parts for any of those engines.

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » June 24th, 2005, 12:24 pm

Okay.

Well I think I'll get a 1nz-fe powered corolla. Might as well go with what the majority of the local corollas are equipped with.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » June 24th, 2005, 12:57 pm

you cant go wrong with any beams engine my bro has the 2nz-fe in his yaris and it has 135K on it and all we ever did was change oil, we change plugs once and change blets for de 1st time a moth ago and elive me he does drive dat forking ting hard. They real easy on maintenance. And beams motors across the board use a timing chain instead of a belt making it worry free. Yuh go like it. Put some nice light weight 17's on it,fogs and put de Iridium plugs and yuh orn :mrgreen:

Incognito

Postby Incognito » June 24th, 2005, 4:01 pm

Primera P11 Wagon!

Excellent comfort,
Excellent fuel efficiency with the Qg18, (for a 1.8L).
Excellent ride, multi-link rear suspension
Parts easily (and relatively cheaply) available.
4-wheel disc brakes standard
More than adequate space for both passengers and storage
Car drives at 140Km/h on the highway without any labour...

You may still be able to get a P11 to buy RORO. They may not be available RORO soon though (with 4-year limitation in age).

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » June 25th, 2005, 2:10 pm

Arite, I did some searching and came up with some ball park figures.

1. A basic 1.5 corolla (no fogs, normal interior) running me about a $73,000

2. A more equipped 1.5 corolla (fogs, wood grain, sunroof, spoiler and side skirts) running anywhere from $75,000 tuh $83,000.

3. I saw a "luxel" edition. Apparently this is the 1.8 version - wood everywhere :shock: , tv, and the cool sport shift automatic gear lever for about ah $95 ish.

Ah love the luxel, but I guess I'll go with choice no. 2.

What about singapore vs japanese cars? I know this has been argued countless times before (i searched) but did we ever agree on the important differences?

Aside from the obvious cosmetic differences, I keep hearing that the suspension in the Japanese models is a bit sturdier than the singapore models (cuz singapore is a bonafide 1st world country and all that)

Anyone driving a singapore 1.5 corolla? What is your opinion?

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » June 26th, 2005, 9:00 am

I saw a "luxel" edition. Apparently this is the 1.8 version - wood everywhere , tv, and the cool sport shift automatic gear lever for about ah $95 ish.

these are niiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiice :D but yuh go enjoy choice no. 2. all de same :wink:

Postby janfar » June 26th, 2005, 11:46 am

hey, i went and chect the new corollas by TTTL in south yesterday, them thing real nice, 1.6 vvt, front and rear disk, ABS, ABD, electronic steering assist, real trunk space and if that aint enough, yuh could fold down the back seat and voila, yuh dont have tuh leave yuh wacker halfway out the car, best ride, it beat back the new Almeras big time.

Incognito

Postby Incognito » June 27th, 2005, 1:09 pm

The general conensus is that toyota's (particularly the corolla) are more reliable.

But, are the one-or-two fewer problems you may experience with a corolla worth the extra $15,000 to $20,000 over its competitors? ....and for a car that looks like a BLOB-ON-FOUR-WHEELS?

blu-rolla
Location: either in sando, or sneakin out yuh back door as you reach home.

Postby blu-rolla » June 27th, 2005, 3:46 pm

them thing real nice, 1.6 vvt

yuh sure bout it being a 1.6 local? them yota sales men dont know dey ass from they elbow yuh know. they dont even know what a real twincam is.

3. I saw a "luxel" edition. Apparently this is the 1.8 version - wood everywhere , tv, and the cool sport shift automatic gear lever for about ah $95 ish.

hope yuh not 'lovin' this choice cause it have "wood everywhere" :mrgreen:

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » June 27th, 2005, 5:29 pm

i find the corolla interior to "old manish"

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » June 28th, 2005, 7:07 am

The local corolla is 1.5 The engine code is 1NZ-FE, i checked at the firm. However, the salesman refused to believe me and insisted that it was a 1.6 engine. :?

As for the wood interior, nah i good. Dat car is a fire hazard :lol: