dude2014 wrote:Now that I have answered that.
What is Local Government Reform?
How is it going to give me, the burgess more power?
Local Govt reform has been taking place slowly but surely.
Do you know that a lot of Corporation cleaned open lot and never collected a cent? Contrary to law.
File a FOI form, attend a Statutory Meeting, get CMOH, T&CPD and the rest of them to do their jobs.
We in Local Govt has been doing ours.
Oh! For those who nah seeing meh Councillor, try making it to a Statutory meeting .......
mrtrini45 wrote:http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20161202/news/unc-gains-pnm-slips
UNC GAINS, PNM SLIPS*
EEBC release final local government results; voter turnout at 34%
Published on Dec 2, 2016, 10:17 pm AST
By Ria Taitt
ria.taitt@trinidadexpress.com
port of spain
THE United National Congress (UNC) gained, while the People’s National Movement (PNM) slipped.
The figures released by the Elections and Boundaries Commission (EBC) yesterday showed the UNC received 50 per cent of the votes cast in Monday’s local government election while the PNM received 48 per cent.
The UNC may have lost the local government election in terms of the number of seats and corporations it captured, but it won the popular vote, receiving overall approximately 6,000 more votes than the PNM.
The UNC received 180,758 while the PNM got 174,754 votes.
The PNM slipped in terms of the number of people who came out to cast their votes for that party on Monday when compared to the 2013 local government election.
It received approximately 15,000 fewer votes on Monday than in 2013.
The UNC received approximately 60,000 more votes in this local government election than it obtained in the last local government election.
dude2014 wrote:The reason local bodies are collecting taxes, is burgesses can have a say in the project that gets done on their street.
My neighbours and I pay Taxes, My neighbours and I say what it is to be used for. Samjhe?
Bobol, corruption, whatever you call it has to stop with the person and then the politicians has less power to screw us.
Police catches small fishes because BIG FISH get them to tote the money bag, drugs, pack plant like things in chicken container, plywood bundles - like U$ dollars, etc.
What we need is a Local Government Reform thread.
Everyone can post their ideas, ask questions, research how it is done elsewhere, etc.
Even as we post the reform is taking place, you just may not know it.
As for THA, do you know they do not return unspent balances and there is lack of financial accountability
On final thing, the Auditor General Department is short of about 200 Officers. Fix that and we can catch things and nip it in the bud
Dizzy28 wrote:Saw CNC 3 had a story tonight that the new arima mayor had a xenophobic bordering on racist statement on her Facebook account in 2011. She made disparaging remarks against Syrians Lebanese and Chinese. Ashton Ford say is small thing.
http://www.cnc3.co.tt/news/incoming-ari ... media-post
K74T wrote:Doh forget Navi Muradali when he slap up he gyul in Gulf City car park
rspann wrote:desifemlove wrote:if pNM lose Grande, given how unpopular they are for doing nutten, the licking should be more severe than dat. Like in 2013, the UNC/PP lost plenty areas, the PNM should have lost more.
I don't think they are unpopular to any major extent, people understand the restraints they are working with,financially.
The arrogance is what we could do without.