Windows 10

iDynamic

Re: Windows 8 Public release | download dev edition

Postby iDynamic » September 14th, 2011, 5:36 pm

mitch wrote:new BSOD :lol:

just tried to dual boot with the 32 bit version on my 64 bit laptop and got an error stating to download the 64 bit :|

so i said ok , put it to download and decided to install it via VMWARE while the 64bit download and got the 2012 Blue Sreen Of Death :lol:

Swisha

Re: Microsoft unveils "Windows 8"

Postby Swisha » September 14th, 2011, 7:48 pm

Intel: Thunderbolt coming to PCs, prototype shown at IDF 2011

Guess what, Wintel loyalists? "Apple's" Thunderbolt I/O port is coming your way. If you'll recall, Thunderbolt was actually built with Intel's collaboration (Light Peak, anyone?), and sensibly, the chip giant is now making it possible for the port to appear on non-Mac machines. The news was just broken here at IDF, where a Haswell-based machine was briefly teased with a heretofore unpossible T-bolt port. Mooly Eden, vice president and general manager of the PC Client Group, was on-stage to showcase six pre-production Ultrabook designs (all based on 3rd generation Intel Core processors), but stopped short of telling us exactly when the Thunderbolt I/O port would make its debut on commercially available rigs.

UPDATE: Acer and ASUS are onboard for a 2012 launch!

Engadget

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » September 14th, 2011, 8:26 pm

mediahouse wrote:ok den xp is still d shitz

dem eh kno na hoss! xp is d bes windows dey eva made! well is fine so :)

Postby S_2NR » September 14th, 2011, 8:33 pm

anybody install this on a 64 bit pc yet?
wanna try it but dont wanna go through all that trouble if ill get typical MS error BS.

i want to dual boot with my current config, without touching what i have now.
and being able to remove it easily if i want to.

haterforever

Postby haterforever » September 14th, 2011, 8:36 pm

Postby S_2NR » September 14th, 2011, 8:40 pm

thanks ! ^

Postby S_2NR » September 14th, 2011, 8:43 pm

and if i want to remove it after, i just have to delete the partition right? and no boot menu, windows 8, etc?

Postby M_2NR » September 14th, 2011, 10:42 pm

^i could have easily told you in your own words but i chose not to.

yes. you can just delete it. the bootmgr should notice it is gone and it wont appear again. or thats how it worked for win7 beta.

IF you ever get boot issues no matter the OS, read this up to help restore window's bootmgr.exe.

Postby S_2NR » September 14th, 2011, 11:14 pm

thanks.. was more concerned about the boot menu because i saw windows 8 comes with a new boot menu..wasnt certain if it would cause conflicts at boot if it was deleted.

Postby r3iXmann » September 15th, 2011, 7:31 am

blasted thing keep crashing :x

will try it on another pc later

Postby hydroep » September 15th, 2011, 7:53 am

32-bit version installed well on an old Sempron AM2 system. Graphics subsystem on that machine rates as a 2.0 so it runs kinda sluggish (as expected). Needs to be activated to "personalize" features.

Google chrome for the desktop? Surely worth another $ 200.00 U.S. :?

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » September 15th, 2011, 2:47 pm

rodfarva wrote:I was all for windows xp till they dropped windows 7
7 is pure win.
DITTO

running Win 7 x64 and it is pure winnnn

cosign!

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 15th, 2011, 2:58 pm

R. Mutt wrote:
7 is pure win.
DITTO

cosign!

x10

Postby M_2NR » September 15th, 2011, 6:48 pm

S_2NR wrote:thanks.. was more concerned about the boot menu because i saw windows 8 comes with a new boot menu..wasnt certain if it would cause conflicts at boot if it was deleted.

im seeing mixed reactions about this online. Try Vbox if you are so worried.

Strauss wrote:
R. Mutt wrote:
7 is pure win.
DITTO

cosign!

x10

wait... i seeing right?
:shock: :shock: :shock:

Prototype-Tuner

Postby Prototype-Tuner » September 15th, 2011, 10:13 pm

xp is painful to use
7 winnn

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » September 16th, 2011, 12:12 am

Ok so since the 64bit was to big to fit on a DVD I had no chocie but to mount it , when mounted there was no option to install it to my other partition , hence no dual boot was possible , install as normal and made my previous windows 7 into windows.old ....

So far it's been superb except for one thing , no matter how many times I try to get flash working on the Internet explorer it never works , so I use firefox ...it's not as smooth as xp or windows 7 but it runs like windows vista ....I guess that's because of the new gui embedded within the desktop...so far so good so I'm keeping it on my laptop ...weather app is great but I can't figure out ow to change it to degrees Celsius.

Now when I connect the laptop to my tv I get full surround sound from my tv so I no longer hear sound from my laptop once connect to my tv's hdmi (finally)

Has not not crash or stick as yet on me even though I rel try to get it to stick ...

Boot to login In screen takes a hell of a long time , I could actually go make a drink and return before my login screen shows up.....

If anyone on 64 bit figures out how to fix Internet explorer flash update please let me know , I tried both 10.3 and the 11.4 beta , epic fail

Postby M_2NR » September 16th, 2011, 7:37 am

yuh lost yuh flash drive or something? you could have made a bootable Flash drive and run it.

I hope ppl realize something... this is not even a beta or RC... its a DP. I'm surprised ppl pc eh crashing etc. win7 1st beta was a load of balls... and this is pre-beta.

BTW anyone seen snags?

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » September 16th, 2011, 8:36 am

M_2NR wrote:yuh lost yuh flash drive or something? you could have made a bootable Flash drive and run it.

I hope ppl realize something... this is not even a beta or RC... its a DP. I'm surprised ppl pc eh crashing etc. win7 1st beta was a load of balls... and this is pre-beta.

BTW anyone seen snags?

I tired that for a couple hours on both a flash and external hd ...epic fail it kept returning errors like no boot.ini file found and no license.rtf found then the file was to big cus apparently the software formatted the drive to fat32 which can't take more than 4 gigs and the os is 4.8 gigs ....I didn't bother to try the command prompt method though cus after a while jus got fed up and mounted it

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 16th, 2011, 8:54 am

iDynamic wrote:Ok so since the 64bit was to big to fit on a DVD I had no chocie but to mount it , when mounted there was no option to install it to my other partition , hence no dual boot was possible , install as normal and made my previous windows 7 into windows.old ....

So far it's been superb except for one thing , no matter how many times I try to get flash working on the Internet explorer it never works , so I use firefox ...it's not as smooth as xp or windows 7 but it runs like windows vista ....I guess that's because of the new gui embedded within the desktop...so far so good so I'm keeping it on my laptop ...weather app is great but I can't figure out ow to change it to degrees Celsius.

Now when I connect the laptop to my tv I get full surround sound from my tv so I no longer hear sound from my laptop once connect to my tv's hdmi (finally)

Has not not crash or stick as yet on me even though I rel try to get it to stick ...

Boot to login In screen takes a hell of a long time , I could actually go make a drink and return before my login screen shows up.....

If anyone on 64 bit figures out how to fix Internet explorer flash update please let me know , I tried both 10.3 and the 11.4 beta , epic fail

hmmmmm

:(

Postby ismithx » September 16th, 2011, 2:06 pm

yea trust me the only way to install it is with a mounted iso or on dvd.... at first it might mess up and slow down the boot menus tho eh...

Postby M_2NR » September 16th, 2011, 5:28 pm

gonna vbox it just now.
if you all need more info check here:
http://www.addictivetips.com/windows-ti ... irtualbox/

iDynamic i hope you didnt try to copy the iso directly to the flash drive... anyway whatever.

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » September 16th, 2011, 5:54 pm

^ that is a great tutorial there for people who new to this thing ..... And nah I didn't try to copy it directly but don't worry .

So I saw an option saying create picture password then I got excited thinking it was some facial recognition security feature ...apparently its something totally different for and for tablets :|

Postby M_2NR » September 16th, 2011, 7:41 pm

currently installing it using Vbox. not a hitch... yet. lol not just new. It save lots of hours of tinkering. it's a pain in the @$$ to have to play around with setting just to get it to "work".

EDIT: Installed. lags a lil in vbox. I'm downloading the non dev version and might throw that on my laptop. Hopefully that doesnt mess up things with my copy of 7 which i need to be working.

Postby S_2NR » September 17th, 2011, 12:09 am

300+ new features in windows 8 :idea:

http://www.ibtimes.com/articles/215175/20110916/microsoft-windows-8-300-features.htm

Final release set for late 2011 or early 2012.

Postby r3iXmann » September 17th, 2011, 5:40 am

getting this thing to run seems to be more trouble than it worth :x

ima try the non dev version like m2nr

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » September 17th, 2011, 12:37 pm

M_2NR wrote:currently installing it using Vbox. not a hitch... yet. lol not just new. It save lots of hours of tinkering. it's a pain in the @$$ to have to play around with setting just to get it to "work".

EDIT: Installed. lags a lil in vbox. I'm downloading the non dev version and might throw that on my laptop. Hopefully that doesnt mess up things with my copy of 7 which i need to be working.

Make sure you install from the bios , that the only way to dual boot ......

_________

anyone else having issues with the shutdown ? .......each time I shut it down it never fully shuts down for some reason

Postby M_2NR » September 17th, 2011, 2:03 pm

r3iXmann wrote:getting this thing to run seems to be more trouble than it worth :x

ima try the non dev version like m2nr

i actually used the dev version the 4.8GB version. worked without a hitch. its just laggy in vbox though... :(

overall i like it. Wished i had a tab to play with it on.

I was reading that they already chucked in win8 on the Acer Iconia W500. mostly everything works on it. Too bad my padna one is unavailable right now.

Postby RASC » September 17th, 2011, 4:46 pm

Like I've been saying all along... The metro u/i is so clean and responsive... Microsoft implementation on WP7 was so flawless that the natural progression to the desktop and tablet realm was only a matter of time.

Postby M_2NR » September 17th, 2011, 5:29 pm

and xbox gonna get a flavor of it too afaik

Postby ismithx » September 17th, 2011, 6:57 pm

why allyuh losers vboxing it? let it run in full nah! enjoy the awesomeness of it!