Why are Trinis afraid of CVT transmission?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 9th, 2018, 2:07 pm

Always hear people talk about huge maintenance costs, etc costly to change oil etc

Why is this?

Wanted to go either Axio or NZE but most Axio owners I spoke to said to go with NZE due to not having to "Worry" about CVT

Re: Why are Trinis afraid of CVT transmission?

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 9th, 2018, 3:01 pm

Because most trini like to buy and drive, no maintenance.

Postby Gladiator » June 9th, 2018, 3:22 pm

A worker of mine bought an Axio... From what he said the CVT was non serviceable. It failed 14 months after buying the fu car. He had to buy a bamboo replacement for $22k

fcbarcelona

Postby fcbarcelona » June 9th, 2018, 3:32 pm

Cvt tranny is serviceable via two methods, drop pan or by machine. Once you change the oil every 40,000 km and drive reasonably you shouldnt have no issues.. it have a group for corolla, axio and fielder owners heres the link : https://chat.whatsapp.com/KGcACKjKGdUJ2q7WoOlcFS
Yall could join and get more info if ypu want

Postby meccalli » June 9th, 2018, 3:43 pm

Bearings eventually will be shot. And people will want to charge you 1500 per bearing plus labour..... which ends up being 3-4 times the price of a slightly used unit.

Postby Rovin » June 9th, 2018, 3:58 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Because most trini like to buy and drive, no maintenance.

this it right here

other major reason is some ppl believe cvt oil need changing every 80k but fail to take into consideration that ur new roro which shows 30k is really 30 , this time its dial back mileage so ur car cud really be 300k , while u thinking d oil in it new yet so u cud wait til 50k to change it

have mine about 7yrs going good np & my bro who does about double driving as me his about 5yrs np too ....

Postby RedVEVO » June 9th, 2018, 4:05 pm

CVT like a sweet 24 year old Vene woman ..

You have to maintain it or it will give trouble.

If you cannot maintain , do not entertain .

Postby rollingstock » June 9th, 2018, 4:27 pm

Cvt suffering from the same thing as gdi engines.
Backward ass mechanics who fail to keep up with technology and any new innovation to them is trouble and to stay away.

And the worst are those that are totally ignorant and believe or portray they know and apply old antiquated knowledge techniques wrt maintenance and service and blame the manufacturer when there is a failure.

Postby MaxPower » June 9th, 2018, 4:42 pm

Steups....ppl not afraid of CVT...its the fear knowing the incompetence of most Trinidadian complacent mechanics...

Postby RedVEVO » June 9th, 2018, 4:45 pm

CVT do not last.

They are disposable like a bic razor.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » June 9th, 2018, 5:35 pm

RedVEVO wrote:CVT do not last.

Hahaha RedVEVO with his bic razor talk again......get a life bro.

Postby RedVEVO » June 9th, 2018, 5:38 pm

randolphinshan wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:CVT do not last.

Hahaha RedVEVO with his bic razor talk again......get a life bro.

R.I.P. Randull .

C.V.T. Randull .

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » June 9th, 2018, 6:17 pm

fcbarcelona wrote:Cvt tranny is serviceable via two methods, drop pan or by machine. Once you change the oil every 40,000 km and drive reasonably you shouldnt have no issues.. it have a group for corolla, axio and fielder owners heres the link : https://chat.whatsapp.com/KGcACKjKGdUJ2q7WoOlcFS

Exactly .... it is quite simple to maintain.
go to a proper mechanic. not the one "UNDER THE MANGO TREE"

fcbarcelona

Postby fcbarcelona » June 9th, 2018, 6:21 pm

mitch1980 wrote:
fcbarcelona wrote:Cvt tranny is serviceable via two methods, drop pan or by machine. Once you change the oil every 40,000 km and drive reasonably you shouldnt have no issues.. it have a group for corolla, axio and fielder owners heres the link : https://chat.whatsapp.com/KGcACKjKGdUJ2q7WoOlcFS

Exactly .... it is quite simple to maintain.
go to a proper mechanic. not the one "UNDER THE MANGO TREE"
It have people who do it good and proper and it have people who play around the bush and figure it out lol...theres a link above to the group so anyone needed advice can join and check it out

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 9th, 2018, 6:41 pm

Thanks for the link to join the watsapp group.

Had no idea a used transmission for an Axio was $22k, holy christ!!!
So you saying those RORO cars that come with 30K does really be all kinda 300K and thing? thats a lot of mileage to do in just 4 years??????

I knew they does roll back the mileage but always figured the mileage was around 100K etc

So its either you pay $22K for a CVT for an axio or buy a gear box and drive manual? doubt axio even has that.

Postby pugboy » June 9th, 2018, 6:41 pm

I owned two fielders with Cvt no problems
Put over 100k on them each
Changed oil by jai in Aranguez
Very knowledgeable guy, you can see what the guts of a Cvt are by him.

A Cvt is basically two cones with a flat metal belt between them.
When you see this you will then realize why the correct oil needs to be used and changed at whatever the service interval.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 9th, 2018, 6:51 pm

pugboy wrote:I owned two fielders with Cvt no problems

When you see this you will then realize why the correct oil needs to be used and changed at whatever the service interval.

I spoke with a guy he drives a Axio he has it registered as H because he is a taxi driver. He told me when he bought the Axio from a women it was advertised as Lady Driven and the transmission failed 10 months later. It turns out she never serviced it even though the woman said to him that Lady Driven means she maintains her car very well and so it holds a higher value.

With that said though he advised on getting an NZE due to parts being cheaper and a whole transmission costing $3K
if one was to compare it I suppose he does have a point, I mean $22K for a Axio transmission vs $3K for a NZE transmission that is a MASSIVE difference in price. In stark contrast an Almera transmission is probably $900 or so

BTW did you see this thread?

http://trinituner.com/v4/forums/viewtopic.php?t=599894

Check out the post by Moti he says that Axio transmissions he had to fix ended up failing after 175 to 200K

lalloboy101

Postby lalloboy101 » June 9th, 2018, 6:56 pm

What about dct?, like the ones coming in the turbo tucson

Postby aaron17 » June 9th, 2018, 6:58 pm

Ent cvts dont have the power when u need it?

Postby aaron17 » June 9th, 2018, 6:59 pm

And ioniq

Postby Rovin » June 9th, 2018, 7:42 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Thanks for the link to join the watsapp group.

Had no idea a used transmission for an Axio was $22k, holy christ!!!
So you saying those RORO cars that come with 30K does really be all kinda 300K and thing? thats a lot of mileage to do in just 4 years??????

I knew they does roll back the mileage but always figured the mileage was around 100K etc

So its either you pay $22K for a CVT for an axio or buy a gear box and drive manual? doubt axio even has that.

well i didnt mean 300k mileage literally , just giving a example but plenty ppl think d mileage they seeing cars at roro dealers is d truth

when i used to often browse d sbt japan site i did see cars with 300k+ mileage some were 3yrs old & still looking good so i guess its possible cars were driven that much in just a few yrs

i never hear any axio\fielder tranny costing no 22k , i guessing dise probably TTTL pricing , from what i been told & read from others d avg price for a rebuild was around 6k-7ish

remember tuner had a topic on "lady driven" , search it , d man get get chain up with dat

for those who dont even know what a CVT is or how it works : youtube it ....

Postby Rovin » June 9th, 2018, 7:50 pm

aaron17 wrote:Ent cvts dont have the power when u need it?

u mean as in standstill take off \ acceleration ? , as a owner of a 141 fielder wagon i find it good for me ... :|

Postby aaron17 » June 9th, 2018, 8:02 pm

I saw on youtube that it was a disadvantage..

Postby sMASH » June 9th, 2018, 8:14 pm

Probably not tuned correctly.
Cvt has POTENTIAL to remain at ratio to allow the engine to remain at peak torque or efficiency as required.. So long as the brain does its work well

Postby pugboy » June 9th, 2018, 9:36 pm

I found the 141 Toyota fielder cvt to work very well, smooth and easy transition when accelerating
It was very easy to be driving at 80 and suddenly find yourself at 120 at same rpm and not realize.

Likewise when stepping on the gas the transition to let rpm run up was just like a noncvt.
Cvt are being adopted by more and more manufacturers due to less parts and relying on simple electronics to keep engine in optimal power band rpm.

Time will tell if the metal belt can really last.

Postby Ted_v2 » June 10th, 2018, 6:04 am

CVT nice once its working properly, costly to repair, costly to replace but all trans expensive.
NS2 oil is a pricey thing vs regular trans oil. and on some vehicles like tiidas, y12 ect you honestly wont know the diff from driving them.

Postby 88sins » June 10th, 2018, 6:32 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
pugboy wrote:I owned two fielders with Cvt no problems

I spoke with a guy he drives a Axio he has it registered as H because he is a taxi driver. He told me when he bought the Axio from a women it was advertised as Lady Driven and the transmission failed 10 months later. It turns out she never serviced it even though the woman said to him that Lady Driven means she maintains her car very well and so it holds a higher value.

With that said though he advised on getting an NZE due to parts being cheaper and a whole transmission costing $3K
if one was to compare it I suppose he does have a point, I mean $22K for a Axio transmission vs $3K for a NZE transmission that is a MASSIVE difference in price. In stark contrast an Almera transmission is probably $900 or so

BTW did you see this thread?

http://trinituner.com/v4/forums/viewtopic.php?t=599894

Check out the post by Moti he says that Axio transmissions he had to fix ended up failing after 175 to 200K

Lady driven means well maintained thus having higher value? & he actually believed that dotishness? well he isn't only a taxi driver, he also a capital idiot.
A word to the wise. When buying any vehicle from a female that says the vehicle is "lady driven" & they want yo to pay premium price as a direct result of this alleged benefit, demand to see the vehicle's service report schedule. & that is if they have one for the vehicle, quite likely they won't, so they have no evidence of this stellar maintenance routing the vehicle has, so their maintenance claim is of no merit, so her selling price will need some downward adjustment.
And on the off chance that they do have a service report, go through it & make a mental note to highlight what wasn't maintained so you would have an idea of what may give problems sooner or later.

wingnut

Postby wingnut » June 10th, 2018, 6:47 am

Is it safe to use substitute oils instead of the genuine as they are quite expensive

I saw Castrol claim their cvt fluid is suitable for use where Nissan Ns1/Ns2 and toyota TC/FE etc.

Anyone with experience using these substitutes in their Nissan or Toyota CVT

Postby pugboy » June 10th, 2018, 6:48 am

lolll

only naive ppl will think "lady driven, directors car, executive owned" is a plus
I think most ppl know better nowadays

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 10th, 2018, 9:13 am

Yeah unfortunately there are still many people who see Lady driven and directors car, managers car etc and end up spending much more

Right now it has a man on trinicarsforsale he selling a regular basic B14 for $52K because he is a manager and it was dealer maintained.