Everything Smart Homes in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Everything Smart homes

Postby pugboy » January 12th, 2020, 7:16 am

what burglar alarm systems allyuh using ?
i installing a dsc this week with envisalink

Postby ronsin1 » January 12th, 2020, 8:29 am

I using blink
I want to upgrade to one of those smart alarm systems and control it through tuya and google home
Haven't decided yet on it just considering.

Postby pugboy » January 12th, 2020, 9:14 am

i sticking with traditional wired type with some wireless sensors for the main alarm part

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » January 12th, 2020, 1:11 pm

ronsin1 wrote:I using blink
I want to upgrade to one of those smart alarm systems and control it through tuya and google home

heard amplia coming with some smart home solutions
and bmobile with cameras for homes

Postby ronsin1 » January 12th, 2020, 3:41 pm

Digicel had an advertisement out for Manager of Home Automation about 6 months ago
FrankChag wrote:
ronsin1 wrote:I using blink

heard amplia coming with some smart home solutions
and bmobile with cameras for homes

Postby redmanjp » January 12th, 2020, 3:53 pm

maj. tom wrote:The plug would have to receive feedback from the dryer through a link. So other than a smart dryer, you have to just consider what data the plug can record.

So you would have to look for a plug that can monitor energy usage and give you an alert when the cycle ends, i.e. when it stops drawing power through the plug. And then, these smart plugs may not be rated for the higher current and voltage that a dryer requires.

A user on Reddit says there's something like that https://www.tp-link.com/no/home-network ... lug/hs110/
but you have to create your own applet to get what your require here: http://itnerd.space/2017/01/29/get-the- ... mart-plug/ or see if they have IFTTT support.

Here are more energy monitoring smart plugs. You will have to do some reading and reviews before you purchase to see if it's what you require. https://www.androidcentral.com/which-sm ... ergy-usage

This one seems to be capable and well supported. https://energenie4u.co.uk/catalogue/cat ... Automation

Thanks. Seems like a project to get that stuff working though

I did however just come across this Smartdry device on Amazon so will check it out

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B07GQBW2KS/ref=cm_cr_arp_mb_bdcrb_top?ie=UTF8

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 12th, 2020, 5:39 pm

Finally installed a Sensibo and using it on a Gree split unit.
Working great.
https://sensibo.com/

No HomeKit support yet, so I'm using it with Alexa. There is Siri Shortcut support though, SO I can say "Hey Siri turn on/off the AC in the living room" etc
Can turn on or off the AC when I'm not at home too. So if I'm heading home or leaving and forgot it on.

Postby ronsin1 » January 13th, 2020, 5:38 am

I didn't use sensibo found it to expensive for my taste

I used a generic universal smart remote that can connect to any AC, TV , STB and TV Box

In this one unit I control everything that has a remote in the room

It works well with Google Home and Alexa

For the AC I can turn on/off, set temperatures, change modes

For the TV I can power on/off, change inputs, and access the smart menu

For the STB I can only power on/off due to provider

For the Andriod Box I can power on/off and switch apps

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » January 13th, 2020, 6:16 am

pugboy wrote:what burglar alarm systems allyuh using ?

Honestly interested in this as well.

I’m looking for a none subscription based home alarm that I can install privately. A Wired solution that I can monitor remotely would be preferred compared to those cheap Chinese wireless ones available online.

Postby pugboy » January 13th, 2020, 7:12 am

DSC is most common, locally and online. Very well known brand.

For remote monitoring on phone etc you add in a third party board called Envisalink
to arm, monitor, disarm zones from app.

You can also get wireless receiver and have wireless sensors installed, key fob arm/disarm.

The local dealer is trying to push newer DSC alarm board(neo) but they are not compatible with Envisalink
so better to buy older system.

I just bought a bunch of stuff on ebay, should be getting this week.

If you talk to real security experts, they will tell you before getting a CCTV system you should get a proper reliable alarm
esp for the way them bandits doing home invasions these days even when folks are home during the day.

thelem-again wrote:
pugboy wrote:what burglar alarm systems allyuh using ?

Honestly interested in this as well.

I’m looking for a none subscription based home alarm that I can install privately. A Wired solution that I can monitor remotely would be preferred compared to those cheap Chinese wireless ones available online.

fozzy2010

Postby fozzy2010 » January 13th, 2020, 10:03 am

ronsin1 wrote:I didn't use sensibo found it to expensive for my taste

I used a generic universal smart remote that can connect to any AC, TV , STB and TV Box

Agreed found the price of Sensibo too expensive, bought this last year and works great:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07DL ... UTF8&psc=1

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 13th, 2020, 10:06 am

What's the name of the device?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 13th, 2020, 10:16 am

I used a Logitech Harmony Hub to control the TV, stereo, cable box, PS4, android box, AppleTV etc etc via remote or phone or Alexa etc. Works great.

SwitchBot looks cool as you can attach a wireless IR blaster to a device and control it.

I got the Sensibo when it was on sale for $89 over the Christmas period.

The Sensibo is more than just a switch or control though. It's a temperature and humidity sensor and it can automatically control your AC to adjust to suit.

Postby ronsin1 » January 13th, 2020, 6:45 pm

What's the name of the device?

This is what I bought does everything the Sensibo does

https://www.amazon.com/Universal-Contro ... 455&sr=8-6

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 13th, 2020, 8:13 pm

^ that's pretty neat! The price is incredible too! thanks for that!

It doesnt have a temperature and humidity sensor though, does it?

src1983

Postby src1983 » January 13th, 2020, 8:46 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ that's pretty neat! The price is incredible too! thanks for that!

The only thing missing from sensibo is actual temp controls on the unit. So like visitors can use that instead of me having to go look for the remote

Postby pugboy » January 13th, 2020, 9:21 pm

that real cheap

Postby ronsin1 » January 14th, 2020, 4:03 am

No it does not have any sensors on it

It replaces any or all remote controls you have

As for temp and humidity you can use It to set your AC on what function you want
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ that's pretty neat! The price is incredible too! thanks for that!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 14th, 2020, 8:01 am

src1983 wrote:

The only thing missing from sensibo is actual temp controls on the unit. So like visitors can use that instead of me having to go look for the remote

Agreed.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 14th, 2020, 8:11 am

ronsin1 wrote:No it does not have any sensors on it

As for temp and humidity you can use It to set your AC on what function you want
sensibo adjusts for you based on temp though. So if the room goes past 29degrees, the AC turns on. But I understand not many ppl may need that. It is great to see the temp and humidity of rooms in your home though.
However still can’t beat the price of the one you posted.

I even have a couple Logitech Harmony hubs but still can’t beat your price.

I wish these could control RF devices as well, like the garage door, driveway gate and a ceiling fan I have that uses an RF remote.

Postby ronsin1 » January 14th, 2020, 1:42 pm

They have RF smart devices as well however I never used it

I decided to control my garage gate with a smart relay with inching feature

It's a sonoff device

It uses a 5v power supply that you ha e to purchase separate which I did

Didn't see the need for add the RF device

I'll see if I find the link for the RF device for you

sensibo adjusts for you based on temp though. So if the room goes past 29degrees, the AC turns on. But I understand not many ppl may need that. It is great to see the temp and humidity of rooms in your home though.

I wish these could control RF devices as well, like the garage door, driveway gate and a ceiling fan I have that uses an RF remote.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 14th, 2020, 4:08 pm

ronsin1 wrote:They have RF smart devices as well however I never used it

It's a sonoff device

I saw the Sonoff, tell me more, how did you connect it?
Need details

Currently reading through this
https://hackaday.com/2019/07/14/homekit ... -a-bridge/
which natively adds HomeKit to Sonoff switches without the need for a HomeBridge server

Postby ronsin1 » January 14th, 2020, 6:05 pm

I used the ewelink cloud to connect the relay

Once connected to the wifi I set up the inching mode and added the account to google home

The relay is connected to the bell switch terminals on the gate motor

All my devices were done DIY
ronsin1 wrote:They have RF smart devices as well however I never used it

It's a sonoff device

I saw the Sonoff, tell me more, how did you connect it?
Need details

Currently reading through this
https://hackaday.com/2019/07/14/homekit ... -a-bridge/
which natively adds HomeKit to Sonoff switches without the need for a HomeBridge server

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 14th, 2020, 9:36 pm

^ nice!
thanks

Cen-Serv Ltd

Postby Cen-Serv Ltd » January 14th, 2020, 10:11 pm

Good info....

Postby ronsin1 » January 15th, 2020, 9:18 am

I couldn't find the RF remote I had previously looked at which would connect to RF devices however I found a fan controller below takes a bit of witing but this is decent

https://www.amazon.com/QIACHIP-Ceiling- ... s9dHJ1ZQ==

JayJayA

Postby JayJayA » January 30th, 2020, 3:48 am

pugboy wrote:anybody using a neato d5 or d3 connected robot vacuum ?

I know I'm super late with this, sorry, but according to this page, any Neato model from D3 to D85 can be connected to Alexa, Amazon assistant or Apple watch. But personally I was rarely using an Alexa connection on my D6, the robot was "smart" enough not to bump into everything 8-)

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » February 5th, 2020, 12:22 pm

For the security, Smartthings hub using the Zwave sirens , motion sensors and door sensors works well.
They have auto arm based on conditions (Like if everyone leaves the house or at a specific time).
Basically the SmartThings allow for one interface/platform to integrate all the Smart devices which are of course Zwave.
For the AC units, I'm using Remotec Z-Wave ZXT-120 IR Extender. Take a bit doing to set up but works well. Place AC on again based on conditions as well through smarthub or just put it on from your car before you get home.

Re: Everything Smart Homes in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 20th, 2020, 1:33 pm

Vocolinc smart plug
Amazon has a two pack for US$25 and a 4 pack for US$46
One of the few smart plugs that works with Siri (homekit), Alexa and Google Home. Especially in this price range.

Re: Everything Smart Homes in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby ronsin1 » June 24th, 2020, 9:06 pm

Did you get through with the garage door control?
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Vocolinc smart plug
Amazon has a two pack for US$25 and a 4 pack for US$46
One of the few smart plugs that works with Siri (homekit), Alexa and Google Home. Especially in this price range.