The *Official* Old School Spotters Thread

hindian

Re: The *Official* Old School Spotters Thread

Postby hindian » March 9th, 2015, 4:37 pm

moti wrote:
Midnight_Demon wrote:
Bezman wrote:I tried and tried to buy that AE86 when it was in tyc car park for years. And look where it is now.

All that talk of restoring it and then it sold to another who was gonna restore it.

Frustrating to see these cars end up like this sitting in the rain and rotting.

Such a waste

Breaks your heart doesn't it

It's something I would never understand.
I know some people have sentimental value attached but if it means so much why let it reach to that state.
Best you let it go to someone who will really appreciate it and enjoy it. Or at least store it so your kids/grand kids can make something of it in the future.
I know some may not want it go to the average Raj who may ruin the car, so then do some research on the individual and ensure that they not only would restore/restomod the car but they would use it for it's intended purpose.
Or heck they may even restore it and then hide it away.

Either way, I hate to see cars reach that state. I grew up knowing that they are to be treated like a member of the family. But alas, due to the society we currently live in cars are now disposable and they come very easy.
It's now a fad on who has what features and LED's etc.

I wish I could save them all, but such is life. :(

I fully agree. Everyday i pass a Land Rover pickup in ChinChin Road Cunupia and ever so often i stop to ask if the ready to sell and the answer is always the same they not selling and they not fixing. Now it has become a garbage bin as they have started piling it with junk and other misc. stuff. I look at it slowly fall apart because according to the owners "dem ting doh rotten" little do they know the chassis of those vehicles loves to do so...

Postby MG Man » March 9th, 2015, 5:03 pm

Bezman wrote:I will bet good money that AE86 will never be restored... spent the past 10 years rotting and will prob spend the next doing so as well.. lol, along with that poor mg too unless mgman buys it

Yup. It's mine now. Plan is to get it running reliably and run it at dex for shits and giggles. Can't promise it won't eventually become a donor car for mine tho. Body is heavy with filler.

moti

Postby moti » March 9th, 2015, 7:57 pm

Bezman wrote:I will bet good money that AE86 will never be restored... spent the past 10 years rotting and will prob spend the next doing so as well.. lol, along with that poor mg too unless mgman buys it

Yup. It's mine now. Plan is to get it running reliably and run it at dex for shits and giggles. Can't promise it won't eventually become a donor car for mine tho. Body is heavy with filler.

You actually buy that?

Bezman, I would really like to see you loose that bet though. But it was in the elements for 10 years?
Damn; the amount of body work that will be needed and the areas that will be rusted :x

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 9th, 2015, 9:11 pm

thinking about it, it was in TYC car park for almost 10 years, and was sold about 5 years ago, so add that to it... and now has no windscreen so that firewall/cowl panel (which is the worse part to have rust out) is prob gone through along with most of the floor and sills last i saw in tyc years ago.. IMHO its kinda past a good resto and only now good for a patch and beat out.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » March 9th, 2015, 9:28 pm

moti wrote:
Midnight_Demon wrote:
Bezman wrote:I tried and tried to buy that AE86 when it was in tyc car park for years. And look where it is now.

All that talk of restoring it and then it sold to another who was gonna restore it.

Frustrating to see these cars end up like this sitting in the rain and rotting.

Such a waste

Breaks your heart doesn't it

It's something I would never understand.
I know some people have sentimental value attached but if it means so much why let it reach to that state.
Best you let it go to someone who will really appreciate it and enjoy it. Or at least store it so your kids/grand kids can make something of it in the future.
I know some may not want it go to the average Raj who may ruin the car, so then do some research on the individual and ensure that they not only would restore/restomod the car but they would use it for it's intended purpose.
Or heck they may even restore it and then hide it away.

Either way, I hate to see cars reach that state. I grew up knowing that they are to be treated like a member of the family. But alas, due to the society we currently live in cars are now disposable and they come very easy.
It's now a fad on who has what features and LED's etc.

I wish I could save them all, but such is life. :(

The red Zx i posted 2 pages ago...
Same story. I begged and begged for that car about 10 yrs ago . No dice.
When i asked the resident of the house who's garage it i sparked in, about it he says the owner doesnt even live in trinidad and he doesnt know where or how to find him.
I wonder if i steal it, if the owner will miraculously show up.... :lol:

Postby Monk BANzai » March 10th, 2015, 1:29 am

sorry to be the one that puts a spanner..but i disagree with all yall.. if i have in my possession a car that I think I want to keep and let it rot...thais my business.... and I really doh care who thinks what....similarly if i spend a $100k in a resto and then drive it once every 3 months... or 3 years.... or never .....again... .my circus and my monkeys... not yours... block yuh fackin eye...

On the converse.... ive seen ppl gain access to what was initially "unreachable cars becuz of owner" simply by building a relationship with the owners... instead of asking "if yuh selling".. .talk bout the history...ask questions about the lineage of the car.... It takes years... but eventually... you realise the person really not selling... or they warming up to the idea.. .but flashing a wad of cash every 3 yrs to a man that realyl does not give a fack...lol.....

Not that my Rover project is of any worth.. .14 years later i still have the car and its worth crap....but is the same thing.....doh step to me and ask if i selling and then get upset when I say "nah..."

*cues Toby speech

lol....

Kevin ... congrats on purchase..

yuh selling oar?....

Postby MG Man » March 10th, 2015, 8:13 am

rspann wrote:Mg man, like you want me to come up by yuh and buss up the MG windscreen oarr? Boy I ask yuh for the RX7 adress or ask the man if he selling.

it was already sold when I took that pic :(
It's gone now

Postby MG Man » March 10th, 2015, 9:32 am

hadda agree with banzai...sucks to see a car you love being left to slowly die, but at the end of the day, some people just can't let go...nothing wrong with that
Just like some purists will say moti spoiling a perfectly good 86, while others will cheer him on
Some ppl will cringe at Bezman 'raping that poor 1st gen with a bodykit' while others will say 'great build'
Where does one draw the line?
My yellow MG collecting dust in the back porch seems to bother a lot of people but guess what...it's mine..even if it never gets put back together, I'm not fussed

moti

Postby moti » March 10th, 2015, 9:54 am

Me not ruining the hachiroku.
I just getting her used to the Japland trim.

After all, she's a drift queen so might as well have her look/act like one.

But it's what I am speaking about, everyone has their own objective when building/owning a car.
Some may want to have it used for it's intended purpose while others want it like original and parked.
Others may want to replace the engine with a bamboo special and slap chrome everything with sound stream amps and champion series pioneer 12's.

That's the thing, at least its being used and not just rotting away. Yes I know its yours and you can do what you want with it but have some heart man.
Look at it this way, you pay 45K for a B14 and leave it in the rain for the next 20 years.
Wouldn't that 45K been better used on a vacation or some thing around the house?
And you would leave the 45K cash out in the rain now would you? So why waste money like that?
Oh wait; its yours and you can do whatever you want with it.

So silly.

Mg Man, do you have the yellow MG out in the elements?
No you don't so while it may be scrapped its actually still being taken care of and that's my point.

Postby MG Man » March 10th, 2015, 10:28 am

doesn't matter
There's an old Vauxhall I want sooo bad, that was under a shed so long, the shed collapsed on it, then they cleared the shed away. Now it's rotting in the rain and beyond salvation. The family is very poor, but the lady always says 'before grandpa died, he say doh let nobody take he baby...leave she right there'...who can argue with her? She could have taken the cash and ran all the way to the bank, but she rather respect grandpa's wishes...
Every neglected car tells a story..yes some owners are just buttheads, but to some people, the 2k you would offer is not worth the sentiment

Postby eliteauto » March 10th, 2015, 1:37 pm

grandpa was a cnut

moti

Postby moti » March 10th, 2015, 2:29 pm

Grand daughter even bigger.
Pops not here again, so why let it die just like him?

Could have sold it in its prime for top dollar and enjoy the money as a gift from grand pappy.

Postby MG Man » March 10th, 2015, 3:13 pm

money isn't everything to everyone. I know that may be hard to understand for some people

Postby supercharged turbo » March 10th, 2015, 3:36 pm

I respect everybody's opinion and agree with it to some point.My grandfather has a 626 that he bought brand new.As the years passed the car slowly degraded but still in good condition.No rotten spot as yet but it needs some work.Right now its packed down because the transmission and engine leaking oil bad and the dog scratch up de whole rightside of the car.A good few people have stopped and asked to buy it because of the condition.It is what i would deem a restoration and not a salvation.Although he doesn't use it anymore,it is parked up a garage,sheltered from the elements and washed just yesterday after a few months.He's not selling it but he has never said what we should do with it when he passes on.We could sell it but I've taken it upon myself to bring it back as the car has alot of sentimental value.Almost all the grandchildren from the oldest to youngest were picked up from school with said car,so there are a lot of fond memories attached to it.What i think makes no sense is keeping that Vauxhall or anycar for that matter becuz "grand-dad say das he baby and to doh ever sell she" and the car is not taken care of/exposed to rain and sun/easily accessible to theives etc.What they should do is sell it to someone who would be able to properly to bring back that car to what grand-dad would call his baby,so they could see it on de road again or maybe a museum where it would be admired for years to come.Alas this is not the view of many of these vintage car owners but we hadda respect their choice.What we should do is make sure that our minds are not like this and that when we get older/lose interest/pass on,there are things set in place to make sure that our cars don't see the same fate.There are plenty people who would restore a car and then say that they leaving it for their son,daughter or relative etc and that person has no interest in it.Then when the car gets into their hands,they sell it or leave it to rot but when the guy who has a car collection asking to buy it,yuh only bawling "das for meh children dem".Pick sense from nonsense.

My $0.02
Btw look out for the 626 restoration this year hopefully :grin:

Postby eliteauto » March 10th, 2015, 3:38 pm

moti wrote:Grand daughter even bigger.
Pops not here again, so why let it die just like him?

Could have sold it in its prime for top dollar and enjoy the money as a gift from grand pappy.

I could give the daughter a bly, she's trapped by the wishes of a selfish bastard that she feels bound to honor, cnut status remains with grandpa

Postby black start » March 10th, 2015, 3:42 pm

i does lulz@ ppl who have sentimental attachment to vehicles.......

then I does rmbr that 30 year ole pile downstairs, that has no motor .....

Postby MG Man » March 10th, 2015, 3:44 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:.What we should do is make sure that our minds are not like this and that when we get older/lose interest/pass on,there are things set in place to make sure that our cars don't see the same fate.

my family knows...if I drop down dead tomorrow and the car can't be shipped back to the Motherland, throw a cover over it and leave it to die in a corner...it won't see another trini's hands

Postby rspann » March 10th, 2015, 7:47 pm

Thanks boy MG, My loss. I still looking for a 3rd gen shell if anyone knows where one is.

Postby supercharged turbo » March 10th, 2015, 8:03 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:.What we should do is make sure that our minds are not like this and that when we get older/lose interest/pass on,there are things set in place to make sure that our cars don't see the same fate.

my family knows...if I drop down dead tomorrow and the car can't be shipped back to the Motherland, throw a cover over it and leave it to die in a corner...it won't see another trini's hands
Where in de motherland you sending it back to?

Postby MG Man » March 10th, 2015, 8:06 pm

easy sell, plus the Vauxhall Heritage Centre will take it

9YDMS

Postby 9YDMS » March 10th, 2015, 9:06 pm

Chevy......
07_8781.jpg
08_8072.jpg
08_8072.jpg (89.23 KiB) Viewed 3092 times

Postby MG Man » March 11th, 2015, 7:05 am

hommuch dey askin?

moti

Postby moti » March 11th, 2015, 7:42 am

More like how much they giving.

Postby MG Man » March 11th, 2015, 10:33 am

moti wrote:More like how much they giving.

asking 150k
Barrett-Jackson syndrome strikes again :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
imp3.jpg
imp2.jpg
imp1.jpg

STREETFREAK

Postby STREETFREAK » March 11th, 2015, 2:03 pm

Honestly Barrett-Jackson price is for Barrett-Jackson condition which this car is not...... To me the car looks like its worth around 40K to 50K max....... Never the less I love the shape .

moti

Postby moti » March 11th, 2015, 2:37 pm

It's only going to be worth something to someone who cares/likes it and others from that era/genre.
The condition will only be a determinant for price.

nigie

Postby nigie » March 11th, 2015, 2:43 pm

"worth" is a relative term....Barrett Jackson..a market...Trinidad & Tobago a different market!

*OUTSIDER*

Postby *OUTSIDER* » March 12th, 2015, 8:36 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1426206959.078629.jpg
taken from FB

Postby MG Man » March 12th, 2015, 9:25 pm

most ah dem ting only nice from far
best car in that club is Dabreo's Mk2 Escort
Guy who bought Acosta's Mk2 started ruining it, and whoever has it now seems to be bent on finishing the job

Classic Cars Unlimited

Postby Classic Cars Unlimited » March 12th, 2015, 10:11 pm

Mark 5
10982079_1016074895088300_2074182443301075085_n.jpg