50%
no
50%

Total votes: 34

Re: Local Govt Election 2016 Thread

Postby sMASH » December 3rd, 2016, 11:58 am

That's a lot of voters. It wasn't as bleak as it was made out to be.

Well. Same ole same ole.

Postby desifemlove » December 4th, 2016, 2:07 pm

dude2014 wrote:Now that I have answered that.
What is Local Government Reform?
How is it going to give me, the burgess more power?
Local Govt reform has been taking place slowly but surely.

Do you know that a lot of Corporation cleaned open lot and never collected a cent? Contrary to law.
File a FOI form, attend a Statutory Meeting, get CMOH, T&CPD and the rest of them to do their jobs.
We in Local Govt has been doing ours.

Oh! For those who nah seeing meh Councillor, try making it to a Statutory meeting .......

they shouldn't give local bodies tax raising/collection powers...

if there is bobol at national level, there is bobol x10000000 at local level.

give each body a statutorily fixed amount, like Tobago. or get rid of local governemnt all together.

Postby sMASH » December 4th, 2016, 2:56 pm

^^ agreed

Postby MaxPower » December 4th, 2016, 5:41 pm

Wen this thread closing down so? Waft

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » December 5th, 2016, 2:03 pm

The reason local bodies are collecting taxes, is burgesses can have a say in the project that gets done on their street.
My neighbours and I pay Taxes, My neighbours and I say what it is to be used for. Samjhe?
Bobol, corruption, whatever you call it has to stop with the person and then the politicians has less power to screw us.
Police catches small fishes because BIG FISH get them to tote the money bag, drugs, pack plant like things in chicken container, plywood bundles - like U$ dollars, etc.

What we need is a Local Government Reform thread.
Everyone can post their ideas, ask questions, research how it is done elsewhere, etc.
Even as we post the reform is taking place, you just may not know it.

As for THA, do you know they do not return unspent balances and there is lack of financial accountability

On final thing, the Auditor General Department is short of about 200 Officers. Fix that and we can catch things and nip it in the bud

Postby De Dragon » December 5th, 2016, 4:34 pm

mrtrini45 wrote:http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20161202/news/unc-gains-pnm-slips

UNC GAINS, PNM SLIPS*
EEBC release final local government results; voter turnout at 34%

Published on Dec 2, 2016, 10:17 pm AST
By Ria Taitt
ria.taitt@trinidadexpress.com

port of spain

THE United National Congress (UNC) gained, while the People’s National Movement (PNM) slipped.
The figures released by the Elections and Boundaries Commission (EBC) yesterday showed the UNC received 50 per cent of the votes cast in Monday’s local government election while the PNM received 48 per cent.
The UNC may have lost the local government election in terms of the number of seats and corporations it captured, but it won the popular vote, receiving overall approximately 6,000 more votes than the PNM.
The UNC received 180,758 while the PNM got 174,754 votes.
The PNM slipped in terms of the number of people who came out to cast their votes for that party on Monday when compared to the 2013 local government election.
It received approximately 15,000 fewer votes on Monday than in 2013.
The UNC received approximately 60,000 more votes in this local government election than it obtained in the last local government election.

And since this, Scarfy, Smiley and Siamese disappear! :lol:

Postby desifemlove » December 5th, 2016, 10:57 pm

dude2014 wrote:The reason local bodies are collecting taxes, is burgesses can have a say in the project that gets done on their street.
My neighbours and I pay Taxes, My neighbours and I say what it is to be used for. Samjhe?
Bobol, corruption, whatever you call it has to stop with the person and then the politicians has less power to screw us.
Police catches small fishes because BIG FISH get them to tote the money bag, drugs, pack plant like things in chicken container, plywood bundles - like U$ dollars, etc.

What we need is a Local Government Reform thread.
Everyone can post their ideas, ask questions, research how it is done elsewhere, etc.
Even as we post the reform is taking place, you just may not know it.

As for THA, do you know they do not return unspent balances and there is lack of financial accountability

On final thing, the Auditor General Department is short of about 200 Officers. Fix that and we can catch things and nip it in the bud

You may be honest. Doesn't mean everybody in your district is or will be. there still needs to be some checks/balances in place, and each region needs a budget that is vetted by auditors/central government and any citizen can read.

Postby sMASH » December 6th, 2016, 12:06 am

There is this other condition.

Places like Columbus, Clifton hill, maracas, mayaro, manzanilla. Those plaCes may not have a lot of people there with a lot of local taxes to contribute. So, given that each area works with the money they have, they may not be as well developed as other places with more businesses or just plainly more populated.
But, those previous places would have a lot of traffic at various times, utilizing the Infrastructure, and causing wear tear. They would have to be maintained more regularly than might have been engineered with the Monies they collect.

Some plaCes that need development may not be able to acrue the funds locally. And some places would have so much Monies, that they would have to find used for the money, otherwise they would not be able to justify retrieving so much taxes.
Pool the Money and decide where it would best be utilized, nationwide.

Should hospitals, health centers, schools, early childhood centers, homework centers, school freeing program contractors.etc, would all of those fall under the banner to get funding from local taxes?
If not then ok.
If so, then u run the risk of some areas being neglected financially, and so handicapping the patrons of those resources more than other places.
If the homework center and school freeing contraCtors are used for an example, those are systems u might want to be regulated to maintain a national standard.
Just like how some road works and some drainage may fall under the ministry of works instead of the regional corporation maintain some measure of standardization, some other facilities much be better managed nationally.

Trinidad too small, the districts are too small, the different regions are not homogenized enough, in my opinion, to go the route of local funds management.

On the other hand, specific needs or wants for a certain area can have their own local funding, like what America does with their zoning practises and residential associations. But, those things tend to induce too much conformity and I can't live freely.

Postby desifemlove » December 6th, 2016, 8:16 pm

if each council has local property taxes, then it's their duty to spend it. so chaguanas has a rate, arima has a rate for all households. and then it's chaguanas council that determines how to spend it. i'm not saying how it would work, but then it seems like it and how PNM believe it should.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » December 7th, 2016, 2:30 pm

Well I am glad that we are having a Local Government Reform Discussion.
So this is now a new topic.

The income from property taxes is projected to be around $200 million.
When that is divided by 14 being the number of Municipal Corporation it is not sufficient for any Corporation.

Persons also pay PAYE, VAT, H/Surcharge NIS, Corporation Tax, etc.
The shortfall from Property Taxes is met from here.

Having Local Government Reform and giving more power to the People, Autonomy, etc does not mean that Central Government has relinquish its role of Governing the country.

SO, areas such as Columbus, and such places will continue to develop.
The problem is persons do not participate in activities that can enforce the will of the people, such as voting, attending consultations, being part of pressure groups, lobbies for the various things that has an impact on the quality of life.

I have being doing my part. I will have discussions, participation, engage whoever I have to. I have already spoken to my Local Government Representative.
The biggest problem is residents doing their own thing, soon they may even build on the roadway.
The solution is for the Council to take action, even if it means not getting another term.

This may not be a perfect example: Hulsie Bhagan sat on the highway and was not given another chance by Mr. Basdeo Panday. Today she occupies a significant position with the Living Water Community.

Party may come first, but Country comes in SUPREME. So if you have to disagree with your Party's view then do so for the bigger good

Postby Dizzy28 » December 8th, 2016, 9:46 pm

Saw CNC 3 had a story tonight that the new arima mayor had a xenophobic bordering on racist statement on her Facebook account in 2011. She made disparaging remarks against Syrians Lebanese and Chinese. Ashton Ford say is small thing.

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/news/incoming-ari ... media-post

Postby De Dragon » December 8th, 2016, 10:26 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Saw CNC 3 had a story tonight that the new arima mayor had a xenophobic bordering on racist statement on her Facebook account in 2011. She made disparaging remarks against Syrians Lebanese and Chinese. Ashton Ford say is small thing.

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/news/incoming-ari ... media-post

Well if Raymond Tim Kee and Clyde Paul issues were "small thing" then why wouldn't racist statements/posts?

Postby K74T » December 9th, 2016, 4:13 am

Doh forget Navi Muradali when he slap up he gyul in Gulf City car park

Postby De Dragon » December 9th, 2016, 7:36 am

K74T wrote:Doh forget Navi Muradali when he slap up he gyul in Gulf City car park

Did he make a statement minimizing it though?

Postby Dizzy28 » December 9th, 2016, 9:24 am

K74T wrote:Doh forget Navi Muradali when he slap up he gyul in Gulf City car park

The typical response of a PNM apologist is to say UNC/PP did do so too!!!

That's why after 1 year and 3 months in power Kamla still gets blame when PNM can't solve a problem.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » December 9th, 2016, 9:22 pm

They can put who they want as Chairperson, etc. The problem is what the burgesses will do when they are let down by the various Council.

Postby desifemlove » December 11th, 2016, 7:22 am

rspann wrote:
desifemlove wrote:if pNM lose Grande, given how unpopular they are for doing nutten, the licking should be more severe than dat. Like in 2013, the UNC/PP lost plenty areas, the PNM should have lost more.

I don't think they are unpopular to any major extent, people understand the restraints they are working with,financially.
The arrogance is what we could do without.

hahahahahahahahaha...why do you always go around tellin that nervewrecker guy to try and boof me up, and know you expect decent conversation??? haha...grow up, old man.