HOW IS T&T'S ECONOMY FEARING?

Re: T&T Economy not looking good for 2019, Central Bank says TT economy slowing down

Postby pugboy » December 29th, 2018, 7:40 pm

Yup, once carnival fever in the air everybody happy

Re: T&T Economy not looking good for 2019, Central Bank says TT economy slowing down

Postby De Dragon » December 29th, 2018, 8:22 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:
l33t2 wrote:
airuma wrote:I ain't no economist but that article seems like hogwash to me.

Lol wot? U live Trinidad? This has been the most dead Christmas season ever. Ask any businessman.
Next year not going to be any better but government needs to continue with restructuring the economy. Due to the lack of natural gas and the fact upstream companies not finding any new sources that economically viable to produce we need to rethink how the gas we have left is used so it would not surprise me if we scale back on LNG exports over the next few years which will lead to further declines in the economy.

Not likely when upstream gas producers and NGC have interests in Atlantic.

Postby pugboy » December 29th, 2018, 8:40 pm

And them contracts does have penalties if you can’t supply the gas
Taxpayers will have to fork out money

Postby The_Honourable » December 29th, 2018, 8:44 pm

"The economy is turning around, in fact, it has turned around. Revenue collection is up, the non-oil sector is growing, the energy sector is booming.” - Colm Imbert - May 2018.

Postby De Dragon » December 29th, 2018, 9:02 pm

The_Honourable wrote:"The economy is turning around, in fact, it has turned around. Revenue collection is up, the non-oil sector is growing, the energy sector is booming.” - Colm Imbert - May 2018.

That's just Short Poomps putting the sheep on election footing............

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » December 29th, 2018, 9:20 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:Next year not going to be any better but government needs to continue with restructuring the economy. Due to the lack of natural gas and the fact upstream companies not finding any new sources that economically viable to produce we need to rethink how the gas we have left is used so it would not surprise me if we scale back on LNG exports over the next few years which will lead to further declines in the economy.

Not likely when upstream gas producers and NGC have interests in Atlantic.
Once the LNG contracts come to an end it is up to the NGC to negotiate with the upstream companies to determine what is the best use of our gas. LNG made sense when we had abundant supply of cheap gas but in the current environment the country benefits more by using the gas for manufacture of petrochemicals. Unless we find more cheap gas (i.e. gas in shallow water) LNG has 5-10 years remaining as evidenced by NGC only agreeing to extend Train 1 gas contract by 5 years.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 29th, 2018, 10:12 pm

Allyuh hada quote paula goopee....ohhh the recession is over

Postby nervewrecker » December 29th, 2018, 11:17 pm

l33t2 wrote:

Lol wot? U live Trinidad? This has been the most dead Christmas season ever. Ask any businessman.

All dem rum shop full and not the cheap ones eh.

Postby gastly369 » December 30th, 2018, 12:18 am

IZzz cyamela fault

*end quote

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » December 30th, 2018, 12:35 am

l33t2 wrote:

Actually, my family owns 3 rum shops and a restaurant. Sales are down 20-30% compared to last year. Same story I hearing all over.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 30th, 2018, 3:50 am

I have PNM friend at work, he stopped being my friend because I told him that Science is real (He so dotish he believes that pastor cuffy is a prophet). This kind of dotishness isn't anything new tho, had a online PNM friend from Tobago that I used to play fighting games with, I actually removed he dotish @ss from my Steam account when he told me the earth is flat and tried desperately to prove it with all sorts of dotishness. And no he wasn't trolling I did some research on him and he legit believed this crap.

From what I can gather, dotishness and PNM goes hand in hand. Is like dotishness of a feather flock together

Postby matr1x » December 30th, 2018, 6:57 am

We still have a president?

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » December 30th, 2018, 7:51 am

Postby pugboy » December 30th, 2018, 8:48 am

Many small businesses have seen declining revenues 10-20% for the last 3 years

l33t2 wrote:

Actually, my family owns 3 rum shops and a restaurant. Sales are down 20-30% compared to last year. Same story I hearing all over.

Postby sMASH » December 30th, 2018, 9:52 am

matr1x wrote:We still have a president?

yes, she sends thoughts and prayers.

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » December 30th, 2018, 9:54 am

pugboy wrote:Many small businesses have seen declining revenues 10-20% for the last 3 years

l33t2 wrote:

T&T is in a slow decline that will get worst as population comes to the realization that oil & gas money almost done. There really is nothing the government can do to turn things around but manage the decline. Hope Guyana learning for our mistakes.

Postby sMASH » December 30th, 2018, 9:56 am

l33t2 wrote:

rum is the easiest way to get a feel good or celebrate. so, when things good, u would expect this avenue to increase first and more than other areas of spending. and on the flip side, if things bad, u would see cut backs on every thing, but this would cut back last and less than other thing. so. to see a 1/5 drop in sales (not attendance) should mean that other things took a bigger hit.

Postby matr1x » December 30th, 2018, 10:00 am

sMASH wrote:
matr1x wrote:We still have a president?

yes, she sends thoughts and prayers.

In other words, nothing substantial.

She real quiet since that same sex ruling tho....

D Diesel Report

Postby D Diesel Report » December 30th, 2018, 10:46 am

l33t2 wrote:

The difference between an owner and a consumer. Consumers see the surface and believe is all there is. They don't see the full story.

From your comment, I take it that you are poor and don't own any assets. :drinking: :drinking:

Postby bluefete » December 30th, 2018, 10:53 am

2019 will be another very bad year. Thousands more to be sent home. Elections mamaguy like rain to come.

Postby zoom rader » December 30th, 2018, 11:12 am

bluefete wrote:2019 will be another very bad year. Thousands more to be sent home. Elections mamaguy like rain to come.

The Pnmite will rather eat grass than to see any other goverment in power.

Postby The_Honourable » December 30th, 2018, 11:48 am

bluefete wrote:2019 will be another very bad year. Thousands more to be sent home. Elections mamaguy like rain to come.

FULL MARKS!!!

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » December 30th, 2018, 12:19 pm

Was reminded of one of my favourite Amon tracks for some reason after checking this thread...

Postby bluefete » December 30th, 2018, 12:39 pm

But wham to allyuh? Grass good to eat. Yuh never see a healthy cow orr?

The_Honourable wrote:

FULL MARKS!!!

No_Name

Postby No_Name » December 31st, 2018, 5:37 am

matr1x wrote:We still have a President?

Who is that?
Wa dem does do?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 31st, 2018, 6:18 am

No_Name wrote:

Who is that?
Wa dem does do?

Any time I see people talk about any president, I does ask them to state 5 things a presi did that positively affected them...

Men doh pass no2 at all

Postby maj. tom » December 31st, 2018, 6:29 am

The President does the same thing that the Queen does in Britain, or the Governor does in Canada, or the President does in India.

That's the system we have. That's the Constitution. The President is not supposed to do anything really, but has powers to ensure that the people are protected from the Government of the day. They're not supposed to step on any Government decisions or votes, etc., unless there's a dire conflict of the interest of the people vs. what the Government wants to do. The President controls the military.

No_Name

Postby No_Name » December 31st, 2018, 6:31 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
No_Name wrote:

Who is that?
Wa dem does do?

Any time I see people talk about any president, I does ask them to state 5 things a presi did that positively affected them...

Men doh pass no2 at all

Lead by example, start with yrself...

Postby matr1x » December 31st, 2018, 7:28 am

All i know rachel price real like she......hmmmm, coincidence?

Postby sMASH » December 31st, 2018, 9:17 am

i cant even name one... in a general sense.