suggestion to remove 50% of private vehicles from the road

Re: suggestion to remove 50% of private vehicles from the ro

Postby RASC » November 19th, 2015, 4:23 pm

Reliable public transport negates the need to ever use your personal vehicle daily. This is where we should be aiming.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 19th, 2015, 4:25 pm

zoom rader wrote:I warned you all before this government is always one step forward and two steps backward.

Increase gas + removal of cars = you forced to take racket rail.

I also suspect that Vat on private insurance and increase taxes on cars will double to put further strain on people owning cars in favour of racket rail

But all yuh vote for that

It would seem you were right all along and I was wrong all along for supporting Rowley, this current PNM just as dotish as all the previous PNM. I was still willing to give them a chance though I figured under Rowley they would be different, seem is the same assness.

Ow well Kamla 2020 it look like. cause trust me I use PTSC regularly and believe me the kind of hell people ass going and catch they eh even have a clue.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on November 19th, 2015, 4:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Redman » November 19th, 2015, 4:27 pm

It would be nice if we could just enforce the rules on the books.

Give the MOWT the authority to establish the law for the roads.
Let them modernize and enforce.

I like the points system....

Adaptive/timed lights...centralized data driven traffic management...

Facial Recognition/Plate recognition/RFID plates etc will enable and empower the authorities and certainly help with crime....island wide FR/PR could be installed inside 6 months.

Police enter number in a database...and immediately the car could be tracked real time.
Last seen ..where....fantastic situational awareness.

Postby pugboy » November 19th, 2015, 4:27 pm

We can always go to the extreme like singapore where there are a fixed number of cars on the road and you have to wait until a car is written off or taken out then there is an auction lottery for the availble spot.
Of course here would be massive bobol.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 19th, 2015, 4:30 pm

PTSC is more unreliable than public transport in the Congo Jungle. Currently with everybody owning a vehicle, these people are unable to provide an acceptable transport service. With guntress and guntas cussing on the bus and threatening to attack people. Sometimes having to wait 3 hours for a bus that is supposed to come every hour because apparently all buses break down, no parts, Bus company refuse to do business with PTSC etc etc

AC never works in these buses half the time so you sweating like pigs, this government has failed harder than UNC under Kamla. I was completely wrong about my high hopes for Rowley.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on November 19th, 2015, 4:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Redman » November 19th, 2015, 4:31 pm

Anything we do will fail ....unless we enforce the rules properly.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 19th, 2015, 4:37 pm

j.o.e wrote:Again all this beat up over a retired police making a suggestion in a town meeting. You guys crack me up.

Hinds supported his idea. His idea is not very well thought off and must be dismissed very early in the game.

Some ppl don't like to travel on public transport. Juss think you have to sit next to some big sweaty smelly mampee .

You have seen nothing yet, the actual sweat and grease from people on the bus seats that never clean smells worse than the mampee so its doubled with the mampee plus only a 50% chance of AC working on any given bus (these days is more like 40% chance) its a mixture for vomit.

There is nothing wrong with public transport though, its our 3rd world dog sheit public transport is the problem. Watch and see when they ban 50% vehicles and PTSC workers start to strike every Monday morning, this is a recipe for disaster.

konartis

Postby konartis » November 19th, 2015, 4:41 pm

RASC wrote:Reliable public transport negates the need to ever use your personal vehicle daily. This is where we should be aiming.

This is the solution....have busses running on time at specific intervals so that persons would feel comfortable to leave their vehicles at home...going into rural areas at 24/7 basis....

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 19th, 2015, 4:43 pm

konartis wrote:
RASC wrote:Reliable public transport negates the need to ever use your personal vehicle daily. This is where we should be aiming.

This is the solution....have busses running on time at specific intervals so that persons would feel comfortable to leave their vehicles at home...going into rural areas at 24/7 basis....

You talking about a perfect world, when you wake up and smell the coffee you realize what you suggesting will NEVER happen in Trinidad. The mentality of the people alone will see to that, you say have busses running on time

Answer me this how do you plan on having buses running on time when PTSC workers on strike? PTSC has no working buses? and the buses that break down either have no mechanic to fix it or most of the time no parts to fix it? And the Bus manufacturer refuses to do business with PTSC? Right now they can't even do business with Volvo or Marcopolo.

link

Postby link » November 19th, 2015, 4:47 pm

casey07814 wrote:Them is some fools bro....... Before they give 1 lane to busses and trucks which will help a lot and them police to start charging those people who does be on the road with the backhoe. Hmmm smh

Traffic regs have effectively done the '1 lane' thing by imposing a 65km/h speed limit on heavy 'T'. This, coupled with also existing 'Keep left unless overtaking...' regs mean that the slower trucks & busses must keep left & allow other vehicles which can utilise the 80km/h speed limit to use the other lane/s.
as stated...'POLICE MUST START CHARGING......' ppl who flout the laws
RGDS

link

Postby link » November 19th, 2015, 4:51 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
konartis wrote:

You talking about a perfect world, when you wake up and smell the coffee you realize what you suggesting will NEVER happen in Trinidad. The mentality of the people alone will see to that, you say have busses running on time

Answer me this how do you plan on having buses running on time when PTSC workers on strike? PTSC has no working buses? and the buses that break down either have no mechanic to fix it or most of the time no parts to fix it? And the Bus manufacturer refuses to do business with PTSC? Right now they can't even do business with Volvo or Marcopolo.

doh fergit that is PNM who create PTSC & mash up the BEST FORM OF MASS TRANSIT THAT EXISTS WORLDWIDE.............
WE have to take dat in we ruk....
:fist:

killercow

Postby killercow » November 19th, 2015, 4:54 pm

I guess with this suggestion sometimes the odds are in your favour.

A better suggestion IMO would be something like the following :

Monday - Friday from 6am - 9am ONLY

1. No private vehicle allowed to use the Solomon Hochoy highway
heading north with less than three occupants (driver included).
2. No private vehicle allowed to use the Uriah Butler highway
3. No private vehicle allowed to use the Churchill Roosevelt highway
heading west with less than three occupants (driver included).
4. No private vehicle allowed to use the Beetham highway

Monday - Friday from 3pm - 6pm ONLY

heading south with less than three occupants (driver included).
heading east with less than three occupants (driver included).

This idea will force car pooling during those hours (although I myself
am not in favour with the idea, less traffic should be worth it I guess)
and cut down on more than 50% of vehicles on the highway during peak
hours. But as Duane mentioned earlier, the enforcement will be a challenge.

Postby supercharged turbo » November 19th, 2015, 4:57 pm

So if I driving my car with ah odd number on ah odd day and the time is 12:15am the next day which is a even day and I still going home,das ah charge?

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » November 19th, 2015, 5:03 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:So if I driving my car with ah odd number on ah odd day and the time is 12:15am the next day which is a even day and I still going home,das ah charge?

your grammar should be a charge

Postby redmanjp » November 19th, 2015, 6:58 pm

killercow wrote:I guess with this suggestion sometimes the odds are in your favour.

A better suggestion IMO would be something like the following :

Monday - Friday from 6am - 9am ONLY

Monday - Friday from 3pm - 6pm ONLY

This idea will force car pooling during those hours (although I myself
am not in favour with the idea, less traffic should be worth it I guess)
and cut down on more than 50% of vehicles on the highway during peak
hours. But as Duane mentioned earlier, the enforcement will be a challenge.

this!

and businesses, salesmen etc, might have to have a pass or something to operate during the peak hrs.

only problem i see is if 1 of the 2 passengers are children & they are dropped off to school then the driver can't use those roads after that unless he takes some back road or something
perhaps peak hour tolls could be implemented instead of a total ban

dva2

Postby dva2 » November 19th, 2015, 7:06 pm

This is pure craziness, need to dust off my account for this one. There are a number of professionals/specialist who jobs deals with transportation system and management in Trinidad and Tobago. A few of them being lectures at the University of the West Indies within the department of civil engineering. Why would they not consult with them but rather consider this proposed idea of the retired police officer?

The main cause of traffic is that there are a lot of drivers who don't abide by the law. There are those who use the shoulder as there own personal lane putting the rest of us at danger of potential collision while trying squeeze back in the lanes halting the flow of cars behind.

The other cause is the "macoing" behavior for any and everything that's on the side of the shoulder lane. A guy could be parked there, maybe taking a quick stop to pee but almost everyone needs to slow down to look at him.

Hopefully this doesn't happen but It would be great if they looked at ways of improving the public transportation system first maybe by creating more infrastructure.

Postby pete » November 19th, 2015, 7:09 pm

If the bus from San Fernando us $15 each way what's the most someone would pay to drive instead of using the bus?

Sent from my MotoG3 using Tapatalk

Postby zoom rader » November 19th, 2015, 7:10 pm

dva2 wrote:This is pure craziness, need to dust off my account for this one. There are a number of professionals/specialist who jobs deals with transportation system and management in Trinidad and Tobago. A few of them being lectures at the University of the West Indies within the department of civil engineering. Why would they not consult with them but rather consider this proposed idea of the retired police officer?

The main cause of traffic is that there are a lot of drivers who don't abide by the law. There are those who use the shoulder as there own personal lane putting the rest of us at danger of potential collision while trying squeeze back in the lanes halting the flow of cars behind.

The other cause is the "macoing" behavior for any and everything that's on the side of the shoulder lane. A guy could be parked there, maybe taking a quick stop to pee but almost everyone needs to slow down to look at him.

Hopefully this doesn't happen but It would be great if they looked at ways of improving the public transportation system first maybe by creating more infrastructure.

This is how this government operates. A jackarse brings an idea and Hinds not knowing any better agrees with it.
Brace yourself when the this mob doubles tax on ur insurance and increases duties on cars

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » November 19th, 2015, 7:24 pm

Buy 2 vehicles lol one odd n one even lol n drive one every other day lol
But car pool lanes n truck lanes might be an interesting idea
Or allow car pool on pbr

killercow

Postby killercow » November 19th, 2015, 7:46 pm

Pablo660 wrote:
Or allow car pool on pbr

I believe car pool is currently allowed on pbr during peak hours.

redmanjp wrote:only problem i see is if 1 of the 2 passengers are children & they are dropped off to school then the driver can't use those roads after that unless he takes some back road or something
perhaps peak hour tolls could be implemented instead of a total ban

I believe this is how it currently operates on the pbr. When you are using the pbr during peak hours and you drop off someone (thereby falling below the allowed car pool limit) you are no longer entitled to use the pbr and have to take the next turn off. When you think about it, most times when you have to drop off a school child you come off of the highway to do so. So when that happens, I guess you just stay off.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 19th, 2015, 7:47 pm

since they banning cars, any chance of getting them to also ban Carnival while we at it?

BRZ

Postby BRZ » November 19th, 2015, 7:48 pm

You realize that the people who will profit the most from this would be the foreign used dealers, because the middle class will go and buy second carS and the poorer people will buy a second Tiida , so ultimately the car dealers will profit.
What about the whole custom registration plates and the "new system" has that been thrown out the windows now with a new government? Because everyone will ha pave to re register under the new system anyway.

killercow

Postby killercow » November 19th, 2015, 8:05 pm

BRZ wrote:You realize that the people who will profit the most from this would be the foreign used dealers, because the middle class will go and buy second carS and the poorer people will buy a second Tiida , so ultimately the car dealers will profit.
What about the whole custom registration plates and the "new system" has that been thrown out the windows now with a new government? Because everyone will ha pave to re register under the new system anyway.

But how will buying another car solve the problem? Not everybody have a link in licensing and could end up with another odd or even # plate :|

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » November 19th, 2015, 8:18 pm

Kool
What's the process to car pool on pbr, I know a couple people who would not mind doing this
Thanks

killercow

Postby killercow » November 19th, 2015, 8:26 pm

Pablo660 wrote:Kool
What's the process to car pool on pbr, I know a couple people who would not mind doing this
Thanks

I know once you have at least three occupants in a vehicle (can't remember whether that is including the driver or not) between a certain time (can't remember the hours either) you can use the pbr. Hopefully someone with all the exact details will post and enlighten us both bro.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 19th, 2015, 9:00 pm

killercow wrote:
Pablo660 wrote:Kool
Thanks

I know once you have at least three occupants in a vehicle (can't remember whether that is including the driver or not) between a certain time (can't remember the hours either) you can use the pbr. Hopefully someone with all the exact details will post and enlighten us both bro.

The conditions of use of the PBR
Monday to Friday from 4:00 a.m. to 6:00 a.m. and 8:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. A minimum of three (3) persons inclusive of driver remains applicable

No commercial/goods vehicles will be allowed access to the PBR during these times. Also, no private vehicles will be allowed to conduct taxi services on the PBR at any given time.

Postby stev » November 19th, 2015, 9:14 pm

PBR? really? that poor two lane excuse of a bus route?

Postby supercharged turbo » November 19th, 2015, 9:17 pm

zoelikescheese wrote:
supercharged turbo wrote:So if I driving my car with ah odd number on ah odd day and the time is 12:15am the next day which is a even day and I still going home,das ah charge?

your grammar should be a charge
Hadda appeal to de masses

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 19th, 2015, 9:38 pm

Whatever happened to the idea of decentralizing Govt ops from POS?

killercow

Postby killercow » November 19th, 2015, 9:50 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Whatever happened to the idea of decentralizing Govt ops from POS?

Not sure if the current government is sticking to that idea but even if they are, how many more years will that take? And what will we do in the interim?