$$Engineer Vs Medicine (PROS AND CONS)

Daran

Re: $$Engineer Vs Medicine (PROS AND CONS)

Postby Daran » April 16th, 2018, 11:06 am

kinnie wrote:
Daran wrote:
kinnie wrote:So let's say I chose medicine, im 15 in form 3 (3rd term)

How much years would it take for me to officially be a doctor? After intern

Cause I been googling sheit whole month lol and they keep putting USA stuff and I from trinidad

GP or specialist?
GP

then you don't need to go away. and it's 5 years + 1 year residency.

Kinne, you like to program? Trinidad isn't going to have real engineering jobs (kinda never did, all 'engineers' were mainly doing maintenance, oversight, purchasing, project management and managerial roles.

Things like Comp Sci and Elec are the future, in all other engineering roles if you could program, you'll have a significant advantage in future job market.

kinnie

Postby kinnie » April 16th, 2018, 3:44 pm

Daran wrote:
kinnie wrote:
Daran wrote:
kinnie wrote:So let's say I chose medicine, im 15 in form 3 (3rd term)

How much years would it take for me to officially be a doctor? After intern

Cause I been googling sheit whole month lol and they keep putting USA stuff and I from trinidad

GP or specialist?
GP

then you don't need to go away. and it's 5 years + 1 year residency.

Kinne, you like to program? Trinidad isn't going to have real engineering jobs (kinda never did, all 'engineers' were mainly doing maintenance, oversight, purchasing, project management and managerial roles.

Things like Comp Sci and Elec are the future, in all other engineering roles if you could program, you'll have a significant advantage in future job market.
Yeah lol by program I assume you mean software programming? I used to do that since I was 13, and I still do sometimes

I just thought that this is trinidad, no ones gonna make money with software programming.

2 cape+ 5 years +1 residency correct? So ill be 25

Postby nervewrecker » April 16th, 2018, 4:38 pm

Neurosurgeon

Ask how many we have here and you will get the answer to your questions.

Postby The_Honourable » April 16th, 2018, 5:26 pm

Kinnie, can't speak about the engineer but as someone who audited several areas of the public health sector in the past, i'll give you some insight to consider if you are going into medicine.

1. The public health system has been bad for decades, as in we are under socialized healthcare which means the government (taxpayers) pay for our healthcare. When the government pays for a system for everyone to use, usually quality suffers which is plain to see. This problem is blamed on staff including doctors. Staff then blame management, where unions are catalysts. Decades will pass, blame game continues and you will hardly see progress.

2. Since it is socialized healthcare, worse yet we are in a recession, the government is forced to ration funds, meaning the hospital will not have the funds for staff including doctors to be efficient and effective in their jobs. The government/ministry of health/Regional Health Authority (RHA) main concern is medicine and paying salaries.

3. You will be having a thankless job. Since the taxpayers are paying for the public health service, expect many patients to bark orders and be outright disrespectful to staff since their logic is "i pay meh taxes! I eh gettin help! allyuh too f'in slack in here!" Ask a doctor who works Emergency Department and they will give you the horror stories when dealing with the public. You may start off all optimistic, helpful and empathetic but the system beats you down to the point you are fatigued. You then become cold towards patients and just want to put in your 8hrs, maybe overtime if you have a loan to pay and leave. You would be surprised how many doctors will say they don't want their children to be doctors... at least not here in Trinidad.

4. There are 4 stages for Medical Officers: Intern, House Officer, Registrar (Specialists) and Consultants. When you are finished with the internship, you might end up home as we are in a recession. Hopefully by the time you become a doctor it would not be an issue anymore. Many House Officers are unable to be Registrars as this means the RHA will have to pay more. Registrars are sometimes unable to be Consultants not just the RHA don't want to pay but current consultants don't want to retire. In essence, promotions will be very slow unless you can pull a link or yuh open to have sex to get a higher position.

5. Many medical officers are unhappy and have mental issues. You will encounter them and wonder how they were able to get this job. It ranges from their parents forcing them to be a doctor to score social points and that's NOT what they wanted to do, to personality disorders. They are bright enough to pass exams but relationships with them can be toxic.

6. You might have a better bet at a private medical institution but from what I understand, is only so much doctors they can employ and they not moving juss so.

7. You can open a private practice after fulfilling some strict requirements, but you will be better off and you are more in control of who you see, your finances, and your own mental health. You can also consider migrating up the islands to see where have a demand for doctors.

Besides Engineering and Medicine, you can look into Psychology and even Maritime.
Last edited by The_Honourable on April 16th, 2018, 5:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » April 16th, 2018, 5:28 pm

Oh, and mech eng, hope you know what you in for. Had a girl at work majored in mech eng and was kinda shocked at what the job entails.

Get out and get acquainted with what reality is. I know this one chick that doing some criminal course at uwi saying when she done she gunna work as a specialist with the police to solve crimes. They told her those specialists are in demand, like in csi.

Schools will sell you dreams also. I remember when I now start my bsc how certain people from a certain place said the degree geared towards producing skilled employees for them. Wasted so many years of my life behind that sh1t. But dont get me wrong, I am intelligent to have a top engineer from a company skating after bragging how brilliant he is.

In the end I chose a different path. A lot of room to grow and a lot of money to make.

Postby nervewrecker » April 16th, 2018, 5:45 pm

Since you mentioned doctor it will be in your best interest to go to a hospital and take a look around. Take a look at the state people in, the desolation, hopelessness, the uncertainty of death, the certainty of death, the abandoned and mistreated and then ask yourself if you can face it on a daily basis.
Remember the mistakes you make can cost people their lives. Mistakes you make can cause people a lot of pain, a lot of suffering and / or bring families to tears at your feet.
You will be exposed to all kind of diseases, people badly damaged, people sick, people dying.
If you in it for the salary and barely human, then by all means, go for it. If you human or anything close to it, you will understand that the salary is what it is because of what is required of you. I wanted to be a doctor, my parents didnt have the money to pay for it and im glad they didnt.

My little sister had a job that paid well. She had to interact with people on a regular basis. Many a time is poor people she seizing stuff from to dispose of because the people didnt go though the right procedures to do what they are doing. Nothing is wrong with their stuff and aome of them spent their last dollar to try a thing to make an honest dollar.
People cry, people beg, people bring their children outisde that they cant afford to send to school and was banking on the money to do so, people kneel before her and beg, people kneel before her and cry. Yes she get many a death threat but that dont affect her. In a few years it start to affect her bad. Used to drink to forget, many am evening she hitting a few in her room and used to always have a bottle in her vehicle. Left the job a few years back.

Ask yourself if you ready for it or if you just want a title to brag about at family get togethers.

phreakazoid

Postby phreakazoid » April 16th, 2018, 7:03 pm

I'm a Mechanical Engineer and most jobs in this field can be quite demanding. They do not leave you with a good work/life balance. This is definitely something to consider for future family life. I believe the same applies for Med. Sci.

"If you do what you love, you'll never work a day in your life"~ Marc Anthony

kinnie

Postby kinnie » April 16th, 2018, 8:38 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Since you mentioned doctor it will be in your best interest to go to a hospital and take a look around. Take a look at the state people in, the desolation, hopelessness, the uncertainty of death, the certainty of death, the abandoned and mistreated and then ask yourself if you can face it on a daily basis.
Remember the mistakes you make can cost people their lives. Mistakes you make can cause people a lot of pain, a lot of suffering and / or bring families to tears at your feet.
You will be exposed to all kind of diseases, people badly damaged, people sick, people dying.
If you in it for the salary and barely human, then by all means, go for it. If you human or anything close to it, you will understand that the salary is what it is because of what is required of you. I wanted to be a doctor, my parents didnt have the money to pay for it and im glad they didnt.

My little sister had a job that paid well. She had to interact with people on a regular basis. Many a time is poor people she seizing stuff from to dispose of because the people didnt go though the right procedures to do what they are doing. Nothing is wrong with their stuff and aome of them spent their last dollar to try a thing to make an honest dollar.
People cry, people beg, people bring their children outisde that they cant afford to send to school and was banking on the money to do so, people kneel before her and beg, people kneel before her and cry. Yes she get many a death threat but that dont affect her. In a few years it start to affect her bad. Used to drink to forget, many am evening she hitting a few in her room and used to always have a bottle in her vehicle. Left the job a few years back.

Ask yourself if you ready for it or if you just want a title to brag about at family get togethers.
Yeah well im poor asf cause trinidad government thiefing all the money, the way allyuh talking, I doh think ill do medicine,
All kinda disease, people disrespecting yuh, if I do choose medicine ill go and work abroad

But as I said, I can't afford the education, they expect people to contribute to trinidad but for people like me, who genuinely wanna work hard for what I want, I need to get money that I don't have.
And hell yeah ill brag, all that education I take, and all the comittment.

Postby nervewrecker » April 16th, 2018, 9:19 pm

The only reason why I keep replying is because you remind me of myself at 15.

Dont let anyone discourage you from what you want to do but at the same time know what you getting into. I'd say keep your options open but at the same time keep your dreams at the front. If you can achieve them, then by all means, go for it. IMO, if you love something and have a passion for it you might do the job with pride and do it to the best of your abilities and actually be better than others, make less mistakes etc.

At the same time, you make it sound like you all about the $$$. There are more things to life than $$$ and status. There is always someone better then you out here so its best to stay humble or you could end up like the engineer that I stood up to. money will come in but dont expect to own a house and a fancy car by 25. If you play your cards right you can have a lot more than that by 35.

Take the advice that you got about the market being saturated for engineers, doctors, lawyers etc.
At 15 I too was patriotic and about my country, wanted to save the world. But when you get out here you realise people dont wanna be saved and the world is about politics and money, you just a small fry. But you never know where life can take you, maybe you can be innovative and put something into place to actually save a tiny bit of the world. I have something in the pipeline, just timing it. :wink:

Postby nervewrecker » April 16th, 2018, 9:21 pm

Oh, and where there is a will there is a way. Not because the gubment theefing all the mornee it should discourage you. People earned these titles before there was GATE. In fact when I started school there was no GATE. My family was not so well off so I did small jobs, bann my belly and save the $$$ to pay for school (with was almost a complete waste btw).

Postby The_Honourable » April 16th, 2018, 10:02 pm

You can always do Accounting if you're into numbers. Biotechnology abroad is a big one if you're into Chemistry.

kinnie

Postby kinnie » April 16th, 2018, 11:12 pm

nervewrecker wrote:The only reason why I keep replying is because you remind me of myself at 15.

Dont let anyone discourage you from what you want to do but at the same time know what you getting into. I'd say keep your options open but at the same time keep your dreams at the front. If you can achieve them, then by all means, go for it. IMO, if you love something and have a passion for it you might do the job with pride and do it to the best of your abilities and actually be better than others, make less mistakes etc.

At the same time, you make it sound like you all about the $$$. There are more things to life than $$$ and status. There is always someone better then you out here so its best to stay humble or you could end up like the engineer that I stood up to. money will come in but dont expect to own a house and a fancy car by 25. If you play your cards right you can have a lot more than that by 35.

Take the advice that you got about the market being saturated for engineers, doctors, lawyers etc.
At 15 I too was patriotic and about my country, wanted to save the world. But when you get out here you realise people dont wanna be saved and the world is about politics and money, you just a small fry. But you never know where life can take you, maybe you can be innovative and put something into place to actually save a tiny bit of the world. I have something in the pipeline, just timing it. :wink:
Thanks so much, im gonna do it, don't care what anyone say, don't care who gets in my way, don't care if I live off CEPEP money and I won't be able to afford it, I love biology and the human body fascinates me, I thank you all for replying to my dumb questions, it helped alot and if it doesn't work out I could always jump into police force with my o' levels and run from bullets.

~How can i give up when i haven't even tried?

kinnie

Postby kinnie » April 16th, 2018, 11:13 pm

The_Honourable wrote:You can always do Accounting if you're into numbers. Biotechnology abroad is a big one if you're into Chemistry.
Thanks for the advice but I'm not really a fan of chemistry/maths

Postby rspann » April 16th, 2018, 11:51 pm

Not a fan of math ,but considering engineering?
Not a fan of chemistry but considering med?
Please explain.

kinnie

Postby kinnie » April 17th, 2018, 12:02 am

rspann wrote:Not a fan of math ,but considering engineering?
Not a fan of chemistry but considering med?
Please explain.
I knew you would've said that, I always wanted to do medicine but Im poor and I thought I couldn't afford it, but medicine does require maths,chemistry, biology ect.
Now I don't "like" maths or chemistry but I will grow to love it eventually, because Its obviously required of me if I wanna be a doctor and I really love biology so seems to me, medicine is my path

Postby rspann » April 17th, 2018, 12:09 am

Once your mind is made up, being poor isnothing.

kinnie

Postby kinnie » April 17th, 2018, 12:27 am

rspann wrote:Once your mind is made up, being poor isnothing.
Trueee lol

MarlonSam

Postby MarlonSam » April 17th, 2018, 1:33 am

Med isn't too saturated...

Daran

Postby Daran » April 17th, 2018, 3:25 am

Why you don't like math? You in form 3, that math is very easy and fun.

kinnie

Postby kinnie » April 17th, 2018, 7:11 am

Daran wrote:Why you don't like math? You in form 3, that math is very easy and fun.
I have mixed feelings about it

Cause my secondary school is a waste of time.
Sometimes I like it but other times im like "ok that making any sense? "

abbow

Postby abbow » April 17th, 2018, 7:57 am

kinnie wrote:
abbow wrote:There are many fields to choose from...dont let the "work for big money" fool you. Feeling trapped in a office all day for money that vanishes in a few days isnt all that rewarding.

When I was your age, the internet was not around and cellphones were far off...we had limited knowledge and options for careers... there is vast amount of information available to you to help you make this choice yourself when the time is right.
As I said, I appreciate the reply but Im not money hungry lol I wanna wear a proud title you know, I wanna have a good job I wanna give to the country, also considering job availability in the next 8-10 years, risks of the job, and how many years of education I need to put down in order to be that

i hear you...

Daran

Postby Daran » April 17th, 2018, 8:18 am

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 17th, 2018, 8:53 am

What school you attending?

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » April 17th, 2018, 10:28 am

kinnie wrote:
Daran wrote:Why you don't like math? You in form 3, that math is very easy and fun.

Kinnie you young. Stay in school and learn and come off the internet when you in class. We already saturated in Tuner with teenagers

kinnie

Postby kinnie » April 17th, 2018, 2:42 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:What school you attending?
Couva West Secondary

kinnie

Postby kinnie » April 17th, 2018, 2:47 pm

randolphinshan wrote:
kinnie wrote:

Kinnie you young. Stay in school and learn and come off the internet when you in class. We already saturated in Tuner with teenagers
If you have nothing to contribute then shut up, unlike you I wanna be able to live a normal life and be able to provide for my family.
I wasn't in class, im gonna have to choose which class I want, science, business ect and thats why I made this post so that It can get help me understand what im getting into.

zaboca

Postby zaboca » April 17th, 2018, 5:40 pm

You can still be an engineer, but just steer clear of the oil and gas industry.
Why not aim for the clean energy sector? An engineer specializing in solar/wind/hydroelectric power, since that seems to be the emerging industry.

Postby tr1ad » April 17th, 2018, 7:58 pm

zaboca wrote:You can still be an engineer, but just steer clear of the oil and gas industry.
Why not aim for the clean energy sector? An engineer specializing in solar/wind/hydroelectric power, since that seems to be the emerging industry.

That's a ways off ... Especially in Trinidad

Postby nervewrecker » April 17th, 2018, 9:06 pm

kinnie wrote:
randolphinshan wrote:
kinnie wrote:

If you have nothing to contribute then shut up, unlike you I wanna be able to live a normal life and be able to provide for my family.
I wasn't in class, im gonna have to choose which class I want, science, business ect and thats why I made this post so that It can get help me understand what im getting into.
Ah yes, the science vs business choice. Hsb still common to both classes?
I remember how all thr rich parents made sure their kids did sciences. Wonder where they are all now?

I did business and sucked at it. Sucked at physics and chem.

Book smart and street smart is two different things. Book smart dont apply to trinidad, supply and demand laws dont apply here.
Anyhow, I had to do physics as part of my degree. Never picked up physics so fast in my life. Today its my holy grail. If you come from nowhere they will tell you that you destined to fail (in school). I would love to meet some of my high school teachers that said id never amount to anything. I would love to hear what they have to say when I tell them where I reach in life and to f**k off.

Postby A172 » April 17th, 2018, 10:07 pm

where u reach in life?