New Trinidad Traffic Fines + Demerit + Fixed Penalty System

Re: New Trinidad Traffic Fines + Demerit System (June 2017)

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 9th, 2017, 8:19 am

eh stock, how much is the fine for failure to produce??

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » June 9th, 2017, 8:32 am

Fart cannons on N/A cars.... fine they mc

Average

Postby Average » June 9th, 2017, 8:57 am

Meanwhile, a group of gangsters converse...

G Dog sits back on his sofa putting together the largest blunt seen for the week. He marvels at it's size and calls out to Flytrap, "ohh mih dogga, watch the thickness nah g, like Stacy bamsee eh har har har"
G Dog's gold teeth glisten and shine as he bellows at his own joke.
Flytrap responds "yeah yeah dawggg, ouuu gouuudd boy Stacy and dat fat bamsee lewwe doh fuhget de cyat, pum pum fatt inno! light de ting nah what yuh waiting on?"

As they proceed to light their marijuana and settle in for the day, in walks Jankie with phone in hand looking exceptionally frustated. He rests his gun on the table and looks at G Dog and Flytrap with disgust.
"Allyuh see dis fcukery today?" he asks while almost being enveloped in weed smoke.
"wha you talking bout dog" asks Flytrap.
Jankie starts to pace, "boy...boy...boy...dem police boy, dem traffic wardens and dem puh out dis ting here with one setta fcukin fines boy dadda, it sending me mad!"
"Fines, badman doh pay fines, we fine yuh gyull! har har har" states G Dog while he takes another pull, exhaling halfway in the air and the rest on the blunt looking at it ever so lovingly.

Jankie realises the situation that his two best friends do not pay attention to anything further than their block and proceeds to enlighten them, "hoss is four car I hah ow dey wukkin, dem fcukin fine fuh seatbelt and bulb and breaking light go brokes mih"
G Dog and Flytrap both freeze and stare at Jankie, the room becomes silent where you can only hear the remainder of the blunt slightly crackling as the embers dance and glow in G Dog's hand.

Flytrap opens his mouth and the words coming out seem to burn into Jankie's ears, "Boy no police not harassing we up here boy, fcuk dem and fcuk ah ticket, how ah sound dey G?"
"Janks dawg, you really think is we the police and govament targeting with that setta fcukery, is dem stupidmen dem who going to wuk everyday har har har! chimes in G Dog.
Flytrap starts to laugh uncontrollably which causes G Dog to do the same and he eventually rolls off the sofa. a magazine drops out of his pocket and Flytrap cannot contain himself.
The laughter ensues for what seems an eternity.

Jankie ponders and takes out a pack of Broadway from his camouflage three quarter pants and packs it on his wrist, "throw ah lighter dey" he says and G Dog hands him one.

As he takes in pull after pull, Jankie looks out the window and repeats the statement G Dog made earlier. He smiles, for it is the truth.

Drea

Postby Drea » June 9th, 2017, 10:14 am

Some of those fines are some people entire month salary or 2 months :shock:

Postby rollingstock » June 9th, 2017, 10:40 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:eh stock, how much is the fine for failure to produce??

Drive no dp/ fail to produce is not ticketable.
Court for that.

Postby rollingstock » June 9th, 2017, 10:43 am

RedVEVO wrote:
Les Bain wrote:Point 4: driving without a DP

Is that driving without a DP cause you don't have one, or is it that if you forget your wallet and have the fortune to get ketch in a
roadblock or something similar?

If it's the latter, is it true you have 24 hours to present your DP to a stipulated police station?

Driving without a dp would fall under expired or never having been issued one.
If you don't have it on you the offence is fail to produce.

There is no time stipulation to produce a dp, it must be produced on demand. The 24hr thing is a concession (bligh) given by the police, the law makes no allowances for this.

If you do not have DP on demand. You are human - You forget it home or at office ? NP

Take the ticket in a quiet way - no fuss with Police - they only have 2 CXC passes - Grade 7

Go to Court and produce it to the Judge.

Watch Police face.

Priceless .

What ticket yuh illiterate kant?

Watching your face when you get put in a cell with Bubba and big willy.

Priceless.

Postby 88sins » June 9th, 2017, 10:44 am

Drea wrote:Some of those fines are some people entire month salary or 2 months :shock:

yuh feel they ain't know that? hence the reason they will take the payments of fines in parts. essentially, they know some of those are BS, but they mean to get your $$ anyway possible, whether you can afford it or not. so by allowing ppl to pay fines in installments, they making sure you got no reason to say you can't give them your $$, unless of course you have no income, & even then, they will say you have to get one, if only to pay the fine.

I know its stated the traffic cameras will be used for those ppl going thru the red lights. nuttn wrong with that. But I feel they will start using it for ppl who block the intersection as well. If they do, they need to implement & enforce jaywalking fines. Because pedestrians in this place just love to see traffic start moving & they take that as a cue to start walking across the road, regardless of what the crossing signal says or how they keep back vehicular traffic.

Drea

Postby Drea » June 9th, 2017, 11:11 am

Drea wrote:Some of those fines are some people entire month salary or 2 months :shock:

yuh feel they ain't know that? hence the reason they will take the payments of fines in parts. essentially, they know some of those are BS, but they mean to get your $$ anyway possible, whether you can afford it or not. so by allowing ppl to pay fines in installments, they making sure you got no reason to say you can't give them your $$, unless of course you have no income, & even then, they will say you have to get one, if only to pay the fine.

I know its stated the traffic cameras will be used for those ppl going thru the red lights. nuttn wrong with that. But I feel they will start using it for ppl who block the intersection as well. If they do, they need to implement & enforce jaywalking fines. Because pedestrians in this place just love to see traffic start moving & they take that as a cue to start walking across the road, regardless of what the crossing signal says or how they keep back vehicular traffic.

Agreed, I'm all for making the roadways safer and there are persons who over-do the rubbish on the road (i.e speeding and reckless driving). But sometimes you who are following the law get inadvertently caught up and may have to pay the price.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » June 9th, 2017, 11:47 am

yeah but the fines are crazy and loosing points on your licence for a blown parklight bulb during daylight hours

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » June 9th, 2017, 11:51 am

vaiostation wrote:
hong kong phooey wrote:unless the nation protest just accept these.
A better way to collect monies is to cut minister salaries and allowances
prime minister should get 10 k a month government ministers and senators with portfolios 9 k
and opposition members and and members of the govt with out portfolio 8 k
if you collecting a pension which is more than this zero pay
ministers should drive their own cars and be paid mileage by the industry standard for business trips and not to and from work
pay your own cell phone bill .

I think the time for protesting past long time now. If man protest it go get hijack by kams and it will turn into an Indian Vs negro thing, as you usually see on this forum or real life, and nothing gets done.
It's time citizens take matters into their own hands.
We need a che in this country...

this have nothing to do with politics
but the people in power will always make it political .

Drea

Postby Drea » June 9th, 2017, 12:19 pm

The sad but real thing about it is, there would be no need for drastic measures to earn money if they just solve the problems of squandering and corruption, how much money have we lost through kick backs, contract bids, lifesport, and other persons in high authority embezzling funds etc. Not to mention the number of inquiries every opposition or incumbent want to order and lawyer fees being paid out. This country just wastes taxpayers money and no one is held accountable, now the same lower level of society has to bear the brunt as per usual.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 9th, 2017, 12:36 pm

The proposed act was online for perusal and suggestions, how many of you ever raised any of your concerns? The bill has been passed and you all can expect it to be in full effect after the budget is read later this year. Some of the fines ate draconian but think about the drivers who do not maintain their vehicles and drive around with defective fittings for months. Its not a Christmas tree you are driving there is no need for all the fancy lights, stock bulbs are inexpensive to replace, keep a few handy in your vehicle.
There is no issue if you simply obey the law and also maintain your vehicle, for those with the 'cant afford' argument......travel or walk

snatman

Postby snatman » June 9th, 2017, 1:21 pm

stikid09 wrote:6. Driving with a child under the age of five without a car seat: $4,000

Ppl have to walk around with a car seat to take a taxi with young children? How does this work?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » June 9th, 2017, 2:14 pm

SOooo yuh getting fined plus demerit points? Or is one or the other?

Postby bluefete » June 9th, 2017, 2:51 pm

I agree. Fines should have been higher. It is the only way to get drivers to stay in line.

The car seat thing needs to be clarified. If the fine is $4,000.00, I will never pick up a mother and child under 4 again.

Let dem walk.

But does that mean that taxi-drivers have to drive with a car seat in the trunk?

Gone are the days when you could sit on your parents lap in a taxi (under 4 years old).

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » June 9th, 2017, 2:58 pm

u dumb if u feel higher fines gonna work pal. sorry to say.

Postby aaron17 » June 9th, 2017, 2:59 pm

Alrighty then!
So ppl gonna do 50KM/hr where it is enforced on signs? I assume ppl would only overtake '50km/hr' drivers.

Postby 88sins » June 9th, 2017, 3:03 pm

ADONI wrote:SOooo yuh getting fined plus demerit points? Or is one or the other?

From what I can tell it looks like some are one, some are the other, and some are both
And is there any plan to implement a merit point system? like if you've been driving for 5 years, had no accidents, got no tickets, you get a discount on renewal of your dp?

oh never mind. I just remembered we're taxing & fining our way out of financial difficulty

ADONI

Postby ADONI » June 9th, 2017, 3:08 pm

88sins wrote:oh never mind. I just remembered we're taxing & fining our way out of financial difficulty

Boi! Ah think yuh hit the nail on the head and through the board there!

10-01

Postby 10-01 » June 9th, 2017, 3:29 pm

#FIREROWLEY ........

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 9th, 2017, 3:50 pm

snatman wrote:
stikid09 wrote:6. Driving with a child under the age of five without a car seat: $4,000

Ppl have to walk around with a car seat to take a taxi with young children? How does this work?

Taxis and public service vehicles are exempted under the law.

Tekland

Postby Tekland » June 9th, 2017, 4:19 pm

I agree fire Keith forthwith

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » June 9th, 2017, 5:00 pm

Serious question here.
So there is a charge for driving with defective brakes.
How is an officer supposed to tell if you have defective brakes?
Just curious..

Postby adnj » June 9th, 2017, 5:39 pm

vaiostation wrote:Serious question here.
Just curious..

If you get into a collision in Europe or North America because of faulty brakes, you get a ticket on the spot.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » June 9th, 2017, 6:06 pm

Mercenary wrote:Fart cannons on N/A cars.... fine they mc

×10

viedcht

Postby viedcht » June 9th, 2017, 6:09 pm

Average wrote:Meanwhile, a group of gangsters converse...

G Dog sits back on his sofa putting together the largest blunt seen for the week. He marvels at it's size and calls out to Flytrap, "ohh mih dogga, watch the thickness nah g, like Stacy bamsee eh har har har"
G Dog's gold teeth glisten and shine as he bellows at his own joke.
Flytrap responds "yeah yeah dawggg, ouuu gouuudd boy Stacy and dat fat bamsee lewwe doh fuhget de cyat, pum pum fatt inno! light de ting nah what yuh waiting on?"

As they proceed to light their marijuana and settle in for the day, in walks Jankie with phone in hand looking exceptionally frustated. He rests his gun on the table and looks at G Dog and Flytrap with disgust.
"Allyuh see dis fcukery today?" he asks while almost being enveloped in weed smoke.
"wha you talking bout dog" asks Flytrap.
Jankie starts to pace, "boy...boy...boy...dem police boy, dem traffic wardens and dem puh out dis ting here with one setta fcukin fines boy dadda, it sending me mad!"
"Fines, badman doh pay fines, we fine yuh gyull! har har har" states G Dog while he takes another pull, exhaling halfway in the air and the rest on the blunt looking at it ever so lovingly.

Jankie realises the situation that his two best friends do not pay attention to anything further than their block and proceeds to enlighten them, "hoss is four car I hah ow dey wukkin, dem fcukin fine fuh seatbelt and bulb and breaking light go brokes mih"
G Dog and Flytrap both freeze and stare at Jankie, the room becomes silent where you can only hear the remainder of the blunt slightly crackling as the embers dance and glow in G Dog's hand.

Flytrap opens his mouth and the words coming out seem to burn into Jankie's ears, "Boy no police not harassing we up here boy, fcuk dem and fcuk ah ticket, how ah sound dey G?"
"Janks dawg, you really think is we the police and govament targeting with that setta fcukery, is dem stupidmen dem who going to wuk everyday har har har! chimes in G Dog.
Flytrap starts to laugh uncontrollably which causes G Dog to do the same and he eventually rolls off the sofa. a magazine drops out of his pocket and Flytrap cannot contain himself.
The laughter ensues for what seems an eternity.

Jankie ponders and takes out a pack of Broadway from his camouflage three quarter pants and packs it on his wrist, "throw ah lighter dey" he says and G Dog hands him one.

As he takes in pull after pull, Jankie looks out the window and repeats the statement G Dog made earlier. He smiles, for it is the truth.

Look for ah publisher; yuh have ah skill

matix

Postby matix » June 9th, 2017, 6:41 pm

Good times ahead.

Postby Morpheus » June 9th, 2017, 7:05 pm

1 car for sale.....

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 9th, 2017, 7:08 pm

vaiostation wrote:Serious question here.
Just curious..

Impounded and inspected/tested by licensing officers.

car

Postby car » June 9th, 2017, 9:44 pm

The way I see it is tickets generate revenue. Solving crime does not. You have to spend money to solve crime and it only makes the place safer.
So tickets win. Solving crime looses.