Minister of Education bans phone cameras in schools. Why?!

Re: Minister of Education bans phone cameras in schools. Why?!

Postby Ben_spanna » October 27th, 2017, 12:33 pm

Heres an absolutely shocking amazing fking idea- how about Banning BULLIES and animals that want to rape other innocent children from the schools and then maybe we will have less to embarrass the country on social media?? I HATE this governments backwardsass mentality!

Postby RedVEVO » October 27th, 2017, 12:38 pm

meccalli wrote:I don't see a problem, we couldn't even be in possession of a phone unless your parents made arrangements or something and that's just 6 years ago. Guys hid their phones in their shoes, pants and the wall sometimes. One dean would randomly walk around with bluetooth to find guys. The one time i carried an actual camera to school nearing the end of my time in hillview, it got seized and I had to get a letter to have it returned to me.

hydroep wrote:I guess it's for the same reason we weren't allowed to bring video games, radios, toys etc. It's a distraction - or in the case of this alleged boolaman scene causes students to create distractions.

The only valid reason to have phones during school hours is to contact your parents/guardians in case of emergency and that can be done via the main office or pay phone (if those still exist) when required.

I agree, phones are a distraction in class. However the Minister's reason is not for the distraction but rather to prevent these videos from reaching the public, that is what many citizens have a problem with.

Mr Minister should focus on bringing technology into schools .

Mr Minister should focus on enhancing education and excellence .

Video and photos show us if HE and HIS management team working .

Mr Ole Gringo Minster is too much enveloped into censorship .

Postby Ben_spanna » October 27th, 2017, 2:20 pm

This man is setting Trinidad back again with regards to Education............. sigh! no wonder we will stay a third world country

Postby meccalli » October 27th, 2017, 4:04 pm

Sure, blame the schools, teachers and ministry- they're clearly the ones responsible for the behaviour of students.

Postby Redman » October 27th, 2017, 4:18 pm

I agree.
Any thing we don't want we ban.

Cuz thus far banning stuff works.
Like cigarettes
Porn
Drugs
Sex.
Teachers leaving early.

Smh...he seems to live on another planet

What's the point of adding another item to a list of things they already not enforcing existing bans on.?

This is what happens when you don't have a POLICY...

Postby RedVEVO » October 27th, 2017, 4:27 pm

Redman wrote:I agree.
Any thing we don't want we ban.

Cuz thus far banning stuff works.
Like cigarettes
Porn
Drugs
Sex.
Teachers leaving early.

Smh...he seems to live on another planet

What's the point of adding another item to a list of things they already not enforcing existing bans on.?

This is what happens when you don't have a POLICY...

Even on Tuner ..

Some are not mature, educated or suave or swag enough to accept criticisms .

Everything is taken personal.

Tuner will never be Facebook :D

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 27th, 2017, 9:16 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:This man is setting Trinidad back again with regards to Education............. sigh! no wonder we will stay a third world country

Can you elaborate on that statement? As archaic as the concept is, how exactly does banning camera phones have a regressive impact on education? Are we disrupting some some videography classes or is this yet another statement awash with politics?

Postby Gladiator » October 27th, 2017, 10:35 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
Ben_spanna wrote:This man is setting Trinidad back again with regards to Education............. sigh! no wonder we will stay a third world country

Can you elaborate on that statement? As archaic as the concept is, how exactly does banning camera phones have a regressive impact on education? Are we disrupting some some videography classes or is this yet another statement awash with politics?

The MOE building an APP to anonymously report bullying or other issues in schools, or an App to communicate to students when there is no school or unexpected closure, or an app to distribute exam results and time tables etc would be a more progressive in today's world.... to bad we have dinosaurs in Govt.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 27th, 2017, 10:41 pm

Gladiator wrote:
Joshie23 wrote:

The MOE building an APP to anonymously report bullying or other issues in schools, or an App to communicate to students when there is no school or unexpected closure, or an app to distribute exam results and time tables etc would be a more progressive in today's world.... to bad we have dinosaurs in Govt.

Thank you for your constructive response and I fully agree. We're in a technological era, whereby information can be disseminated just by clicking your screen, so I totally stand by that statement, but to twist everything for political or racial pips, it's getting old.

Postby Gladiator » October 28th, 2017, 1:01 am

Joshie23 wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
Joshie23 wrote:

Thank you for your constructive response and I fully agree. We're in a technological era, whereby information can be disseminated just by clicking your screen, so I totally stand by that statement, but to twist everything for political or racial pips, it's getting old.

I know... but at the end of the day we live on an insignificant dot where most of our small island population have never seen outside our shores and cannot even fathom things on a global scale. The politicians know this and divide us for their gains... so racial and political biases become ingrained in our DNA from decades of infighting with each other for the illusion that is "we time now", in the meantime we remain distracted and poor while the politicians on both sides settle themselves financially for the next 4 to 6 generations to come.

boxy

Postby boxy » October 28th, 2017, 6:52 am

What does a smart phone have to do with education pal? Last time I check with data yuh could pull up porn play games send nudes on yuh phone all while the teacher on the board explaining algebra.
Some of those fights I saw on social media were instigated by men holding the phone so they could "make a movie"

First world thinking starts with citizens in society as a whole then policies.

Postby Redman » October 28th, 2017, 8:27 am

Where is the data to say that the phones CONTRIBUTE to the issues of fighting etc?

Usage IN class is not relevant.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 28th, 2017, 11:33 am

Redman wrote:Where is the data to say that the phones CONTRIBUTE to the issues of fighting etc?

Usage IN class is not relevant.

This.

Avoid the red herrings.

It appears that the purpose of the ban is to hide the fact that there is less and less control in the schools and that it is getting worse.

Average

Postby Average » October 29th, 2017, 8:16 am

meccalli wrote:Sure, blame the schools, teachers and ministry- they're clearly the ones responsible for the behaviour of students.

They have to withstand some of the blame because some children not getting trained at home.
That's where the extra oomph from the teachers come in. I wrote CXC in 1998 and during those 5 years there were many teachers with different characteristics that each of us were impacted by. Some were stern and others were cool to be around, some were about the work and getting the information into our heads.
I have three friends who are now teachers (secondary level) and the morale is extremely LOW. They have no problem stating that they have given up. This is madness. They have claimed that the children are reckless and disturb the few who actually WANT to learn.
I don't want them to ban cellphones because fcukery will take place and we will only have a word of mouth story BUT it can be regulated. Let them lodge their phones at an area and they can use it for lunch. In fact, change the hours and let lunch be 90 minutes. The times are changing and we have to change with them but we can still regain control while doing so.
In my day, you didn't even want to get a call while you were at school because it would honestly be a bother to go to the principals office lol