Numb3r4 wrote:Article in the Guardian today on the Advantages of the Rapid Rail system.....thoughts anyone?
Habit7 wrote:pugboy wrote:So u jump on a train with say 3 guys
And when it roll off they rob you then run off at the
Next stop while u holding a busshead
To enter station you will pass through a corridor of CCTV, even the car might have CCTV. It would be idiotic to mug somebody on a train. There are already retired police officers used as security of articulating buses, nothing stopping expanding the transit police to be on the train, like other countries, we wont be the first to deal with this problem.WT was always sexy. http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/1-H ... 25249.htmlingalook wrote:The article points out that BRT is not "sexy" that may be... neither was the water taxi, people ride it because it is reliable, comfortable, fast and they arrive at their destination rested.
If WT closes why doesn't your wife see the Deluxe Coach as an option? Since she doesn't, what makes you think she will take a BRT?
sMASH wrote:We know the advantages, as long as it is managed properly. The problem is with the debt due to its cost and hardly any income.
zoom rader wrote:This racket rail will have only PNM ppl using it while non PNM Ppl will continue to use and enjoy the privacy of their cars. Yet to see a Syrian using PTSC
Casper23 wrote:Well then let non PNM ppl be foolish to stay in traffic for hours every morning and evening,that is their choice
RASC wrote:sMASH wrote:We know the advantages, as long as it is managed properly. The problem is with the debt due to its cost and hardly any income.
It has already been established that paying off the debt is NOT the priority of a mass transit system, nor should it be.
ingalook wrote:ED
We already have a Bus Route, it just needs to be upgraded... BRT can move 40,000 persons per hr, and believe it or not they can do it with our CURRENT bus route.
I wonder if you ever bothered to watch a single video on BRT posted here or if you just talking out yuh posterior
Then there is already a 3rd lane ripe for use from Chaguanus straight to the top of the highway - doh tell me that lane is for cars, I tort yuh say yuh wanted cars off de roads???
Of course there would have to be some upgrades to be made (like a concrete separation for the bus lane on the highway) but it is doable WE WILL SEE THE BENEFIT IN JUST A YEAR, surely this must count for something???
Then you point out private cars using the bus route, with this reform not even the PRIME MINISTER will be allowed to drive on the Bus Route (unless he is a passenger of the bus service). It must become inconceivable for Trinis to consider driving on the bus route because is instant lockup.
We talking about camera surveillance, control rooms staffed 24hrs, GPS trackers on every bus etc. NOT WHAT WE HAVE NOW
With a regular closely monitored schedule it would mean that at those places where motorist have to cross the Bus route it can now be done in a way that maximizes efficiency and minimizes traffic. If 8 buses runs every 5 mins during rush hour then it means that these lights crossing the Bus Route can be kept green for 4 minutes, and red for just 1 minute.
Basically why improve transport next ten years (while seriously hampering transport during that 10 year period because of construction of such a large scale project) when you can radically improve transport in 1 year?
j.o.e wrote:zoom rader wrote:This racket rail will have only PNM ppl using it while non PNM Ppl will continue to use and enjoy the privacy of their cars. Yet to see a Syrian using PTSC
Keep up that third world mentality. I'm sure when you travel you utilize the rail services abroad
j.o.e wrote:So because we havent had a train for years and don't have the 'experience' we should never have one ?
What should we do to alleviate the traffic situation ZR ? A solution that would meet your anti PNM sentiment ? Buses ?
j.o.e wrote:So because we havent had a train for years and don't have the 'experience' we should never have one ?
What should we do to alleviate the traffic situation ZR ? A solution that would meet your anti PNM sentiment ? Buses ?
RASC wrote:j.o.e wrote:So because we havent had a train for years and don't have the 'experience' we should never have one ?
"Yes busses-because y'all are monkeys that don't deserve better. Stay in the stone age... "
drchaos wrote:Gov may be right with respect to the cost being 10 billion tt. Ethipia just built a light rail with two lines and cost them about 500 million usd.
pete wrote:Meanwhile in Hawaii the price keeps going up for theirs.
Sent from my LG-P880 using Tapatalk
RASC wrote:pete wrote:Meanwhile in Hawaii the price keeps going up for theirs.
Sent from my LG-P880 using Tapatalk
Everything in Hawaii is considerably more expensive than the rest of the mainland.
RASC wrote:drchaos wrote:Gov may be right with respect to the cost being 10 billion tt. Ethipia just built a light rail with two lines and cost them about 500 million usd.
Hush yuh stink mouth!
I mention that before ... But I sure is PNM propaganda that pushing that Ethiopia story. Black people cyar run nuttin