zoom rader wrote:I warned you all before this government is always one step forward and two steps backward.
Increase gas + removal of cars = you forced to take racket rail.
I also suspect that Vat on private insurance and increase taxes on cars will double to put further strain on people owning cars in favour of racket rail
But all yuh vote for that
zoom rader wrote:j.o.e wrote:Again all this beat up over a retired police making a suggestion in a town meeting. You guys crack me up.
Hinds supported his idea. His idea is not very well thought off and must be dismissed very early in the game.
Some ppl don't like to travel on public transport. Juss think you have to sit next to some big sweaty smelly mampee .
RASC wrote:Reliable public transport negates the need to ever use your personal vehicle daily. This is where we should be aiming.
konartis wrote:RASC wrote:Reliable public transport negates the need to ever use your personal vehicle daily. This is where we should be aiming.
This is the solution....have busses running on time at specific intervals so that persons would feel comfortable to leave their vehicles at home...going into rural areas at 24/7 basis....
casey07814 wrote:Them is some fools bro....... Before they give 1 lane to busses and trucks which will help a lot and them police to start charging those people who does be on the road with the backhoe. Hmmm smh
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:konartis wrote:RASC wrote:Reliable public transport negates the need to ever use your personal vehicle daily. This is where we should be aiming.
This is the solution....have busses running on time at specific intervals so that persons would feel comfortable to leave their vehicles at home...going into rural areas at 24/7 basis....
You talking about a perfect world, when you wake up and smell the coffee you realize what you suggesting will NEVER happen in Trinidad. The mentality of the people alone will see to that, you say have busses running on time
Answer me this how do you plan on having buses running on time when PTSC workers on strike? PTSC has no working buses? and the buses that break down either have no mechanic to fix it or most of the time no parts to fix it? And the Bus manufacturer refuses to do business with PTSC? Right now they can't even do business with Volvo or Marcopolo.
supercharged turbo wrote:So if I driving my car with ah odd number on ah odd day and the time is 12:15am the next day which is a even day and I still going home,das ah charge?
killercow wrote:I guess with this suggestion sometimes the odds are in your favour.
A better suggestion IMO would be something like the following :
Monday - Friday from 6am - 9am ONLY
1. No private vehicle allowed to use the Solomon Hochoy highway
heading north with less than three occupants (driver included).
2. No private vehicle allowed to use the Uriah Butler highway
heading north with less than three occupants (driver included).
3. No private vehicle allowed to use the Churchill Roosevelt highway
heading west with less than three occupants (driver included).
4. No private vehicle allowed to use the Beetham highway
heading west with less than three occupants (driver included).
Monday - Friday from 3pm - 6pm ONLY
1. No private vehicle allowed to use the Solomon Hochoy highway
heading south with less than three occupants (driver included).
2. No private vehicle allowed to use the Uriah Butler highway
heading south with less than three occupants (driver included).
3. No private vehicle allowed to use the Churchill Roosevelt highway
heading east with less than three occupants (driver included).
4. No private vehicle allowed to use the Beetham highway
heading east with less than three occupants (driver included).
This idea will force car pooling during those hours (although I myself
am not in favour with the idea, less traffic should be worth it I guess)
and cut down on more than 50% of vehicles on the highway during peak
hours. But as Duane mentioned earlier, the enforcement will be a challenge.
dva2 wrote:This is pure craziness, need to dust off my account for this one. There are a number of professionals/specialist who jobs deals with transportation system and management in Trinidad and Tobago. A few of them being lectures at the University of the West Indies within the department of civil engineering. Why would they not consult with them but rather consider this proposed idea of the retired police officer?
The main cause of traffic is that there are a lot of drivers who don't abide by the law. There are those who use the shoulder as there own personal lane putting the rest of us at danger of potential collision while trying squeeze back in the lanes halting the flow of cars behind.
The other cause is the "macoing" behavior for any and everything that's on the side of the shoulder lane. A guy could be parked there, maybe taking a quick stop to pee but almost everyone needs to slow down to look at him.
Hopefully this doesn't happen but It would be great if they looked at ways of improving the public transportation system first maybe by creating more infrastructure.
Pablo660 wrote:
Or allow car pool on pbr
redmanjp wrote:only problem i see is if 1 of the 2 passengers are children & they are dropped off to school then the driver can't use those roads after that unless he takes some back road or something
perhaps peak hour tolls could be implemented instead of a total ban
BRZ wrote:You realize that the people who will profit the most from this would be the foreign used dealers, because the middle class will go and buy second carS and the poorer people will buy a second Tiida , so ultimately the car dealers will profit.
What about the whole custom registration plates and the "new system" has that been thrown out the windows now with a new government? Because everyone will ha pave to re register under the new system anyway.
Pablo660 wrote:Kool
What's the process to car pool on pbr, I know a couple people who would not mind doing this
Thanks
killercow wrote:Pablo660 wrote:Kool
What's the process to car pool on pbr, I know a couple people who would not mind doing this
Thanks
I know once you have at least three occupants in a vehicle (can't remember whether that is including the driver or not) between a certain time (can't remember the hours either) you can use the pbr. Hopefully someone with all the exact details will post and enlighten us both bro.
Hadda appeal to de masseszoelikescheese wrote:supercharged turbo wrote:So if I driving my car with ah odd number on ah odd day and the time is 12:15am the next day which is a even day and I still going home,das ah charge?
your grammar should be a charge
VexXx Dogg wrote:Whatever happened to the idea of decentralizing Govt ops from POS?