I.T jobs and salaries in T&T

Re: I.T jobs and salaries in T&T

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 10th, 2014, 1:10 pm

On this topic would like to know Job availability and possible salary for a software engineer/developer good at C, C++ and Java etc with a Computer Engineering Bsc cert.

About to start Bsc in Computer Engineering but not looking to do anything like systems admin and that sort of stuff. Looking into jobs after I graduate like Software Developer and Robotics. I am offcourse going to focus on being very special and to stand out from the crowd with as much of an impressive project as possible. Like I want to create a quad-copter robot with AI for my UTT project.

It is in the hopes all this extra effort that I want to put in on my own time would allow me to have a decent Job. Personally $10k and up sounds good for me.

Basically I am trying to avoid traditional IT jobs that you can get with certs. I don't want to do a Engineering Degree and then have to compete with people who has experience and certs that would be so pointless which is why I am happy UTT scrapped Bsc in ICT for Bsc in Computer Engineering.

TheOwnerPO

Postby TheOwnerPO » July 14th, 2014, 10:53 am

hey effect designs....are you gonna do computer engineering degree at john d campus port-of-spain ?

i'm starting in september

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » July 14th, 2014, 11:43 am

The long and short of it:

Do not expect to get the best salary in the world from the start. Work your way up and you will reap the rewards in the long run. Also, if you can, organzie PJs. They too can come in handy.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 14th, 2014, 2:49 pm

TheOwnerPO wrote:hey effect designs....are you gonna do computer engineering degree at john d campus port-of-spain ?

yeah John D, did they call you to register as yet? I am still waiting on that call but I got through with everything else. Did you know the BASc is supposed to be equal to a Bachelor of Engineering? I read it online.

You doing it part time? I am starting september 2nd par time aswell.

if so hope to see you there buddy :)

btw here is the full list of the new courses I only have year 1FT AKA 2 year PT so far

Got this from a fellow tuner on a previous thread who was kind enough to PM me it.

Engineering mathematics 1,2,3&4
Communication 1
Programming 1&2 (c, c++)
Object oriented programming (Java)
Information systems
Computer organization
Computer networks
Network architecture
Databases 1 (Sql)
Data structures and algorithms
Signals and systems
Electrical circuit theory
Electronics 1
Software engineering
Project management
Ict seminars

DjDaniel

Postby DjDaniel » July 14th, 2014, 10:04 pm

I made on avg $20 an hour doing basically anything IT related , possesing an Associate's Deg. in ISM, starting my Bachelor's Deg in September. I have some experience having run a Computer Repair/Consultancy business for over three years. But my passion is in the Defence Forces, I'm thinking of enlisting in the Air Guard or the Regiment hopefully in their IT department.

Should I do it? Does the TT Military have an IT sector? If so, how does one apply to get in?

I have searched the forums to no avail.
Thanks tuners.

TheOwnerPO

Postby TheOwnerPO » July 14th, 2014, 10:42 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
TheOwnerPO wrote:hey effect designs....are you gonna do computer engineering degree at john d campus port-of-spain ?

yeah John D, did they call you to register as yet? I am still waiting on that call but I got through with everything else. Did you know the BASc is supposed to be equal to a Bachelor of Engineering? I read it online.

You doing it part time? I am starting september 2nd par time aswell.

if so hope to see you there buddy :)

btw here is the full list of the new courses I only have year 1FT AKA 2 year PT so far

Got this from a fellow tuner on a previous thread who was kind enough to PM me it.

Engineering mathematics 1,2,3&4
Communication 1
Programming 1&2 (c, c++)
Object oriented programming (Java)
Information systems
Computer organization
Computer networks
Network architecture
Databases 1 (Sql)
Data structures and algorithms
Signals and systems
Electrical circuit theory
Electronics 1
Software engineering
Project management
Ict seminars

i inboxed u some more information on the courses

do you think you will get through ?.....because u need Physics and Mathematics A levels for that....

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 15th, 2014, 7:40 am

^ wow thanks buddy much appreciated.

Holy molly I can't believe UTT finally added Discrete Mathematics to their Comp Eng Bsc. wtf

LOL well then I don't know why they were afraid to add that in the past but any Engineering degree with that is well respected because its a key part of UWI Computer Science degree. Man this feels good!!!

BTW I already got through in UTT. If you have an Advanced Diploma in the relevant field they would take you without A levels thats how I got through.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 17th, 2014, 6:52 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ wow thanks buddy much appreciated.

Holy molly I can't believe UTT finally added Discrete Mathematics to their Comp Eng Bsc. wtf

LOL well then I don't know why they were afraid to add that in the past but any Engineering degree with that is well respected because its a key part of UWI Computer Science degree. Man this feels good!!!

BTW I already got through in UTT. If you have an Advanced Diploma in the relevant field they would take you without A levels thats how I got through.

They have recently reviewed the IT programs and have aligned the programs towards getting the IET accreditation. Accreditation can only be granted after students have graduated and can be granted up to 6 years after.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 17th, 2014, 8:13 pm

^ I see

So this explains why they now have discrete mathematics. Some folks online have said the old ICT and computer engineering bsc from UTT was a disappointment due to the lack of Discrete maths when one considers it to be an engineering course.

Here is more to what they added to bring it up to a UWI computer science degree

Mobile Application Development
Algorithm Analysis and Design
Advanced Software Systems

Algorithm analysis and design can also be found in computer science at MIT

I had also called UTT today and the woman told me they applied for accreditation and its a guaranteed thing this comp eng will be accredited by end of this year.

this is great news :)

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 17th, 2014, 8:14 pm

naresheep do you have anymore info to share?

TheOwnerPO

Postby TheOwnerPO » July 18th, 2014, 1:18 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ I see

So this explains why they now have discrete mathematics. Some folks online have said the old ICT and computer engineering bsc from UTT was a disappointment due to the lack of Discrete maths when one considers it to be an engineering course.

Here is more to what they added to bring it up to a UWI computer science degree

Mobile Application Development
Algorithm Analysis and Design
Advanced Software Systems

Algorithm analysis and design can also be found in computer science at MIT

I had also called UTT today and the woman told me they applied for accreditation and its a guaranteed thing this comp eng will be accredited by end of this year.

this is great news :)

you're gonna struggle with the maths if you got through with an advanced diploma alone....serious

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 9th, 2014, 10:19 am

Check out this madness. $5500 they paying for a Network/Security Engineer in Trinidad now? wow thats OJT pay, driving taxi makes more money than this.

http://www.caribbeanjobs.com/Network-Se ... 54612.aspx

Anyone knows how much a Telecommunications Engineer gets paid in Trinidad? say you have a Computer Engineering degree with Telecom major. I am going to assume it will be a lot more than this

ADONI

Postby ADONI » September 9th, 2014, 2:54 pm

Welcome to the 'Working Poor Class'...

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » September 9th, 2014, 3:23 pm

imah sellin my M.C.S.E. qualification, buyer also gettin my M.C.P. as a bonus. hurry first come first serve. all the module books are free too.!! :drinking: :drinking:

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » July 21st, 2015, 8:00 pm

Any networkers here? I know someone looking for networking peeps.

Fearless

Postby Fearless » July 21st, 2015, 10:21 pm

anymore specifics? Engineer? Tech?

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » July 21st, 2015, 10:40 pm

might be interested? what location?

djrddragon

Postby djrddragon » July 21st, 2015, 11:05 pm

Hi I don't really mean to take over anyone's topic (so can those who are replying please pm me)

I want to peruse a career in I.T all I have is my CXC passes, I'm not sure where to go on from there,so if anyone has any suggestions on what courses I can do to at least attain an entry level job please message me.

Thanks

Fearless

Postby Fearless » July 21st, 2015, 11:22 pm

djrddragon wrote:Hi I don't really mean to take over anyone's topic (so can those who are replying please pm me)

I want to peruse a career in I.T all I have is my CXC passes, I'm not sure where to go on from there,so if anyone has any suggestions on what courses I can do to at least attain an entry level job please message me.

Thanks

Anything in particular you like in I.T.?

djrddragon

Postby djrddragon » July 21st, 2015, 11:24 pm

Repairing,building PCs and even Networking

Fearless

Postby Fearless » July 21st, 2015, 11:39 pm

Try Costaatt for the networking, but your best bet is SBCS for everything IT related.

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » July 22nd, 2015, 9:43 am

Wide range of vacancies, from techs to Engineers.
From CCENT/NET+ to CCNP,
Diploma to masters.
PM me if anyone wants details.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » July 22nd, 2015, 11:13 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Check out this madness. $5500 they paying for a Network/Security Engineer in Trinidad now? wow thats OJT pay, driving taxi makes more money than this.

http://www.caribbeanjobs.com/Network-Se ... 54612.aspx

Anyone knows how much a Telecommunications Engineer gets paid in Trinidad? say you have a Computer Engineering degree with Telecom major. I am going to assume it will be a lot more than this

y i dropped out the job market in trinidad. 5500 they want to pay an IT Specialist with15 yrs experience, 2 yrs management experience and excellent research and outsourcing skills. 1/10th what i worked for in UK. decided staying home was healthier for me in all regards.

halfbreed_1

Postby halfbreed_1 » July 22nd, 2015, 12:06 pm

Damn Trinidad doesnt pay sheit.

If I had my currently salary living in Trinidad I would be loaded lol

$20,000 salary im guessing by salary yall mean monthly salary? so thats about $3333 US a month. That aint sheit. Is that a lot in Trini?

HSA

Postby HSA » July 22nd, 2015, 12:11 pm

halfbreed_1 wrote:Damn Trinidad doesnt pay sheit.

$20,000 salary im guessing by salary yall mean monthly salary? so thats about $3333 US a month. That aint sheit. Is that a lot in Trini?

20000 a mth isnt alot considering all expenses being paid for a certain lifestyle......i know of ppl who make 100,000+ tax free per mth, from sitting down and collecting rent....

and all that to boast and say you make alot of money...try and be a lil humble eh fella..it goes a long way

Advent

Postby Advent » July 22nd, 2015, 3:31 pm

yes 20G here can get you a nice car and a mortgage for a home and still live comfortably, add a spouse salary to the mix and yuh set

Postby Dizzy28 » July 22nd, 2015, 3:49 pm

Advent wrote:

yes 20G here can get you a nice car and a mortgage for a home and still live comfortably, add a spouse salary to the mix and yuh set

20g qualifies one for a 1 million dollar mortgage at TTMF for a 30 year loan.
Where you finding a house for that price?? Or are you a shotter with a big downpayment?

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » July 22nd, 2015, 4:23 pm

Advent wrote:

Where you finding a house for that price?? Or are you a shotter with a big downpayment?

thats incorrect. I have contacts in ttmf & regularly deal with land & conveyancing attorneys. Under 10k/month gets u 850k, up to 100% financing with ttmf under the 2% interest plan.
Had a buddy who recently(1 month ago) went in for assessment with a fixed salary under 10k (he works in sales) and was approved for 1.4mil with 10% dpayment.

Advent

Postby Advent » July 22nd, 2015, 6:03 pm

Media Graphics Ltd. wrote:
Advent wrote:

thats incorrect. I have contacts in ttmf & regularly deal with land & conveyancing attorneys. Under 10k/month gets u 850k, up to 100% financing with ttmf under the 2% interest plan.
Had a buddy who recently(1 month ago) went in for assessment with a fixed salary under 10k (he works in sales) and was approved for 1.4mil with 10% dpayment.

Yup yup even Scotia have low interest rates

Sent from my XT1058 using Tapatalk

Postby Dizzy28 » July 22nd, 2015, 6:55 pm

Media Graphics Ltd. wrote:
Advent wrote:

1.4 m mortgage works out to almost 9000 a month on a 30 yr mortgage according to TTMF s mortgage calculator at 5% interest. That doesn't seem right given your buddy's income.