neilsingh100 wrote:Next year not going to be any better but government needs to continue with restructuring the economy. Due to the lack of natural gas and the fact upstream companies not finding any new sources that economically viable to produce we need to rethink how the gas we have left is used so it would not surprise me if we scale back on LNG exports over the next few years which will lead to further declines in the economy.l33t2 wrote:airuma wrote:I ain't no economist but that article seems like hogwash to me.
Lol wot? U live Trinidad? This has been the most dead Christmas season ever. Ask any businessman.
The_Honourable wrote:"The economy is turning around, in fact, it has turned around. Revenue collection is up, the non-oil sector is growing, the energy sector is booming.” - Colm Imbert - May 2018.
Once the LNG contracts come to an end it is up to the NGC to negotiate with the upstream companies to determine what is the best use of our gas. LNG made sense when we had abundant supply of cheap gas but in the current environment the country benefits more by using the gas for manufacture of petrochemicals. Unless we find more cheap gas (i.e. gas in shallow water) LNG has 5-10 years remaining as evidenced by NGC only agreeing to extend Train 1 gas contract by 5 years.De Dragon wrote:neilsingh100 wrote:Next year not going to be any better but government needs to continue with restructuring the economy. Due to the lack of natural gas and the fact upstream companies not finding any new sources that economically viable to produce we need to rethink how the gas we have left is used so it would not surprise me if we scale back on LNG exports over the next few years which will lead to further declines in the economy.
Not likely when upstream gas producers and NGC have interests in Atlantic.
l33t2 wrote:airuma wrote:I ain't no economist but that article seems like hogwash to me.
Lol wot? U live Trinidad? This has been the most dead Christmas season ever. Ask any businessman.
nervewrecker wrote:l33t2 wrote:airuma wrote:I ain't no economist but that article seems like hogwash to me.
All dem rum shop full and not the cheap ones eh.
l33t2 wrote:nervewrecker wrote:l33t2 wrote:airuma wrote:I ain't no economist but that article seems like hogwash to me.
Actually, my family owns 3 rum shops and a restaurant. Sales are down 20-30% compared to last year. Same story I hearing all over.
matr1x wrote:We still have a president?
T&T is in a slow decline that will get worst as population comes to the realization that oil & gas money almost done. There really is nothing the government can do to turn things around but manage the decline. Hope Guyana learning for our mistakes.pugboy wrote:Many small businesses have seen declining revenues 10-20% for the last 3 yearsl33t2 wrote:nervewrecker wrote:l33t2 wrote:airuma wrote:I ain't no economist but that article seems like hogwash to me.
Actually, my family owns 3 rum shops and a restaurant. Sales are down 20-30% compared to last year. Same story I hearing all over.
l33t2 wrote:nervewrecker wrote:l33t2 wrote:airuma wrote:I ain't no economist but that article seems like hogwash to me.
sMASH wrote:matr1x wrote:We still have a president?
yes, she sends thoughts and prayers.
nervewrecker wrote:l33t2 wrote:airuma wrote:I ain't no economist but that article seems like hogwash to me.
bluefete wrote:2019 will be another very bad year. Thousands more to be sent home. Elections mamaguy like rain to come.
zoom rader wrote:bluefete wrote:2019 will be another very bad year. Thousands more to be sent home. Elections mamaguy like rain to come.
The Pnmite will rather eat grass than to see any other goverment in power.
The_Honourable wrote:zoom rader wrote:bluefete wrote:2019 will be another very bad year. Thousands more to be sent home. Elections mamaguy like rain to come.
The Pnmite will rather eat grass than to see any other goverment in power.
FULL MARKS!!!
matr1x wrote:We still have a President?
No_Name wrote:matr1x wrote:We still have a President?
Who is that?
Wa dem does do?
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:No_Name wrote:matr1x wrote:We still have a President?
Who is that?
Wa dem does do?
Any time I see people talk about any president, I does ask them to state 5 things a presi did that positively affected them...
Men doh pass no2 at all