Wtk : good printer to buy for home use ?

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » January 26th, 2018, 6:43 am

Need a recommendation for home use. Mainly for printing kids school projects, craft items ( coloured ) and regular documents ( black )

Scanner not necessary but I won't mind it .

Re: Wtk : good printer to buy for home use ?

Postby maj. tom » January 26th, 2018, 7:14 am

You will have to Amazon.
get a Brother color laser printer. Worth it in the long run when you have to consider cost of ink with an inkjet.

Color laser costs about $250 - $350 USD.

https://www.amazon.com/Brother-HL-3170C ... B00BQU141C

Postby redmanjp » January 26th, 2018, 7:21 am

^ laser only make sense if he has a high volume of prints like hundreds or thousands of pages though

Postby maj. tom » January 26th, 2018, 7:44 am

And so? Hundreds of prints will happen within 1 year. 1 toner cartridge can last 2500 pages!
Laser toner doesn't go bad. I have a laser printer and in 3 years I'm now on my 2nd toner refill.
If you want to spend more money on HP ink in 2 years than your car insurance, go ahead.

I recall seeing some laser printers at PriceSmart OP. Check there first.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » January 26th, 2018, 8:00 am

Thanks. Man...will check them today

Postby *KRONIK* » January 26th, 2018, 8:29 am

maj. tom wrote:You will have to Amazon.
get a Brother color laser printer. Worth it in the long run when you have to consider cost of ink with an inkjet.

Color laser costs about $250 - $350 USD.

https://www.amazon.com/Brother-HL-3170C ... B00BQU141C
maj. tom wrote:And so? Hundreds of prints will happen within 1 year. 1 toner cartridge can last 2500 pages!
Laser toner doesn't go bad. I have a laser printer and in 3 years I'm now on my 2nd toner refill.
If you want to spend more money on HP ink in 2 years than your car insurance, go ahead.

I recall seeing some laser printers at PriceSmart OP. Check there first.
Agreed.
When u check the quality and cost of running a cheap inkjet printer....it doesnt make sense...but u need to think long term to see the benefits.
With an inkjet, the ink can actually clot in the cartridge if its not used enough. And when it does get use it can never give a good quality print on regular paper.

We were using an hp injet in our office for years, then we bought a brother scanner/copier/fax. And for the last 6 years, thats probably the best investment we made.

My mom already run through 5 inkjet printers at home for my little sister's school work and still they come to the office to print as the home inkjet always either out of ink in one of the cartridges or some crap.

My sister has 3 kids and she has to buy ink monthly just to keep up with their scholl work.

So...buy once, cry once

singhj

Postby singhj » January 26th, 2018, 8:41 am

Op u can look into a continuous ink printer as well, where it comes with built in tanks so you can jus buy the ink and pour it in directly

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » January 26th, 2018, 8:46 am

Sumtin like dis ????? Image

Postby redmanjp » January 26th, 2018, 8:47 am

singhj wrote:Op u can look into a continuous ink printer as well, where it comes with built in tanks so you can jus buy the ink and pour it in directly

Where do you get those?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 26th, 2018, 8:55 am

Brother Laser toner cheaper than HP Laser toner?

Who are the local agents for these brands?

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 26th, 2018, 9:16 am

for home use, i assume you mean low volume.
If that is the case, a cheap 400TT HP printer would work for you.
Does not make sense spending 3k+ on a laser if you won't be using it. That's just my logic tho.

Most HP cartridges or printers should give a yield estimate here:
http://www8.hp.com/h71041/learn-about-s ... 76jc328bqi

This can help you pick a printer based on your estimated requirements.
Cartridges are usually not unreasonable, usually 1-200 TTD.

My experience is limited eh

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 26th, 2018, 9:17 am

To change all the cartridges can cost more than the price of the printer

Postby Redman » January 26th, 2018, 9:27 am

The school printing is colour intensive as well.

Small man has 10 or so full color equivalent every month-pics of nature and other stuff that will NEVER be seen once the teacher glances over
but they send projects that start with 'print and stick'.....allll the time

singhj

Postby singhj » January 26th, 2018, 9:32 am

redmanjp wrote:
singhj wrote:Op u can look into a continuous ink printer as well, where it comes with built in tanks so you can jus buy the ink and pour it in directly

Where do you get those?
Amazon. Unless u wanna be raped locally

I think local companies push d cheap 300 printers as the cost of the ink is more expensive than the printer itslef and most ppl jus end up buying a new printer

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » January 26th, 2018, 9:35 am

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01FS2W6I8?ref=emc_b_5_i

HP6978 3 in 1 printer.

Your problem solved.

I have one of this, and it works really well for home use.

abbow

Postby abbow » January 26th, 2018, 9:40 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:To change all the cartridges can cost more than the price of the printer

Brother - Eric Solis Marketing (The Office Authority in ElSocorro) - 674-9772 They carry the Konica Minolta as well.

HP - TSL for the larger expensive ones...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 26th, 2018, 9:57 am

csb:
4 years ago I bought an all-in-one HP 8620 for the office. Used it more for school projects than work.
Bought it in PriceSmart. The ink is 950 and 951 and it costs more than I paid for the printer with ink, even if I buy the ink in the US.

So I decided to be cheap and I bought one of those generic ink packs on Amazon, it worked for a while but then the print quality dropped, skipping lines, incorrect colours and no amount of print head cleaning and calibration helped.
I bought another set of genuine HP inks but same issue. After some research I realized the print head needed to change. You can buy 2 printers for the price of a print head replacement.
Unfortunately HP discontinued the 86** line and replaced it with the 87** line which uses different ink!
So now I have 2, almost 3 sets of 950 and 951 ink and no printer.
If anyone want to buy it cheap, lemme know.
Anyway I’m looking for a colour laser now and was looking at HP, but now I see ppl recommending Brother.
What’s the advantage?

Postby *KRONIK* » January 26th, 2018, 11:50 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:To change all the cartridges can cost more than the price of the printer
It does.
I bought a HP printer for 200 at supertech.
Replacment inks were 320 for both cartridges

Postby Rovin » January 26th, 2018, 12:04 pm

ent EPSON supposed to be a good brand too ? , price looking decent too ...

agent007

Postby agent007 » January 26th, 2018, 4:33 pm

Epson makes some of the best wide format plotters and photo printers in the world.
Last edited by agent007 on January 26th, 2018, 4:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » January 26th, 2018, 5:38 pm

Ones on the left at the wizz and are both black / coloured....one on the right.....pricesmart.....technician say it's only black ink ????

ImageImage

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 26th, 2018, 6:12 pm

agent007 wrote:HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M177fw
HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M180nw
HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M277dw
HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M281fdw
HP Color LaserJet Pro MFP M477fdw

Where to buy locally?

agent007

Postby agent007 » January 26th, 2018, 6:35 pm

Import it via Amazon
Last edited by agent007 on January 26th, 2018, 6:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby supercharged turbo » January 26th, 2018, 9:57 pm

I bought a HP 7740 OfficeJet for home use.I paid $1600 for it last year around this same time at CMR in Marabella.The guy kept asking if I sure is for home use because normally businesses buy this model but I want to believe that there is a different price for businesses.The cost to buy and ship from Amazon wasn't making sense at the time at it still doesn't.It works great with no problems so far.The ink is HP 952 and I have printed a few hundred pages of documents so far in both black and white and colour and it still on the 1st set of cartridges.I think Pricesmart sells the ink as well.It would need changing soon,so I would compare local to online prices for ink

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 26th, 2018, 11:07 pm

Redman wrote:The school printing is colour intensive as well.

Small man has 10 or so full color equivalent every month-pics of nature and other stuff that will NEVER be seen once the teacher glances over
but they send projects that start with 'print and stick'.....allll the time

Ey da sheit used to drive me up a wall boy. I always helping a family friend's child who don't have a printer.
And even getting refills was expensive.

In this day and age I don't see why we need to be printing out stuff when we could just email things or bring it on a flash drive. The lesser fortunate can still print and stick if it's convenient.

Also, even for minor primary school projects they want some pretty detailed stuff. (nothing a child can grasp, so guess who ends up doing all the work?)
I 'member when you only had one major project each term and that was it, now it's every week...

Postby Ted_v2 » January 28th, 2018, 6:54 am

Back in high school I had to print ting every couple of days. I bought a cheap ink jet from pricemart. Working fine still. Works out to 600 for two black and two coloured packages. Ink never dried up yet.

Sent from my GT-I9060C using Tapatalk

Godfather1979

Postby Godfather1979 » January 28th, 2018, 8:20 am

Don't buy the HP ones that pricesmart selling,the ink is hard to get. Buy a Cannon

Sent from my VIVO 5 using Tapatalk

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » January 28th, 2018, 8:25 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:csb:
4 years ago I bought an all-in-one HP 8620 for the office. Used it more for school projects than work.
Bought it in PriceSmart. The ink is 950 and 951 and it costs more than I paid for the printer with ink, even if I buy the ink in the US.

So I decided to be cheap and I bought one of those generic ink packs on Amazon, it worked for a while but then the print quality dropped, skipping lines, incorrect colours and no amount of print head cleaning and calibration helped.
I bought another set of genuine HP inks but same issue. After some research I realized the print head needed to change. You can buy 2 printers for the price of a print head replacement.
Unfortunately HP discontinued the 86** line and replaced it with the 87** line which uses different ink!
So now I have 2, almost 3 sets of 950 and 951 ink and no printer.
If anyone want to buy it cheap, lemme know.
Anyway I’m looking for a colour laser now and was looking at HP, but now I see ppl recommending Brother.
What’s the advantage?
How much yuh want for the printer? I have one a sensor needs replacing could buy it for parts.

Sent from my HUAWEI VNS-L23 using Tapatalk

Postby Rory Phoulorie » January 28th, 2018, 8:49 am

HP Laserjets are almost bulletproof. Plus, they can be repaired locally.

RGF Asset Management

Postby RGF Asset Management » January 28th, 2018, 9:34 am

I bought one of those HP 4645 all in one printers (print,scan,copy,fax) in price smart in 2015. Carries 2 cartridges (colour and black). The cartridge code is 662/664. Available nearly any where for about $150.00 each.

Printer is used for my home office and also by my kids for school and uwi projects.

No complaints at all

Paid about $800.00 for it at the time.