***The Official Rapid Rail Thread***

bluesclues

Re: ***The Official Rapid Rail Thread***

Postby bluesclues » November 22nd, 2015, 10:18 am

i wondered why in the first place media outlets broadcast this man's suggestion. it really must have been a preconcieved idea they wanted to publicize. basically.. everyone without a car and who cant afford one will say yes, and everyone with a car and planning to buy a car will say no.

are things so desperate with the traffic situation? its been a while since ive gone to pos during peak morning period.

what's the timing like from arima to pos if u leave 6/6:30am. anyone? u can still reach by 8am right?

Postby zoom rader » November 22nd, 2015, 10:35 am

bluesclues wrote:i wondered why in the first place media outlets broadcast this man's suggestion. it really must have been a preconcieved idea they wanted to publicize. basically.. everyone without a car and who cant afford one will say yes, and everyone with a car and planning to buy a car will say no.

are things so desperate with the traffic situation? its been a while since ive gone to pos during peak morning period.

what's the timing like from arima to pos if u leave 6/6:30am. anyone? u can still reach by 8am right?

This government is taking baby steps in forcing ppl to fund and use their racket rail.

Limit cars+increase gas+ increased Taxes on car and parts = you take rail.

Postby pete » November 22nd, 2015, 11:28 am

Someone has to do it.

Sent from my MotoG3 using Tapatalk

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » November 22nd, 2015, 12:36 pm

bluesclues wrote:
everything i said has to be taken into consideration. we cant consider a swift route without considering we may have to change the way traffic flows throughout pos. we must also include traffic light synchronization. imagine we may have streets that need to handle 3000 cars but its traffic timing is set lower than the adjacent street which only handles 500 or so. just to give an example. stuff like that needs to be ironed out. but most importantly, if we have to engage any any of those activities which naturally calls for eachother in conjunction..

Uh huh.

And what happens when 3,500 cars show up on the road ? Where the extra cars fitting ?

What happens when 100 cars park on the side of the road cutting off an entire lane.

What happens when cars in the cross street end up blocking your road. So you cant even go when the light green.

Youre fixated on traffic lights as the only reason for traffic.
Last edited by EmilioA on November 22nd, 2015, 12:39 pm, edited 2 times in total.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » November 22nd, 2015, 12:38 pm

bluesclues wrote:i wondered why in the first place media outlets broadcast this man's suggestion. it really must have been a preconcieved idea they wanted to publicize.

Or the media pick the most sensational/controversial proposal to get viewers/readers.

Postby j.o.e » November 23rd, 2015, 7:08 am

EmilioA wrote:
bluesclues wrote:i wondered why in the first place media outlets broadcast this man's suggestion. it really must have been a preconcieved idea they wanted to publicize.

Or the media pick the most sensational/controversial proposal to get viewers/readers.

Exactly ..... And it worked because man still talking and debating. Even people who don't watch news/ read papers.

Postby Habit7 » November 23rd, 2015, 9:01 am

What I dont understand is why UML and the rest of the UNC fb grp ascribing the man's suggestion at a public consultation as being PNM policy?

Postby j.o.e » November 23rd, 2015, 10:15 am

Habit7 wrote:What I dont understand is why UML and the rest of the UNC fb grp ascribing the man's suggestion at a public consultation as being PNM policy?

They are learning from UNC leadership ... Grasping at straws. Challenging elections results .... Marching in defense of subsidized housing for upper class. Silliness abounds.

dieselsingh

Postby dieselsingh » November 23rd, 2015, 12:38 pm

The problem with that is if super goes up its ok but is trini we in everyone will go diesel and back to square one

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » November 23rd, 2015, 7:21 pm

I don't mind if super goes up....so long as it is reasonable.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » November 23rd, 2015, 7:24 pm

Still back to transportation issues and the rapid rail, how is the Christmas shaping up transport wise?

Have folks started experiencing Christmas traffic jams or such increases in road going traffic?
For that fact are Trinidadians busy for the Christmas yet?

Postby rspann » November 23rd, 2015, 8:00 pm

Habit7 wrote:What I dont understand is why UML and the rest of the UNC fb grp ascribing the man's suggestion at a public consultation as being PNM policy?

Maybe because Transport Minister Hinds said that the results of the meeting would be put into a report and made public for consultation.

Postby Habit7 » November 23rd, 2015, 8:06 pm

rspann wrote:

Maybe because Transport Minister Hinds said that the results of the meeting would be put into a report and made public for consultation.
Still not their policy though.

Postby zoom rader » November 24th, 2015, 8:08 am

Habit7 wrote:
rspann wrote:

Still not their policy though.

You can't trust this government where these matters are concerned. Key words like consultation, reports and policy under this government needs careful attention as they are red flags.

Postby Habit7 » November 24th, 2015, 8:14 am

Kinda like the constitution reform consultation that spent millions, went all over the country and implemented nothing new except what they hope to stifle the ILP?

Postby zoom rader » November 24th, 2015, 8:21 am

Habit7 wrote:Kinda like the constitution reform consultation that spent millions, went all over the country and implemented nothing new except what they hope to stifle the ILP?

Yeah citizens was kept in the loop with constitution refrom
Here this government does underhand cloak and dagger operations
This government comes up with a failed idea then we read on their express it was turned into policy.

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » January 21st, 2016, 7:06 pm

Any update on this?

Postby zoom rader » January 21st, 2016, 7:07 pm

Media Graphics Ltd. wrote:Any update on this?

Yeah vat going to pay it and you to suffer

Postby sMASH » January 25th, 2016, 7:58 pm

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-india-35203837
Authorities in the Indian capital, Delhi, have launched major restrictions on private cars to curb alarming levels of pollution.

Private cars with even and odd number plates are being allowed on alternate days from Friday in an initial two-week trial.

Emergency vehicles like ambulances, police cars, fire engines and taxis have been exempted from the order.

Delhi has experienced hazardous levels of pollution this winter.

The local government announced the scheme after a court ordered authorities to tackle pollution levels more than 10 times the World Health Organisation's safe limits.

How will Delhi's 'odd-even' car rationing work?
Exemptions

The government has made several exemptions to make it easier for people to follow the restrictions. The plan will be imposed between 8am and 8pm from Monday to Saturday.

Women will be allowed to drive their cars on all days but they can only be accompanied by women, and children below the age of 12. Cars carrying disabled people will also be allowed on all days.

Along with two wheelers, cars operating on natural gas have been exempted. In cases of medical emergency, people will not be stopped from taking patients to hospitals.

The government has hired around 3,000 private buses to provide shuttle services into the city from residential areas to ease the extra pressure on the public transport network.

Schools have been also shut until the trial ends on 15 January so that their buses can be used as public transport.

The government has launched an app that people can use to book tuk-tuks to improve last-mile connectivity from the Metro stations.
The government has hired around 3,000 private buses to provide shuttle services
Cars operating on natural gas have been exempted
Delhi has been experiencing hazardous levels of pollution this winter

Traffic policemen and several thousand volunteers will check cars at intersections and violators will be fined 2,000 rupees ($30; £20) and asked to return.

"The biggest challenge is to make people realise that this fight against pollution is for them, for their health, for their own good," Delhi Transport Minister Gopal Rai told AFP news agency.
Grim

Critics, however, say the plan is not practical - they say that in a city with an inadequate public transport system and poor last-mile connectivity, the new measures are likely to inconvenience commuters.

"Let's not convince ourselves wrongly that a simple odd-even policy will solve the overall air pollution issue," AFP quoted Arunabha Ghosh, head of the Delhi-based Council on Energy, Environment and Water, as saying.
Image caption Several thousand volunteers will help police during the drive

"Otherwise, we will be simply kicking the can down the road and we will create a feeling of distrust among citizens and the government machinery."

Delhi resident Pankaj Mehta, who drives 45km (30 miles) to work daily, told AFP that the restrictions would make commuting difficult.

"Rickshaw, then metro, then feeder bus, then walk - back and forth. A travel nightmare," he said.

"But if it makes breathing easier, then it may be worth it."

Environmental activists have welcomed the decision, saying the situation is so grim that urgent drastic steps are needed.

New car sales are soaring in India, with 1,400 extra cars taking to the capital's streets every day.

http://indianexpress.com/article/opinion/columns/odd-even-policy-delhi-pollution-yes-delhi-it-worked/
Delhi’s ambitious odd-even pilot experiment to reduce the number of cars on the road, and pollution in the air, has come to an end — at least for now. But the question remains: Was it successful?

Answering this question is challenging. Air pollution data is limited and it comes from many different sources. Pollution also varies with time and weather conditions for reasons that have nothing to do with the odd-even pilot. Thus, simply looking at trends in pollution monitors cannot tell us what we need to know. Reflecting these challenges, different assessments so far have been contradictory, ranging from “complete failure” to “massive success”. In a rigorous new study, however, we conclude that the odd-even pilot did have some impact — reducing hourly particulate air pollution concentrations by 10-13 per cent.

To judge the scheme’s true impact, we compared Delhi’s pollution with the rest of the NCR, which has similar weather but didn’t fall under the ambit of the scheme. We did this between January 1-15, when the scheme was in effect, and in November and December, when it was not in effect.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/business/7811505.stm
Japanese vehicle sales had their worst December on record, with demand plunging 22% compared with the same month of 2007.

December sales of cars trucks and buses fell to 183,549, according to the Japan Automobile Dealers Association (JADA).

Japan's recession has been blamed for the fall, together with the trend of people moving to urban areas and relying on public transport.

Vehicle sales for the whole of 2008 fell 5.1% to 5.08 million.

It was the fifth consecutive year of falls, taking sales down to a 34-year low.

JADA predicted last month that sales in 2009 would fall to 4.86 million, but there is concern that the figure could be even worse than that.

"We never imagined sales would fall this badly," said Takeshi Fushimi, director of JADA.

Lack of financing has been less of a problem than it has elsewhere, according to JADA.

In the US, a major factor behind the slump in car sales has been people being unable to take out car loans.

the buses were used to substitute the personal vehicles of the citizens.
one factor for the reduction in car sales, and by extension, car usage, was reliable public transport.
i am of the opinion the rapid rail will help, but it is just too expensive, especially now.

Re: RE: Re: PNM raises gas, again.

Postby sMASH » April 11th, 2016, 8:42 am

mitsu_chick941 wrote:thank god i nuh living south again...........a full tank giving me 2 weeks too and from work, providing i keep meh a$$ home weekends (which i normally do)..........

This person decided to reduce the commute distance between work and home. This had the advantage of saving time, money, and frustration.

If u can move people closer to their jobs, and move jobs closer to people , you would ease up a lot of traffic, save people time and money, conserve resources, ease up pollution.

Re: RE: Re: PNM raises gas, again.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » April 11th, 2016, 9:18 am

sMASH wrote:
mitsu_chick941 wrote:thank god i nuh living south again...........a full tank giving me 2 weeks too and from work, providing i keep meh a$$ home weekends (which i normally do)..........

This person decided to reduce the commute distance between work and home. This had the advantage of saving time, money, and frustration.

If u can move people closer to their jobs, and move jobs closer to people , you would ease up a lot of traffic, save people time and money, conserve resources, ease up pollution.

well it wasn't by choice but thank god anyway :lol: :lol:

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 11th, 2016, 1:04 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:I don't mind if super goes up....so long as it is reasonable.

Well as soon as they peg it to market price then you will see trouble! the real kicker is when oil eventually goes back up to 100 usd. The you will be paying 7+ dollars for super.

urbandilema

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: PNM raises gas, again.

Postby urbandilema » April 28th, 2016, 6:30 pm

Hmm wish I could do the same my wife eh wah move u working south and I working east :(

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » May 2nd, 2016, 3:08 am

No way the IMF will green light a Rapid Rail project.

Postby sMASH » May 22nd, 2016, 7:09 am

Imo, biggest success so far is the decision to not do the rapid fail.

Postby De Dragon » May 22nd, 2016, 7:15 am

sMASH wrote:Imo, biggest success so far is the decision to not do the rapid fail.

Don't celebrate that just yet, because I suspect that if the economy turns, then it will be back on the front burner. Even the PNM sensible enough to know that a project like this is untenable at this present time. That is one of their fundamental flaws, the need for control a la Shamfa, and their insistence on completing what are essentially vanity projects like Tarouba, 5-storey EW monument etc.

Postby desifemlove » May 22nd, 2016, 5:07 pm

evil rapid rail...cos countries don't need good infrastructure to have a healthy economy/society, ent?

Postby De Dragon » May 22nd, 2016, 8:51 pm

desifemlove wrote:evil rapid rail...cos countries don't need good infrastructure to have a healthy economy/society, ent?

A rapid rail is considered "good" infrastructure? :? How about building basic infrastructure like proper roads, drains, kerbs and things like those first?

Postby zoom rader » May 22nd, 2016, 9:49 pm

desifemlove wrote:evil rapid rail...cos countries don't need good infrastructure to have a healthy economy/society, ent?

A rapid rail is considered "good" infrastructure? :? How about building basic infrastructure like proper roads, drains, kerbs and things like those first?

Building basic infrastructure like proper roads, drains, kerbs does not happen with this government .

Have you seen the roads lately , expect to pay more for car repairs and floods

Postby desifemlove » May 23rd, 2016, 2:24 am

cos those are necessities. they don't add major long-term value.

it macroeconomics 101, good transportation is good for long-term economic growth. drains and road paving aren't to same degree, dey is very basic ting.
Last edited by desifemlove on May 23rd, 2016, 2:27 am, edited 1 time in total.