Wage freeze for public servants

cueball1990

Wage freeze for public servants

Postby cueball1990 » November 2nd, 2016, 1:10 pm

There will be no wage increases for public servants for the negotiation period 2017 to 2020.

Finance Minister Colm Imbert has today announced a wage freeze for the public sector.

The announcement was made at the International Monetary Fund (IMF) forum at the Hyatt Regency this morning.

The minister was part of a panel of global and regional leaders discussing the economic challenges facing the region.

In the audience was Jamaica Prime Minister Andrew Holness and Dr Warren Smith, President of the Caribbean Development Bank.

The announcement by the government is expected to have a ripple effect across the private sector.

bruh..

https://guardian.co.tt/news/2016-11-02/ ... c-servants

Re: Wage freeze for public servants

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 2nd, 2016, 1:16 pm

Great is the pnm

Miktay

Postby Miktay » November 2nd, 2016, 1:28 pm

Empty is the treasury

ADONI

Postby ADONI » November 2nd, 2016, 1:38 pm

Wow!!! Now nobody gonna do any work...

Postby Dizzy28 » November 2nd, 2016, 1:41 pm

Watson Duke can't be pleased

Postby hydroep » November 2nd, 2016, 1:47 pm

I didn't think they had the balls to interfere with Public Sector workers.

I wonder if they have come to some 'arrangement' with the Union?

It'll be interesting to hear what Duke & Co. has to say.

Postby MaxPower » November 2nd, 2016, 1:56 pm

Public servants have to start performing before any salary increases...only complaining whole day and letting out their frustration on tax payers....reduce it for now and show them what time it is...

Postby Dizzy28 » November 2nd, 2016, 1:58 pm

MaxPower wrote:Public servants have to start performing before any salary increases...only complaining whole day and letting out their frustration on tax payers....reduce it for now and show them what time it is...

They are not reducing anything. They are merely holding off on offering increments for the period 2017/2020.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » November 2nd, 2016, 2:05 pm

I hope he include in the freeze ALLLLLL prices for everything until 2020. So if i spending $2000 ah month on groceries now, between now and 2020 My salary the same and all prices the same then I cud survive. This way i doh hadda be wuking for $4000 ah mth today and ah spending $500 an mth in taxi to get tuh wuk and den taxi fare gone up and i spending $600 an mth tuh wuk for less money.

but at least they have a wuk. According to Jenifer it have like thousands without a wuk in the country and thousands more that getting like 4/5 k ah month and hadda bearly survive.

shiva_0001

Postby shiva_0001 » November 2nd, 2016, 2:27 pm

The last wage negotiations for public servants covered the period 2011-2013 (14%) which was settled last year; so does this mean that they will still have 2014-2016 negotiations?

http://cpo.gov.tt/sites/default/files/M ... 202015.pdf

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » November 2nd, 2016, 2:36 pm

In economic theory this is wise decision
this can be the benchmark for the private sector going forward. curbing our huge spending especially for imports

Postby pugboy » November 2nd, 2016, 2:39 pm

so what about subcontracted govt workers like cepep/urp etc ?

passed what a group of must be 100 person cepep crew to sangre grande today

Miktay

Postby Miktay » November 2nd, 2016, 2:56 pm

screwbash wrote:I hope he include in the freeze ALLLLLL prices for everything until 2020. So if i spending $2000 ah month on groceries now, between now and 2020 My salary the same and all prices the same then I cud survive. This way i doh hadda be wuking for $4000 ah mth today and ah spending $500 an mth in taxi to get tuh wuk and den taxi fare gone up and i spending $600 an mth tuh wuk for less money.

but at least they have a wuk. According to Jenifer it have like thousands without a wuk in the country and thousands more that getting like 4/5 k ah month and hadda bearly survive.

Price freezes create shortages. Check Vene.

Postby Gem_in_i » November 2nd, 2016, 3:23 pm

shiva_0001 wrote:The last wage negotiations for public servants covered the period 2011-2013 (14%) which was settled last year; so does this mean that they will still have 2014-2016 negotiations?

http://cpo.gov.tt/sites/default/files/M ... 202015.pdf

Yes.

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » November 2nd, 2016, 9:27 pm

Yuh expect public servants to produce when the very ministry they work in is broken? People are so ignorant and usually quick to say oh dem public servants lazy but when yuh hadda deal with d kinda ignorant know it all xyz mofos every day then you will know what it like.

TriP

Postby TriP » November 2nd, 2016, 9:28 pm

for who didnt see tonite news 2-11-16 - 7pm

Postby pugboy » November 2nd, 2016, 9:31 pm

most ministeries wukking half day for one reason or another though so maybe they should take a pay cut ,lol

cueball1990

Re: RE: Re: Wage freeze for public servants

Postby cueball1990 » November 2nd, 2016, 9:36 pm

pugboy wrote:most ministeries wukking half day for one reason or another though so maybe they should take a pay cut ,lol

So what they doh have bills to pay too?

Postby pugboy » November 2nd, 2016, 9:56 pm

so what they do with the other half of the day they get off thanks to mr duke ?
sleep ?

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » November 2nd, 2016, 10:06 pm

Try working in a building with rats leaking toilets brown tap water mouldy ac and stained carpets and see how you like it

Postby pugboy » November 2nd, 2016, 10:11 pm

If that is true then you should not be working there not even the half day.
Better you try and reskill yourself and get another job elsewhere
Dontt sit and complain and think you can't do anything about it or you are being forced to work there
You may need to make sacrifices but comlaing will not help.

Postby 88sins » November 2nd, 2016, 10:14 pm

would somebody please do this country a huge public service

please handcuff, blindfold & ball gag this minister of fine ants before he do/say some other dotishness

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » November 2nd, 2016, 10:17 pm

Meetings with free food, State sponsored transport, Luxury vehicles with no taxes and duties, housing allowances, and you can complete the list. When yuh finish, calculate their remuneration.

From 2017 to 2020 is four years, so it is zero, zero, zero, zero and zero, not 0-0-0. Also dont forget the three years 2014 to 2016 where applicable. There are over 30,000 civil servants plus contracted positions. A small % works in government campus.

You want to freeze wages?
1. Start to upgrade our many offices to Govt Campus Standard.
2. Pay us overtime. Compensatory time does not buy lunch, fill gas tank, pay taxi fares, etc.
3. Since Growley knows of square pegs, he has to get rid of more than Nicole, Antoine.
Doh geh meh wrong, I like women as much as Patos and want the many Girlfriends Growley boasted about on his way to Prime Ministership.
4. Get the Public Services Commission/Permanent Secretaries to do their job. I am talking about staff appraisal and the consequential Appointments.
Because of their dottishness, Jenny got it written into one of the agreements that:
If you are acting in a position for more than 3yrs, terminal benefits is calculated as if you were appointed
Or same is Pro rated for periods less than three yrs

Or face the music. I wonder if Culvert Invert could wine better than Danraj?

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » November 2nd, 2016, 10:22 pm

pugboy wrote:If that is true then you should not be working there not even the half day.
Dontt sit and complain and think you can't do anything about it or you are being forced to work there

In a perfect world what you say makes sense but it is never that easy. Money is not free and education is not free either. I am not complaining about anything. I merely stating that instead of bashing public servants, try to see it from our perspective. We are humans also. We need jobs to be able to live. And to work in a decent environment is the right of any skilled worker. Also apparently jobs are easy to come by the way you making it sound

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » November 2nd, 2016, 10:23 pm

At the very least public servants have a job with a paying salary not much but...still....

Yes at times I am of the impression that not all public servants are to blame for the corrupt system, some blame lies with the convoluted system that allows for higher-ups to manipulate to their own needs, still though public servants have to shoulder some of the blame as they were often silent and this leads to a level of complacency which only furthers the problem.

With that said they now have the option to help the country and show their "stuff" meaning they can peacefully agree to the wage freeze and sarifice for the nation as we are in some difficult times.

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » November 2nd, 2016, 10:27 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:At the very least public servants have a job with a paying salary not much but...still....

Yes at times I am of the impression that not all public servants are to blame for the corrupt system, some blame lies with the convoluted system that allows for higher-ups to manipulate to their own needs, still though public servants have to shoulder some of the blame as they were often silent and this leads to a level of complacency which only furthers the problem.

With that said they now have the option to help the country and show their "stuff" meaning they can peacefully agree to the wage freeze and sarifice for the nation as we are in some difficult times.

Its not that we are silent. They often threaten us with our jobs if we speak out against them. Most of the current public service is filled with contract workers and thus are disposable. In this day and age no one can afford to lose their job so usually what happens is you bear with the bs till you become so jaded that you only care about making your salary and going home. If they really want to see results start treating workers better. You will never get good results from unhappy employees

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » November 2nd, 2016, 10:29 pm

Wish people would wake up and realize that these politicians could give two craps about any of us. While they put on a facade of being against one another theh sipping together behind closed doors and have us like some donkey fighting over who more red or yellow than the other

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » November 2nd, 2016, 10:39 pm

"Rohan - Boy holding Christmas party and financing a thing or two pays the big bucks."

"Doh worry I movin' oup soon. Have to find a good place to host my Christmas Lime under the PNM tree"

Just a reminder: We all know who does attend Rohan Christmas Lime.

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » November 3rd, 2016, 10:42 am

cueball1990 wrote:
pugboy wrote:If that is true then you should not be working there not even the half day.

In a perfect world what you say makes sense but it is never that easy. Money is not free and education is not free either. I am not complaining about anything. I merely stating that instead of bashing public servants, try to see it from our perspective. We are humans also. We need jobs to be able to live. And to work in a decent environment is the right of any skilled worker. Also apparently jobs are easy to come by the way you making it sound

retooling is key
Education is free via GATE approved institutions.
it has been that way since 2004.
i understand what is like working and studying especially without GATE ...make the sacrifice noweven if u take a school loan
it is worth it
don't limit yourself to public sector

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » November 3rd, 2016, 11:00 am

So can we say post 2020, public servants would get retro pay for the period 2017 - 2020. Is so they not really losing then, just trying to understand how it works