Short/long term investments/retirement policies etc advise

Re: Short/long term investments/retirement policies etc advise

Postby nervewrecker » May 2nd, 2019, 7:49 am

Its a life insurance and critical illness.
There is also a pension plan.
The agent is saying that you get the interest on the money invested, not the money. That's cash value, guardian life.

Postby pugboy » May 2nd, 2019, 8:04 am

no 100% sure but what usually happens is the accumulated money that went in
is used to pay you back a monthly stipend(pension) or the interest as they may be calling it.

the way these things work is that
they are "investing" the money you put in and then hopefully earned enough interest on the investments they made to pay you a monthly pension/stipend there after whenever your retirement age kicks in
if you wish to cash in what ever you had put in, ie accumulated sum of all the monthly payments you made and expected interest it earned
you will be taxed on it by mr impsbert so you could(likely) end up in a losing situation

this is the problem the republic bank tisp(tax incentive savings plan) pension plan ran into
persons were putting in monthly payments and expecting to collect a taxfree lumpsum at the end
but imps decided to hit a tax on it if you were cashing it in.

the only ppl who got away were those who were putting in enough to be able to convert it into another pension annuity and collect the monthly pension annuity stipend instead
but you need a certain minimum to be able to get one of those monthly pension annuities
so persons who were only putting in small amounts get shaft, real unfair tbh

nervewrecker wrote:Its a life insurance and critical illness.
The agent is saying that you get the interest on the money invested, not the money. That's cash value, guardian life.

Postby pugboy » May 2nd, 2019, 8:08 am

it is worthwhile if you can afford it to have said plan
because you never know when you may get a critical illness
all it takes is one critical illness to bankrupt you
AND for males the costs are much higher than females esp when you start a plan the older you get

Postby Redman » May 2nd, 2019, 10:06 am

Join a Credit Union and get the CUNA life plan.

Cheapest insurance... No underwriting, and up to 5 members.

I have my parents,son and wife covered for 100k each death benefit for about 550 a month.
That's a great place to start

Anrelative blew through 120k in his last week of life....1week in a nursing home and a modest funeral.

Postby pugboy » May 2nd, 2019, 8:50 pm

Exactly what coverage Cuna providing ?

Redman wrote:

I have my parents,son and wife covered for 100k each death benefit for about 550 a month.

Anrelative blew through 120k in his last week of life....1week in a nursing home and a modest funeral.

Postby nervewrecker » May 2nd, 2019, 9:38 pm

See, the thing is I had two policies with guardian a little over 2 years now.

Pension plan

and

Life insurance & critical illness.

I took out a new life insurance & critical illness plan elsewhere and cancelled the one with guardian. Policy states you get back the cash value. I can understand you pay a small penalty but they issue a cheque for next to nothing and told me the cash value is the interest generated, not the money you put in.

I asked if its the same for the pension, the person said yes.

I asked to see the surrendered policy and what its written. The agent saying its surrendered and I can't see it. He says I better take it up with the company since he no longer represents me on that. I then asked about the pension plan, he said I being difficult and that what you getting is not what you put in but the interest that it generated. If it generates no interest you get nothing, and so far they generating interest.

We had a long conversation where he trying to feed me bull crap to justify taking the money and giving me the interest.

Interest has to exceed 100% of what you put in or else you loosing. He said they currently at 8% so I ask if at the end of all the years if I put in 100k I get 8k and he said I being difficult etc.

Does anyone in here work guardian and can confirm if this is true?

Postby The_Honourable » May 2nd, 2019, 10:54 pm

Premchand1976 should be able to help you. Hopefully he sees this or you can pm him.

Postby Redman » May 3rd, 2019, 5:06 am

pugboy wrote:Exactly what coverage Cuna providing ?

Redman wrote:

Its a group term life.
There is also a Critical Illness plan as well
Its pretty cheap.. its geared towards funeral expenses so I'm told they pay quickly,
I have not tested that part.

Its worth the visit

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » May 3rd, 2019, 6:32 am

The_Honourable wrote:Premchand1976 should be able to help you. Hopefully he sees this or you can pm him.
Thanks man. Nerve, call meh ok.

Postby pugboy » May 3rd, 2019, 6:39 am

You should find out the list of critical illnesses covered to get a proper apples vs apples comparison with other plans.

Redman wrote:Its a group term life.
Its pretty cheap.. its geared towards funeral expenses so I'm told they pay quickly,

Its worth the visit

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » May 3rd, 2019, 8:34 am

Since we're talking policies, I have a Life Insurance/Critical Illness policy with Sagicor, but I was quoted an insane amount for a health plan for my family of then 3, now 4. I know these things are subjective but what are your recommendations for a health plan in terms of other providers?

Postby Redman » May 3rd, 2019, 10:17 am

TO BE CLEAR

I use this as a plan to supplement the SFC policies that I have.
Its cheap and fast -My FiL fell, spent a week in a nursing home, then passed.
120K including a modest funeral.

The CI- is a recent addition-I have not taken it yet- keep forgetting.
I will get the info-I have to go to the CU to pay on the life component

pugboy wrote:You should find out the list of critical illnesses covered to get a proper apples vs apples comparison with other plans.

Redman wrote:Its a group term life.

Its worth the visit

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » May 3rd, 2019, 12:54 pm

Joshie23 wrote:Since we're talking policies, I have a Life Insurance/Critical Illness policy with Sagicor, but I was quoted an insane amount for a health plan for my family of then 3, now 4. I know these things are subjective but what are your recommendations for a health plan in terms of other providers?
Even your life and critical Illness plan is higher priced than guardian ....we did our homework. Not because I work for guardian but, because our policies ( some ) are leaps and bounds ahead of the competition.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » May 3rd, 2019, 12:55 pm

You should also get the survival period per critical Illness and compare .....this is even more important than the number of illnessess

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » May 3rd, 2019, 4:18 pm

Premchand1976 wrote:
Joshie23 wrote:Since we're talking policies, I have a Life Insurance/Critical Illness policy with Sagicor, but I was quoted an insane amount for a health plan for my family of then 3, now 4. I know these things are subjective but what are your recommendations for a health plan in terms of other providers?
Even your life and critical Illness plan is higher priced than guardian ....we did our homework. Not because I work for guardian but, because our policies ( some ) are leaps and bounds ahead of the competition.

I believe the young folks say that it goes down in the DM or PM.. whichever. I understand you all do your homework but is it that every single one of your packages is cheaper than Sagicor? When I just started working, a pretty face from Guardian left a sour taste in my mouth, so I'll take that with a pinch of salt. I'll PM you my family information (ages, career, etc.) and if your package (Life, CI and a modest Health Insurance and maybe even pension plan) is better than what I'm paying now (not including the health and pension plan because as previously stated I'm still looking for that) my family and I will be in your office at our earliest mutual convenience.

widdyphuck

Re: good investments?

Postby widdyphuck » May 3rd, 2019, 5:44 pm

Trinidad is the worst place to invest in..

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » May 3rd, 2019, 8:24 pm

Noted.

triniringo

Postby triniringo » May 7th, 2019, 10:12 am

Housing bonds @4.5% being offered in June 2019

Rockram

Postby Rockram » May 14th, 2019, 12:04 pm

TTNGL stock price taking a dive since BPTT news.... Down 2+ dollars

Postby pugboy » May 14th, 2019, 12:43 pm

Gonna buy some tomorrow

Rockram wrote:TTNGL stock price taking a dive since BPTT news.... Down 2+ dollars

Rockram

Postby Rockram » May 14th, 2019, 1:05 pm

pugboy wrote:Gonna buy some tomorrow

Rockram wrote:TTNGL stock price taking a dive since BPTT news.... Down 2+ dollars

Agreed its a nice opportunity

Postby pugboy » May 14th, 2019, 1:11 pm

Price went down slightly also before because everybody was buying just before dividend payout so there was demand

Rockram

Postby Rockram » May 16th, 2019, 2:36 pm

Anybody here uses the guardian group G-Trade Platform? Reviews

Postby pugboy » May 16th, 2019, 2:57 pm

got a nice witco dividend check in the mail today
nif folks should get something too but less what they powers that be taking first

triniringo

Postby triniringo » May 17th, 2019, 7:05 am

When is nif2 launching

Rockram

Postby Rockram » May 20th, 2019, 12:14 pm

TTNGL down 3+ dollars...traded today 26.50 People panic selling?
At the beginning of the year prospects were good for the company... But with dragon deal dead and USD dividend payments stalled, things have turned around.

snatman

Postby snatman » May 20th, 2019, 12:45 pm

Rockram wrote:

TTNGL down 3+ dollars...traded today 26.50 People panic selling?
At the beginning of the year prospects were good for the company... But with dragon deal dead and USD dividend payments stalled, things have turned around.

It may have something to do with the last quarterly report being so dismal.
30c vs. 40c in 2018 and 37c in 2017.

And with natural gas, propane and butane prices being so low there may not be much improvement in profits in the short term. But even if dividends go down to $1.40, that would still mean a payout of +5% at these prices.

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » May 20th, 2019, 3:35 pm

TTNGL have enough cash to keep dividend at $1.50 so panic selling is good opportunity to buy some more shares.

Postby pugboy » May 20th, 2019, 3:50 pm

I gonna buy more

snatman

Postby snatman » May 20th, 2019, 3:50 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:TTNGL have enough cash to keep dividend at $1.50 so panic selling is good opportunity to buy some more shares.

They definitely do, but i doubt they'ld pay out $1.50 if earnings come in at $1.20 - $1.30