***The Official Rapid Rail Thread***

Numb3r4

Re: ***The Official Rapid Rail Thread***

Postby Numb3r4 » October 17th, 2015, 2:04 pm

To be honest I don't really want any of the current political parties. I just want to know that I can count on the basic services, health, security etc. I just think that the money should be going towards improving the overall efficiency of said services. Try to fix what we currently have.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 18th, 2015, 6:59 pm

Article in the Guardian today on the Advantages of the Rapid Rail system.....thoughts anyone?

Postby DVSTT » October 18th, 2015, 7:07 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:Article in the Guardian today on the Advantages of the Rapid Rail system.....thoughts anyone?

Link ?

Postby sMASH » October 18th, 2015, 7:14 pm

We know the advantages, as long as it is managed properly. The problem is with the debt due to its cost and hardly any income.
In the last iteration of the PNM I was against the racket rail because it was money that cohld be better spent. Now it is money that we don't have.

Make bus lanes on the north/south, strict use of the pbr for mass transit vehicles, camera/ticket system for excursions onto the mass transit lanes.

U ent need to emply that much more police/traffic wardens. They snap u on the buss lane/pbr, u get a ticket.

Postby RASC » October 18th, 2015, 7:38 pm

Habit7 wrote:
pugboy wrote:So u jump on a train with say 3 guys
And when it roll off they rob you then run off at the
Next stop while u holding a busshead

To enter station you will pass through a corridor of CCTV, even the car might have CCTV. It would be idiotic to mug somebody on a train. There are already retired police officers used as security of articulating buses, nothing stopping expanding the transit police to be on the train, like other countries, we wont be the first to deal with this problem.

ingalook wrote:The article points out that BRT is not "sexy" that may be... neither was the water taxi, people ride it because it is reliable, comfortable, fast and they arrive at their destination rested.
WT was always sexy. http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/1-H ... 25249.html

If WT closes why doesn't your wife see the Deluxe Coach as an option? Since she doesn't, what makes you think she will take a BRT?

Exactly

A BRT will never be attractive to a driver.

"I love taking the bus", is something you will NEVER hear anyone say. Not in any country. A Rapid Rail or Light Rail will get the population buzzing, will get people out of their cars...if not for curiosity at first-that is all that is needed. Once they're hooked-theyll almost never go back. Just like his wife and the water taxi.

Postby RASC » October 18th, 2015, 7:39 pm

sMASH wrote:We know the advantages, as long as it is managed properly. The problem is with the debt due to its cost and hardly any income.

It has already been established that paying off the debt is NOT the priority of a mass transit system, nor should it be.

Postby zoom rader » October 18th, 2015, 7:44 pm

This racket rail will have only PNM ppl using it while non PNM Ppl will continue to use and enjoy the privacy of their cars. Yet to see a Syrian using PTSC

Casper23

Postby Casper23 » October 18th, 2015, 7:46 pm

Well then let non PNM ppl be foolish to stay in traffic for hours every morning and evening,that is their choice

Postby j.o.e » October 18th, 2015, 7:48 pm

zoom rader wrote:This racket rail will have only PNM ppl using it while non PNM Ppl will continue to use and enjoy the privacy of their cars. Yet to see a Syrian using PTSC

Keep up that third world mentality. I'm sure when you travel you utilize the rail services abroad

Postby RASC » October 18th, 2015, 7:48 pm

zoom rader wrote:This racket rail will have only PNM ppl using it while non PNM Ppl will continue to use and enjoy the privacy of their cars. Yet to see a Syrian using PTSC

Seems like a win win for everyone then.

Postby zoom rader » October 18th, 2015, 7:48 pm

Casper23 wrote:Well then let non PNM ppl be foolish to stay in traffic for hours every morning and evening,that is their choice

They will as it's very traumatic to travel with group of PNM ppl.

Postby Redman » October 18th, 2015, 9:05 pm

RASC wrote:
sMASH wrote:We know the advantages, as long as it is managed properly. The problem is with the debt due to its cost and hardly any income.

It has already been established that paying off the debt is NOT the priority of a mass transit system, nor should it be.

Whether it's the priority ...it has to be repaid.

Nothing that the rr brings the to the table is unique.
Or UN available for less.
Or unavailable in a shorter period of time.

Our public will have to change regardless of the type of transport provided.

We already maintain a road network....the rr will force us to maintain the rail network AND the road network...after laying down the massive capex.

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » October 18th, 2015, 9:13 pm

ingalook wrote:ED

We already have a Bus Route, it just needs to be upgraded... BRT can move 40,000 persons per hr, and believe it or not they can do it with our CURRENT bus route.

I wonder if you ever bothered to watch a single video on BRT posted here or if you just talking out yuh posterior

Then there is already a 3rd lane ripe for use from Chaguanus straight to the top of the highway - doh tell me that lane is for cars, I tort yuh say yuh wanted cars off de roads???

Of course there would have to be some upgrades to be made (like a concrete separation for the bus lane on the highway) but it is doable WE WILL SEE THE BENEFIT IN JUST A YEAR, surely this must count for something???

Then you point out private cars using the bus route, with this reform not even the PRIME MINISTER will be allowed to drive on the Bus Route (unless he is a passenger of the bus service). It must become inconceivable for Trinis to consider driving on the bus route because is instant lockup.

We talking about camera surveillance, control rooms staffed 24hrs, GPS trackers on every bus etc. NOT WHAT WE HAVE NOW

With a regular closely monitored schedule it would mean that at those places where motorist have to cross the Bus route it can now be done in a way that maximizes efficiency and minimizes traffic. If 8 buses runs every 5 mins during rush hour then it means that these lights crossing the Bus Route can be kept green for 4 minutes, and red for just 1 minute.

Basically why improve transport next ten years (while seriously hampering transport during that 10 year period because of construction of such a large scale project) when you can radically improve transport in 1 year?

Ingalook - Sense...
ED - no sense!!!
Who is to say the same issues that plague PTSC, wouldn't haunt the RR?

All the claims & arguments that ED projects, he conveniently forgets it'll be the same Trini, doh want to wuk & get ething free mentality workers gonna operate or infiltrate their POOR work ethics in some way...

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 18th, 2015, 10:14 pm

^^ Said that a while ago. Glad some else thinking that way as well.

So many other things need addressing before we undertake ANOTHER major infrastructural project.

Postby zoom rader » October 18th, 2015, 11:20 pm

j.o.e wrote:

Keep up that third world mentality. I'm sure when you travel you utilize the rail services abroad

Off course I do, i use the Gatwick express to london and then I travel on the Tube to Heathtrow,

The Brits have been in the train service business since 1807 and think by now they have gotten it nailed.

Meanwhile trins still paying for the half $$ billion feasibility study that was done by the PNM with another study to come and pay for.

Postby j.o.e » October 18th, 2015, 11:48 pm

So because we havent had a train for years and don't have the 'experience' we should never have one ?
What should we do to alleviate the traffic situation ZR ? A solution that would meet your anti PNM sentiment ? Buses ?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 18th, 2015, 11:59 pm

We have difficulty getting the feasibility study for the rail right....we will get the train right.....

Yeah sure.....

ingalook

Postby ingalook » October 19th, 2015, 12:00 am

j.o.e wrote:So because we havent had a train for years and don't have the 'experience' we should never have one ?
What should we do to alleviate the traffic situation ZR ? A solution that would meet your anti PNM sentiment ? Buses ?

Yes

Postby RASC » October 19th, 2015, 5:54 am

j.o.e wrote:So because we havent had a train for years and don't have the 'experience' we should never have one ?

"Yes busses-because y'all are monkeys that don't deserve better. Stay in the stone age... "

Lance

Postby Lance » October 19th, 2015, 6:38 am

More like spoilt kids that cannot seem to make full use of the toys we currently possess.

So we throw it out and buy the next hot thing because we have the money to do so.

Postby Redman » October 19th, 2015, 6:54 am

WhAt we need is an apolitical permanence entity to drive the discovery process....of course the modes of transport should be based on a national development policy.

What we doing,where we going, and therefore whAt we need to get there.

Postby zoom rader » October 19th, 2015, 7:53 am

We lost a generation of the train business with the once hard workers bro.

Its will be very hard to get the ball rolling and skills required once again. A train service is about discipline and work ethics, this is something that I had highlighted before and some newspaper columnist and politicians are now beginning to understand.

I have said before that a rail service is needed in trini and will help the traffic problem. The problem however is the PNM as they have record of failures with grand projects. This population needs to question every move of the PNM and the back rooms deals they are making. Sure you like and support the PNM but remember its your money jumping up.
Expect more tax on your pocket to pay for this.

Postby zoom rader » October 19th, 2015, 7:57 am

RASC wrote:

"Yes busses-because y'all are monkeys that don't deserve better. Stay in the stone age... "

IT Was PNM that put us in the stone age bro when they scraped the last train service. They even scraped Caroni trains.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 19th, 2015, 8:57 am

Gov may be right with respect to the cost being 10 billion tt. Ethipia just built a light rail with two lines and cost them about 500 million usd.

Postby RASC » October 19th, 2015, 9:05 am

drchaos wrote:Gov may be right with respect to the cost being 10 billion tt. Ethipia just built a light rail with two lines and cost them about 500 million usd.

Hush yuh stink mouth!
I mention that before ... But I sure is PNM propaganda that pushing that Ethiopia story. Black people cyar run nuttin

Postby pete » October 19th, 2015, 9:14 am

Meanwhile in Hawaii the price keeps going up for theirs.

Sent from my LG-P880 using Tapatalk

Postby RASC » October 19th, 2015, 9:24 am

pete wrote:Meanwhile in Hawaii the price keeps going up for theirs.

Everything in Hawaii is considerably more expensive than the rest of the mainland.

Postby zoom rader » October 19th, 2015, 9:45 am

RASC wrote:
pete wrote:Meanwhile in Hawaii the price keeps going up for theirs.

Everything in Hawaii is considerably more expensive than the rest of the mainland.

Wait RASC visits Hawaii ? Yuh nasty

Daran

Postby Daran » October 19th, 2015, 9:48 am

RASC wrote:
drchaos wrote:Gov may be right with respect to the cost being 10 billion tt. Ethipia just built a light rail with two lines and cost them about 500 million usd.

Hush yuh stink mouth!
I mention that before ... But I sure is PNM propaganda that pushing that Ethiopia story. Black people cyar run nuttin

You can't firstly look at it in isolation and also it's difficult to compare costs across countries like that.

And as I just mentioned in other thread with regards to why PP budgeted money for a project that is fully financed by the Chinese Gov, it's because of ancillary costs.

The TT $10B may indeed fully cover buying and constructing the rapid rail, however there are loads and loads of ancillary costs in a mega project such as this:
1. Land acquisition (could easily end up being the cost of the rail)
2. Utility relocation (factor in over time, new equipment, downtime etc)
3. Support staff for an operation this big including project managers, legal teams, ground staff, security, engineers, supply chains etc)
4. Disruption to businesses along the construction areas
5. Cost of traffic disruptions to the economy
6. Disturbances/Protests etc.
7. Unforeseen contingency costs (floods, earthquakes, mistakes etc....sh*t happens every project)

I can easily seen this Rapid Rail costing realistically $30-40B

Postby Habit7 » October 19th, 2015, 9:52 am