Suruj: 75 per cent earning under $6000 a month

stikid09

Suruj: 75 per cent earning under $6000 a month

Postby stikid09 » December 9th, 2018, 12:16 am

TABAQUITE MP Suruj Rambachan says he was "devastated" when the Central Statistical Office informed him close to 75 per cent of citizens earn less than $6,000 a month.

"That is a very serious statistic."

He was contributing to debate on The Planning and Facilitation of Development (Amendment) Bill in Parliament Friday.

He said if a bank gives 40 per cent of gross income as a mortgage repayment then people earning less than $6,000 can only afford $2,400 a month on a mortgage. He added to borrow $1 million from the Trinidad and Tobago Mortgage Finance Company at two per cent the repayment is $3,696 per month which means a monthly income of $11,000 is required.

"People are being excluded therefore from a home-owning democracy in this country."

Rambachan said the right to own a property is among the fundamental pillars of a strong democracy.

"And when you have people who cannot own a property and call it their own what you are doing you are marginalising people and you are frustrating the building of a strong democracy in the country."

Source: https://newsday.co.tt/2018/12/07/suruj- ... 0-a-month/

ProtonPowder

Re: Suruj: 75 per cent earning under $6000 a month

Postby ProtonPowder » December 9th, 2018, 12:46 am

Doesnt help that figuring out the CSO website is a herculean task in and of itself.

I thought that the median income in TnT was around ~8k or so up to recent. Either way, keeping the sufferer comments far away, I want to see sources and methodology behind that statement.

I mean, by extension, he claiming that 75% of the employed do not pay income taxes.

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » December 9th, 2018, 12:57 am

Its probably true though

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » December 9th, 2018, 2:35 am

I find that extremely hard to believe. At least 2/3 of the working force has tertiary qualifications. But then again if the public service employs more than 60% of the workforce, then it could be close to true. But of that is the case, that means that most of our graduates are not being employed in their field of study. Anyway it’s a rubbish point. Your salary does not need to be high for you to enjoy a decent standard of living. I went to Belgium a few years ago and the remuneration packages are around the same. Social services however are of a high standard and that has a lot to do with the fact that Belgians pay up 49% of their salaries in taxes

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » December 9th, 2018, 2:41 am

ProtonPowder wrote:Doesnt help that figuring out the CSO website is a herculean task in and of itself.

I thought that the median income in TnT was around ~8k or so up to recent. Either way, keeping the sufferer comments far away, I want to see sources and methodology behind that statement.

I mean, by extension, he claiming that 75% of the employed do not pay income taxes.

I would love to see the methodology because that sounds really off man. Unless 3/4 of the public service are employed as clerk 1 or 2’s and the rest are janitors or semi skilled. Even so, I would also liked to know if skilled workers were put into the mix because they wouldn’t get a monthly salary

screwbash

Postby screwbash » December 9th, 2018, 6:32 am

an yet he (suruj) a man in politics since the 80's an who i think is a pundit also building housing on lands i sure he acquired from the state for small money during he time in govt and build condos to make more money. jus like the AG. how much money dese people want. they feel they go carry it with them when they gone. when he was in position to help people get out ah $6000 ah month they aint do nutting except get fat and big belly. they continue with this cepep thing an social welfare instead ah teaching people to fish a get out of the $6000 ah month. but on the odder hand, if both man and he wife getting $6000 ah month each that is $12000 combine and that is good money. so again they wah make the pnm look bad.

Postby skylinechild » December 9th, 2018, 6:58 am

6K /mth crew checking in.....
$5700/mth after taxes.....

believe it.

Postby hydroep » December 9th, 2018, 7:12 am

I always thought it was lower, like around 5K or so...:|

Mark007

Postby Mark007 » December 9th, 2018, 7:29 am

hydroep wrote:I always thought it was lower, like around 5K or so...:|

It is. On the bright side we dont have to pay tax :D

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » December 9th, 2018, 7:32 am

Why Sewage doh hysh he ulgy mudda Kant.When S I S was stealing millions together with road paving contractors he was quiet ehen he was Works Minister.

Suruj should permanently shut up.He I an evil crook.

Postby hydroep » December 9th, 2018, 7:39 am

Mark007 wrote:
hydroep wrote:I always thought it was lower, like around 5K or so...:|

It is. On the bright side we dont have to pay tax :D

Yeah boy, we hadda be thankful for small mercies... :)

Postby MaxPower » December 9th, 2018, 12:22 pm

Earn what you deserve...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 9th, 2018, 1:13 pm

5K a month isn't bad at all, so what exactly is he "devastated" about?

The issue is how many people even earn $5K a month?

Vast majority of people in Trinidad still earn around $3000 a month. Maybe he should be devastated about that?

Also there are tons of job opportunities and careers to be created by legalization of Marijuana as you can see in the US and Jamaica. Maybe he should talk about that rather than yap he cyat and pretend like he gives a sh!t about people earning less than $6K a month.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 9th, 2018, 1:19 pm

skylinechild wrote:6K /mth crew checking in.....
$5700/mth after taxes.....

believe it.
There are no taxes on 6000 a month

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 9th, 2018, 1:28 pm

^ he meant NIS etc

Postby Dizzy28 » December 9th, 2018, 1:44 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ he meant NIS etc
Those aren't taxes yjough. There is tremendous direct benefits to be derived by the contributor for an array of issues.

Postby pugboy » December 9th, 2018, 1:52 pm

I think it is only since pnm come into power that salary effective or statistics were taken
sewage really is a smartman

screwbash wrote:an yet he (suruj) a man in politics since the 80's an who i think is a pundit also building housing on lands i sure he acquired from the state for small money during he time in govt and build condos to make more money. jus like the AG. how much money dese people want. they feel they go carry it with them when they gone. when he was in position to help people get out ah $6000 ah month they aint do nutting except get fat and big belly. they continue with this cepep thing an social welfare instead ah teaching people to fish a get out of the $6000 ah month. but on the odder hand, if both man and he wife getting $6000 ah month each that is $12000 combine and that is good money. so again they wah make the pnm look bad.

tardissubie

Postby tardissubie » December 9th, 2018, 2:07 pm

Part of the main post speaks about being able to afford housing though. Sure you can survive on 3-4k a month but if you don't have housing and have to rent even 6k not going very far.

Postby 88sins » December 9th, 2018, 2:34 pm

Trinispougla wrote:I find that extremely hard to believe. At least 2/3 of the working force has tertiary qualifications. But then again if the public service employs more than 60% of the workforce, then it could be close to true. But of that is the case, that means that most of our graduates are not being employed in their field of study. Anyway it’s a rubbish point. Your salary does not need to be high for you to enjoy a decent standard of living. I went to Belgium a few years ago and the remuneration packages are around the same. Social services however are of a high standard and that has a lot to do with the fact that Belgians pay up 49% of their salaries in taxes

doh gee growlee no ideas

Postby shogun » December 9th, 2018, 2:39 pm

Nothing like watching ex-ministers whose guts got literally fat when they were in office, suddenly become concerned about the average citizen when in opposition. Got to love this place.

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » December 9th, 2018, 3:20 pm

Trinispougla wrote:I find that extremely hard to believe. At least 2/3 of the working force has tertiary qualifications. But then again if the public service employs more than 60% of the workforce, then it could be close to true. But of that is the case, that means that most of our graduates are not being employed in their field of study. Anyway it’s a rubbish point. Your salary does not need to be high for you to enjoy a decent standard of living. I went to Belgium a few years ago and the remuneration packages are around the same. Social services however are of a high standard and that has a lot to do with the fact that Belgians pay up 49% of their salaries in taxes

Where you get that 2/3rd's of the work force has a tertiary education according to CSO it is less than 20%

http://cso.gov.tt/data/?productID=58-La ... Both-Sexes)

Postby Dizzy28 » December 9th, 2018, 3:25 pm

Wonder if Suruj will drop the prices of his housing developments to help the small man out?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » December 9th, 2018, 6:14 pm

timothymcdavid wrote:

Where you get that 2/3rd's of the work force has a tertiary education according to CSO it is less than 20%

http://cso.gov.tt/data/?productID=58-La ... Both-Sexes)

Only way in TnT you getting number that is if you sample the post-2006 graduates of 'prestige' schools.

Drea

Postby Drea » December 9th, 2018, 8:25 pm

Believe it, I dont want to say tertiary educate means nothing but, many employers are not willing to pay what should be the equivalent of your qualifications. I work in HR and many of the salary bands i've seen the median salary is between 5-7k, and this is private sector.

My issue is why everyone is acting shocked or surprised, especially the opposition. Many people cannot afford a mortgage on these salaries.

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 9th, 2018, 9:34 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Wonder if Suruj will drop the prices of his housing developments to help the small man out?

Nope, he brings it up because his target base for $1 Mil housing is significantly smaller than he thought. He only cares that he won't sell fast enough.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » December 9th, 2018, 9:50 pm

Drea wrote:

Believe it, I dont want to say tertiary educate means nothing but, many employers are not willing to pay what should be the equivalent of your qualifications. I work in HR and many of the salary bands i've seen the median salary is between 5-7k, and this is private sector.

My issue is why everyone is acting shocked or surprised, especially the opposition. Many people cannot afford a mortgage on these salaries.

I think is really because of the general cohort on this board: middle to upper middle income earners in technical or entrepreneurial jobs.

Also is a mentality in TnT that the silver bullet to a good salary is a private sector job, which is why I personally really surprised at your input.

Postby redmanjp » December 9th, 2018, 11:16 pm

Only way to earn more than 10k in the private sector is to be a manager or own the business

abbow

Postby abbow » December 10th, 2018, 8:19 am

^^ depends on which industry you work in the private sector, eg some finance institutions pay way more than 10k(closer to 20) at supervisor, middle management positions...

airuma

Postby airuma » December 10th, 2018, 8:45 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Wonder if Suruj will drop the prices of his housing developments to help the small man out?

Nope, he brings it up because his target base for $1 Mil housing is significantly smaller than he thought. He only cares that he won't sell fast enough.

Especially with the slew of highly paid job losses over the last 3 years.

Postby janfar » December 10th, 2018, 8:58 am

Technicians in the oil services company (Private) with 3-5 years experience earn upward of 12k per month