65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

badandy

Re: 65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Postby badandy » May 8th, 2016, 9:20 pm

How come Tobago didn't get a "speed gun" ?

Postby pete » May 8th, 2016, 9:59 pm

Tobago has it the hardest.. Whole island is 50

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 8th, 2016, 10:24 pm

stillmatic wrote:Sigh ppl don't take the time to read and understand... pick up speed limit is still 80km provided it doesn't have a trailer attached... with trailer it's 65km however the new pickups eg Ford ranger unfortunately will havento drive at 65 with or without trailer..... it's such a shame that the guardian would run such a propaganda story and leave out the most important part of the "section e "act "with trailer " the public will be misinformed and guys are gonna end up going to court just to put the system in place

But section d said mgw exceeding 2540 with or without a trailer.....
Can u clarify please....
Thanks buddy.....

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 8th, 2016, 10:38 pm

stillmatic wrote:Sigh ppl don't take the time to read and understand... pick up speed limit is still 80km provided it doesn't have a trailer attached... with trailer it's 65km however the new pickups eg Ford ranger unfortunately will havento drive at 65 with or without trailer..... it's such a shame that the guardian would run such a propaganda story and leave out the most important part of the "section e "act "with trailer " the public will be misinformed and guys are gonna end up going to court just to put the system in place

Yeah boy its a shame people don't take time to read ... OH WAIT ...

It clearly states with or without trailer.

Doh accuse men of not reading when you not reading either, Anyways we does all make mistakes.
Just fall in line and accept that you will have to drive your pickup at 65 KPH.
shit.jpg

Postby Spitfir3 » May 8th, 2016, 10:58 pm

what's the M.G.W of your average pickup?

Postby tr1ad » May 8th, 2016, 11:48 pm

2750 is average 4x4.... That's L200, frontier B2500 I'm still disputing this document being shown from what I remember in regs

Postby Ted_v2 » May 9th, 2016, 12:46 am

friday i came down debe hiway at 80km/h, not a vehicle passed me, everyone obeying the speed limit.
For my few mins on the hiway i was totally in control, to the sense where i let go the wheel and was safe in the vehicle.
Crusing. I know i could of done this before but i dunno why i felt safe doing this knowing that theres not some ass speeding down the road behind me.

I seeing several beatup from van owners tho, whys that?
honestly speaking i drove a frontier for a while, A 4x2 manual van.
just regular driving on wet corners and shifting a bit can easily allow you to loose control.

stillmatic

Postby stillmatic » May 9th, 2016, 3:25 am

My bad Lol...I forgot not every one knew about the amendment....I was just trying to clarify the with or without trailer part sry
Screenshot_2016-05-08-09-08-04.png

stillmatic

Postby stillmatic » May 9th, 2016, 3:30 am

Someone posted it b4 I was under the impression guys also read that... shame tho .... in layman's terms they raised the weight for goods vehicles clasification in the 1992 amendment... and all previous sections of the act is still applicable but with the new substitution in place that being said if it exceeds 2950 with or with out a trailer speed limit is 65 if it is less than 2950 with a trailer eg a burger cart speed limit is 65 if it's less than 2950 without a trailer 80km/hr
Last edited by stillmatic on May 9th, 2016, 6:06 am, edited 1 time in total.

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » May 9th, 2016, 4:46 am

My pickup is my personal vehicle, the family weekend ride,
Never carry anything in the tray.
So petition to have pickup P instead of T....

Who wit meh?

whiteknight1431

Postby whiteknight1431 » May 9th, 2016, 4:48 am

Thanks for the info Duane, just another money making venture by the government to rob people.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 9th, 2016, 5:53 am

whiteknight1431 wrote:Thanks for the info Duane, just another money making venture by the government to rob people.

:| Is this a new law? How is the government robbing people by enforcing the law? Why don't you obey the law and then reduce the potential for the government "robbing" you? Instead of bitching like a little girl about not liking the law, why don't you go see your MP about it and see what you need to do to get it legally changed?

stillmatic

Postby stillmatic » May 9th, 2016, 6:02 am

I'm not sure but u probably can register Ur vehicle to what ever Ur intended use may be... although thats not gonna be practical it has been done .... cars and Suvs can licence as "t"..... u might be surprised pickups can be "p" or "h" idk

Postby pugboy » May 9th, 2016, 6:04 am

lolll

Postby meccalli » May 9th, 2016, 6:31 am

*shudder* and my folks wonder why I don't like driving.

whiteknight1431

Re: RE: Re: 65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Postby whiteknight1431 » May 9th, 2016, 6:32 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
whiteknight1431 wrote:Thanks for the info Duane, just another money making venture by the government to rob people.

:| Is this a new law? How is the government robbing people by enforcing the law? Why don't you obey the law and then reduce the potential for the government "robbing" you? Instead of bitching like a little girl about not liking the law, why don't you go see your MP about it and see what you need to do to get it legally changed?

In every group it must have a dotish uneducated individual that sole purpose is to suck up and be a puppet to whoever is in power. muffler bearing if you want to be politically blind or just plain ignorant then so be it. These laws was made since donkey carts was still in use. We all live in a technologically society and trying to be a developed country with old laws with keep a country stagnated. So try again.

Rogue12354

Postby Rogue12354 » May 9th, 2016, 6:53 am

Whitenight1431 I completely agree wit you. You will never see no minister or government official driving at 80km/h for this weekend alone it had for accidents on the highway but it have a solution to this problem l it takes is for ten truck men to drive and 65km/h side by side on the highway and let traffic back right back up do that for a week and see what will take place

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » May 9th, 2016, 6:55 am

whiteknight1431 wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:

In every group it must have a dotish uneducated individual that sole purpose is to suck up and be a puppet to whoever is in power. muffler bearing if you want to be politically blind or just plain ignorant then so be it. These laws was made since donkey carts was still in use. We all live in a technologically society and trying to be a developed country with old laws with keep a country stagnated. So try again.

You do realize that MPs, i.e. members of the legislative branch, are the ones who vote to change the laws.
If you want the law changed at a rate faster than the parliament is moving at, then you should contact your MP.
Be a positive instrument of change.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 9th, 2016, 7:02 am

Rogue12354 wrote:. . . l it takes is for ten truck men to drive and 65km/h side by side on the highway and let traffic back right back up do that for a week and see what will take place

Keep left except when overtaking. TTPS should charge people who don't follow that rule.

Go check your MP with proper scientific data to back up your request to increase the speed limit. With respect to the scientific data, present the following:

1) Design criteria for local roads (design speed limit, vertical and horizontal road profiles [curve radii, curve lengths, superelevations/crossfalls, sight distances], coefficient of friction based on local aggregates used, IRI data, road location, traffic volume and classification data projections for a 20 year horizon)
2) Current road maintenance strategies
3) Studies of effects of temperature on local driver behaviour

One set of people talking out of their ass about what being done in first world countries and that the same should apply here. It just plain and simply does not work that way. You cannot just adapt things wholesale from those countries and think that they will work here and achieve the same effect.

abbow

Postby abbow » May 9th, 2016, 7:17 am

jm3 wrote:Oh great I have already been catching my ass to stay under 80 especially when tired so now to drive at 65 is even harder tbh I'm very worried some tiida will slam into the back of me or a government convoy will ram me off the road.
I say we all adhere to the law and drive at 65 In all 3 lanes bring the place to a halt.

Did this on Friday evening going Chag, police unit heading south, 3 lane full with vehicles doing 80km and police want to do 120 Km, no one moved, police had to use the shoulder....

abbow

Postby abbow » May 9th, 2016, 7:38 am

on another note....wouldnt it be good if they can have speed limits for different times.....

6 30 am - 8 30 am - 120 Km

830 am - 3 pm - 80 Km

3pm - 5pm - 120 km

5 pm - 6 30 am (next morning)- 80 km

Friday and Sat 5 pm - 6 30 am (next morning) - 65 Km

Postby 16 cycles » May 9th, 2016, 7:45 am

^ppl don't even obey the no entry signs from 3pm to 6pm or the no u-turn signs during different times....

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 9th, 2016, 7:53 am

stillmatic wrote:Someone posted it b4 I was under the impression guys also read that... shame tho .... in layman's terms they raised the weight for goods vehicles clasification in the 1992 amendment... and all previous sections of the act is still applicable but with the new substitution in place that being said if it exceeds 2950 with or with out a trailer speed limit is 65 if it is less than 2950 with a trailer eg a burger cart speed limit is 65 if it's less than 2950 without a trailer 80km/hr

No, pickups are still considered Goods/commercial vehicles and they get less duty on landing in Trinidad than regular private vehicles.
The law you quoted above has to do with allowing people with a class 3 permit to operate smaller T vehicles less than 2950 kg.
The section you quoted has nothing to do with speed limits.
The 65kph speed limit for pickups state that once the vehicle is over 2540 and is a Goods vehicle you are screwed. It said nothing about class 3 or 4.

It's very clear that the law you quoted has nothing to do with speed limits.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 9th, 2016, 7:58 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:
Rogue12354 wrote:. . . l it takes is for ten truck men to drive and 65km/h side by side on the highway and let traffic back right back up do that for a week and see what will take place

Keep left except when overtaking. TTPS should charge people who don't follow that rule.

Go check your MP with proper scientific data to back up your request to increase the speed limit. With respect to the scientific data, present the following:

1) Design criteria for local roads (design speed limit, vertical and horizontal road profiles [curve radii, curve lengths, superelevations/crossfalls, sight distances], coefficient of friction based on local aggregates used, IRI data, road location, traffic volume and classification data projections for a 20 year horizon)
2) Current road maintenance strategies
3) Studies of effects of temperature on local driver behaviour

One set of people talking out of their ass about what being done in first world countries and that the same should apply here. It just plain and simply does not work that way. You cannot just adapt things wholesale from those countries and think that they will work here and achieve the same effect.

Well we don't use any of the sensible policies that first world countries use and we in a complete mess. So maybe we should try something new ...

Re: RE: Re: 65KM/H speed limit on pickups, vans, omnibuses and goods vehicles

Postby sMASH » May 9th, 2016, 8:26 am

mark2.0 wrote:My pickup is my personal vehicle, the family weekend ride,
Never carry anything in the tray.
So petition to have pickup P instead of T....

Who wit meh?

I would disagree with that cause the ability for the vehicle to cross 2540 kg is still there. And toting that weight would affect ur ability to maneuver and brake.
So is either u modify ur registration to legally limit urself to 2540 or do a study to show that above 2540 eight is still safe above 65km/h

BRZ

Postby BRZ » May 9th, 2016, 8:39 am

Doesn't matter- if your Vehicle is Registered "T" as do ALL pickups LEGALLY then you must adhere to the laws that govern it regardless of How you use it.

stillmatic

Postby stillmatic » May 9th, 2016, 8:55 am

Lol...well thats all i got imma sit down now on the good side 65 is only 15 less than 80 Lol ...if this is what it takes for road fatalities to decline so be it

Postby mitsu_chick941 » May 9th, 2016, 8:57 am

fyaz was still gheein this morning

Postby redmanjp » May 9th, 2016, 9:14 am

If the speed limit is based on road design then it is the design itself that hasn't been updated in 30 yrs so it's the engineers to blame

stillmatic

Postby stillmatic » May 9th, 2016, 9:35 am

based on vehicle capability to ?.but Cars now arnt like 30 yrs ago... however car manufacturers would take into acct speed limits tho to some extent