Fuzzle

TT COPS VERY UNRELIABLE

Postby Fuzzle » November 9th, 2015, 8:09 am

TT COPS VERY UNRELIABLE
by NEWSDAY REPORTERS Sunday, November 8 2015

JUSTIN KERSEY, Regional Manager (the Americas) of international risk management firm iJET, in a recent interview with internet tourist destination website Yahoo Travel, declared the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service to be “very unreliable”, amid a backdrop of a major crime problem plaguing this country.

Kersey gave the damning indictment in an interview with Yahoo Travel reporter Sid Lipsey for an article titled, “Yahoo Travel queries tourist safety in Caribbean.” The article was featured last week in the Caribbean360 website.

The article highlighted country by country, the most dangerous destinations in the Caribbean for tourists — with Trinidad and Tobago being first highlighted — and the safest countries for tourists to visit. The recent spate of security advisories and crime warnings for persons travelling to various Caribbean islands, the article stated, has some potential visitors rethinking their plans and asking, “Is the Caribbean safe?” Yahoo Travel’s Lipsey, pointed to “an eyebrow-raising number of crime warnings”, the latest of which saw the Canadian government update its security advisory for citizens travelling to Barbados.

This advisory is the latest in a rash of recent headlines highlighting concerns about crime in the region. In September, a Nassau newspaper reported that Carnival Cruise Lines was considering issuing crime warnings to passengers travelling to the Bahamas. And a Saint Lucia vendors’ association official accused local leaders of ignoring the island’s crime problem.

Then last month, English-born attorney Richard Wheeler, 72, and his Trinidad-born wife Grace, 67, were hacked to death at their Carnbee, Tobago home. Two men, a Tobagonian and a Vincentian have since been charged for the Wheelers’ murder. Earlier this month, an elderly American couple said they are being forced to flee their retirement home in Los Iros, south Trinidad after being attacked by armed bandits and also facing threats and racist abuse from locals, some of whom called the couple, “white devils”.

The US Embassy in Marli Street, Port-of-Spain, has advised the couple Barbara and Stanley Post, to move to the northern part of Trinidad until they are ready to fly back to the United States.

“Generally speaking, we have seen a slight increase in crime across the region,” Kersey told Yahoo Travel. “From Barbados to Trinidad to the Dominican Republic, we have seen a little bit of an uptick.” He said that the crime increase stemmed from a regional economic downturn. He noted that visitors tended to be safe as long as they stayed in the tourist areas, which he said tended to be well patrolled by police.

Yahoo indicated that while the vast majority of tourists had trouble- free vacations in the Caribbean, some of the destinations warranted more concern than others.

It then listed “trouble” islands as being, “most worrisome Caribbean destinations”, with Trinidad and Tobago being the first highlighted, although the article said the list was in no particular order.

TT crime levels ‘critical’ According to Kersey: “Trinidad and Tobago has a particular problem with security services.

The police are very unreliable.” The Yahoo Travel article also highlighted the US State Department’s Overseas Security Advisory Council (OSAC) rating of Trinidad and Tobago’s crime situation as being, ‘critical’.

“American citizens have been victims of pickpocketing, assault, theft/robbery, fraud and murder,” reads OSAC’s safety report on Trinidad and Tobago. It cites theft from hotel rooms and the occasional daylight robberies.

“There is no evidence to indicate that foreigners, specifically expatriates, are targeted in particular,” reads the OSAC report, “but crimes — robbery, break-ins/burglary, vehicular break-ins, home invasions, and assaults (including sexual assaults) – do occur in areas frequented by tourists and in which the expatriate community lives.” In a disturbing postscript, the OSAC report added: “The use of incapacitating drugs is not uncommon in thefts and other crimes.” Other trouble countries included Jamaica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Puerto Rico and The Bahamas, the latter being the Caribbean destination with the highest reports of rape against tourists.

Kersey went on to list his picks of some of the low-crime spots in the Caribbean: The Cayman Islands, British Virgin Islands, St Martin— St Maarten, Aruba, and Turks and Caicos.

DILLON: What is Kersey’s justification? Contacted for comment on Kersey’s damning take on the TT Police Service’s reliability or lack thereof, National Security Minister Edmund Dillon asked against what background was Kersey making such a broad assessment of the police service. “Is it a personal experience he has had that has caused him to say this? What is his justification?” Minister Dillon asked.

“Because of reports of break ins and assaults and robberies...

the Wheelers? Is it because of the Wheelers he is saying the TT police are unreliable? He can’t make a statement that because the Wheelers were murdered, our police force is unreliable. We are all saddened by the murder of the Wheelers. If the Police Service was unreliable how then could they have apprehended people connected to those murders so very quickly? I can’t see a reliable match to that statement.

How many break in do we have involving foreigners compared to locals? The police are outside there and they are doing their job, Minister Dillon said, adding that they have been in operations throughout the country.

“We have increased the police presence on the roads with our joint army and police patrols. We have stepped up the ante a bit to have the presence act as a deterrent and that is what we have to do in terms of being proactive since we cannot go into somebody’s mind to know that they will commit a crime. The deterrent is the most important thing.

“The police alone cannot fight crime, citizens’ involvement is also necessary. The police are in fact the tail end of the criminal mind. When the criminal is about to commit or has committed a crime, the police come into play.

What we are trying to do is start it from before and try to get the individuals to programme themselves even before they think about committing a crime. It means there must be interventions along the spectrum be it from family, the Church, the temple and mosque and the schools,” Dillon said.

Acting Commissioner of Police (CoP) Stephen Williams was in no way impressed with Kersey’s assessment of the force he (Williams) leads. “I could give you an entire interview about the TT Police Service and all that we have been doing. Crime against tourists, all the information that you could want in relation to the relevant article.

“I would not give you a one-off comment on any matter because it would never represent the entire Police Service. I have not read the story you are referring to.

“Anybody could say the TT Police Service is the greatest thing in the world or they could say it is the worst thing in the nation. We press on with our job and we remain committed as a law enforcement service.

“So to ask me to comment...I have to check the story to see what it is about first,” Commissioner Williams said.

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,219629.html

Re: TT COPS VERY UNRELIABLE

Postby stev » November 9th, 2015, 11:14 am

daas

Postby daas » November 9th, 2015, 11:15 am

TL; DR version or nah?

Postby black start » November 9th, 2015, 11:18 am

Didn't really need to read an article to kno that...

Tl:dr

Postby desifemlove » November 9th, 2015, 11:36 am

next news in....rain comes from clouds, tobago and trinidad is islands, and roads made from asphalt...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 9th, 2015, 12:41 pm

This is nothing new, if you call the police in the middle of the night they will flat out tell you they have no vehicles or they have nobody in the police station available. Some police stations close its doors at 9 PM to protect the officers from criminals. You can often call 999 and get no response, busy tone or ringing over and over.

I think Private Security Firm like Amalgamated should be allowed to have Emergency numbers so you can call them incase of an emergency and just pay whatever the cost is for having a private officer come to your house. Not sure if this is already a possibility?
They do it in South Africa because of how bad the crime has gotten there. They have private security on standby as a substitute for government police.

jahs0ldi3r

Postby jahs0ldi3r » November 9th, 2015, 12:50 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:This is nothing new, if you call the police in the middle of the night they will flat out tell you they have no vehicles or they have nobody in the police station available. Some police stations close its doors at 9 PM to protect the officers from criminals. You can often call 999 and get no response, busy tone or ringing over and over.

I think Private Security Firm like Amalgamated should be allowed to have Emergency numbers so you can call them incase of an emergency and just pay whatever the cost is for having a private officer come to your house. Not sure if this is already a possibility?
They do it in South Africa because of how bad the crime has gotten there. They have private security on standby as a substitute for government police.

Are you living in Goodwood Park? i asked that stupid question because where i live in central, at any given moment, there are about five police vehicles patrolling the area, and one parked on my corner almost 24hrs a day. its as if the station is my street these days.

I am thankful, but in response to your comment, it's as if they're on sheit where you at!

Sent from my HP SlateBook 10 x2 PC using Tapatalk

jahs0ldi3r

Postby jahs0ldi3r » November 9th, 2015, 12:52 pm

stev wrote:Image

is it coincidence that this guy's fingers are pointing to the words "no" and "quality"

So Real!

Postby MaxPower » November 9th, 2015, 1:27 pm

Ummmm thanks but whats new though?

Sweet T&T ent?

Paradise my ass

Such a pity that the hard working police officers have to face total disrespect from the public for the actions of their incompetent peers.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 9th, 2015, 1:42 pm

jahs0ldi3r wrote:Are you living in Goodwood Park? i asked that stupid question because where i live in central, at any given moment, there are about five police vehicles patrolling the area, and one parked on my corner almost 24hrs a day. its as if the station is my street these days.

I am thankful, but in response to your comment, it's as if they're on sheit where you at!

All my experience with TTPS has been nothing but bad, I am sure there are police officers who do their job the correct way and to the best of their ability I have no doubt about that, sadly the bad outweigh the good in Trinidad.

Earlier this year I was traveling to POS on the bus route, police first in line by the red light waiting for green, him and a woman police in the front of the Xtrail. Man break a red light 2 seconds after it went on red, police pull off and had to mash brake so he wont get bounce, not even as much as a lil horn 1 beep of the siren the police ignored it and went on their merry way, the Maxi Driver say look at how useless these people is how they become police?

Prior to that was shut down in Chin Chin area my father had a old Dihatsu at the time, 2 fellas approached and ask for money this was 11 in the night I said we don't have, I wind up the glass he called someone on his cellphone and refused to leave I suspected he was calling for friends to rob us, who knows, I call 999 the Police never came. Tow Truck Reach, we gone and never saw that police come.

After that? accident on my way to work in 2012 Orange Grove road, I get hit from behind and end up across the other side of the highway. 6 Am in the morning, calling 999 only busy tone or phone ringing nobody answering, took me and 5 other drivers to get hold of a police station, even St Joseph one no response. After 20 minutes the Police Arrive.

I dunno where you living hoss but count your lucky stars you have police patrolling up and down. Because for most people its banana republic police service just look at the videos posted online the behavior of our police pushing man down the street on wheel chair saying "yuh wa play mad I go show you who more mad" They really have to stop the 3 cxc requirement and start asking for A levels to be a police.

Postby S_2NR » November 9th, 2015, 1:46 pm

MaxPower wrote:Ummmm thanks but whats new though?

Sweet T&T ent?

Paradise my ass

Such a pity that the hard working police officers have to face total disrespect from the public for the actions of their incompetent peers.

Tomorrow is a holiday. Go from here with all this honesty /typicaltrini

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 9th, 2015, 1:53 pm

The first step in fixing the Police Service is asking for A levels as requirements. Most people with A levels have a lot more discipline than those without.

Second step make it impossible to get into the service by pulling strings. Too many people getting through because they have family members or know somebody in there so you find people who not meeting requirements getting through, police who can't spell basic words etc, this is how you can fix the problem. But then nepotism is part of our culture, so thats that.

jahs0ldi3r

Postby jahs0ldi3r » November 9th, 2015, 2:18 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
jahs0ldi3r wrote:Are you living in Goodwood Park? i asked that stupid question because where i live in central, at any given moment, there are about five police vehicles patrolling the area, and one parked on my corner almost 24hrs a day. its as if the station is my street these days.

All my experience with TTPS has been nothing but bad, I am sure there are police officers who do their job the correct way and to the best of their ability I have no doubt about that, sadly the bad outweigh the good in Trinidad.

Earlier this year I was traveling to POS on the bus route, police first in line by the red light waiting for green, him and a woman police in the front of the Xtrail. Man break a red light 2 seconds after it went on red, police pull off and had to mash brake so he wont get bounce, not even as much as a lil horn 1 beep of the siren the police ignored it and went on their merry way, the Maxi Driver say look at how useless these people is how they become police?

Prior to that was shut down in Chin Chin area my father had a old Dihatsu at the time, 2 fellas approached and ask for money this was 11 in the night I said we don't have, I wind up the glass he called someone on his cellphone and refused to leave I suspected he was calling for friends to rob us, who knows, I call 999 the Police never came. Tow Truck Reach, we gone and never saw that police come.

After that? accident on my way to work in 2012 Orange Grove road, I get hit from behind and end up across the other side of the highway. 6 Am in the morning, calling 999 only busy tone or phone ringing nobody answering, took me and 5 other drivers to get hold of a police station, even St Joseph one no response. After 20 minutes the Police Arrive.

I dunno where you living hoss but count your lucky stars you have police patrolling up and down. Because for most people its banana republic police service just look at the videos posted online the behavior of our police pushing man down the street on wheel chair saying "yuh wa play mad I go show you who more mad" They really have to stop the 3 cxc requirement and start asking for A levels to be a police.

Well, i from enterprise, the country's brand new hotspot!

almost all my experiences with the police were negative, but their presence is a big plus! the area is actually kind of safe now. however, I've had numerous run ins and the end result is they assault me, and i SUE!
I've beaten them twice before and was compensated financially without reaching to the courtroom myself.
right now we are currently involved in a matter from the last incident. i'm hoping for the same result.

in the end, the negatives turn out to be positives.

and if the weren't around, i might need to invest in an ak to protect my family...know what i mean

Advent

Postby Advent » November 9th, 2015, 2:31 pm

good dealings with the police here, tiida hit meh and drive off, called police and give description of car, 15 minutes later drive caught heading to carenage and brought to the police station.

Caesar_T

Postby Caesar_T » November 9th, 2015, 3:21 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
jahs0ldi3r wrote:

They really have to stop the 3 cxc requirement and start asking for A levels to be a police.

TTPS 5 CXC boss. SRP 3 CXC

Sent from my Dash 5.5 using Tapatalk

Postby Redman » November 9th, 2015, 6:15 pm

Yep...like TTPS will leave A level qualified applicnts and take someone with 3 Os..

Regardless of the MINIMUM requirements...they will take the best from those who APPLY.

The question is how to make the job attractive enough to attract the quality of recruit that you want.

How to make Law Enforcement attractive as a career to the type of applicant that you want/need??

konartis

Postby konartis » November 9th, 2015, 7:35 pm

I say is how u treat people or the police for that matter is how u wud get treated in return.

jahs0ldi3r

Postby jahs0ldi3r » November 9th, 2015, 8:03 pm

konartis wrote:I say is how u treat people or the police for that matter is how u wud get treated in return.

aye, some ppl just stupid, or having their bad days and expressing it on strangers they meet for the first time. if police just jump out on you, tell you lie down, and then start to kick you up for no apparent reason? what did i do to them to have that sort of treatment dealt to me "IN RETURN"!?!?!?!

well i should just start to beat police when i see them out of uniform then, because that's what happened to me.

Just Saying

konartis

Postby konartis » November 9th, 2015, 8:32 pm

jahs0ldi3r wrote:
konartis wrote:I say is how u treat people or the police for that matter is how u wud get treated in return.

aye, some ppl just stupid, or having their bad days and expressing it on strangers they meet for the first time. if police just jump out on you, tell you lie down, and then start to kick you up for no apparent reason? what did i do to them to have that sort of treatment dealt to me "IN RETURN"!?!?!?!

well i should just start to beat police when i see them out of uniform then, because that's what happened to me.

Just Saying

I highly doubt that police would just do that....it have mad police in trinidad?? And dont say look what happen in lavantille etc, the police reacts to what is being given to them...

Postby streetbeastINC. » November 9th, 2015, 8:35 pm

Some ppl ait and think its an easy job......hats off to the police officers i know...very good dam job in policing a failed society...

jahs0ldi3r

Postby jahs0ldi3r » November 9th, 2015, 9:24 pm

Trust me, there ARE MAD POLICE in TRINIDAD!

jahs0ldi3r

Postby jahs0ldi3r » November 9th, 2015, 9:26 pm

btw, i worked alongside with police on patrols, i am an ex-soldier, by choice! some of them MAD, some just plain evil!

wagonon20's

Postby wagonon20's » November 9th, 2015, 10:19 pm

Prepare allyuh self for the UPRISING ,police and soildiers gonna feel it soon trust!, its sharia law in dey MC, God doh sleep

Postby rollingstock » November 9th, 2015, 10:31 pm

wagonon20's wrote:Prepare allyuh self for the UPRISING ,police and soildiers gonna feel it soon trust!, its sharia law in dey MC, God doh sleep

:idea:

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 9th, 2015, 10:52 pm

wagonon20's wrote:Prepare allyuh self for the UPRISING ,police and soildiers gonna feel it soon trust!, its sharia law in dey MC, God doh sleep

NO MORE PORK AND HAM FOR CHRISTMAS?!!!!

**commits suicide by bacon juice***

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » November 10th, 2015, 3:10 am

Don't bash de police, the day of total policing was a success...

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » November 10th, 2015, 9:43 am

First of all. How can he be driving an old Daihatsu and be the owner of a cell phone? Those old Daihatsus died before the event of cell phone or 999 in Trinidad.

Secondly, everyone knows 999 stopped working over 10 years now.

fallen_angel

Postby fallen_angel » November 10th, 2015, 12:15 pm

The police service only in this state because a foreigner was running it.
If they had left us in charge of our own affairs things would be alot better off

Postby 1UZFE » November 10th, 2015, 12:18 pm

Did anything like this happened in the US , before u were deported? :???:

Postby rollingstock » November 10th, 2015, 1:26 pm

fallen_angel wrote:The police service only in this state because a foreigner was running it.
If they had left us in charge of our own affairs things would be alot better off

You won the Diwali dummy of the day award.
Check your inbox for redemption details.