Gas prices in Trinidad & Tobago

playerskrew

Re: PNM raises gas, again.

Postby playerskrew » April 8th, 2016, 10:09 pm

So all the money spent for the initial plan for the rapid rail is gone. Something like $500,000,000.00

kjaglal76v2

Re: RE: Re: Look Trouble Now: Gov't plans to remove gas subsidy

Postby kjaglal76v2 » April 8th, 2016, 10:10 pm

skylinechild wrote:
infinite_RPM wrote:The problem is that trinis just don't believe in CNG. I told my father I was gonna install a CNG kit and he said don't waste my money on that garbage.. That it would just destroy my engine :/ . it's only afterwards when I explained and showed him what the kit comes with and the dotish high octane rating of CNG he became interested.. He wants to run a CNG injection similar to how aem methanol injection works.. In his car now lol.. CNG absolutely has to be promoted more to remove the negative perspective on it...

[cool story bro]

but in all seriousness....why must we convert to CNG when we can simply buy cars that use CNG and other types like ethanol...flex fuel....even diesel.....but our laws state u cannot import a RORO diesel car.....unsure how it wud apply to other types of fuels....

ie bringing down a car that uses a different type of fuel - ethanol ...flex fuel...etc

i wonder is the PM new mercedes uses CNG thou....

who say RORO diesel cars can't be imported? wey u read that

TheBoostLord

Re: RE: Re: Look Trouble Now: Gov't plans to remove gas subsidy

Postby TheBoostLord » April 8th, 2016, 10:31 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:
skylinechild wrote:
infinite_RPM wrote:The problem is that trinis just don't believe in CNG. I told my father I was gonna install a CNG kit and he said don't waste my money on that garbage.. That it would just destroy my engine :/ . it's only afterwards when I explained and showed him what the kit comes with and the dotish high octane rating of CNG he became interested.. He wants to run a CNG injection similar to how aem methanol injection works.. In his car now lol.. CNG absolutely has to be promoted more to remove the negative perspective on it...

[cool story bro]

but in all seriousness....why must we convert to CNG when we can simply buy cars that use CNG and other types like ethanol...flex fuel....even diesel.....but our laws state u cannot import a RORO diesel car.....unsure how it wud apply to other types of fuels....

ie bringing down a car that uses a different type of fuel - ethanol ...flex fuel...etc

i wonder is the PM new mercedes uses CNG thou....

who say RORO diesel cars can't be imported? wey u read that

You can bring in a used diesel vehicle but you MUST have a registered company to do it, along with a ton of paperwork. I recently did this in november and it wasnt easy, but eventually got things sorted.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » April 8th, 2016, 10:39 pm

u can bring non commercial diesel vehicles (P reg) also

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » April 8th, 2016, 10:44 pm

yes, only if new. NOT used/roro without a company.

Re: RE: Re: PNM raises gas, again.

Postby sMASH » April 8th, 2016, 10:51 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I was disappointed to hear there won't be any Rapid Rail, the reason for this is because it was promised that the money from the fuel subsidy would be channeled into the rail for reliable public transport. Now that they are removing the fuel subsidy and replacing it with no means of reliable public transport they basically facked everyone in this country sideways. Notice how every single red and ready person is dead silent now? They lied about the rail, notice imbert said if oil crosses $100 a barrel then he would be willing to have "discussions" about a rail. His tone has changed its a hint that doh bother asking for that again.

Put up with broken down PTSC or pay full price for fuel, some of you aren't bothered by it but wait till oil price start to go back up and you will see just how you will become bothered. I am in support of removing the fuel subsidy but this is because we were promised a reliable public transport, that is not happening again so now where are we? I will tell you, we are neck deep up sh!t creek with our mouths wide open as Abraham said to Eugene.

More maxis and more buses. If they can add more lanes to the highways, ur good to go.
Take that rail and put it between ur leg

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » April 8th, 2016, 10:56 pm

Though it was supposed to be $3.58 for super how come im seeing $3.98 at the pump?

Postby redmanjp » April 8th, 2016, 11:27 pm

S_2NR wrote:
Government will get the ball rolling to remove the fuel subsidy by first putting the proposal to the public for feedback from April 8, says Finance Minister Colm Imbert.

Imbert was responding to questions from the media on a Sunday Express report which quoted chairman of the Economic Development Advisory Board (EDAB) Dr Terrence Farrell, as saying the Government must move with dispatch to remove the fuel subsidy altogether, and address the need for a better public transportation system.

Imbert said he had spoken on the plan to remove the fuel subsidy since last October in his budget presentation.

Speaking to the media yesterday at a news conference at the Finance Ministry at the Eric Williams Financial Complex, Port of Spain, Imbert said he intends to have a national discussion on phasing out the fuel subsidy.

“I intend to start the discussion with the statement I will be making to Parliament on the 8th of April. I intend to start the ball rolling in terms of telling the country what the Government has in mind in terms of the way we are going to be dealing with the fuel subsidy and the timing of the phasing out of the fuel subsidy but I did say that on October 5 that is the plan but we have to talk to the population first,” said Imbert.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160322 ... -gas-pains

UPDATE: Super is now $3.50/l
Diesel is now $2.00/l

that wasn't a proposal for feedback mr imbert you just imposed it on us wtf

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 8th, 2016, 11:44 pm

ShIvAm wrote:Though it was supposed to be $3.58 for super how come im seeing $3.98 at the pump?

Lord.... where you see that??? Hopefully that is a mistake...

Even @ $3.58 that is a 32.5% increase in Super and 33.3% increase in Diesel in 6 months :shock: I frighten for October :puppydogeyes:

The aim is to remove the subsidy altogether - and profit (illegally) from the sale of Gasoline and Diesel to to people of Trinidad

The price at the pump will fluctuate freely with the global oil price - If we see USD $100 a barrel for oil your liter of super will be around TTD $10

Ban your belly friends

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » April 8th, 2016, 11:53 pm

Media Graphics Ltd. wrote:yes, only if new. NOT used/roro without a company.

you can bring them used

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » April 9th, 2016, 12:01 am

okay, let me know how that goes.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 9th, 2016, 12:05 am

https://sta.uwi.edu/conferences/12/reve ... osting.pdf

So in 2012 when the price of oil was $79 USD a barrel it cost $4.73 to produce a litre of premium but in 2016 when oil is $40 it cost $5.75 to produce a litre????
Last edited by ingalook on April 9th, 2016, 12:07 am, edited 2 times in total.

GixxerMan

Re: Look Trouble Now: Gov't plans to remove gas subsidy

Postby GixxerMan » April 9th, 2016, 12:06 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:Forgetting the developed nations, up the islands the people manage to get by with no gas subsidy, why should we be kicking up such a fuss here. Plus, we already have an efficient privatised mass transit system.

Trinis like frico too much.

^^^you firetruck think before you type hoss?.... so what should the citizenry get from an oil & gas producing country???
Last edited by GixxerMan on April 9th, 2016, 12:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » April 9th, 2016, 12:08 am

^^ good public services like roads and hospitals and pokice

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 9th, 2016, 12:09 am

GixxerMan wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:Forgetting the developed nations, up the islands the people manage to get by with no gas subsidy, why should we be kicking up such a fuss here. Plus, we already have an efficient privatised mass transit system.

^^^you firetruck think before you type hoss?.... so what does the citizenry should get from an oil & gas producing country???

People don't seem to think that they have any claim to the Oil and Gas that we produce... it all belongs to the Government

Tort massa days done?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 9th, 2016, 12:10 am

playerskrew wrote:So all the money spent for the initial plan for the rapid rail is gone. Something like $500,000,000.00

Yes pretty much. Another way to pilfer out money the legal way

Postby X_Factor » April 9th, 2016, 12:23 am

Still dont mind the gas price
paying 5 and 6$ for a 650ml bottle water is worse!

GixxerMan

Postby GixxerMan » April 9th, 2016, 12:28 am

sMASH wrote:^^ good public services like roads and hospitals and pokice

ok....and it's safe to say that none of the above mentioned exist in Trinidad........ so lets add onemore thing to fack up the citizens

Postby DVSTT » April 9th, 2016, 12:36 am

sMASH wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I was disappointed to hear there won't be any Rapid Rail, the reason for this is because it was promised that the money from the fuel subsidy would be channeled into the rail for reliable public transport. Now that they are removing the fuel subsidy and replacing it with no means of reliable public transport they basically facked everyone in this country sideways. Notice how every single red and ready person is dead silent now? They lied about the rail, notice imbert said if oil crosses $100 a barrel then he would be willing to have "discussions" about a rail. His tone has changed its a hint that doh bother asking for that again.

Put up with broken down PTSC or pay full price for fuel, some of you aren't bothered by it but wait till oil price start to go back up and you will see just how you will become bothered. I am in support of removing the fuel subsidy but this is because we were promised a reliable public transport, that is not happening again so now where are we? I will tell you, we are neck deep up sh!t creek with our mouths wide open as Abraham said to Eugene.

More maxis and more buses. If they can add more lanes to the highways, ur good to go.
Take that rail and put it between ur leg

Time for a hyperloop.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 9th, 2016, 12:47 am

ingalook wrote:
ShIvAm wrote:Though it was supposed to be $3.58 for super how come im seeing $3.98 at the pump?

Lord.... where you see that??? Hopefully that is a mistake...

Even @ $3.58 that is a 32.5% increase in Super and 33.3% increase in Diesel in 6 months :shock: I frighten for October :puppydogeyes:

The aim is to remove the subsidy altogether - and profit (illegally) from the sale of Gasoline and Diesel to to people of Trinidad

The price at the pump will fluctuate freely with the global oil price - If we see USD $100 a barrel for oil your liter of super will be around TTD $10

Ban your belly friends

How it will work in Trinidad is the price will go up at the pumps, taxi men will raise their prices each time till a short drop reaches $10. Prices will then go down, taxi men will not drop their prices just like how doubles never went down in 2008 when world wheat prices settled back to normal.

Then as the price of gas goes back up again they will then increase the price of their short drop to another dollar making it $11, pump price will go down, the taxi price is not going to go down, pump price will go up again as it fluctuates, taxi men will now charge $12 for a short drop and say price went up.

This is how it is in Trinidad watch and see. This is because we are a nation of selfish, greedy, corrupt and nasty people sad to say.

scotty_buttons

PNM raises gas, again.

Postby scotty_buttons » April 9th, 2016, 1:00 am

ingalook wrote:https://sta.uwi.edu/conferences/12/revenue/documents/TDriverforwebsiteposting.pdf

So in 2012 when the price of oil was $79 USD a barrel it cost $4.73 to produce a litre of premium but in 2016 when oil is $40 it cost $5.75 to produce a litre????

I think assbert mentioned in the budget that unsubsidized premium is somewhere around 3.60 something a litre. So government making quite a lot with premium at 5.75. If they floating fuel, premium supposed to drop.
I won't be surprised if these prices always go up with the oil price and never go down if prices drop.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » April 9th, 2016, 8:18 am

Thata what I want to know..why is premium still high..if it's unsubsidized It should not be that high..would the same thing happen to super?

Pirate

Postby Pirate » April 9th, 2016, 8:25 am

I say we stage ah protest! Drop premium now!
:)
I cud live with the price about $4.50 but $5.75 is outrageous given the current and near future outlook.

Postby X_Factor » April 9th, 2016, 8:26 am

Isnt our fuel now more costly than the USA?

Pirate

Postby Pirate » April 9th, 2016, 8:28 am

Yup!

Postby A172 » April 9th, 2016, 8:49 am

Media Graphics Ltd. wrote:okay, let me know how that goes.

u can import diesel for personal use 3yrs or newer

Postby Gladiator » April 9th, 2016, 9:15 am

ingalook wrote:
GixxerMan wrote:

^^^you firetruck think before you type hoss?.... so what does the citizenry should get from an oil & gas producing country???

People don't seem to think that they have any claim to the Oil and Gas that we produce... it all belongs to the Government

Tort massa days done?

Ah Ha... finally a smart fella on tuner.

The original concept of the gas subsidy has nothing to do with revenue and Govt. The thinking after independence was that the oil and gas belongs to the PEOPLE of the country and they must directly benefit from the land's resources. This is why we had the subsidy in the first place. This is also why many other oil rich nations subsidize fuel.

There is a very old parliament video clip with Dr. Eric Williams explaining this.... would be nice if someone can get their hands on it.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » April 9th, 2016, 10:16 am

Pirate wrote:I say we stage ah protest! Drop premium now!
:)
I cud live with the price about $4.50 but $5.75 is outrageous given the current and near future outlook.

I up for that protest. The whole principle is wrong. Premium should've been dropped.

Postby pete » April 9th, 2016, 10:37 am

The oil and gas revenues go into all the other subsidized things we get here like garbage collection, health care, water, electricity etc etc. Subsidized fuel causes waste. Removing it will make people analyse their use of the fuel and would start to use their fuel more efficiently.

cracker

Postby cracker » April 9th, 2016, 10:45 am

I think they are scaling back on GATE. Correct me if i am wrong.