kinnie wrote:GPDaran wrote:kinnie wrote:So let's say I chose medicine, im 15 in form 3 (3rd term)
How much years would it take for me to officially be a doctor? After intern
Cause I been googling sheit whole month lol and they keep putting USA stuff and I from trinidad
GP or specialist?
Yeah lol by program I assume you mean software programming? I used to do that since I was 13, and I still do sometimesDaran wrote:kinnie wrote:GPDaran wrote:kinnie wrote:So let's say I chose medicine, im 15 in form 3 (3rd term)
How much years would it take for me to officially be a doctor? After intern
Cause I been googling sheit whole month lol and they keep putting USA stuff and I from trinidad
GP or specialist?
then you don't need to go away. and it's 5 years + 1 year residency.
Kinne, you like to program? Trinidad isn't going to have real engineering jobs (kinda never did, all 'engineers' were mainly doing maintenance, oversight, purchasing, project management and managerial roles.
Things like Comp Sci and Elec are the future, in all other engineering roles if you could program, you'll have a significant advantage in future job market.
Yeah well im poor asf cause trinidad government thiefing all the money, the way allyuh talking, I doh think ill do medicine,nervewrecker wrote:Since you mentioned doctor it will be in your best interest to go to a hospital and take a look around. Take a look at the state people in, the desolation, hopelessness, the uncertainty of death, the certainty of death, the abandoned and mistreated and then ask yourself if you can face it on a daily basis.
Remember the mistakes you make can cost people their lives. Mistakes you make can cause people a lot of pain, a lot of suffering and / or bring families to tears at your feet.
You will be exposed to all kind of diseases, people badly damaged, people sick, people dying.
If you in it for the salary and barely human, then by all means, go for it. If you human or anything close to it, you will understand that the salary is what it is because of what is required of you. I wanted to be a doctor, my parents didnt have the money to pay for it and im glad they didnt.
My little sister had a job that paid well. She had to interact with people on a regular basis. Many a time is poor people she seizing stuff from to dispose of because the people didnt go though the right procedures to do what they are doing. Nothing is wrong with their stuff and aome of them spent their last dollar to try a thing to make an honest dollar.
People cry, people beg, people bring their children outisde that they cant afford to send to school and was banking on the money to do so, people kneel before her and beg, people kneel before her and cry. Yes she get many a death threat but that dont affect her. In a few years it start to affect her bad. Used to drink to forget, many am evening she hitting a few in her room and used to always have a bottle in her vehicle. Left the job a few years back.
Ask yourself if you ready for it or if you just want a title to brag about at family get togethers.
Thanks so much, im gonna do it, don't care what anyone say, don't care who gets in my way, don't care if I live off CEPEP money and I won't be able to afford it, I love biology and the human body fascinates me, I thank you all for replying to my dumb questions, it helped alotnervewrecker wrote:The only reason why I keep replying is because you remind me of myself at 15.
Dont let anyone discourage you from what you want to do but at the same time know what you getting into. I'd say keep your options open but at the same time keep your dreams at the front. If you can achieve them, then by all means, go for it. IMO, if you love something and have a passion for it you might do the job with pride and do it to the best of your abilities and actually be better than others, make less mistakes etc.
At the same time, you make it sound like you all about the $$$. There are more things to life than $$$ and status. There is always someone better then you out here so its best to stay humble or you could end up like the engineer that I stood up to. money will come in but dont expect to own a house and a fancy car by 25. If you play your cards right you can have a lot more than that by 35.
Take the advice that you got about the market being saturated for engineers, doctors, lawyers etc.
At 15 I too was patriotic and about my country, wanted to save the world. But when you get out here you realise people dont wanna be saved and the world is about politics and money, you just a small fry. But you never know where life can take you, maybe you can be innovative and put something into place to actually save a tiny bit of the world. I have something in the pipeline, just timing it.
Thanks for the advice but I'm not really a fan of chemistry/mathsThe_Honourable wrote:You can always do Accounting if you're into numbers. Biotechnology abroad is a big one if you're into Chemistry.
I knew you would've said that, I always wanted to do medicine but Im poor and I thought I couldn't afford it, but medicine does require maths,chemistry, biology ect.rspann wrote:Not a fan of math ,but considering engineering?
Not a fan of chemistry but considering med?
Please explain.
Trueee lolrspann wrote:Once your mind is made up, being poor isnothing.
I have mixed feelings about itDaran wrote:Why you don't like math? You in form 3, that math is very easy and fun.
kinnie wrote:As I said, I appreciate the reply but Im not money hungry lol I wanna wear a proud title you know, I wanna have a good job I wanna give to the country, also considering job availability in the next 8-10 years, risks of the job, and how many years of education I need to put down in order to be thatabbow wrote:There are many fields to choose from...dont let the "work for big money" fool you. Feeling trapped in a office all day for money that vanishes in a few days isnt all that rewarding.
When I was your age, the internet was not around and cellphones were far off...we had limited knowledge and options for careers... there is vast amount of information available to you to help you make this choice yourself when the time is right.
kinnie wrote:I have mixed feelings about itDaran wrote:Why you don't like math? You in form 3, that math is very easy and fun.
Cause my secondary school is a waste of time.
Sometimes I like it but other times im like "ok that making any sense? "
Couva West Secondaryhustla_ambition101 wrote:What school you attending?
If you have nothing to contribute then shut up, unlike you I wanna be able to live a normal life and be able to provide for my family.randolphinshan wrote:kinnie wrote:I have mixed feelings about itDaran wrote:Why you don't like math? You in form 3, that math is very easy and fun.
Kinnie you young. Stay in school and learn and come off the internet when you in class. We already saturated in Tuner with teenagers
zaboca wrote:You can still be an engineer, but just steer clear of the oil and gas industry.
Why not aim for the clean energy sector? An engineer specializing in solar/wind/hydroelectric power, since that seems to be the emerging industry.
Ah yes, the science vs business choice. Hsb still common to both classes?kinnie wrote:If you have nothing to contribute then shut up, unlike you I wanna be able to live a normal life and be able to provide for my family.randolphinshan wrote:kinnie wrote:I have mixed feelings about itDaran wrote:Why you don't like math? You in form 3, that math is very easy and fun.
Kinnie you young. Stay in school and learn and come off the internet when you in class. We already saturated in Tuner with teenagers
I wasn't in class, im gonna have to choose which class I want, science, business ect and thats why I made this post so that It can get help me understand what im getting into.