bluesclues wrote:i wondered why in the first place media outlets broadcast this man's suggestion. it really must have been a preconcieved idea they wanted to publicize. basically.. everyone without a car and who cant afford one will say yes, and everyone with a car and planning to buy a car will say no.
are things so desperate with the traffic situation? its been a while since ive gone to pos during peak morning period.
what's the timing like from arima to pos if u leave 6/6:30am. anyone? u can still reach by 8am right?
bluesclues wrote:
everything i said has to be taken into consideration. we cant consider a swift route without considering we may have to change the way traffic flows throughout pos. we must also include traffic light synchronization. imagine we may have streets that need to handle 3000 cars but its traffic timing is set lower than the adjacent street which only handles 500 or so. just to give an example. stuff like that needs to be ironed out. but most importantly, if we have to engage any any of those activities which naturally calls for eachother in conjunction..
bluesclues wrote:i wondered why in the first place media outlets broadcast this man's suggestion. it really must have been a preconcieved idea they wanted to publicize.
EmilioA wrote:bluesclues wrote:i wondered why in the first place media outlets broadcast this man's suggestion. it really must have been a preconcieved idea they wanted to publicize.
Or the media pick the most sensational/controversial proposal to get viewers/readers.
Habit7 wrote:What I dont understand is why UML and the rest of the UNC fb grp ascribing the man's suggestion at a public consultation as being PNM policy?
Still not their policy though.rspann wrote:Habit7 wrote:What I dont understand is why UML and the rest of the UNC fb grp ascribing the man's suggestion at a public consultation as being PNM policy?
Maybe because Transport Minister Hinds said that the results of the meeting would be put into a report and made public for consultation.
Habit7 wrote:Still not their policy though.rspann wrote:Habit7 wrote:What I dont understand is why UML and the rest of the UNC fb grp ascribing the man's suggestion at a public consultation as being PNM policy?
Maybe because Transport Minister Hinds said that the results of the meeting would be put into a report and made public for consultation.
Habit7 wrote:Kinda like the constitution reform consultation that spent millions, went all over the country and implemented nothing new except what they hope to stifle the ILP?
Media Graphics Ltd. wrote:Any update on this?
Authorities in the Indian capital, Delhi, have launched major restrictions on private cars to curb alarming levels of pollution.
Private cars with even and odd number plates are being allowed on alternate days from Friday in an initial two-week trial.
Emergency vehicles like ambulances, police cars, fire engines and taxis have been exempted from the order.
Delhi has experienced hazardous levels of pollution this winter.
The local government announced the scheme after a court ordered authorities to tackle pollution levels more than 10 times the World Health Organisation's safe limits.
How will Delhi's 'odd-even' car rationing work?
Exemptions
The government has made several exemptions to make it easier for people to follow the restrictions. The plan will be imposed between 8am and 8pm from Monday to Saturday.
Women will be allowed to drive their cars on all days but they can only be accompanied by women, and children below the age of 12. Cars carrying disabled people will also be allowed on all days.
Along with two wheelers, cars operating on natural gas have been exempted. In cases of medical emergency, people will not be stopped from taking patients to hospitals.
The government has hired around 3,000 private buses to provide shuttle services into the city from residential areas to ease the extra pressure on the public transport network.
Schools have been also shut until the trial ends on 15 January so that their buses can be used as public transport.
The government has launched an app that people can use to book tuk-tuks to improve last-mile connectivity from the Metro stations.
The government has hired around 3,000 private buses to provide shuttle services
Cars operating on natural gas have been exempted
Delhi has been experiencing hazardous levels of pollution this winter
Traffic policemen and several thousand volunteers will check cars at intersections and violators will be fined 2,000 rupees ($30; £20) and asked to return.
"The biggest challenge is to make people realise that this fight against pollution is for them, for their health, for their own good," Delhi Transport Minister Gopal Rai told AFP news agency.
Grim
Critics, however, say the plan is not practical - they say that in a city with an inadequate public transport system and poor last-mile connectivity, the new measures are likely to inconvenience commuters.
"Let's not convince ourselves wrongly that a simple odd-even policy will solve the overall air pollution issue," AFP quoted Arunabha Ghosh, head of the Delhi-based Council on Energy, Environment and Water, as saying.
Image caption Several thousand volunteers will help police during the drive
"Otherwise, we will be simply kicking the can down the road and we will create a feeling of distrust among citizens and the government machinery."
Delhi resident Pankaj Mehta, who drives 45km (30 miles) to work daily, told AFP that the restrictions would make commuting difficult.
"Rickshaw, then metro, then feeder bus, then walk - back and forth. A travel nightmare," he said.
"But if it makes breathing easier, then it may be worth it."
Environmental activists have welcomed the decision, saying the situation is so grim that urgent drastic steps are needed.
New car sales are soaring in India, with 1,400 extra cars taking to the capital's streets every day.
Delhi’s ambitious odd-even pilot experiment to reduce the number of cars on the road, and pollution in the air, has come to an end — at least for now. But the question remains: Was it successful?
Answering this question is challenging. Air pollution data is limited and it comes from many different sources. Pollution also varies with time and weather conditions for reasons that have nothing to do with the odd-even pilot. Thus, simply looking at trends in pollution monitors cannot tell us what we need to know. Reflecting these challenges, different assessments so far have been contradictory, ranging from “complete failure” to “massive success”. In a rigorous new study, however, we conclude that the odd-even pilot did have some impact — reducing hourly particulate air pollution concentrations by 10-13 per cent.
To judge the scheme’s true impact, we compared Delhi’s pollution with the rest of the NCR, which has similar weather but didn’t fall under the ambit of the scheme. We did this between January 1-15, when the scheme was in effect, and in November and December, when it was not in effect.
Japanese vehicle sales had their worst December on record, with demand plunging 22% compared with the same month of 2007.
December sales of cars trucks and buses fell to 183,549, according to the Japan Automobile Dealers Association (JADA).
Japan's recession has been blamed for the fall, together with the trend of people moving to urban areas and relying on public transport.
Vehicle sales for the whole of 2008 fell 5.1% to 5.08 million.
It was the fifth consecutive year of falls, taking sales down to a 34-year low.
JADA predicted last month that sales in 2009 would fall to 4.86 million, but there is concern that the figure could be even worse than that.
"We never imagined sales would fall this badly," said Takeshi Fushimi, director of JADA.
Lack of financing has been less of a problem than it has elsewhere, according to JADA.
In the US, a major factor behind the slump in car sales has been people being unable to take out car loans.
mitsu_chick941 wrote:thank god i nuh living south again...........a full tank giving me 2 weeks too and from work, providing i keep meh a$$ home weekends (which i normally do)..........
sMASH wrote:mitsu_chick941 wrote:thank god i nuh living south again...........a full tank giving me 2 weeks too and from work, providing i keep meh a$$ home weekends (which i normally do)..........
This person decided to reduce the commute distance between work and home. This had the advantage of saving time, money, and frustration.
If u can move people closer to their jobs, and move jobs closer to people , you would ease up a lot of traffic, save people time and money, conserve resources, ease up pollution.
Numb3r4 wrote:I don't mind if super goes up....so long as it is reasonable.
sMASH wrote:Imo, biggest success so far is the decision to not do the rapid fail.
desifemlove wrote:evil rapid rail...cos countries don't need good infrastructure to have a healthy economy/society, ent?
De Dragon wrote:desifemlove wrote:evil rapid rail...cos countries don't need good infrastructure to have a healthy economy/society, ent?
A rapid rail is considered "good" infrastructure?How about building basic infrastructure like proper roads, drains, kerbs and things like those first?
De Dragon wrote:desifemlove wrote:evil rapid rail...cos countries don't need good infrastructure to have a healthy economy/society, ent?
A rapid rail is considered "good" infrastructure?How about building basic infrastructure like proper roads, drains, kerbs and things like those first?