National Budget 2017-2018 - LIVE STREAM on pg9 @ 1:30pm

Re: National Budget 2017-2018

Postby 88sins » September 21st, 2017, 9:31 am

For what it's worth in defense of the PNM and what they have been doing, we are not paying Tax if we work for up to $6000 a month or $3K every 2 weeks however it is you get paid.

It's still something to note. Very few if any country allows you to NOT pay income tax like this.[/quote]
FYI, last I checked NIS, & H/S are both employment based taxes, whether you believe it or not.And NIS rates have steadily & repeatedly increased over the years, with no apparent intent to stop that trend anytime soon. Besides, that, 12.5% of your income goes to the state by means of VAT.

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:What they can do is get rid of the food card program I prefer that than they remove subsidy from Water and Current.

I'd not say remove the food card subsidy, just manage it better, so for example there are people that are employed & earning upwards of TT$5000/month, they don't need a food card, just manage their income & expenditure better. Cross reference applicants stated incomes with NIB to confirm their monthly/fortnightly/weekly income to vet those that qualify, & stop giving it out to ppl as a bribe to get a vote.

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Allyuh hadda remember if they can't balance the budget because they can't get the property tax they have to find other ways to balance the budget. It's not a PNM thing, any government would be in the same situation.

Your current minister of fine ants is so far only skilled in exactly that, fine ants. For DECADES, ALL sides talking about economic diversification, constitutional reform, national development, etc., yap yap yap, but not one of these useless rotten turds have a rat's fart worth of intelligence to see how easy it is to do. Kamla spoke about reducing food imports, did they encourage & support farming & agriculture,? no, they bulldozed food crops. PNM wants to raise revenue, but how do they plan on doing it? By taxing everything & everyone, & the little twit is firmly of the mistaken impression that strangling people with taxes is actually a sustainable way to raise & earn revenue for the state. NOBODY wants to pay taxes, but we all accept paying taxes, because our tax dollars are supposed to get things done to benefit all of us an a nation. But instead, what do we get? Wastage of taxpayers dollars, on pointless projects that benefit a few, and are severely underutilized. Want to raise revenue? do like every other business enterprise, sell products & services, support the growth of your nations exports, stop making dumbass deals, & stop spending money on useless endeavors such as commissions of inquiry that amount to nothing more than a few old farts sitting around a table, whose findings will be thoroughly ignored & briskly swept out the door to the garbage heap, while the politically affiliated commissioners sit quietly & wait for a cheque.

Our problem in this country is this. We are no longer a colony, however the dependence on a greater entity to guide & direct us is ingrained in us from the level of leadership downwards. Our so called leaders have zero idea on how to lead or what it takes to build a nation, & as a nation we have ourselves by majority a population comprised primarily of idiots & thieves & hoodlums, who choose elected officials based on either hair texture or which party comes up with the catchier slogan during the election run up.

baldhead say band allyuh belly & tighten allyuh belt awhile back, & more of that coming. & he & he ppl eh go be happy till allyuh belt so tight it cut allyuh in two
but allyuh vote fuh dat. doh say nuttn, just do as you're told like good little minion subjects, smile & sing that old familiar song, "let's do this"

Postby RedVEVO » September 21st, 2017, 9:40 am

Hoss keep comments simple nah ..

Who reading all that up dey ?

Postby desifemlove » September 22nd, 2017, 11:29 am

88sins wrote:For what it's worth in defense of the PNM and what they have been doing, we are not paying Tax if we work for up to $6000 a month or $3K every 2 weeks however it is you get paid.

It's still something to note. Very few if any country allows you to NOT pay income tax like this.

FYI, last I checked NIS, & H/S are both employment based taxes, whether you believe it or not.And NIS rates have steadily & repeatedly increased over the years, with no apparent intent to stop that trend anytime soon. Besides, that, 12.5% of your income goes to the state by means of VAT.

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:What they can do is get rid of the food card program I prefer that than they remove subsidy from Water and Current.

I'd not say remove the food card subsidy, just manage it better, so for example there are people that are employed & earning upwards of TT$5000/month, they don't need a food card, just manage their income & expenditure better. Cross reference applicants stated incomes with NIB to confirm their monthly/fortnightly/weekly income to vet those that qualify, & stop giving it out to ppl as a bribe to get a vote.

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Allyuh hadda remember if they can't balance the budget because they can't get the property tax they have to find other ways to balance the budget. It's not a PNM thing, any government would be in the same situation.

Your current minister of fine ants is so far only skilled in exactly that, fine ants. For DECADES, ALL sides talking about economic diversification, constitutional reform, national development, etc., yap yap yap, but not one of these useless rotten turds have a rat's fart worth of intelligence to see how easy it is to do. Kamla spoke about reducing food imports, did they encourage & support farming & agriculture,? no, they bulldozed food crops. PNM wants to raise revenue, but how do they plan on doing it? By taxing everything & everyone, & the little twit is firmly of the mistaken impression that strangling people with taxes is actually a sustainable way to raise & earn revenue for the state. NOBODY wants to pay taxes, but we all accept paying taxes, because our tax dollars are supposed to get things done to benefit all of us an a nation. But instead, what do we get? Wastage of taxpayers dollars, on pointless projects that benefit a few, and are severely underutilized. Want to raise revenue? do like every other business enterprise, sell products & services, support the growth of your nations exports, stop making dumbass deals, & stop spending money on useless endeavors such as commissions of inquiry that amount to nothing more than a few old farts sitting around a table, whose findings will be thoroughly ignored & briskly swept out the door to the garbage heap, while the politically affiliated commissioners sit quietly & wait for a cheque.

Our problem in this country is this. We are no longer a colony, however the dependence on a greater entity to guide & direct us is ingrained in us from the level of leadership downwards. Our so called leaders have zero idea on how to lead or what it takes to build a nation, & as a nation we have ourselves by majority a population comprised primarily of idiots & thieves & hoodlums, who choose elected officials based on either hair texture or which party comes up with the catchier slogan during the election run up.

baldhead say band allyuh belly & tighten allyuh belt awhile back, & more of that coming. & he & he ppl eh go be happy till allyuh belt so tight it cut allyuh in two
but allyuh vote fuh dat. doh say nuttn, just do as you're told like good little minion subjects, smile & sing that old familiar song, "let's do this"[/quote]
Learn English dummy.

Zetski

Postby Zetski » September 22nd, 2017, 12:03 pm

I make a post for all PNM supporters to appreciate d man and allyuh want to delete it ent? what happened to freedom of speech? that's why Oct 2nd will make allyuh bottom bleed.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 22nd, 2017, 12:11 pm

Zetski wrote:I make a post for all PNM supporters to appreciate d man and allyuh want to delete it ent? what happened to freedom of speech? that's why Oct 2nd will make allyuh bottom bleed.

You not living here too?? Would your bottom also not bleed?

Zetski

Postby Zetski » September 22nd, 2017, 12:14 pm

Zetski wrote:I make a post for all PNM supporters to appreciate d man and allyuh want to delete it ent? what happened to freedom of speech? that's why Oct 2nd will make allyuh bottom bleed.

I living Tobago.. allyuh bleed by allyuh self.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 22nd, 2017, 12:22 pm

Zetski wrote:

I living Tobago.. allyuh bleed by allyuh self.

Its the Trinidad and Tobago budget though. Not a budget for Trinidad alone. Taxes, duties, benefits, subsidies affect both islands and the THA's annual budget is dependent on what is given in the National budget.

Postby desifemlove » September 22nd, 2017, 12:26 pm

good security is an interesting though. I believe it could happen of the diet was only bhsji eddoes yam and greens. good security should exist on a caricom level since in any crisis it would affect us all.

I reall blame the experts. most I go d are pretty shallow and I bet they only purport this since they see usa do it. usa is not t&t and people need I stop making these idiotic comparisons.

Postby Rovin » September 22nd, 2017, 7:34 pm

doh study d budget - all of T&T's problems has disappeared now that queen street has been renamed queen penny street ....

Postby desifemlove » September 23rd, 2017, 5:42 am

There also needs to be restructuring of GATE.

And no devolution of powers to local authorities. it will just widen the scope of corruption.

allocate monies to a new ministry of defence. lumping everything into a big ministry of national security won't work now.

and simplify the tax system. there is no need for all of these grades in progressive taxes, or regressive for that matter.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 26th, 2017, 7:51 am

Heard they gonna devalue to TT$11 to US$1.

Postby 88sins » September 26th, 2017, 8:54 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Heard they gonna devalue to TT$11 to US$1.

I wouldn't believe that, that's got to be ole talk.
Such a move would be way too big a hit for our economy to withstand it's effects wrt our international trading capabilities. Not to mention that such a massive shift downwards in the TTD value would make our economy appear to be somewhat unstable, & that's in addition to local consumers suffering a massive loss in purchasing power.
Not saying it can't get to 11:1, but any devaluation of the TTD would need to be done slowly in small increments over the course of a few years. Otherwise this country's economy would crash & burn. That would't be good for anybody, even the so-called 1% crew would suffer.

Postby RedVEVO » September 26th, 2017, 8:59 am

I wouldn't believe that, that's got to be ole talk.
Such a move would be way too big a hit for our economy to withstand it's effects wrt our international trading capabilities. Not to mention that such a massive shift downwards in the TTD value would make our economy appear to be somewhat unstable, & that's in addition to local consumers suffering a massive loss in purchasing power.
Not saying it can't get to 11:1, but any devaluation of the TTD would need to be done slowly in small increments over the course of a few years. Otherwise this country's economy would crash & burn. That would't be good for anybody, even the so-called 1% crew would suffer.

We have a floating system in TT.

It is based on supply and demand .

And Rowley duncey.

So it may reach $20 :shock:

Postby Dizzy28 » September 26th, 2017, 9:05 am

In June of this year Scotia Bank's Economic Division said our dollar was overvalued 20 - 50%. Even at the upper 50% $11 - $1 would be too high (62% rise). The effects of a devaluation to even 10 - 1 will likely wipe out a significant amount of the middle class.
http://archives.newsday.co.tt/news/0,245660.html

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 26th, 2017, 9:59 am

Fellas calm down nah. I just say I heard it. Is ole talk we in. I don't believe it going anywhere near 11.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 26th, 2017, 10:09 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Fellas calm down nah. I just say I heard it. Is ole talk we in. I don't believe it going anywhere near 11.

8-1 will be a more feasible rate and one that has been recommended by more than a few sources. That will still place an inflationary pressure on our system though.

I remember going to some seminar last year where the IMF said Trinidad has the most overvalued currency in the Latin American and Caribbean region.

Zetski

Postby Zetski » September 26th, 2017, 10:15 am

Devaluation is not an option.. allyuh just like speed talk and getting people worked up for nothing.. wait till budget day first then talk after.

Postby RedVEVO » September 26th, 2017, 11:55 am

Zetski wrote:Devaluation is not an option.. allyuh just like speed talk and getting people worked up for nothing.. wait till budget day first then talk after.

The TT dollar has devalued consistently and as predicted by many .

Since PNM 2015 .

It will continue.

Rowley is a duncey boy .

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 26th, 2017, 5:30 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Fellas calm down nah. I just say I heard it. Is ole talk we in. I don't believe it going anywhere near 11.

8-1 will be a more feasible rate and one that has been recommended by more than a few sources. That will still place an inflationary pressure on our system though.

I remember going to some seminar last year where the IMF said Trinidad has the most overvalued currency in the Latin American and Caribbean region.

IMF dutty stink mc

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 26th, 2017, 6:23 pm

I hear rowly addressing the nation from 9am tomorrow wrs to the budget issues...in other words...we going n rape allyuh mc without grease

Paw Patrol

Postby Paw Patrol » September 27th, 2017, 8:39 am

Zetski wrote:Devaluation is not an option.. allyuh just like speed talk and getting people worked up for nothing.. wait till budget day first then talk after.

You devalued tuner when you created your account

Postby The_Honourable » September 27th, 2017, 11:40 am

Prime Minister, Dr. Keith Rowley is currently hosting a forum called "Spotlight on Trinidad and Tobago's Financial Circumstances" at the Hyatt Regency.

The Prime Minister delivered his address on the current state of the economy and will be followed by discussions with stakeholders.

Live video below:

Postby Dizzy28 » September 27th, 2017, 11:45 am

Was at a session this morning at ALJGSB and Dr Terrence Farrell, one this this Administration's go to guy on Economic matters basically indicated about the need to devalue the dollar. Whether it happens is another thing because he also hinted that the Government has this inertia about it since assuming office.

He indicated that as head of the Economic Development and Advisory Board they completed a diversification plan building on the past administration's one (as opposed to a totally new plan) however since June it is somewhere in the public sector system.

Postby The_Honourable » September 27th, 2017, 12:08 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Was at a session this morning at ALJGSB and Dr Terrence Farrell, one this this Administration's go to guy on Economic matters basically indicated about the need to devalue the dollar. Whether it happens is another thing because he also hinted that the Government has this inertia about it since assuming office.

He indicated that as head of the Economic Development and Advisory Board they completed a diversification plan building on the past administration's one (as opposed to a totally new plan) however since June it is somewhere in the public sector system.

Yes i heard him and also Roger Hosein that the TT Dollar should be devalued.

From an economic standpoint, it makes sense once you exhausted all your available options. From a political standpoint... suicide for 2020 elections. You might think Rowley taking a page from Robinson and the NAR.

Zetski

Postby Zetski » September 27th, 2017, 12:29 pm

Paw Patrol wrote:

You devalued tuner when you created your account

Look at yuh name and picture.. don't you see who really devalued tuner? :lol:

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » September 27th, 2017, 12:41 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Was at a session this morning at ALJGSB and Dr Terrence Farrell, one this this Administration's go to guy on Economic matters basically indicated about the need to devalue the dollar. Whether it happens is another thing because he also hinted that the Government has this inertia about it since assuming office.

Yes i heard him and also Roger Hosein that the TT Dollar should be devalued.

From an economic standpoint, it makes sense once you exhausted all your available options. From a political standpoint... suicide for 2020 elections. You might think Rowley taking a page from Robinson and the NAR.

It would be interesting if that's the breaking point for their supporters. Every scandal is supposedly the last straw and political suicide with this government........ till the next scandal pops up. This government could just continue riding the victim role and blame the devaluation on the last government's yet to be tried and punished misdeeds.

Daran

Postby Daran » September 27th, 2017, 2:13 pm

Reason why it could be a breaking point is that as soon as it's devalued to 1USD to 8TTD, basically almost everything will go up ~15% locally and not to mention your spending power online and abroad has decreased.

That Iphone 8 that was costing you $5000, will now cost ~$6000

We import a lot, which is why we're in this FOREX situation.

But how will we benefit? We now become a better target for foreign investment and our exports become more competitive.

Do we need to this? Oil and Gas aint going up anytime soon unless some catastrophic world event occurs.

Well yes....at this stage, we've effectively wasted all our oil wealth in corrupt projects, dead weight social programs that just contributed to entitlement and low productivity. Our HSE fund is basically nothing....and we shouldn't tap into it at this point. We missed the boat on diversification a long time ago.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 27th, 2017, 2:25 pm

so wah rowly saying

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » September 27th, 2017, 2:55 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:so wah rowly saying

Basically to shut yuh mouth an lube up cuz we ppl ungrateful

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 27th, 2017, 3:14 pm

I'm also getting the sense that the devaluation is coming. Maybe 8:1
This is gonna be another tight squeeze of a budget.