Importing a hybrid vehicle in Trinidad

drchaos

Re: Importing a hybrid vehicle in Trinidad

Postby drchaos » July 6th, 2017, 8:33 pm

DJ Q wrote:
drchaos wrote:Electric vehicles will overtake hybrids long before there are more Hybrids than standard ICE cars on the road.

I don't agree with that.
As it stands it's more practical to have a hybrid with a small gas tank and large battery bank.
When supercharging stations become the norm on every other corner, then, and only then can I see electric vehicles surpassing hybrids locally.

[politicallycorrect]
I'm not saying that electric cars are not practical, just highlighting that it's more practical to have a hybrid or even plug in hybrid as it stands.
[/politicallycorrect]

I can put my head on a block and say that most T&T motorists do not drive more than 200 KM on a daily basis.
The fully electric Ioniq will be here soon and it carries a range of 200+ KM. The first Model 3 will be ready tomorrow in the states and that carries a range of 200+ miles. Massy has already negotiated the new leaf when it is revealed later this year and supposed to have a similar range to the Model 3.

So your love of small things (gas tanks included) :lol: is not necessary in the next 6 months let alone the next 6 years.
Last edited by drchaos on July 6th, 2017, 10:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » July 6th, 2017, 8:43 pm

He just saying u have to have the infrastructure in place first (ie charging stations) before u go all electric. Look how long we talking CNG- what percentage of gas stations offering it? So if you running low on CNG or on charge and the nearest station does NOT have it what yuh go do?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 6th, 2017, 10:34 pm

redmanjp wrote:He just saying u have to have the infrastructure in place first (ie charging stations) before u go all electric. Look how long we talking CNG- what percentage of gas stations offering it? So if you running low on CNG or on charge and the nearest station does NOT have it what yuh go do?

What he is saying is irrelevant. Allu men stuck in the past ... Electric car infrastructure is already here ... Its been here for decades. Drum roll ........................ Its called a plug. :shock:

Anyways for the paranoid out there who think they will be driving more than 200 km in a day, crossing state lines and ting in sweet T&T :lol: . Massy has already signed a deal with ClipperCreek to supply them with fast chargers to install round de country.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » July 7th, 2017, 1:09 am

redmanjp wrote:He just saying u have to have the infrastructure in place first (ie charging stations) before u go all electric. Look how long we talking CNG- what percentage of gas stations offering it? So if you running low on CNG or on charge and the nearest station does NOT have it what yuh go do?

To add to what Dr chaos said, with cng you can only full at their stations, with electric you can charge at home. Some even charge at 110v, may take longer to charge, but a 110v supply can still top you up if needed like say you make a weekend lime by a beach, just plug in to the house supply and leave it.

I find full electric to be the most practical, and would be very good for our small island, the US needs charging stations because of the distances they cover

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 7th, 2017, 8:22 am

Exactly ... Chaguanas to cedros or Toco are both under 200 KM return trip. Which The first Gen Ioniq electric can make. The 200+Miles/320+KM cars starting hitting T&T shores in a year or two maybe even sooner with RORO dealers.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 7th, 2017, 8:37 am

Let's backup a bit here...

Did I ever say that fully electric cars are impractical for our island?
When did I ever say that range is an issue here?
I've never even said that the charging stations are mandatory before we roll out the very first one.

Read slowly:

I wrote:As it stands it is more practical to have a hybrid with a small gas tank and large battery bank.

That speaks for the average of the entire country.
Why? I've considered the following:
    - How many people park their vehicles in the road?
    - How many households now have multiple vehicles?
    - How many parking garages offer charging or have electrical sockets near enough for people to charge?
    - How many cars essentially park distances away from available electricity?

You're taking for granted that many people do not have a garage, live in apartment buildings or just have to park their vehicles away from available electricity.

Are electric cars the future?
YES

Do I want an electric car?
YES

Do I think everyone should move to electricity and maybe even solar powered roof panels to charge said vehicles?
Absolutely!

So before you stop and claim what is and what isn't irrelevant, understand that I'm simply saying that I believe that we will quicker have more hybrids and plug in hybrids on the road before we have fully electric vehicles. After this phase, electric cars will undoubtedly take over.

Anyway, I know you're going to nitpick at everything I've contributed or claim that someone hacked you again :|

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 7th, 2017, 10:15 am

Your rant is irrelevant as it is more practical to have a fully electric car with 200KM+ range without a small gas tank and its associated downsides.

You should pop ah few tums or ah Omez before dat chessbun get outta control. :lol:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 7th, 2017, 10:36 am

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » July 7th, 2017, 10:55 am

all we doing is burning the fuel at a different place. instead of inside the engine cylinder its being burnt at the power plant for provide more electricity..... allyuh spannin tap in mudd

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 7th, 2017, 11:13 am

Technically Natural gas is way cleaner to burn to produce electricity VS Gas and Diesel in an ICE engine.

If you guy only knew the dangers of Diesel emissions on primate health ... yuh go bawl.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » July 7th, 2017, 11:19 am

drchaos wrote:Technically Natural gas is way cleaner to burn to produce electricity VS Gas and Diesel in an ICE engine.

If you guy only knew the dangers of Diesel emissions on human health ... yuh go bawl.

i see....

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 7th, 2017, 1:59 pm

mad

Postby mad » July 7th, 2017, 9:21 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
mad wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
mad wrote:
PariaMan wrote:Well according to some tuners that's a good thing.smh

All over the world hybrid vehicles are taking over the market and there are tax breaks for them accordingly. But like in Trinidad we like to go two steps backwards. smh.

Who saying this ?

Where this information coming from ?

Post a link.

You serious dan.
Everyday articles are posted daily in many websites, forums, newspapers, television,. Just today in the papers have an article about volvo going fully electric. Is either people just putting a blind eye to it, doh read and research, or living in a bubble.

Where it say "all over the world Hybrid vehicles are taking over" ?

Who saying that ? Who ?

Who is "dan" ?

Like it have ah Owl in here. S.M.H

Postby RedVEVO » July 7th, 2017, 9:28 pm

mad wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
mad wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
mad wrote:

All over the world hybrid vehicles are taking over the market and there are tax breaks for them accordingly. But like in Trinidad we like to go two steps backwards. smh.

Who saying this ?

Post a link.

You serious dan.
Everyday articles are posted daily in many websites, forums, newspapers, television,. Just today in the papers have an article about volvo going fully electric. Is either people just putting a blind eye to it, doh read and research, or living in a bubble.

Who saying that ? Who ?

Who is "dan" ?

Forget the Owl .

Owl not driving Hybrid .

Post a link to support ""all over the world Hybrid vehicles are taking over" ..

mad

Postby mad » July 7th, 2017, 9:31 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
mad wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
mad wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
mad wrote:

Who saying this ?

Post a link.

You serious dan.

Who saying that ? Who ?

Who is "dan" ?

Forget the Owl .

Owl not driving Hybrid .

You have a computer and you have internet. Do the research yourself and prove me wrong.

Postby RedVEVO » July 7th, 2017, 9:36 pm

mad wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
mad wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
mad wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
mad wrote:

Who saying this ?

Post a link.

You serious dan.

Who saying that ? Who ?

Who is "dan" ?

Forget the Owl .

Owl not driving Hybrid .

You have a computer and you have internet. Do the research yourself and prove me wrong.

You is Mad ?

That is your statement .

Support it 8-)

mad

Postby mad » July 7th, 2017, 9:52 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
mad wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
mad wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
mad wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
mad wrote:

Who saying this ?

Post a link.

You serious dan.

Who saying that ? Who ?

Who is "dan" ?

Forget the Owl .

Owl not driving Hybrid .

You is Mad ?

That is your statement .

Support it
8-)

That's the best research you can do.
Or wait I now ketch myself:
RedVEVO-"Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 1:05 am"
Your a newbie. I wouldn't even bother to even reply to you again nah.
Do the research nah Dan or better yet RedVEVO and educate yourself.
B.T.W-I am Mad, I will admit this, I don't support it though :D :evilbat:

Postby RedVEVO » July 7th, 2017, 10:00 pm

^^^^

Stop the back pedal and excuse .

You cannot support your statement .

It is just BS . Fake news .

There is no technology to support Hybrid in Trinidad.

Hybrids are disposable cars .

No resale value in TT.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 7th, 2017, 10:49 pm

According to men on this thread any man with a garage that does change oil and filter can service/repair a hybrid cause "it not that different".

Postby RedVEVO » July 7th, 2017, 11:00 pm

Below is a list of MSRP battery cost (US$) details for the various hybrid Toyota models offered since 2001.

2001-2003 Toyota Prius (1st generation) - $3,649
2004-2009 Toyota Prius (2nd generation) - $3,939
2010-2011 Toyota Prius (3rd generation) - $4,080
2012-2015 Toyota Prius Liftback - $3,939
2012-2016 Toyota Prius V - $3,939
2012-2016 Toyota Prius C - $3,807
2007-2011 Toyota Camry Hybrid - $4,892
2012-2015 Toyota Camry Hybrid - $4,892
2013-2015 Toyota Avalon Hybrid - $4,892
2006-2010 Toyota Highlander Hybrid - $6,198
2011-2015 Toyota Highlander Hybrid - $6,353

[Green Car Report 2016]

Kronik

Postby Kronik » July 8th, 2017, 6:18 am

RedVEVO wrote:Below is a list of MSRP battery cost (US$) details for the various hybrid Toyota models offered since 2001.

2001-2003 Toyota Prius (1st generation) - $3,649
2004-2009 Toyota Prius (2nd generation) - $3,939
2010-2011 Toyota Prius (3rd generation) - $4,080
2012-2015 Toyota Prius Liftback - $3,939
2012-2016 Toyota Prius V - $3,939
2012-2016 Toyota Prius C - $3,807
2007-2011 Toyota Camry Hybrid - $4,892
2012-2015 Toyota Camry Hybrid - $4,892
2013-2015 Toyota Avalon Hybrid - $4,892
2006-2010 Toyota Highlander Hybrid - $6,198
2011-2015 Toyota Highlander Hybrid - $6,353

[Green Car Report 2016]

These are the same batteries technology that Prius running for 10+ years and the battery still working? Prices not that bad for BRAND NEW, but you will find a used one for 1/3 the price.
It have a reason ppl does buy used parts over brand new, otherwise bamboo wouldn't be how it is

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 8th, 2017, 6:23 am

Changing a battery in a hybrid is like changing the engine in a regular car.

Damn long time before you'll have to do it.

And yes, anyone can service/repair a hybrid. It isn't that different.

Postby RedVEVO » July 8th, 2017, 6:36 am

^^^^

Who can change a battery in a Hybrid and give you warranty ?

Wait until a Mack Truck rear end your wifey Hybrid then come talk .

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 8th, 2017, 7:26 am

Sounds very high tech to change a battery

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 8th, 2017, 7:31 am

Not even a full minute on YouTube to find this.

https://youtu.be/4YWu-sA3UyU

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 8th, 2017, 8:00 am

Lol that redrevo must be inshan.

Postby eliteauto » July 8th, 2017, 8:05 am

RedVEVO wrote:^^^^

The end result is sooo different from when the said truck hits a gas, cng or diesel vehicle?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 8th, 2017, 8:06 am

A good rear shut is usually write off

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » July 8th, 2017, 8:10 am

Dan, you not serious.

Postby RedVEVO » July 8th, 2017, 8:30 am

scotty_buttons wrote:

Dan, you not serious.

Who is Dan ?

The Mack Truck driver ?