The Trinituner Entrepreneurship/Self Employed/ Side Hustle Thread

kevinknr

Re: Business Ventures.

Postby kevinknr » October 12th, 2015, 1:05 pm

Bumping an ole thread because I saw Amway mentioned. Attended two meetings and im on the fence.

Anyone care to share their exp?

Daran

Postby Daran » October 12th, 2015, 2:25 pm

kevinknr wrote:Bumping an ole thread because I saw Amway mentioned. Attended two meetings and im on the fence.

Organo Gold dude, far more profit in that. PM me for details i go link you up good.

Postby K74T » October 12th, 2015, 2:29 pm

Lol

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » October 12th, 2015, 7:44 pm

Daran wrote:
kevinknr wrote:Bumping an ole thread because I saw Amway mentioned. Attended two meetings and im on the fence.

Organo Gold dude, far more profit in that. PM me for details i go link you up good.

And yet no one can ever give proof of their big profit...

Daran

Postby Daran » October 12th, 2015, 8:03 pm

Richard, I go hook you up too. Check your PM.

moses_boss12
Location: The Beautiful Hills of.................... Hellshire!!

Postby moses_boss12 » October 13th, 2015, 6:57 am

Daran wrote:

Never saw you as one of those Organo Gold kinda dudes....but then again...........

Daran

Postby Daran » October 13th, 2015, 8:26 am

moses_boss12 wrote:
Daran wrote:

Never saw you as one of those Organo Gold kinda dudes....but then again...........

Nah dude I pity those people. Well not really, they look for their sh*t

Postby Slartibartfast » October 13th, 2015, 9:22 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
aidan wrote:wa bout amway, ah hear u cud become a millionaire overnight

please doh get catch like them other fools

Daran wrote:
moses_boss12 wrote:
Daran wrote:

Nah dude I pity those people. Well not really, they look for their sh*t

Yeah me to... I pity those fools

5fwd

delete

Postby 5fwd » June 4th, 2016, 9:14 am

delete
Last edited by 5fwd on June 13th, 2016, 5:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: starting talapia farming

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 4th, 2016, 9:58 am

Inside for information

eXamin

Postby eXamin » June 4th, 2016, 12:48 pm

I have about 20 tilapia in a IBC tank and they've grown over an inch, just over a month time.

Note: Don't put smaller fishes with them, they will gang up and beat the other fishes.

jackal

Postby jackal » June 4th, 2016, 10:19 pm

Inside for information too!

5fwd

delete

Postby 5fwd » June 5th, 2016, 4:40 am

delete
Last edited by 5fwd on June 13th, 2016, 5:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

beetee

Advice on starting up a small restaurant

Postby beetee » June 9th, 2016, 12:04 pm

Good day Tuners,

There is a new mall in south , thats already very popular and i'm interested in setting up a small coffee/dessert shop there.

Anyone have experience starting up a business like this?

Where do i even start?

I need advice on equipment/furniture/etc.

Advice on starting up a small restaurant

Postby MaxPower » June 9th, 2016, 12:38 pm

Can have all the fancy stuff bro...

U can have a great game plan, wonderful ideas, but your Trinidadian employees could sink you....had select employees very carefully and show us that ur not just typical trini crap service...

Ur stuff hadda taste good and be consistent wth it.

Good luck and remember...
eye contact, body language, serve.

Re: Advice on starting up a small restaurant

Postby eliteauto » June 9th, 2016, 12:45 pm

Do your research, that includes
market research, (target market) and marketing model
start up and operating costs (equipment, outfitting costs, staff, stock etc)
rental costs for store
banking requirements ( business account, linx/cc machine, checking facilities, loan)
legal requirements (insurance, business registration, VAT registration BIR etc)

Then do a business plan (two actually an executive one which is brief and a detailed one ) which should include projections for at least a year and go looking for financing. Is plenty work to start and even more work to keep it alive. What experience do you have in the chosen field, that's very important in selling yourself to financiers

Postby RBphoto » June 9th, 2016, 12:59 pm

Have diana power mints..*Advice from Le Banzai*

ADONI

Postby ADONI » June 9th, 2016, 1:35 pm

I have local roasted coffee beans OP. Support local as they say!

Miktay

Postby Miktay » June 9th, 2016, 2:05 pm

hope u luv it...restaurant iz plenty wuk...

Postby sMASH » June 9th, 2016, 3:21 pm

U need capable people to prepare everything, because food is real work to cook, sell, prepare for next day.
Without having working experience, I would suggest u get it first to see if it is for you. U should get a work in a normal food place and see the work flows first hand. We what works what does not, and how people try to cheat you.

Many a small businesses don't last because they people had unrealistic expectations of how much traffic they would experience. That is the market research, as mentioned above.
Some successful ones suffer because they don't have workers that honest, and could pull their hand.

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » June 9th, 2016, 3:45 pm

Also OP dont expect to make profits as you open. Your objectives for the first year or two should focus on surviving and building a reputation.
Its alot of hard work with high risks

Postby pugboy » June 9th, 2016, 4:21 pm

Odds are very much against any food business due to high rents and staff issues
In other countries food businesses usually run a 1/3 split,
I.e. Rent and overheads cost 1/3, salaries 1/3 and profit 1/3 or something like that
Here rent might be 50% so go figure

Look at movietowne, the majority of places there bussing or bust,
Main ones left are either junk food or owned by movietowne owners

Operation needs to be low overhead as possible.

Btw are you talking about c3 mall?

Postby Redman » June 9th, 2016, 5:29 pm

Take the money you would have spent in rent and improvements and buy/outfit a truck.

Hit the cross at night and in sando during lunch.

you will do twice the volume without 80) of the monthly expenditure on location.

Learn the food biz BEFORE you sink funds into improvements and commit to rental at 20+ per sq foot.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » June 9th, 2016, 6:35 pm

From the technical aspect

1. Prepare your menu first of all with the pricing for everything u plan on selling.
2. Once u know how many items u have that will help you decide what kind of point of sale terminal u need to use. Whether a regular cash register, or an sps2000, or microsoft retail managment system. Aloha system is good and extensive for high class resturaunts but could run u as much as 30k per terminal. Woodford cafe, jenny's etc used these. Aloha and rms use regular computer systems which means significantly regular maintenance and troubleshooting. A good android pos would most likely be the most reliable way to go and id highly recommend it

Is food so once it tasting good it will sell. U just have to decide what kinda clientelle u wish to attract or have greatest market access to based on ur location.

Tips.

Have an impeccable kitchen and prep area procedure to maintain a clean kitchen. Structuring so customers can see their food being prepared is always a plus.

The rest u could work out i suppose. Worked with quite a few resturaunts in the country and my opinion based on experience is to invest more in providing a clean and classy environment and be fair to your workers. They can destroy or significantly reduce your success if unhappy. So as another tuner said.. choose employees wisely. Price ur menu accordingly. Adjust based on the general market u seem to be attracting once up and running.
Last edited by bluesclues on June 9th, 2016, 6:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shogun » June 9th, 2016, 6:40 pm

Some great info in here.

*Subscribed*

Postby pugboy » June 9th, 2016, 7:28 pm

T&t is just about catching the food truck wave
Food trucks being defined as mobile get away from requirements like having washrooms for customers etc.
If going that way look at the already mature food truck industry in North America for guidance
Don't reinvent the wheel.

We need a food truck park

Re: The Trinituner Entrepreneurship/Self Employed Thread

Postby Chimera » June 10th, 2016, 1:16 am

Redman have a real bess idea there. Cud park up outside all den fetes n events as well.

kjaglal76v2

Re: RE: Advice on starting up a small restaurant

Postby kjaglal76v2 » June 10th, 2016, 3:17 am

beetee wrote:Good day Tuners,

There is a new mall in south , thats already very popular and i'm interested in setting up a small coffee/dessert shop there.

Anyone have experience starting up a business like this?

Where do i even start?

I need advice on equipment/furniture/etc.

this go score & as monster power said, don't hire no ugly(physically & personality) ppl, your ambiance is also very important

Postby desifemlove » June 10th, 2016, 7:10 am

What's best for accepting online payments??

i does have a Payza, but getting a visa card to use Paypal. Another else than Paypal?

Postby desifemlove » June 10th, 2016, 7:12 am

payza.com