All the schools are still there buddy. All of them are still last choice schools. So what if Junior Sec isn't in the name. Or they aren't shift scheduled anymore. I am more concerned with "What do they expect to happen by putting all of the delinquents in one place? Teachers are doomed from the start and then blamed for their failure. On the other end of the spectrum you have some crappy teachers in prestige schools getting a good rep because the students do a lot of the work on their own."EmilioA wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:What they call it now is insignificant.EmilioA wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:I'm more concerned about the junior secs. What do they expect to happen by putting all of the delinquents in one place? Teachers are doomed from the start and then blamed for their failure. On the other end of the spectrum you have some crappy teachers in prestige schools getting a good rep because the students do a lot of the work on their own.
I thought they got rid of Junior Secs about 6 years ago. The whole deshifting process. All schools are 5 year now. That's why Eldo Junior is now Eldo West.
It kind of matters if Junior Secs no longer exist
Twin Isle Cars n' Parts wrote:sMASH wrote:Its a pity people don't see the value of the additional time they would save if spend less time commuting to and from work, as quality time they could spend with their families.
Very much so...
Twin Isle Cars n' Parts wrote:sMASH wrote:Its a pity people don't see the value of the additional time they would save if spend less time commuting to and from work, as quality time they could spend with their families.
Very much so...
Redman wrote:Its a pity so many people view the RR as the ONLY solution
pugboy wrote:how is security going to be implemented on a train ?
would hate to get rob on a train
Redman wrote:Twin Isle Cars n' Parts wrote:sMASH wrote:Its a pity people don't see the value of the additional time they would save if spend less time commuting to and from work, as quality time they could spend with their families.
Very much so...
Its a pity so many people view the RR as the ONLY solution
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ just look around, buses are obviously not the solution they all park up in city gate broken down, no mechanic, no parts, Volvo and Marcopolo etc has refused to do business with PTSC anymore. Was told monies being owed to these companies is part of the reason. So PTSC cannot get parts the only way is to use parts from other buses now. So thats why you see so many buses being scrapped now. Not to mention PTSC workers always on strike because they are part of a union, most likely the RR could be placed under a different name with new workers, make it work like Airport Authority part government part private where no one is able to strike but they can still be part of a union.
Even worse Air Condition break down in most of these buses aswell, very uncomfortable!!! the Rapid Rail should work with just 1 huge Aircondition unit so if it breaks down is only 1 you have to fix!! Which require less manpower, less parts less of everything.
Everytime PTSC buys new buses its a totally different brand, so using parts from older buses is now out of the question. They going from one Chinese bus to the next, for months I have not seen the bus pass up on my side.
And you seriously buses are the answer? allyuh fellas keep dreaming yes, allyuh really doh use public transport it seems. Redman let me guess, you own a Vehicle yes? or atleast use a company vehicle?
VII wrote:pugboy wrote:how is security going to be implemented on a train ?
In the stations,just like an airport scan bro..
Also real time cctv monitoring from trains etc.
pugboy wrote:And during trips between stations ?VII wrote:pugboy wrote:how is security going to be implemented on a train ?
In the stations,just like an airport scan bro..
Also real time cctv monitoring from trains etc.
pugboy wrote:So u jump on a train with say 3 guys
And when it roll off they rob you then run off at the
Next stop while u holding a busshead
pugboy wrote:So u jump on a train with say 3 guys
And when it roll off they rob you then run off at the
Next stop while u holding a busshead
WT was always sexy. http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/1-H ... 25249.htmlingalook wrote:The article points out that BRT is not "sexy" that may be... neither was the water taxi, people ride it because it is reliable, comfortable, fast and they arrive at their destination rested.
Slartibartfast wrote:True. Motorcycles also offer the same benefits wrt time saved and you can't get robbed on a motorcycle
Of course that comes with it's own problems.
Daran wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS,
Have you ever been outside of Trinidad? Buses provide are extremely reliable and quick service throughout most of Europe, and especially in the UK. Frequent service buses cover areas of usually 10 to 30km radius (with some intercity links covering longer distances). Buses and trains are meant to compliment each other there.
You need to ask yourself what is PTSC doing wrong. Look at the personnel and unions. Privatize the bus service and introduce penalties if timetable schedules are not met. You'll see how quickly things turn around.
An effective traffic plan for Trinidad requires many changes. The Rapid Rail is like a brute force solution with ultimately very high risks.
Do you know the entire project plan for the rapid rail is almost 10 years? I'm pretty sure the cost will double, the timeline for completion will exceed what was planned and the project scope will be reduced along the way.
And in the mean time what are we going to do?
Easy:
- Replace maxis with organized shuttle systems and designated bus stops (no more F*cking stopping where ever they please. A few years back I did a stochastic analysis of that start stop behavior of maxis and the resultant effect on traffic was horrendous)
- Investigate all bottle necks and introduce flyovers/tunnels/overpasses/roundabouts
- Use intelligent traffic lights that can sense traffic and give priority to the major roads while anticipating impacts in upcoming bottlenecks
- Offer comfortable rapid (little or no stops) intercity links
- Use bus stop timers at major stops so passengers can see how far away their next bus is
- School bus shuttles
- Mandatory staggered company hours
- Encourage private business to decentralize
A combination or all of the above will be exponentially cheaper, create more jobs and far less havoc on our infrastructure.
Don't get me wrong though, the Rapid Rail would be very very nice to have, but it aint solving many of existing traffic problems. Meaning, it's far from the best solution to our traffic woes.